
MONTANA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
PO BOX 200513 

301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 

Licensing Phone: 406-444-6880 
Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov    Website: www.vet.mt.gov 

VETERINARIAN LICENSE APPLICATION 

I am applying for licensure: 

by examination (i.e. exam taken within the last 62 months/not licensed in another jurisdiction) – $200 
or 

as an out-of-state applicant (i.e. currently licensed in another jurisdiction) – $200 

1. FULL NAME:
First Middle Last 

2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY:

3. MAILING ADDRESS:

4. EMAIL ADDRESS:

5. TELEPHONE:
Business Home Cell 

6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: FOREIGN ID NUMBER:  

7. DATE OF BIRTH: 8. GENDER:  FEMALE MALE 

9. North American Veterinary Licensing Exam (NAVLE)/National Board Examination (NBE)/Clinical
Competency Test (CCT) Information

Name of Exam Date of Exam State Candidate ID # 
NAVLE 
NBE 
CCT 

10. List academic degrees received, including certificates equivalent to degrees. List the most recent degree
first.

Name of University or 
College 

City and 
State/Province/Territory Dates Attended Degree Earned 
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11. *This question is for foreign veterinary school graduates only.*
Indicate the type of proof of fluency in English.

Graduate of U.S. or Canadian English language high school 

Completion of Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) and Test of Spoken English (TSE). 

Other (specify)  

12. *This question is for foreign veterinary school graduates only.*
If applicable, did you complete the requirements of the American Veterinary Medical Association's (AVMA)
Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECVFG); or the American Association of
Veterinary Medical State Boards (AAVMA) Program for Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence
(PAVE)?  Verification of completion must be sent directly to Montana from the appropriate organization.

Name of Program Date of Completion Requested Verification 
ECVFG   Yes   No 
PAVE   Yes   No 

13. List all professional licenses or certification you hold or ever have held. Verification must be sent directly to
Montana from each state or jurisdiction.

State Other Jurisdiction License Type License Number Requested State 
Verification 

  Yes   No 
  Yes   No 
  Yes   No 
  Yes   No 
  Yes   No 

DECLARATION  
I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training record, character, license history and 
competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of Veterinary 
Medicine. I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and 
complete to the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive 
answer to any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical 
grounds.  

I have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the 
profession. I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice.  

Legal Signature of Applicant Date 
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BSD 3.1 -  Personal History Questions Page 1 of 3 
Rev. 12-20-2019; Eff. 01-06-2020 

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS AND NOTICE 

1. Please read the following questions carefully.  Giving an incomplete or false
answer is unprofessional conduct and may result in denial of your application or
revocation of your license. See, 37-1-105, MCA.

2. You have a continuing duty to update the information you provide in your
application and supplemental responses, including while your application is
pending and after you are granted a license.

3. Upon submittal of your application form, for every “yes” answer provided, you will
receive a request for specific information or documents associated with the
question.  Your application is not complete until staff receive all information
requested.
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PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 

1. Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration, or other
privilege to serve as a volunteer or practice a profession denied,
revoked, suspended, or restricted by a public or private local, state,
federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority?

Yes No 

2. Have you ever surrendered a credential like those listed in number 1, in
connection with or to avoid action by a public or private local, state,
federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority?

Yes No 

3. Have you ever resigned to avoid discipline, been suspended, or been
terminated from a volunteer or employment position?

Yes No 

4. Have you ever been required to participate in a behavioral modification
or assistance program in lieu of suspension or termination from a
volunteer or employment position?

Yes No 

5. Have you ever withdrawn an application for any professional license? Yes No 

6. As of the date of this application, are you aware of any pending
complaint, investigation, or disciplinary action related to any
professional license you hold?

Yes No 

7. Are you under a current order that remains unsatisfied (e.g., fines
unpaid, probation not concluded, conditions unmet?)

Yes No 

8. Do you have any medical, physiological, mental, or psychological
condition which in any way currently (within the last 6 months) impairs
or limits your ability to practice your profession or occupation with
reasonable skill and safety?

Yes No 

9. Do you currently (within the last 6 months) use one or more chemical
substances in any way which impairs or limits your ability to practice
your profession or occupation with reasonable skill and safety?

Yes No 

The following information is provided for Question 10 below:   

A criminal conviction may not automatically bar you from receiving a 
license.  For more information about how a criminal conviction may impact 
your application, consult the board or program website. 

10. Have you ever been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a
similar plea, or had prosecution or sentence deferred or suspended as
an adult or “juvenile convicted as an adult” in any state, federal, tribal,
or foreign jurisdiction?

Yes No 
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11. Are you now subject to criminal prosecution or pending criminal
charges?

Yes No 

12. Have you ever been disciplined, censured, expelled, denied
membership or asked to resign from a professional society or
organization?

Yes No 

13. Have you ever had a civil judgment entered against you in a lawsuit for
incompetence, negligence, or malpractice in practicing any profession?

Yes No 

14. Have you ever been disqualified from working with children, elderly
persons, mentally ill persons, or other vulnerable persons?

Yes No 

15. Have you ever been placed on probation, restricted, reprimanded,
suspended, revoked, resigned in lieu of action against you, or had other
action taken against you by any hospital, clinic, health care facility,
group medical practice, health maintenance organization, or third-party
insurance provider, including Medicare and Medicaid?

Yes No 

16. Are you currently on an exclusion list by the Office of Inspector General
(OIG) for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
prohibiting you from working in a facility receiving federal funding?

Yes No 

17. Has your authority to prescribe, dispense, or administer drugs,
including controlled substances, ever been denied, restricted,
suspended, or revoked?

Yes No 

18. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or had your U.S. Drug
Enforcement Administration registration placed on probation, restricted,
suspended, or revoked?

Yes No 
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MONTANA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4th FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0512 

(406) 444-5711 FAX (406) 841-2305
EMAIL: dlibsdvet@mt.gov WEBSITE: www.vet.mt.gov 

MONTANA VETERINARY MEDICINE JURISPRUDENCE 
EXAMINATION 

PLEASE PRINT YOUR NAME AS IT SHOULD APPEAR ON THE LICENSE IF GRANTED: 

NAME DATE 

Address 

City  State  Zip Code 

Daytime Phone Evening Phone 

Email Address  

1. This is an open book exam.

2. A reference guide is available to use for the open book exam. This guide provides
help to navigate to the correct statutes and rules for each question.

3. A passing score of 90% is required. If you fail the exam, you may retake the exam. ARM 
24.225.504 or ARM 24.225.601

I attest that by submitting and signing this form, I verify that I am the person who has completed this 
examination. I acknowledge that my application/license may be denied or revoked if the board becomes 
apprised of misrepresentation and/or deception in taking this examination required for licensure. 

Signature: 

Date: 

Jurisprudence Exam Page 1 of 14 Updated 12/21/2022 
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Category 1-Administrative / Board 

1) Effective January 1, 2023, the Board of Veterinary Medicine consists of
a. Seven members elected by the executive board of the Montana Veterinary Medical

Association, including 6 veterinarians and a public member.
b. Three members appointed by the Governor, and four from a list provided by the

Montana Senate to safeguard public input
c. Seven members including five veterinarians, one veterinary technician and one public

member, all appointed by the Governor
d. Seven members including four veterinarians, one attorney, one veterinary technician,

and one public member, all appointed by the Governor

2) Who is authorized to submit nominations for appointment to the Board of Veterinary medicine?
a. The Montana Stockgrowers Association
b. Officers of the Montana Veterinary Medical Association
c. Members of the Montana Chapter of the American Kennel Club
d. Members of the public
e. Any of the above

3) The Board of Veterinary Medicine is a committee of the Montana Veterinary Medical Association.
a. True
b. False

4) The Board of Veterinary Medicine has statutory authority to investigate complaints against
licensees, and impose sanctions for violations of the rules and statutes governing veterinary
medicine in Montana.

a. True
b. False

5) If an applicant for a veterinary license in Montana has another person take the Jurisprudence
Exam in their place, instead of taking it themselves, they could be denied a license or have it
revoked once the conduct became known to the board.

a. True
b. False

6) All applicants for licensure or renewal are required to report any and all legal or disciplinary
actions instituted against them which relate to the applicant's practice or their fitness to practice
veterinary medicine. Failure to furnish the required information or the filing of false information
is grounds for:

a. Denial of license, or revocation of the license once the violation has become known to
the Board

b. Denial of membership, or expulsion from, the Montana Veterinary Medical Association.
c. Immediate press release to safeguard the public.
d. All of the above.



7) The Montana Board of Veterinary medicine has the authority to
a. Limit the number of veterinarians practicing in the state

b. Safeguard the public from unlicensed persons practicing veterinary medicine
c. Safeguard the public against incompetent, dishonest or negligent veterinarians
d. Safeguard the public against rising veterinary fees
e. b and c 

8) Which of the following is not a function of the Board:
a. Certifying embryo transfer technicians, euthanasia agencies, and euthanasia technicians
b. Effective January 1, 2023, licensing veterinary technicians
c. Protection of the consumer
d. Ensuring employment for veterinarians
e. Hearing unprofessional conduct complaints

9) Veterinarian and veterinary technician licenses must be renewed
a. Annually, by November 1
b. Annually, by January 1
c. Every even numbered year, by November 1
d. Annually, on the date first licensed in Montana.

10) Licensees are required to complete continuing education hours. Which of the following is true?
a. 20 hours of continuing education must be obtained and documented in the 24 month

period before license renewal on Nov 1 of even numbered years.
b. Licensees must maintain CE records for one year following the renewal cycle.
c. The Board may randomly audit the CE hours of up to 50% of licensees.
d. Licensees who don't comply with CE requirements may be subject to administrative

suspension of their license.
e. All of the above

11) Out of the required number of continuing education hours, practice management hours:
a. Are not to exceed 25% of the total required CE hours
b. Require full documentation before acceptance
c. Are not restricted in any way.

12) Licensees may apply continuing education hours used to complete delinquent CE requirements
for the next education reporting period:

a. True
b. False



13) A licensee who fails to renew their license by renewal date has a lapsed license, but is not 
considered to be practicing without a license until 45 days past the renewal date. What is also 
true? 

a. A lapsed license may be reactivated by submitting a renewal form and paying a late fee. 
b. A veterinarian who fails to renew for longer than 45 days after the renewal date has an 

expired license, and cannot legally practice 
c. An expired license can be reactivated within two years 
d. An expired license that has not been renewed for more than two years is terminated. 
e. All of the above 

 
14) Veterinary premises may be inspected by order of the Board to verify standards of sanitation and 

cleanliness, and include all but which one of the following: 
a. Office, reception, exam rooms 
b. Insect control 
c. Interior decor 
d. Waste disposal 
e. Practice vehicle 

 
15) A written complaint charging a licensee with unprofessional conduct may be submitted to the 

Board by which of the following: 
a. A client of the veterinarian 
b. A member of the public with personal knowledge of the grounds for the complaint 
c. Another veterinarian 
d. An official in the Montana Department of Labor 
e. Any of the above may file a complaint 

 
16) Written complaints against licensees are submitted to the Board of Veterinary Medicine. Which 

of the following are true? 
a. Both the complaint and response are considered by the Screening Panel, which may 

dismiss, move to investigate, or make a finding that a licensee has violated a particular 
statute, rule or standard that would justify disciplinary proceedings. 

b. Screening Panel meetings are not open to the public 
c. The final decision on the case must be made by a majority of the board members who 

did not serve on the screening panel for the case. 
d. Complaints that do not result in a finding of violation are not public information 
e. All of the above are true 

 
17) Any final order imposing a sanction on a licensee based on competence to practice issues is 

a. Published in at least two newspapers 
b. Published on the Montana "Licensee Lookup" site 
c. Maintained in an anonymous database to protect the privacy of the licensee 



18) For violations of the rules and statutes relating to veterinary medicine, the Board may impose 
each of the following sanctions EXCEPT 

a. Confiscation of surgical equipment 
b. Impose a fine of and/ or imprisonment for unlicensed practice 
c. Restriction or limitation of practice 
d. Revocation of license 
e. Refund costs and fees billed to and collected from a consumer 

 
19) Local governments in Montana are prohibited from imposing a tax or fee upon veterinarians as a 

condition of them practicing their profession 
a. True 
b. False 

 

Category 2 -- Practice Act 
 

20) A person is considered to be practicing veterinary medicine when they do all but which of the 
following: 

a. Represent themselves to the public as a veterinarian 
b. Perform acupuncture on animals 
c. Perform dentistry on animals 
d. Perform pregnancy tests on cattle that they own 

 
21) Some potential consequences of violating rules or statutes regarding unprofessional conduct 

include 
a. Public reprimand or censure 
b. Payment of up to $1000 fine 
c. Suspension of veterinary license for a fixed or indefinite term 
d. Completion of remedial education 
e. All of the above 
f. c and d only 

 
 

22) Examples of unprofessional conduct include 
a. Failing to adequately supervise staff members in a clinic 
b. Failure to get client consent before anesthesia of an animal 
c. Prescribing medication for a pet without a valid veterinary-patient-client 

relationship 
d. Fraud or deception in treating an animal or billing for services 
e. All of the above 

 
23) A licensed veterinary technician can perform surgery under the direct supervision of a veterinarian. 

a. True 
b. False 



 
 

24) Which of the following is/are true? 
a. Certified euthanasia agencies are inspected by order of the Board with regard to 

controlled substance storage, inventory, administrative procedures, and recordkeeping. 
b.  Sodium pentobarbital is the only Board-approved euthanasia drug for use by certified 

euthanasia technicians 
c. Acepromazine and xylazine are the only Board-approved restraint drugs for use by certified 

euthanasia technicians 
d. All of the above are true 

 
 

25) A certified euthanasia technician in Montana is required to do all but which one of the 
following: 

a. Pass both a written and practical training exam approved by the Board 
b. Show proof of continuing education hours approved by the Board 
c. Adhere to standards of professional conduct 
d. Keep euthanasia drugs on their person at all times in case of emergency 

 
26) An unlicensed employee of your practice does a procedure while you are away from the clinic. 

The animal has complications as a result of the procedure. How do Montana rules and statutes 
address this situation? 

a. You are required to dismiss the employee 
b. The employee is required to appear before the board 
c. As a licensed veterinarian you could be charged with a violation for failing to adequately 

supervise an employee 
d. All of the above 

27) Third year veterinary students may practice under which of the following circumstances: 
a. If employed by a licensed veterinarian and working under their immediate supervision 
b. After being issued a permit 
c. Third year veterinary students are allowed to practice unrestricted until the date of 

graduation. 
 

28) A veterinarian licensed in another state may work in Montana 
a. If they have an immediate family member who is a Montana licensed veterinarian 
b. If their work in Montana is limited to the species they specialize in and only for 5 

consecutive days 
c. If they are under supervision by a veterinarian and limit their work to counties bordering 

the state they hold a license in 
d. If they are supervised by a Montana licensed veterinarian and limit their work to three 

days in a calendar year 
e. If they are supervised by a Montana licensed veterinarian and limit their work to 3 days 

per month 



 

 
29) In Montana, a veterinarian may retain an animal or refuse to release records for failure to pay a 

veterinary bill. 
a. True 
b. False 

 

30) Certified Bovine Embryo Transfer technicians are required to 
a. Obtain ten hours of continuing education credits per year 
b. Maintain records of each donor insemination, donor collection, and embryos recovered 

and keep records for at least six years 
c. Possess and administer only antibiotics, local anesthetics, and synchronizing and 

stimulating hormones 
d. Work under the supervision of a Montana licensed veterinarian 
e. All of the above 

 
31) Both Certified Euthanasia technicians and Certified Bovine Embryo Transfer technicians are 

subject to laws governing unprofessional conduct 
a. True 
b. False 

 
32) The Montana Veterinary Practice Act requires that veterinarians provide care that is competent, 

humane and consistent with the prevailing standard of practice for the species of animal and the 
professed area of expertise of the veterinarian. 

a. True 
b. False 

Category 3 - Communications and Record Keeping 

33) Patient records must 
a. Be legible and contain sufficient information to allow for any veterinarian to be able to 

proceed with care and treatment of a patient just by reading it 
b. Describe results of physical exam including body condition and temperature 
c. Include all treatments and doses of medications administered to the patient 
d. All of the above 
e. Only b and c 

 
34) Patient records must 

a. Include the animal's pedigree 
b. Be maintained for a minimum of 7 years after the last visit of the patient to the practice 
c. Be easily retrievable and provided to the Board as part of an investigation if requested 
d. Be signed by a certified veterinary technician 
e. All of the above. 



 
35) Patient records must 

a. Include the presenting complaint and history of the animal 
b. Include any lab reports and radiographs 
c. Include a record of every encounter and consult regarding the patient 
d. Include a treatment plan 
e. All of the above 

36) Records are the property of the practice where they were prepared. An associate veterinarian 
may not remove or copy records without the permission of the owner of the practice. 

a. True 
b. False 

 
37) Why is it important that medical records be detailed, dated and reflect changes in the patient's 

progress or owner's waiver of recommended treatments? 

a. A client may move and need copies of the record for a new veterinarian. 
b. Records substantiate that services charged to the client have been rendered. 
c. Records substantiate that the veterinarian provided competent, humane care in case of 

a complaint. 
d. Maintenance of accurate, thorough records is in the best interest of the patient. 
e. All of the above 

 
38) A complaint may be brought to the Board against a veterinarian by an animal owner who 

believes they failed to meet a professional standard of care. Which of the following are true? 

a. The veterinarian is obligated to respond to the complaint with a complete and full 
explanation of the matter at hand, at the request of the Board 

b. The veterinarian must provide medical records that are pertinent to the case 
c. Failing to provide care that meets the prevailing standard of practice is unprofessional 

conduct 
d. If the Screening Panel makes a finding of unprofessional conduct due to incompetent 

care, the Board may sanction the license of the veterinarian 
e. All of the above are true 

 
39) Veterinarians are responsible for the disposal of hazardous or infectious waste. Which of the 

following is true? 

a. Needles and scalpel blades must be stored in leakproof, rigid, puncture resistant 
containers for transport, treatment and subsequent disposal 

b. Needles must be capped before throwing in a trash can 
c. Scalpel blades should be put back in their original container for safety 
d. None of the above are true. 



Category 4 - Pharmacy and Dispensing 

 
40) To dispense prescription drugs in Montana, a veterinarian must: 

a. Be licensed in Montana 
b. Establish a veterinarian-client-patient relationship 
c. Dispense the product with proper labeling 
d. All of the above 

 
41) Which of the following is one condition that must exist in a valid veterinarian-client-patient 

relationship? 
a. The veterinarian knows the client personally but has not examined the animal either in 

person or via telemedicine 
b. The client has listened to instructions and has looked for supporting information on line 
c. The client asks a veterinarian to diagnose a livestock herd problem but the veterinarian 

has never been to the premises where the animals are kept 
d. The veterinarian is available for follow-up if the treatment regimen does not produce 

the desired results. 
 

42) If a veterinarian is willing to dispense medication for an animal, based on their professional 
opinion and valid VCPR, then they must also provide a prescription in place of said medication if 
requested to do so by the owner of the animal. 

a. True 
b. False 

 
 

43) A veterinary office employee or a licensed veterinary technician can make the decision as to 
whether a prescription can or cannot be refilled if they document the information in the animal 
record. 

a. True 
b. False 

 
44) Knowledge of appropriate drug doses for the species being treated is the legal responsibility of 

the 
a. Prescribing veterinarian 
b. Pharmacist 
c. Veterinary technician calling in the prescription 
d. All of the above 



 

Category 5 - Professional Conduct, Ethics 
 
 

45) Which of the following are considered unprofessional conduct: 
a. Engaging in deception in procuring a license 
b. Failure to get clients' consent before putting an animal under anesthesia, except in an 

emergency situation 
c. Failing to cooperate with an investigation authorized by the Board, including providing 

complete records and writing an explanation covering the matter in the complaint 
d. Engaging in activity beyond the scope of practice encompassed by the license, except 

when reasonably undertaken in an emergency situation to protect life, health or 
property. 

e. All of the above 
 

46) Which of the following are considered unprofessional conduct? 
a. Refusing to write a prescription for an animal that has not been examined at your 

practice for 18 months 
b. Cruel or inhumane treatment of animals 
c. Advertising your services on billboards or bus stop kiosks 
d. Possession or use of controlled substances for legitimate or therapeutic purposes 
e. All of the above 

 
47) Which of the following are considered unprofessional conduct? 

a. Endangering patient safety by failing to adequately supervise support staff 
b. Practicing veterinary medicine after the veterinary license has expired or has been 

suspended 
c. Failure to report to the proper authorities cruel or inhumane treatment to animals, if the 

veterinarian has direct knowledge of such treatment 
d. Offering to cure or treat disease by a secret method that the licensee refuses to divulge 

upon demand to the Board. 
e. All of the above 

 
48) Which of the following is NOT unprofessional conduct? 

a. Having a physical or mental disability that renders the licensee unable to practice 
veterinary medicine with reasonable skill and safety 

b. Assisting another person in unlicensed practice of veterinary medicine 
c. Using alcohol to the point of impairment while practicing veterinary medicine 
d. Conduct that does not meet the generally accepted standards of practice 
e. Violating patient confidentiality by reporting animal abuse to the proper authorities 



49. Which of the following is/are unprofessional conduct and grounds for disciplinary action?

a. Cruel or inhumane treatment of animals by a veterinarian or by a supervised employee
b. Dispensing a veterinary prescription drug for a dog that was examined that day and diagnosed

with a urinary tract infection
c. Possession, use, diversion, or distribution of controlled substances other than for legitimate or

therapeutic purposes.
d. All of the above
e. a and c 

50. It is unprofessional conduct to spread misleading information about other veterinarians in the
community.

a. True
b. False

Category 6 – Licensed Veterinary Technician 

51. To be a licensed veterinary technician in Montana, an individual must be a graduate of a program
accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association and you must pass an examination prescribed
by the board.

a. True
b. False

52. (Which is incorrect?) A licensed veterinary technician may:

a. Work under the direct supervision, immediate supervision, or indirect supervision of a licensed
veterinarian.

b. Follow verbal instructions by the veterinarian in an emergency even if the veterinarian is not on the
premises.

c. Follow clearly defined written orders and established office protocols.
d. Vaccinate client animals against rabies outside of work to make extra money.

53. “Drug Enforcement Administration” or “DEA” means the Montana State Department of Justice agency
responsible for enforcing narcotics laws.

a. True
b. False

54. A person found guilty by the board of violating use of the term “licensed veterinary technician” or the use
of the initials “LVT” to describe the person’s qualifications when not licensed as a LVT is guilty of a felony.
a. True
b. False

55. An applicant who has failed the jurisprudence exam three times is no longer eligible to take the exam
again.
a. True
b. False



56. Which of the following is not considered to be unprofessional conduct? 
a. Practice beyond the scope of practice encompassed by the licensee except when reasonably 

undertaken in an emergency situation to protect life, health, or property.  
b. Cruel or inhumane treatment of animals. 
c. Abandoning, neglecting, or otherwise physically abusing a patient once the licensed veterinarian has 

undertaken treatment of the patient.  
d. Violation of professional ethical standards by making public false or misleading negative information 

about another veterinarian or LVT’s professional standing or reputation.  
e. All of the above are considered to be unprofessional conduct.  

 
57. “Patient” means any animal or group of animals receiving veterinary care from a licensee.  

a. True 
b. False 

 
58. Which of the following is correct regarding the fee schedules?  

a. The application fee for a licensed veterinary technician is $75 
b. The renewal fee for a veterinarian is $125 
c. The renewal fee for a licensed veterinary technician is $50 
d. The application fee for a veterinarian from another state is $25 

 
59. Acceptable CE activities for licensed veterinary technician include which of the following? 

a. Directly relate to the scope of practice of veterinary medicine as defined in board statutes and rules.  
b. Review existing concepts and techniques 
c. Convey information beyond the basic professional education 
d. Update knowledge on the practice and advances in veterinary medicine 
e. All of the above 

 
60. The board may randomly audit up to 50 percent of renewed licensees’ CE hours.  

a. True 
b. False 
 

 



Jurisprudence Exam Guide: 
Statutory and Administrative Rules References By Question 

 
1. MCA 2.15.1742 
2. MCA 37.1.132 
3. MCA 2.15.1742 
4. MCA 37.1.307 
5. MCA 37.1.316, MCA 37.1.307, MCA 37.1.312 
6. MCA 37.1.105 
7. MCA 37.18.301, ARM 24.225.550 
8. MCA 37.18.603, ARM 24.225.701, MCA 37.18.701, ARM 24.225.2401 
9. ARM 24.101.413 
10. ARM 24.225.511 
11. ARM 24.225.511 
12. ARM 24.225.511 
13. MCA 37.1.141 
14. ARM 24.225.521 
15. ARM 24.225.2401 
16. MCA 37.1.307, ARM 24.225.2401, ARM 24.225. 2405 
17. ARM 24.101.404 
18. MCA 37.1.312, MCA 37.1.136 
19. MCA 37.18.313 
20. MCA 37.18.102, MCA 37.18.104 
21. MCA 37.1.312, MCA 37.1.136 
22. ARM 24.225.550 
23. ARM 24.225.405 
24. MCA 37.18.603, ARM 24.225.930 
25. ARM 25.225.925, ARM 24.225.950 
26. ARM 24.225.405, MCA 37.18.309 
27. MCA 37.18.104 
28. ARM 24.225.301, MCA 37.18.104 
29. ARM 24.225.514 
30. ARM 24.225.709, ARM 24.225.715, ARM 24.225.720 
31. ARM 24.225.950, ARM 24.225.750 
32. ARM 24.225.550 
33. ARM 24.225.514 
34. ARM 24.225.514 
35. ARM 24.225.514 
36. ARM 24.225.514 
37. ARM 24.225.514 
38. ARM 24.225.550, MCA 37.1.316, MCA 37.1.136, ARM 24.225.2401 
39. MCA 75.10.1003, MCA 75.10.1005, ARM 24.225.520 
40. ARM 24.225.301, ARM 24.225. 550 
41. ARM 24.225.301 
42. ARM 24.225.514 
43. ARM 24.225.405 
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