Montana Board of Behavioral Health

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist

Click the button to apply for licensure as a licensed marriage and family therapist (LMFT) using the Online Application.

 

  • Licensing Requirements &Application Submission Checklist- LMFT
  • Examination Information: Montana accepts test scores from the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB). An applicant is exempt from the examination if an applicant is licensed, certified, or registered under the laws of a state or territory of the United States that imposes substantially the same requirements as Montana and has passed an examination similar to that required by the board; or if an application is received before July 1, 2011, the applicant is a clinical member of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy and is a current resident of this state; or the applicant is licensed as a clinical social worker under Title 37, chapter 22, or as a clinical professional counselor under Title 37, chapter 23, and has practiced marriage and family therapy within the state for a period prescribed by the board.
  • Fingerprint-Background Check: LMFT applicants must complete a background check through submission of fingerprints to the Department of Justice, Montana Criminal Records prior to being licensed. Results of the background check are sent directly to the department by the Montana Department of Justice. 
  • Renewal Period: November 1 - December 31. Late renewal is possible for 45 days. Late fees apply
  • Renewal Fees: LMFT - $149 active, $75 inactive
  • Continuing Education Requirements: See ARM 24.219.435
Back To Top