

Montana Board of Plumbers

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: 406-444-5711

Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov Website: www.plumber.mt.gov

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Master Plumber by Examination

License Requirements for Master Plumber License:

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- **1.** Written affirmation from a licensed master plumber(s) or a licensed plumbing contractor(s) by whom the applicant was employed certifying by detailed description of the applicant's plumbing experience, that the applicant meets the qualifications set by <u>37-69-305</u>, MCA. <u>NOTE:</u> Practice in the fields of steam fitting, hydronics, and industrial piping will not be considered as acceptable experience in the field of plumbing for the master license experience requirement. [<u>37-69-305, MCA</u>, <u>37-69-306, MCA</u>]
 - a. evidence of 4 years of experience as a licensed journeyman plumber in the field of plumbing, verified by time or pay records of actual plumbing experience;
 - b. evidence of 3 years of experience working with a licensed master plumber or in a supervisory capacity in the field of plumbing, which may run concurrently with the requirement in (a); and
- **2.** Exams: Once the application has been approved, pass the **Written examination** prescribed by the board. [37-69-305, MCA, 37-69-306, MCA, ARM 24.180.407]
 - 1 year of experience is 1,500 hours or more of work in a continuous 12-month period. [37-69-305, MCA]
 - A master plumber may not allow the master plumber's license to be used by any person or firm, corporation, or business other than the master plumber's own for the purpose of obtaining permits or for doing plumbing work under the license. [37-69-305, MCA]
- 3. (OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS): [ARM 24.180.604, 37-1-304, MCA]
 - a. Out-of-state applicants for a master or journeyman plumber's license may provide proof of prior licensing in another state by submitting a copy or copies of the license(s) held along with a certified letter of verification from the state or local licensing agency stating date of licensure and requirements for licensure. If the qualifications from the state of original licensure are not equivalent to Montana's, the applicant will receive credit for the years required by the original state, but will need to provide the additional year's documentation as required by (b).
 - b. Applicants from states with no journeyman or master licensing shall provide a notarized statement or letter from a qualified individual(s) acceptable to the board, with direct knowledge of the applicant's qualitative and quantitative plumbing experience equivalent to **five years for the journeyman license** and **nine years for the master license**.



4. Temporary Practice Permits:

- a. An applicant for journeyman or master plumber license shall be issued a temporary practice permit to perform only journeyman plumber functions upon approval of the applicant to take the examination for the licensure sought and upon receipt of the appropriate fees. Master applicants holding temporary practice permits may not perform plumbing functions requiring a master plumber license.
- b. A temporary practice permit terminates 110 days after issuance, or upon the applicant's fourth failure of the written examination, or upon the applicant's failure of the practical examination with a score of less than 65 percent, whichever occurs first.
- c. A second temporary practice permit will be issued to an applicant who scores between 65 and 69 percent on the practical examination or, in the board's discretion, to an applicant unable to take the practical examination for which the applicant is scheduled due to a documented hardship. [ARM 24.180.607]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for a Master Plumber by Examination:

The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some documents S

may be	submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be the board directly from the source.
	Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of any type; Master experience verification form providing 4 years (Minimum of 6000 hours) of legally obtained experience in the field of plumbing as Journeyman level plumber or higher of which, 3 of those years working with a licensed master plumber or in a supervisory capacity.
	Or
	Master experience verification form providing nine years of legally obtained experience in the field of plumbing (Out of state applicants only)
<u>Applica</u>	tion Fee(s) for Master Plumber by Examination:
	owing fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or e- f you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash.
	\$380 – Application fee \$100 – Temporary Journeyman work permit for exam candidates (fee is in addition to application fee)

You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.