

Montana Private Security Program

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: (406) 444-6880 Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov Website: privatesecurity.mt.gov

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Private Investigator

License Requirements for Private Investigator

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Applicant must be at least 18 years of age and has completed high school or equivalent education [MCA 37-60-303]
- 2. Applicant is required to provide a background investigation that includes a fingerprint check by the Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation [MCA 37-60-303 and ARM 24.182.501]
- 3. Private Investigators shall maintain a minimum of \$500,000 occurrence form of commercial general liability which includes personal injury. If endorsed for firearms, firearms liability insurance coverage is required [ARM 24.182.405]
- 4. Each Private Investigator applicant shall pass a written examination as set forth in [<u>ARM 24.182.505</u>, <u>ARM 24.182.512</u>]. The examination is based on Title 37, Chapters 1 and 60, MCA and ARM 24, Chapter 182. For out-of-state applicants, it is your responsibility to find a facility to proctor the exam and notify the Department of the location in writing.
- 5. Applicants for licensure as Private Investigators must demonstrate 5,400 cumulative hours of experience or a combination of education, training, and experience [<u>ARM 24.182.512</u> and <u>ARM 24.182.804</u>]
- Applicants who will wear, carry, or possess a firearm in performance of the applicant's duties shall complete a Department approved firearms training program and requalify annually [<u>ARM 24.182.420</u>, <u>ARM</u> <u>24.182.801</u>]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Private Investigator

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the Department directly from the source.

- □ Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of any type.
- □ If you answered yes to any personal history question on the application, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).
- □ Applicant Rights and Consent to Fingerprint Notice (Privacy Act Statement).
- Send fingerprints to the Montana Department of Justice for a State and Federal criminal background check.
- Applicant proof of education, training and experience.
- □ Applicant proof of required insurance.
- □ Proof of successful completion of a Department approved firearms training program.



Application Fee(s) for Private Investigator

The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. You can apply and pay online using a debit/credit card or bank account.

- □ \$250 application fee
- □ \$ 20 examination fee
- □ \$ 50 Armed Endorsement fee (optional)

You can apply for a license online at: <u>aca-prod.accela.com/POL.</u>

Please include a valid email address with your application. Email is the Department's primary form of communication.