

Montana Hearing Aid Dispensers Program

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: 406-444-6880

Email: DLIBSDHelp@mt.gov Website: www.hearingaid.mt.gov

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Hearing Aid Dispenser (Licensees From Other States)

<u>License Requirements for Hearing Aid Dispenser – From Other States [MCA 37-16-402]</u> [MCA 37-16-406]

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Applicant must be of good moral character. [MCA 37-16-402]
- 2. Applicant must have education equivalent to a 4-year course in an accredited high school or holds a current license as an audiologist. [MCA 37-16-402]
- 3. Applicant must be free of contagious or infectious disease. [MCA 37-16-402]
- 4. Applicant holds a current unsuspended, and unrevoked license in other state or jurisdiction. [MCA 37-16-406]
- 5. Applicants' licensure in that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in Montana. [MCA 37-16-406]
- 6. Applicant must pass a state jurisprudence examination. [ARM 24.150.501]

<u>Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Hearing Aid Dispenser – From Other States</u>

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as examination verifications, must be sent to the Department directly from the source.

	Proof the applicant holds a current unsuspended, and unrevoked license in other state or jurisdiction.
	Proof that the other state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in Montana (copy of laws and rules for that state or jurisdiction).
	Completed open book <u>jurisprudence examination</u> .
	If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.)
	Completed application. Please apply online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/
	Check or money order for the appropriate fees.
pplication Fee(s) for Hearing Aid Dispenser – From Other States	
he fo	ollowing fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or ck. If you submit a paper application, you must submit a check. Do not mail cash.
	\$500 Application fee for licensees from other states \$50 Jurisprudence reexamination (each retake) \$300 Original license



You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements, please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.