Montana Board of Medical Examiners

Our services are available through remote delivery.  We are available to assist customers through our online public portal at EBIZ.MT.GOV/POL (Professional and Occupational Licenses) and EBIZ.MT.GOV (for Permits). For other services, please contact us via email at DLIBSDWEBHELP@MT.GOV or by phone (406) 841-2300.


If you have questions about licenses and requirements for forensic medical examiners, morticians, coroners, crematory operators or technicians, please see the Board of Funeral Service.

Welcome to the Montana Board of Medical Examiners

Mission Statement: The mission of the Board of Medical Examiners is to protect the health, safety and well being of Montana citizens through the licensing of competent health professionals and by the regulation of the related practices to promote the delivery of quality health care.

  • Beginning in early January, LCSWs, LCPCs, LMFTs, physicians (psychiatrists), psychologists, and APRNs with psychiatric mental health certifications who wish to perform sexual offender evaluations under their existing scopes of practice must apply for and obtain an endorsement to their existing license. This endorsement is a new requirement to implement SB 39 (2021) which was passed by the Legislature and affects these licensees who are licensed by four different licensing boards: Boards of Behavioral Health, Medical Examiners, Nursing, and Psychologists.

    For information on the requirements to qualify for an endorsement and how to submit an online application click here.

  • The board recognizes that the current pandemic has created discord in the normal application, examination, and licensure process. We are striving to address these concerns and potential roadblocks as quickly as possible; however, please understand that this will not occur overnight. The board must continue its public safety mission while adapting to daily changes occurring from the pandemic. For now, applicants are encouraged to begin their application for licensure and to complete as much of the required information as possible. Applications remain valid for one (1) year under normal circumstances. If you submit your application and an item is missing, our licensing specialist will work with you to complete the application. We do not deny applicants for submitting an incomplete application. By completing the application’s remaining parts, exempting exams, etc., you can get ahead on the licensure process.

    The board is continuing to monitor the pandemic and will update this website as a point of public communication.  Please make sure your e-mail is up to date in our licensing records using the change address form on the right side of this web-page or e-mailing the help desk at  dlibsdhelp@mt.gov.

  • Effective October 1, 2019, Section 2 of House Bill 86, enacted by the 2019 Montana Legislature, restricts the prescribing of opioids to opioid-naïve patients to a 7-day supply except in certain circumstances.  The new law states:  “…when a medical practitioner or a naturopathic physician prescribes an opioid to an opioid-naïve patient on an outpatient basis, the prescription may not be for more than a 7-day supply.”  This provision is implemented in statute at 37-2-101 and 37-2-108, MCA, within the General Provisions Related to Health Care Practitioners, and terminates June 30, 2025. 

    As identified in 37-2-108(2)(a) and (b), MCA, the restriction does not apply if:

        “(2)(a) in the professional medical judgment of the medical practitioner or naturopathic physician, a prescription for more than a 7-day supply is necessary to treat chronic pain, pain associated with cancer, or pain experienced while the patient is in palliative care; or

     (2)(b) the opioid being prescribed is designed for the treatment of opioid abuse or dependence, including but not limited to opioid agonists and opioid antagonists.”

     An opioid-naïve patient is defined in 37-2-101(10), MCA:  “…means a patient who has not been prescribed a drug containing an opioid in the 90 days prior to the acute event or surgery for which an opioid is prescribed.”

      Pharmacists are responsible for performing corresponding responsibility, as required by DEA in 21 CFR 1306.04, and practice of pharmacy requirements pursuant to 37-7-101(36), MCA.

  •  All Board of Medical Examiners’ licensees with the authority to prescribe controlled substances will be assessed the $30/year statutory fee for support of the Montana Prescription Drug Registry (MPDR) when they renew their licenses. 

    This fee will be included in the online renewal process at the time of fee payment and will be included on printed renewal forms. Licensees who are exempt from the fee can note that fact during the online renewal process or on a renewal form. The assessment of fees for the MPDR is stated in MCA 37-7-1511.

  • Click to see thePresentation  following a survey of Medical, Nursing and Barbers-Cosmetology licensees about the practice of Medical Esthetics procedures in Montana.
Back To Top