

Montana Boards of Behavioral Health, Medical Examiners, Nursing, and Psychologists E-mail: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov Phone: 406-444-6880

Sexual Offender Evaluator Endorsement Requirements LCSWs, LCPCs, LMFTs, psychiatrists, psychologists, and APRNs with psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner certifications

The 67th Legislature passed SB 39 (2021) which required the Department of Labor and Industry Boards of Behavioral Health, Medical Examiners, Nursing, and Psychologists to jointly develop rules and maintain standards consistent with national standards for evaluation and treatment of sexual offenders (37-1-139. MCA).

Beginning in early January 2022, licensed clinical social workers (LCSW), licensed clinical practical counselors (LCPC), licensed marriage and family therapists (LMFT), psychiatrists (physicians), psychologists, and advanced practice registered nurses with psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner certifications (APRN-PMHNP) who wish to perform sexual offender evaluations under their existing scopes of practice must apply for and obtain an endorsement to their existing license.

You must submit an application for endorsement no later than January 31, 2021, to continue performing evaluations. After that date only LCSWs, LCPCs, LMFTs, psychiatrists, psychologists, and APRN-PMHNPs who have been issued an endorsement or have submitted an application that is still being reviewed may continue performing evaluations.

If you have questions on applying for the endorsement after reviewing this document, please contact dlibsdhelp@mt.gov.

Endorsement Requirements

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet to qualify for an endorsement to your existing Montana license in order to perform sexual offender evaluations under your scope of practice (ARM Title 24, chapter 250¹).

- 1. Holds **one** of the below licenses in Montana:
 - LCSW
 - LCPC
 - LMFT
 - Physician (psychiatrist)
 - Psychologist; or
 - APRN-PMHNP.
- 2. Have obtained 2,000 hours of supervised experience in the evaluation and treatment of sexual offenders (face-to-face supervision at ratio of two hours of supervision for each sequential 40 hours of evaluation and treatment).

¹ The Secretary of State is getting the new rules posted to its website. If the rules are not yet posted when you click on the link you can view the complete rules at the end of this document. Page 1 of 3



- At least 400 of the 2000 hours must be face-to-face² evaluations of sexual offenders/therapy sessions with sexual offenders. At least 25 hours of the 400 hours must have been supervised in-person.
- 3. Has completed at least two sexual offender evaluations under supervision.
- 4. Is a full or clinical member of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA).

How to apply if you hold a license in Montana as an LCSW, LCPC, LMFT, physician, psychologist, or <u>APRN-PMHNP</u>:

- 1. Log into your existing eBiz licensing account: https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL.
- 2. Click on the "add endorsement" button next to the qualifying license.

Health Care Licensing									
Sho	wing 41-50 of 1	00+ Download results A Record Number	Add to collection Record Type	Description	Project Name	Expiration Date	Status	Action	She
	07/17/2019	BBH-LCPC-LIC-	Licensed Clinical Professional License			12/31/2019	Active	Renew License Add Endorsement	

3. Complete the endorsement application and submit.

How to apply if you are not already licensed in Montana and want to apply for a license and endorsement at the same time:

- 1. Create an eBiz licensing account: <u>https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL</u>.
- 2. Apply for the license you wish to obtain in Montana following the normal license application process for that type of license (e.g. LCSW, LCPC, LMFT, physician, psychologist, or APRN-PMHNP).
- 3. Once your base Montana license has been issued, log back into your eBiz licensing account and follow the same process described above to apply for the endorsement.

Endorsement Application Fee

There is no application fee.

You must apply online at <u>https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/</u>. There is no paper application for this endorsement.

If you have any questions please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.

² Face-to-face is defined as " in-person; **or** electronically. The transmission must: be two-way; be interactive; be real-time; be simultaneous; and provide for both audio and visual interaction."



ARM 24.250.301 DEFINITIONS

(1) "Face-to-face" means supervision which is either:

(a) in-person; or

(b) electronically. The transmission must:

(i) be two-way;

(ii) be interactive;

(iii) be real-time;

(iv) be simultaneous; and

(v) provide for both audio and visual interaction.

(2) "Sexual offender evaluator supervisor" means the licensed clinical social worker (LCSW), licensed clinical professional counselor (LCPC), licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT), psychiatrist, psychologist, or advanced practice registered nurse with a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner certification who is gualified to conduct sexual offender evaluations. The supervisor must have:

(a) a license in good standing; and

(b) at least three years current ongoing experience in practice as a sexual offender evaluator and treatment provider. (History: 37-1-131, 37-1-139, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-1-139, MCA; NEW, 2021 MAR p. 1920, Eff. 12/24/21.)

ARM 24.250.501 SEXUAL OFFENDER EVALUATOR LICENSE ENDORSEMENT

(1) Applicants for a sexual offender evaluator endorsement who are licensed as an LCSW, LCPC, LMFT, psychiatrist, psychologist, or advanced practice registered nurse with a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner certification under ARM Title 24, chapters 156, 159, 189, and 219, shall:

(a) meet the requirements described in 37-1-139(3)(a) through (c), MCA; and

(b) be a full or clinical member of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA) or other board-approved national professional organization that meets the requirements in 37-1-139(3)(d), MCA.

(2) The 2000 hours supervised experience required in 37-1-139, MCA, must include:

(a) supervision by a sexual offender evaluator supervisor;

(b) face-to-face supervision at a ratio of two hours of supervision for each sequential 40 hours of evaluation and treatment of sexual offenders; and

(c) 25 hours of the 400 hours in face-to-face evaluations of sexual offenders or therapy sessions with sexual offenders must be supervised in-person by the supervisor. (History: 37-1-131, 37-1-139, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-1-139, MCA; NEW, 2021 MAR p. 1920, Eff. 12/24/21.)