Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers

FAQ's

    • Beginning January 1, 2013, Applicants must submit all of their approved education and all experience to the board office prior to being approved to take the National Exam.
    • Staff will request a minimum of six appraisals to verify experience.  After the experience and education has been verified the trainee/licensee will be notified that they may sign up to take the exam through the testing agency.  This is a change, please do not take the exam until you have been notified that all education and experience has been verified.

    The examination for all types of licenses is administered via computer by Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP) in three testing sites. The sites are in Great Falls, Missoula and Billings. To register for the AMP exam go to their website at www.goamp.com or call 1-800-345-6559. Tests are administered Monday – Friday.

  • There is an annual renewal date of March 31
  • Upon every other renewal, licensees shall provide evidence to the board of having completed at least 28 hours of instruction in courses or seminars approved by the board, including the 7 hours National USPAP update course.
  • Board meetings are quarterly- March, June, September and December. Meeting are usually scheduled for the first Monday of that month. The schedule of upcoming meetings can be found on the board information tab above. Screening panel meetings are not open for the general public. Open meetings and Adjudication panel meetings are open to the public.
  • How do I contact the Appraisal Standards Board?
    Their website address is www.AppraisalFoundation.org.


    How do I contact the Appraisal Subcomittee (ASC)?
    Their website address is www.asc.gov.

  • The registry is on the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) website at www.asc.gov.
  • This site is a primary source for verification of license credentials.

    The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, presents Licensee Lookup information as a service to the public. The Division relies upon information provided by licensees to be true and correct, as required by statute. It is an act of unprofessional conduct for a licensee knowingly to provide erroneous information to the Division.

    The Department of Labor and Industry makes no warranty or guarantee concerning the accuracy or reliability of the content of this website. Assessing the accuracy and reliability of information obtained from this website is solely the responsibility of the user. If you have questions regarding information found within this Licensee Lookup website, please contact the specific licensing board directly.

    Please note that some disciplinary actions against licensees may not appear immediately on the website. Appeals, effective dates of orders and other administrative processes may delay posting on the website. Please contact the specific licensing board directly if you require discipline information that occurred prior to July 1, 1996.

Back To Top Support Chat Support Chat