



## Montana Prescription Drug Registry Requirements and F.A.Q.

Updated April 2025

Please see the below information regarding the Montana Prescription Drug Registry (MPDR) requirements and frequently asked questions for Montana licensed healthcare prescribers. The MPDR is Montana's prescription monitoring program and allows authorized users access to a report of controlled substances dispensed to their patients by Montana licensed pharmacies to improve patient safety.

## **MPDR Requirements:**

The following MPDR requirements were established in the 2017 Legislative Session:

**Mandatory Registration and Fee Payment:** Effective October 1, 2019, all Montana licensees authorized to prescribe or dispense prescription drugs are required to register with the MPDR, Montana Code Annotated (MCA) MCA 37-7-1503, and pay the annual \$30 MPDR fee at the time of license renewal, MCA 37-7-1511.

- Frequently asked questions about Mandatory Registration and Fee Payments
  - Where do I pay the fee? The fee is automatically collected when you renew your Montana license, there is no separate fee.
  - I am semi-retired, do not have a DEA number and/or rarely prescribe controlled substances, do I have to register? Yes, the requirement is the same for all active Montana licensees authorized to prescribe medications regardless of their practice setting/status, there are NO exceptions.
  - Do I have to keep changing my password to keep my MPDR account active? No, your account will remain active even if your password expires. Your password must be changed every 60 days per Montana Information Technology Services Division requirements.
  - How do I know if I am registered with the MPDR? MPDR registration status is available on your license certificate. View your license certificate by logging on to your ebiz account or on the public licensee portal.

**Prescriber Mandatory Use:** Effective July 1, 2021, a prescriber, or an agent of the prescriber, is required to search a patient's MPDR record before issuing a prescription for an opioid or a benzodiazepines to the patient, except in certain circumstances, MCA 37-7-1515.

- Frequently asked questions about Mandatory Use
  - How is compliance with mandatory use of the MPDR monitored? Compliance will be monitored through the Department of Labor and Industry complaint process.
  - How can I make looking at the MPDR easier? The MPDR can be integrated directly into your health information system. Please see the <u>Montana</u> <u>Integration Guide</u> for more information on one-click access to MPDR reports.

## Other Montana Opioid Statutes:

**Restrictions on Prescriptions for Opioid Naïve Patients:** When a medical practitioner or a naturopathic physician prescribes an opioid to an opioid-naive patient on an outpatient basis, the prescription may not be for more than a 7-day supply, except in certain circumstances, <u>MCA 37-2-108</u>.