

Montana Board of Veterinary Medicine

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: 406-444-6880

Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov Website: www.vet.mt.gov

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Licensed Veterinarian Technician (LVT)

<u>License Requirements for LVT</u>

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Applicants must meet the education requirements as described in either Option 1 or Option 2.
 - Option 1 be a graduate of a program accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Council on Education - [MCA 37-18-701, ARM 24.225.601]
 OR
 - Option 2 demonstrate a minimum of 4500 hours of on-the-job-training under the supervision of a veterinarian licensed and residing in Montana. [MCA 37-18-701, ARM 24.225.601]
- 2. Applicants must pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE). [MCA 37-18-701, ARM 24.225.601]
- 3. Applicants must pass the jurisprudence examination prescribed by the board covering the statutes and rules governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Montana;
 - A passing score is 90% or greater [ARM 24.225.601
 - Applicants that fail the exam three times may submit a written request to the board to retake the exam for a fourth time. (ARM 24.225.601)

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for LVT

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic online application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which you hold or have ever held a professional license of any type. It is up to you to request official verification from those states and jurisdictions. Montana accepts whatever official form of verification is offered by other states or jurisdictions.
Certified education transcripts as described in Option 1. Transcripts must be sent directly to the department from the college or university or the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). Or, if applying using Option 2, the on-the-job-training form must be completed by both the applicant and the Montana licensed supervising Veterinarian. This form is submitted to AAVSB at vettech@aavsb.org and is used to determine eligibility to take the VTNE.
Results of VTNE exam. Results must be sent directly to the department from AAVSB. Completed open-book jurisprudence exam which will be graded by department staff. If you do not pass you will be contacted by department staff so you may retake the exam, up to three time before board approval is required.



If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and
documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court
proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).

Application Fee(s) for LVT

The following fee(s) must be submitted with your online application. Applicants can pay using a credit card or a bank account.

□ \$150 application fee

You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements, please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.