Montana Board of Nursing

Montana requires individuals engaged in the practice of nursing to be licensed. Individuals apply to the Montana Board of Nursing for licensure. The Board evaluates the applicant’s fitness to practice and assures the basic requirements are met.

Applicants applying for a nursing license must meet the educational and testing requirements set by Montana law or in administrative rule.

Questions about your application? Call (406) 444-6880 and speak to one of our Customer Service team about your application.

Fingerprint Background Check:

Effective Oct 1, 2015, fingerprint background checks are required for new applications for licensure as: Registered Nurse (RN), Practical Nurse (LPN), Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN), Medication Aide I and II. Please review the application instructions for the fingerprint background check process Fingerprint Instructions.  On March 1, 2019, the fee to submit to the Montana Department of Justice will be increasing to $30.  All cards submitted on or after this date will require a $30 check (not $27.25).

Please note:

 If you currently hold an RN/LPN license with a Multistate privilege in a Compact state, you do not need a license in Montana to practice. If you are changing your primary state of residence to Montana, you will need to apply for a license in Montana.

Lookup a Licensee:

Learn who is licensed as a nurse in Montana through the use of the national nursing database (Quick Confirm).

Back To Top