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Montana Private Security Program 

PO Box 200513 
301 S Park, 4th Floor 

Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: (406) 444-6880 

Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov Website: privatesecurity.mt.gov 
 

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist  
Private Security Guard 

License Requirements for Private Security Guard 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana. 

 
1. Applicant must be at least 18 years of age and has completed high school or equivalent education [MCA 37-60- 

303] 
2. Each Private Security Guard applicant shall complete the required 16 hour training program [MCA 37-60- 

303, ARM 24.182.514, ARM 24.182.807] 
3. Applicant is required to provide a background investigation that includes a fingerprint check by the Montana 

Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation [MCA 37-60-303 and ARM 24.182.501] 
4. Each Private Security Guard applicant shall provide verification of employment by a Private Security Firm as a 

final condition for the Department to issue the license. [ARM 24.182.514] 
 

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Private Security Guard 
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some documents 
may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be 
sent to the Department directly from the source. 

 
 Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a 

professional license of any type. 
 If you answered yes to any personal history question, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and 

documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court 
proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.). 

 Applicant Rights and Consent to Fingerprint Notice (Privacy Act Statement). 
 Send fingerprints to the Montana Department of Justice for a State and Federal criminal background check. 
 Proof the applicant is employed or contracted to be employed by a Private Security Firm. 
 Proof applicant has completed the 16-hour training program. 

Application Fee(s) for Private Security Guard 
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. You can apply and pay online using a debit/credit card 
or bank account. 

 
 $100 application fee 

 
You can apply for a license online at: aca-prod.accela.com/POL. 

Please include a valid email address with your application. Email is the Department's primary form of communication. 
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