Montana Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors

Professional Land Surveyor

Professional Land Surveyor by Exam

The following outlines general license information. For a detailed listing of the requirements, please look for the application in the "Forms" tab.

Professional Land Surveyor by Comity

Please click the button to apply for the LS License using the online application
  • $200.00 with an additional $100.00 fee to sit for the Montana state-specific LS law exam. The fees can be paid separately or together.
  • See MCA 37-67-325313, ARM 24.183.501 and ARM 24.183.801

    Three Montana Land Surveyor education programs have been pre-approved by the Board. Graduates of these programs do not have to submit course descriptions with their application:

    1) AAS in Land Surveying, Flathead Valley Community College, Kalispell MT

    2) Minor in Land Surveying (with an engineering degree), Montana State University, Bozeman MT

    3) AAS in Civil Engineering Technology with a Land Surveying Certificate, Highlands College of Montana Tech. (program not yet available)

  • See MCA 37-67-325, MCA 37-67-313, ARM 24.183.802 and ARM 24.183.801

    Important: MCA 37-67-313 was amended in 2015. It now requires that applicants who were licensed in another state with less experience that is required by Montana for the same pathway demonstrate post-licensure experience equal to 2x the pre-licensure experience deficit.

  • Montana State-Specific Law Exam. see ARM 24.183.509
  • Biennial: every two years- June 30th on even numbered years
  • $100.00 every two years. ES licensee renewal is $120.00 every two years.
  • 30 Professional Development Hours (PDH) for a two year cycle (i.e. July 1, 2014 to June 30 2016). For more information see and ARM 24.183.2105
Back To Top