Montana Board of Medical Examiners

Board Members

Thirteen individuals are appointed by the Governor to serve on the Board of Medical Examiners.  Under Montana law, the Board is made up of:

  • Five Physicians having the degree of Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) including one member with experience in emergency medicine.
  • One Physician having the degree of Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.)
  • One licensed Podiatrist.
  • One licensed Nutritionist.
  • One licensed Physician Assistant.
  • One licensed Acupuncturist.
  • One volunteer Emergency Care Provider.
  • Two members of the general public who are not medical practitioners.

Board members are appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation.
Members serve 4 year terms with no limit on the number of terms a member may serve.

One additional individual is selected by the Montana Academy of Physician Assistants as a non-voting liaison.

Individual Board Members can be contacted by email at In your message please specify which board member you would like to contact. For additional contact information and information on board member terms, please visit the Governor’s Office link for Board Members and Councils at

President: Tammy Scott, PA-C

Vice-President: Christine Emerson, R.D. - Nutritionist
Secretary: James Guyer, M.D. - Physician 
Douglas Womack, L.Ac. - Acupuncturist
C.E. "Abe" Abramson - Public Member

Molly Biehl, D.O. - Physician (Osteopathic member)

Anna Earl, M.D. - Physician
James Burkholder, M.D. - Physician
Bruce Robertson, MD - Physician
Ana Diaz, Ph.D. - Public Member
Gina Painter, D.P.M. - Podiatrist
Brian Reed - Volunteer Emergency Care Provider
Lena Phelps, P.A.-C - MTAPA Physician Assistant Liaison
Ashleigh Magill, M.D. - Physician (Emergency)
Back To Top