
HAD APP 
10/02/2023 
Page 1 of 10

Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program 
301 SOUTH PARK, 4th FLOOR 

PO BOX 200513 
HELENA, MONTANA 59620-0513 

PHONE: (406) 444-6880  FAX: (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdhad@mt.gov  WEBSITE: www.hearingaid.mt.gov 

HEARING AID DISPENSERS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO PRACTICE IN MONTANA 
IN ANY MANNER WITHOUT AN ACTIVE MONTANA LICENSE 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

 Audiologist:
Do not need to be licensed as a hearing aid dispenser to dispense hearing aids.

 Hearing Aid Dispenser Trainee:
Be of good moral character.
Education equivalent to a 4-year course in an accredited high school or holds a current license as
an audiologist.
Free of contagious or infectious disease.
Pass a written examination provided by the International Hearing Society (IHS).
Pass a state jurisprudence examination.
Identify the Montana active licensed hearing aid dispenser who shall be responsible for providing
direct supervision.

 Hearing Aid Dispenser (Upon completing requirements for a trainee):
Be of good moral character.
Education equivalent to a 4-year course in an accredited high school or holds a current license as
an audiologist.
Free of contagious or infectious disease.
Complete 1000 hours of supervised training.
Pass all sections of the practical examination provided by the International Hearing Society (IHS).
Identify permanent place of business in Montana.

 Hearing Aid Dispenser (License in another state):
Be of good moral character.
Education equivalent to a 4-year course in an accredited high school or holds a current license as
an audiologist.
Free of contagious or infectious disease.
Holds a current unsuspended, and unrevoked license in other state or jurisdiction.
Licensure in that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those
in Montana.
Pass a state jurisprudence examination.
Identify permanent place of business in Montana.

FEES 

$600 
$300 

EXAM FEES $  50 
$550 

**Make check or money order payable to the Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program** 

$500 
$500 

Application by examination
Applicant from another licensure state
Hearing Aid Trainee Application Fee 
Original license fee after passing all applicable exams 

Re-take fee for jurisprudence exam 
Re-take for board member administered practical IHS exam



APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

 When the application is complete, receipt of all supporting documentation, passage of all required 
examinations and licensure fee of $300, the application will be processed and considered by 
Department staff for licensure.

 All verifications of licensure must be sent directly from each state board in which the applicant is 
currently or has ever been licensed.  Please make copies of the attached verification request form as 
needed.  Some states may charge a fee for verifications. Contact each state board prior to sending 
the request to get specific information about requesting a license verification.

 Keep the Department office informed at all times of any address changes, changes in license status 
and complaints or proposed disciplinary action. This is essential for timely processing of applications 
and subsequent licensure.

 The applicant must pass the Montana Jurisprudence Examination, which is an open book examination 
on the laws and rules pertaining to the licensure and regulation of a hearing aid dispenser. The laws 
and rules are available at this website: www.hearingaid.mt.gov. The applicant must obtain a final 
score of at least 75% on the Montana Jurisprudence Examination. In the event of failure, the 
applicant may retake the examination by first submitting the $50 exam fee to the Hearing Aid 
Dispensers Program then another exam will be provided.

 The written and practical examinations are provided by the International Hearing Society (IHS). The 
written examination is computer-based (taken on a computer). Although Montana neither administers 
nor develops the examination, it is responsible for assuring that only eligible candidates sit for the 
exams and that IHS receive the necessary registration and fees at
www.ihsinfo.org. To pass the written examination an applicant must achieve a passing score on the 
exam as set by the IHS. In the event of failure, the applicant may retake the exam by paying an 
exam fee to IHS. Upon approval of the license application, the applicant will be notified by the 
Department office to take this exam. The practical examination is administered by the Department. 
Upon approval of completing the 1000 hours of training, the applicant will be notified by the 
Department office to take this exam. An applicant must achieve a passing score on each section of 
the practical examination as set by the IHS. An applicant who fails any section only has to retake the 
section(s) failed, but must pay the full re-examination fee.

PROCESSING PROCEDURES 

 Once a routine application is complete, the application takes 14 days to process from the time it is 
received in the Department office.

 The applicant will be notified of any deficient or missing items from the application file.
 Once a routine application is processed and approved a permanent license will be issued.
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DOCUMENTS
The following documents must be submitted to the Department office in order to complete your license 
application.  Please make 8½"x11" copies of the following and submit with your application. 

 Hearing Aid Dispenser Trainee:

• Completed application
• Application fee(s)
• High school diploma or it's equivalent
• Identify the licensed hearing aid dispenser who shall be responsible for providing direct supervision
• Passing of the open book jurisprudence examination

 Hearing Aid Dispenser (Upon completing requirements for a trainee):
• Completed application
• Application fee(s)
• High school diploma or it's equivalent
• Completed 1000 hours of supervised training
• Passing the written examination provided by the International Hearing Society (IHS)
• Passing all sections of the practical examination provided by the International Hearing Society (IHS)
• Passing of the open book jurisprudence examination
• Identify permanent place of business in Montana

 Hearing Aid Dispenser (Licensed in another state):

• Completed application
• Application fee(s)
• High school diploma or it's equivalent
• Passing of the open book jurisprudence examination
• License verification from states where you hold or have held a license
• Copy of other state laws and rules of license currently held
• Identify permanent place of business in Montana



FEMALEMALE8. DATE OF BIRTH

FOREIGN ID NUMBER7. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

FAXHOME PHONE6. ORGANIZATION PHONE

EMAIL ADDRESSHOMEORGANIZATION

PREFERRED METHOD OF CONTACT
Street or PO Box # City and State  Zip

5. HOME ADDRESS

Street or PO Box # City and State  Zip

4. ORGANIZATION ADDRESS

3. ORGANIZATION NAME

2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY

Last First Middle

1. FULL NAME

 Hearing Aid Trainee - $600 Application Fee Hearing Aid Dispenser - $500 Application Fee

Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program 
301 SOUTH PARK, 4th FLOOR 

PO BOX 200513 
HELENA, MONTANA 59620-0513 

PHONE: (406) 444-6880   FAX: (406) 841-2305 
EMAIL: dlibsdhad@mt.gov  WEBSITE: www.hearingaid.mt.gov 
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Application for Licensure as: 

Allow 30 days from the date the Department has a complete routine application file for licensure

9. Which exam did you take for initial licensure?

10. If taking an examination, do you have any physical or mental impairment
requiring special accommodations?  If yes, attach a detailed explanation.

IHS Practical Exam Montana JurisprudenceILE Written ExamNational Boards

Yes No
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11. List all professional licenses you hold or have ever held.  Verification must be sent directly
to Montana from each state/province/territory.

State License Type Issue Date Expiration Date Requested State Verification

NoYes

NoYes

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No
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NoYes

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS AND NOTICE

• Please read the following questions carefully.  Giving an incomplete or false answer is unprofessional
conduct and may result in denial of your application or revocation of your license. See, 37-1-105, MCA.

• You have a continuing duty to update the information you provide in your application and
supplemental responses, including while your application is pending and after you are granted a
license.

• Upon submittal of your application form, for every “yes” answer provided, you will receive a request
for specific information or documents associated with the question.  Your application is not complete
until staff receive all information requested.

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS

12. Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration, or other privilege to serve as a
volunteer or practice a profession denied, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a public or
private local, state, federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority?

13. Have you ever surrendered a credential like those listed in number 12, in connection
with or to avoid action by a public or private local, state, federal, tribal, religious, or
foreign authority?

14. Have you ever resigned to avoid discipline, been suspended, or been terminated from
a volunteer or employment position?

15. Have you ever been required to participate in a behavioral modification or assistance
program in lieu of suspension or termination from a volunteer or employment position?

16. Have you ever withdrawn an application for any professional license?

17. As of the date of this application, are you aware of any pending complaint,
investigation, or disciplinary action related to any professional license you hold?

18. Are you under a current order that remains unsatisfied (e.g., fines unpaid, probation
not concluded, conditions unmet?)

"Chemical substances" include alcohol, drugs, or medications, whether taken legally or 
illegally.

19. Do you have any medical, physiological, mental, or psychological condition which in
any way currently (within the last 6 months) impairs or limits your ability to practice your
profession or occupation with reasonable skill and safety?

20. Do you currently (within the last 6 months) use one or more chemical substances in
any way which impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession or occupation with
reasonable skill and safety?
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NoYes

NoYes

NoYes

NoYes

NoYes

30. PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION

Name of School City & State/Province/Territory Dates Attended Degree Earned

21. Have you ever been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a similar plea,
or had prosecution or sentence deferred or suspended as an adult or “juvenile convicted
as an adult” in any state, federal, tribal, or foreign jurisdiction?

22. Are you now subject to criminal prosecution or pending criminal charges?

23. Have you ever been disciplined, censured, expelled, denied membership or asked to
resign from a professional society or organization?

24. Have you ever had a civil judgment entered against you in a lawsuit for
incompetence, negligence, or malpractice in practicing any profession?

25. Have you ever been disqualified from working with children, elderly persons,
mentally ill persons, or other vulnerable persons?

26. Have you ever been placed on probation, restricted, reprimanded, suspended,
revoked, resigned in lieu of action against you, or had other action taken against you by
any hospital, clinic, health care facility, group medical practice, health maintenance
organization, or third-party insurance provider, including Medicare and Medicaid?

27. Are you currently on an exclusion list by the Office of Inspector General (OIG) for the
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services prohibiting you from working in a facility
receiving federal funding?

28. Has your authority to prescribe, dispense, or administer drugs, including controlled
substances, ever been denied, restricted, suspended, or revoked?

29. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or had your U.S. Drug Enforcement
Administration registration placed on probation, restricted, suspended, or revoked?

The following information is provided for Question 21 below: 

A criminal conviction may not automatically bar you from receiving a license.  For more information about 
how a criminal conviction may impact your application, consult the board or program website.

NoYes

NoYes
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DECLARATION 

I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record, character, 
license history and competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, 
to the Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program. 

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be 
true and complete to the best of my knowledge.  In signing this application, I am aware that 
a false statement or evasive answer to any question may lead to denial of my application or 
subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical grounds.  I have read and will abide by the  
current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the profession.  I will 
abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice. 

Signature of Applicant Date

Name and Location of Practice Activity/
Position Inclusive Dates Reason for 

Leaving

31. PRACTICE HISTORY:  List all activities in chronological order, up to and including
the present.  Specify nature of activity; for example, private practice, hospital
practice, vacation, school, private employment, etc.  (If medical practice, indicate
nature of practice.)  Account for all periods of time longer than 1 month.
Indicate specific month and year for each activity.   Use additional paper if
necessary.



VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 

THIS IS NOT AN ENDORSEMENT CERTIFICATION 

PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION OF THE FORM AND MAIL TO EACH STATE DEPARTMENT IN WHICH YOU ARE 
NOW OR HAVE EVER BEEN LICENSED TO DISPENSE HEARING AIDS.  YOU MAY COPY THIS FORM AS MANY 
TIMES AS NEEDED.  SOME BOARDS REQUIRE A FEE FOR THIS SERVICE. 

STATE BOARD: 

I am applying for a license to dispense hearing aids in the State of Montana and the Hearing Aid 
Dispensers Program requires this form to be completed by each state wherein I hold or have ever held 
licensure. This is your authority to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise, 
DIRECTLY to the Hearing Aid Dispenser Program, PO BOX 200513, HELENA, MT  59620-0513.  Your 
early response is appreciated. 

  

  

DO NOT DETACH - -  THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF THE STATE BOARD AND 
RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE Montana Hearing Aid Dispenser Program. 

  

  

  

  

License is Current? 

Has License been suspended, revoked, on probation or otherwise disciplined? 
If YES, explain and attach documentation. 

Has licensee ever been requested to appear before your Board? 
If YES, explain. 
  

  

 BOARD SEAL 

(Signature) Name (Please Print)

Address My License Number is

State of:

Full Name of Licensee:

Issue Date:License No.

Reciprocity/State ExamBy: National Boards

Yes No Active InactiveIf NO, explain

Derogatory information, if any

Yes No

Yes No

Comments, if any

Signed:

Title:

State Board:

Date:
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License Status:
 Other
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SOUTH PARK, 4th FLOOR 
PO BOX 200513 

HELENA, MONTANA 59620-0513 
PHONE: (406) 444-6880 FAX: (406) 841-2305 

EMAIL: dlibsdhad@mt.gov WEBSITE: www.hearingaid.mt.gov 

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 

Exam Candidate Date 

CHOOSE THE CORRECT ANSWER ON QUESTIONS 1 -10. INDICATE TRUE OR FALSE ON QUESTIONS 11 – 20. 

1. The purpose of the Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program is:
a. to promote the use of hearing aids and related devices by the hearing impaired;

b. to promote hearing aid dispensers' services to the public;

c. to implement and enforce the policies of the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA);

d. to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public.

2. The Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program has the power to:
3.

a. suspend or revoke a hearing aid dispenser's license, subject to the dispenser's right to a hearing;

b. initiate legal action against an unlicensed person who sells or dispenses hearing aids in Montana without a license;

c. require periodic inspection and calibration of hearing aid dispensers' audiometric testing equipment.

d. All of the above.

e. None of the above.

4. A licensed hearing aid dispenser trainee:
a. must work under the direct supervision of a licensed hearing aid dispenser;

b. may perform testing necessary for proper selection and fitting of hearing aids and related devices;

c. must complete 1000 hours of supervised training.

d. All of the above.

e. None of the above.

5. The "right to cancel":
a. must be a written notice by the patient;

b. must be set off from surrounding text in a bold-lined box;

c. shall be positioned immediately above the signature line of the patient and seller verifying delivery.

d. All of the above.

e. Both b and c.

6. The license of a hearing aid dispenser who is eligible to renew but fails to do so by the annual renewal date, lapses and the 
dispenser:

a. has a 45-day grace period within which to renew the lapsed license by paying the required fees and penalties and 
during the grace period the dispenser may lawfully sell or dispense hearing aids and related devices;

b. may renew the lapsed license upon payment of required fees and penalties for up to 2 years from the date the 
license the license lapsed, after which the license terminates and cannot be renewed;

c. may apply for a new license after termination of the non-renewed license by paying the required fees and re- 
taking and passing the licensure examinations.

d. All of the above.

e. None of the above.
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6. Licensed hearing aid dispensers:
a. need not complete any hours of continuing education to maintain licensure due to the clinical nature

of their daily work;

b. must complete ten clock hours of continuing education per renewal period except the continuing
education requirement does not apply to individuals renewing their initial Montana license for the
first time so long as the license was issued less than 6 months prior to the renewal date;

c. may carry forward up to 10 hours to partially or fully satisfy the next year's continuing education
requirements;

d. Both b and c.

7. The following tests shall be performed as specified:
a. all audiometers shall be calibrated to ANSI;

b. bone conduction test shall be conducted bilaterally;

c. air conduction tests shall be conducted bilaterally.

d. All of the above.

e. Both b and c.

8. A licensed hearing aid dispenser may have his/her license suspended or revoked for:
a. knowingly employing any suspended or unlicensed person to perform work for which a hearing aid

dispenser license or trainee license is required;

b. falsifying hearing test or evaluation results or any associated client records;

c. using improbable, misleading, deceptive or untruthful advertising;

d. All of the above.

e. Both a and b.

9. Among the requirements for inclusion in the bill of sale are:
a. the make and type of the hearing aid; the condition of the instrument; whether it is new, used or

reconditioned; and terms of any warranty;

b. the dispenser's license number, signature, address of the dispenser's permanent place of business,
and the amount charged;

c. the current telephone number and address of the board's office;

d. All of the above.

e. Both a and b.

10. Patient records maintained by dispensers shall include:
a. a copy of the receipt for refund;

b. dates and places of client contacts, method of contacts, and identity of person initiating contact;

c. service log including date(s) client returned the aid or device and returned to client and description of
problem(s) and a corresponding log of date(s) aid or device returned to client and description of
corrective action taken;

d. copies of the bill of sale, three-day cancellation notice and delivery verification form.

e. All of the above.
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PLEASE CHOOSE TRUE OR FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

TRUE  FALSE 

11. A purchaser has a right to cancel for 30 days of the date of delivery of the hearing
aid or related device excluding periods of return for service, repairs,
or remakes. The purchaser's notice of cancellation must be given in writing
and refund must be made within 10 days of receipt of the written notice of
cancellation.

12. A hearing aid dispenser license may be subject to disciplinary action for
initiating contact by telephone without first identifying him/herself by name and
identifying the company the dispenser represents.

13. A person under 18 years of age may waive the requirement for a medical
evaluation and verification by a physician that there are no medical factors
or conditions that render hearing aid use inadvisable as a treatment or remedy for
hearing loss.

14. When a person cancels within 30 days of the date of delivery, the dispenser may
deduct from the refund a dispensing fee not to exceed 25% of the person's
purchase price or $500, whichever is less. The dispensing fee must be prominently
displayed on all transactional documents in a dollar amount.

15. A licensed dispenser may sell a replacement hearing aid without conducting a
hearing test provided that the replacement hearing aid is of the same make and
model and is sold within 1 year of the original sale.

16. A hearing aid dispenser must have a permanent place of business that is open to
the public at least three days a week.

17. The sponsor/supervisor of a trainee is not required to be available at the same
location as the trainee to provide consultation.

18. Client records must be retained for a minimum of 5 years from the last recorded
service date and deceased clients' records must be retained for a minimum of
1 year.

19. The deliveries and final fitting of a hearing aid and related device may be made
solely by the trainee.

20. The bill of sale must contain any warranty and the right to cancel.
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