
3/27/2025                     
 

 
HOW TO OBTAIN A LICENSE 

 
Request the license application instructions from:  
 

Department of Labor and Industry 
Montana State Electrical Board 301 South Park, 4th Floor 

P. O. Box 200513 
Helena, Montana 59620 

(406) 444-5711 
Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov  
www.electrician.mt.gov 

 
Once the Board has made you eligible to take the 
examination, you will receive an admission letter. This 
notification will also be submitted to PSI. 
 
Upon approval of licensure eligibility, the Board will mail or 
e-mail an admission letter. It is your responsibility to contact 
PSI to pay and schedule for the examination. 
 
 Candidates who have failed an exam for the first 

time will be allowed to reschedule an exam without 
awaiting period. 

 

Examination Name Examination Fee 

Master Electrician $85.00 

Journeyman Electrician $75.00 

Residential Electrician $75.00 

 

NOTE:  EXAMINATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE OR 
TRANSFERABLE. THE EXAMINATION FEE IS VALID FOR ONE 
YEAR FROM THE DATE OF PAYMENT.   
 

INTERNET SCHEDULING 
 
For the fastest and most convenient examination scheduling 
process, PSI recommends that you register for your 
examinations using the Internet.  You register online by 
accessing PSI’s registration website at https://test-
takers.psiexams.com/maseb.  Internet registration is 
available 24 hours a day.    
 
Log onto PSI’s website and select Sign in / Create Account.  
Select Create Account.  You are now ready to pay and 
schedule for the exam.  Enter your zip code and a list of the 
testing sites closest to you will appear.  Once you select the 
desired test site, available dates will appear.  If you have 
problems, contact PSI at 855-746-8173 for help. 

 
TELEPHONE SCHEDULING 

 
Call PSI at 855-746-8173 to schedule an appointment for the 
test. The times of operation for live operators are as follows: 
 

 Monday - Friday  Saturday - Sunday 

Eastern Time 7:30am - 10:00pm 9:00am - 5:30pm 

Central Time 6:30am – 9:00pm 8:00am - 4:30pm 

Mountain Time 5:30am – 8:00pm 7:00am – 3:30pm 

Pacific Time 4:30am – 7:00pm 6:00am - 2:30pm 

 
RESCHEDULING/CANCELING AN EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT 

 
You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment 
without forfeiting your fee if your cancellation notice is 
received 2 days before the scheduled examination date. For 
example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation notice 
would need to be received on the previous Saturday. You may 
reschedule online at https://test-
takers.psiexams.com/maseb or call PSI at (855) 746-8173. 
 
Note:  A voice mail or email message is NOT an acceptable 
form of cancellation.  Please use the PSI Website or call PSI 
to speak directly to a Customer Service Representative.  
 

MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION 

 
Your registration will be invalid, you will not be able to take 
the examination as scheduled, and you will forfeit your 
examination fee, if you: 
 
▪ Do not cancel your appointment 2 days before the 

scheduled examination date; 
▪ Do not appear for your examination appointment; 
▪ Arrive after examination start time; 
▪ Do not present proper identification when you arrive for 

the examination. 

 
EXAMINATION ACCOMMODATION 

 
All PSI examination centers are equipped to provide access in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 
1990, and exam accommodations will be made in meeting a 
candidate's needs.  A candidate with a disability or a 
candidate who would otherwise have difficulty taking the 
examination should request for alternative arrangements by 
Clicking Here.   
 
Candidates granted accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, MUST schedule their examination by telephone and 
speak directly with a PSI registrar.   

 
EXAMINATION SITE CLOSING FOR AN EMERGENCY 

 
In the event that severe weather or another emergency 
forces the closure of an examination site on a scheduled 
examination date, your examination will be rescheduled.  PSI 
personnel will attempt to contact you in this situation.  
However, you may check the status of your examination 
schedule by calling 855-746-8173.  Every effort will be made 
to reschedule your examination at a convenient time as soon 
as possible.  You may also check our website at https://test-
takers.psiexams.com/maseb. 
 

mailto:UnitB@mt.gov
http://www.electrician.mt.gov/
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/lacon
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/lacon
http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
https://psi-cdexp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=360000150872
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/lacon
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/lacon
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EXAMINATION SITE LOCATIONS 
 
 

Billings – Rocky Mountain College 
2821 Augusta Lane, Aviation Hall, Room 102 
Billings, MT 59102 

Billings - Summers McNea CPAs (HRB) 
15 Avanta Way, Suite 1 
Billings, MT 59102 

Butte – Sylvan Learning Center 
1941 Harrison 
Butte, MT  59701 

Great Falls – Holman Aviation Co 
1940 Airport Ct 
Great Falls International 
Great Falls, MT  59404 

Kalispell - Red Eagle Aviation Inc. 
1880 Hwy 93 S. 
Kalispell City Airport 
Kalispell, MT  59901 

Missoula - The University of Montana 
Testing Services 
Mansfield Library 115 
Missoula, MT  59812 

Missoula - Northstar Jet Inc 
4045 Corporate Way 
Missoula, MT  59808 

 

 
Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many other regions across the United States.  Enter your zip code and the sites nearest 
to you will appear. 
 
 

REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION SITE 

 
On the day of the examination, you should arrive 15 
minutes before your appointment.  This extra time is for 
sign-in, identification, and familiarizing you with the 
examination process.  If you arrive late, you may not be 
admitted to the examination site and you will forfeit your 
examination registration fee. 

 
REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION AT EXAMINATION SITE 

You must provide 1 form of identification. The identification 
must match the name you scheduled with.  
 
NOTE:  ID must contain candidate’s signature, photo, be valid 
and unexpired. 

▪ State issued driver’s license 
▪ State issued identification card 
▪ US Government Issued Passport 
▪ US Government Issued Military Identification 

Card (not allowed for remote testing) 
▪ US Government Issued Alien Registration Card 
▪ Canadian Government Issued ID 

Failure to bring the proper documentation invalidates your 
registration.  You will not be able to take the examination as 
scheduled, and you will forfeit your examination fee. 

 
SECURITY PROCEDURES 

 
The following security procedures will apply during the 
examination: 
 
▪ Only non-programmable calculators that are silent, 

battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing 
capabilities, and do not have a keyboard containing the 
alphabet will be allowed in the examination site. 

▪  
 

 
 
 
 
▪ Candidates may take only approved items into the 

examination room. 
▪ All personal belongings of candidates, with the exception 

of close-fitting jackets or sweatshirts, should be placed 
in the secure storage provided at each site prior to 
entering the examination room. Personal belongings 
include, but are not limited to, the following items: 
- Electronic devices of any type, including cellular / 

mobile phones, recording devices, electronic 
watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, tablet 
computers (e.g., iPads), music players (e.g., iPods), 
smart watches, radios, or electronic games.   

- Bulky or loose clothing or coats that could be used 
to conceal recording devices or notes, including 
coats, shawls, hooded clothing, heavy jackets, or 
overcoats. 

- Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons or 
as religious apparel, including hats, baseball caps, or 
visors. 

- Other personal items, including purses, notebooks, 
reference or reading material, briefcases, 
backpacks, wallets, pens, pencils, other writing 
devices, food, drinks, and good luck items. 

▪ Person(s) accompanying an examination candidate may 
not wait in the examination center, inside the building or 
on the building's property. This applies to guests of any 
nature, including drivers, children, friends, family, 
colleagues or instructors. 

▪ No smoking, eating, or drinking is allowed in the 
examination center. 

▪ During the check in process, all candidates will be asked 
if they possess any prohibited items. Candidates may also 
be asked to empty their pockets and turn them out for 
the proctor to ensure they are empty. The proctor may 
also ask candidates to lift up the ends of their sleeves 
and the bottoms of their pant legs to ensure that notes 
or recording devices are not being hidden there. 

▪ Proctors will also carefully inspect eyeglass frames, tie 
tacks, or any other apparel that could be used to harbor 
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a recording device. Proctors will ask to inspect any such 
items in candidates’ pockets. 

▪ If prohibited items are found during check-in, candidates 
shall put them in the provided secure storage or return 
these items to their vehicle. PSI will not be responsible 
for the security of any personal belongings or prohibited 
items. 

▪ Any candidate possessing prohibited items in the 
examination room shall immediately have his or her test 
results invalidated, and PSI shall notify the examination 
sponsor of the occurrence. 

▪ Any candidate seen giving or receiving assistance on an 
examination, found with unauthorized materials, or who 
violates any security regulations will be asked to 
surrender all examination materials and to leave the 
examination center.  All such instances will be reported 
to the examination sponsor.   

▪ Copying or communicating examination content is 
violation of a candidate’s contract with PSI, and federal 
and state law. Either may result in the disqualification of 
examination results and may lead to legal action. 

▪ tion. 
▪ Once candidates have been seated and the examination 

begins, they may leave the examination room only to use 
the restroom, and only after obtaining permission from 
the proctor.  Candidate will not receive extra time to 
complete the examination. 

 

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY COMPUTER 

 
The examination will be administered via computer.  You will 
be using a mouse and computer keyboard. 

 
TUTORIAL 

 
Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial is 
provided on the computer screen.  The time you spend on 
this tutorial, up to 15 minutes, DOES NOT count as part of 
your examination time.  Sample questions are included 
following the tutorial so that you may practice answering 
questions and reviewing your answers.   

 

TEST QUESTION SCREEN 
 
One question appears on the screen at a time.  During the 
examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of 
the screen and updated as you record your answers.   
 
IMPORTANT:  After you have entered your responses, you will 
later be able to return to any question(s) and change your 
response, provided the examination time has not run out. 

 
EXAMINATION REVIEW 

PSI, in cooperation with the Board, will be consistently 
evaluating the examinations being administered to ensure 
that the examinations accurately measure competency in the 
required knowledge areas.  While taking the examination, 
examinees will have the opportunity to provide comments on 
any questions. Comments may be entered by clicking the 
Comments link on the function bar of the test question 
screen. 

These comments will be analyzed by PSI examination 
development staff.  PSI does not respond to individuals 
regarding these comments, all substantive comments are 
reviewed.  This is the only review of examination materials 
available to candidates. 
 

EXPERIMENTAL QUESTIONS 
 
In addition to the number of questions per examination, a 
small number of one to ten “experimental” questions may be 
administered to candidates during the examinations.  These 
questions will not be scored and the time taken to answer 
them will not count against examination time.  The 
administration of such non-scored experimental questions is 
an essential step in developing future licensing examinations. 

 
SCORE REPORTING 

 
Your score will be displayed on screen at the end of the 
examination and a score report will be provided to you.  If 
you fail, the score report will include the diagnostic report 
indicating your strengths and weaknesses by examination 
type.   
 
You may request a duplicate score report after your 
examination by emailing scorereport@psionline.com.   
 
 

DESCRIPTION OF EXAMINATIONS 

 
The examinations are OPEN BOOK. The following material is allowed for the Residential, Journeyman, and Master exams: 
 

 National Electrical Code®, 2020 Edition (tabs and/or indexes may be used) 

 Montana Building Codes Amendments 

 “Printreading,” by David L. Hittinger, Based on the 2020 NEC 

 A silent, nonprinting, nonprogrammable calculator that is not designed for preprogrammed electrical calculations (e.g., 
“Electrical Estimate Pal” is not allowed) 

 
Note: Candidates are allowed to have personal highlights, underlining, and notes in the approved material. 

 

Candidates are responsible for bringing their own references to the examination center. Any candidate caught writing, 

highlighting, underlining and/or indexing in the references during the examination will be reported to the Montana State 

mailto:scorereport@psionline.com
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Electrical Board. Furthermore, candidates are not permitted to bring in any additional papers (loose or attached) with their 

approved references. 

 
 

RESIDENTIAL ELECTRICIAN 2020 
 

# of 
Questions 

Minimum 
Passing Score 

Time Allowed 

50 70% correct 150 Minutes 

 
Description of the Examination: 

1 National Electrical Code 
2 General Trade Knowledge & Theory 

  

JOURNEYMAN ELECTRICIAN 2020 
 

# of 
Questions 

Minimum 
Passing Score 

Time Allowed 

60 70% correct 180 Minutes 

 
Description of the Examination: 

1 National Electrical Code 
2 General Trade Knowledge & Theory 

 
  

MASTER ELECTRICIAN 2020 
 

# of 
Questions 

Minimum 
Passing Score 

Time Allowed 

80 75% correct 240 Minutes 

 
Description of the Examination: 

1 National Electrical Code 
2 General Trade Knowledge & Theory 
3 Major Load Calculations 
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Building Codes Electrical Amendments and Requirements 

Website: https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/Subchapterhome.asp?scn=24%2E301%2E4 
24.301.401 INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE OF NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE 
(1) The department adopts and incorporates by reference the National Fire Protection Association 

Standard NFPA 70, National Electrical Code, 2020 edition referred to as the National Electrical Code, 
unless another edition date is specifically stated. The National Electrical Code is a nationally 
recognized model code setting forth minimum standards and requirements for electrical installations. 

(2) Subsection 210.12, Arc-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection, is amended to delete all references 
to "kitchen" or "kitchens." 

(3) A copy of the National Electrical Code may be obtained from the National Fire Protection 
Association at www.nfpa.org/NEC. 

 
History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60-601, 50-60-603, 

MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, Eff. 3/25/78; AMD, 1981 MAR p. 519, Eff. 5/29/81; AMD, 1984 MAR 
p. 1024, Eff. 7/13/84; TRANS, from Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, L. 1985, Eff. 7/1/85; AMD, 1987 MAR p. 
2237, Eff. 12/11/87; AMD, 1990 MAR p. 2041, Eff. 11/16/90; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 299, Eff. 
2/11/94; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 44, Eff. 1/17/97; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 1885, Eff. 10/1/99; TRANS, from 
Commerce, 2001 MAR p. 2301; AMD, 2002 MAR p. 3627, Eff. 12/27/02; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 
2/24/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 7/30/10; AMD, 2013 MAR p. 52, Eff. 1/18/13; AMD, 2014 MAR 
p. 2655, Eff. 10/24/14; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 2242, Eff. 12/7/19; AMD, 2022 MAR p. 911, Eff. 6/11/22. 

24.301.402 DEFINITIONS 
(1) For the purposes of this subchapter, the following definitions shall apply: 
(a) "Maintenance Work" means ordinary and customary in-plant or onsite installations, 

modification, additions, or repairs, which shall be limited to: relamping fixtures, replacing ballasts, 
trouble-shooting, motor controls, replacing motors, breakers, magnetic starters, in a kind-for-kind 
manner. "Maintenance Work" will also include the connection of listed factory-assembled equipment 
that can be directly connected to an existing branch-circuit or panelboard by means of a factory- 
installed lead. If a new circuit is required to operate the equipment, or if the size of the supply 
conductors needs to be increased, this will be considered new work and not "Maintenance Work." 

(b) "Permittee" means the property owner that is responsible for the installation of electrical wiring 
and equipment authorized by an electrical permit, or the license holder named as the "Responsible 
Licensed Electrician" for an "Electrical Contractor," who is responsible for the installation of electrical 
wiring and equipment authorized by an electrical permit. On farm and ranch installations used in 
conjunction with an agricultural or livestock raising operation, the term "Permittee" will mean the 
owner, owner's agent, and/or person(s) employed by the owner on a full-time basis as a farm or ranch 
employee(s) at the farm or ranch involved. 

(c) "Provisional Power" means the connection of electrical power to any part of a premises wiring 
system from any source of energy, prior to the final inspection and approval of the installation by the 
electrical inspector. 

(d) "Rental Property" means any property utilized by any person(s) for other than the owner's 
personal use with or without the consideration of compensation for the use. 

(e) "State Electrical Code" means the edition of the National Electrical Code or any other model 
electrical code, which is adopted, and as it may be modified by the department for use as a 
construction standard in and by Montana's electrical industry. 

History: 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-603, MCA; NEW, 2007 MAR p. 112, Eff. 1/26/07; AMD, 
2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 7/30/10. 

https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/Subchapterhome.asp?scn=24%2E301%2E4
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E401
http://www.nfpa.org/NEC
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0030/0500-0600-0020-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0010/0500-0600-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0030/0500-0600-0020-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0010/0500-0600-0060-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E402
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
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24.301.411 WIRING STANDARDS 
(1) The National Electrical Code is amended as follows: 
(a) NEC ARTICLE 110.2 (SUPPLEMENTARY). When requested, complete wiring diagrams shall 

be provided prior to installation of conductors and equipment indicating the conductor's and 
equipment's intended use. 

(b) NEC Article 550.32(A): The allowable distance for service equipment from the exterior wall of a 
manufactured or mobile home is increased from 30 ft (9.14 m) to 50 ft (15.24 m). 

(c) NEC Article 550.33(A): Add the following: It shall be permissible to feed a manufactured 
(mobile) home with type SER cable when the service equipment is mounted on the exterior of the 
home. Physical protection of the cable is required by enclosing the cable in an approved raceway 
where the cable is run on the outside of the home. The cable is to be properly supported and 
attached per Article 338 where installed under the home. 

(d) NEC Article 760.1 (SUPPLEMENTARY). Smoke alarms and carbon monoxide alarms shall be 
installed in any building or structure as required under the currently adopted International Building 
Code or International Residential Code, whichever applies, regardless of whether or not the building 
or structure is exempt by 50-60-102, MCA 

 
History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, 

Eff. 3/25/78; AMD, 1979 MAR p. 1665, Eff. 12/28/79; TRANS, from Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, L. 1985, 
Eff. 7/1/85; AMD, 1989 MAR p. 476, Eff. 4/28/89; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 299, Eff. 2/11/94; AMD, 1997 
MAR p. 44, Eff. 1/17/97; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 1885, Eff. 10/1/99; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 
2001 MAR p. 2293, Eff. 11/22/01; AMD, 2002 MAR p. 3627, Eff. 12/27/02; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, 
Eff. 7/30/10; AMD, 2022 MAR p. 911, Eff. 6/11/22. 

 
24.301.421 ELECTRICAL INSPECTORS 
(1) Only persons appointed by the department shall act as electrical inspectors to represent the 

state of Montana. 
(2) Inspectors shall give information as to the meaning or application of the code to contractors, 

electricians, or owners for whom the inspectors perform compliance inspections. The inspector shall 
not design circuitry or perform engineering tasks for the permittee. 

(3) State electrical inspectors shall not inspect any electrical work in which they have any financial 
or personal interest, or which they have installed or repaired. 

(4) State electrical inspectors shall have powers as are vested in them by the department, 
including but not limited to the power to make inspections and to ascertain that none of the provisions 
of Title 50, chapter 60, part 6, MCA, the National Electrical Code, as amended from time to time, or 
the Administrative Rules of Montana, Title 24, chapter 301, subchapter 4, Electrical Requirements are 
being violated. 

(5) A state electrical inspector has the right, during reasonable hours while showing proper 
identification, to enter any building or premise in the discharge of the inspector's official duties to 
make any inspection or test of electrical equipment that is necessary to protect the public health, 
safety, and welfare. 

History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 2-2-101, 50-60-103, 50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60- 
603, 50-60-604, MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, Eff. 3/25/78; TRANS, from Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, 
L. 1985, Eff. 7/1/85; TRANS, from Commerce, 2001 MAR p. 2301; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 
2/24/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 7/30/10. 

https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E411
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0010/section_0020/0500-0600-0010-0020.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0030/0500-0600-0020-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0030/0500-0600-0020-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E421
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0030/0500-0600-0020-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0020/chapter_0020/part_0010/section_0010/0020-0020-0010-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0010/section_0030/0500-0600-0010-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0010/0500-0600-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0020/section_0030/0500-0600-0020-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0030/0500-0600-0060-0030.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0600/part_0060/section_0040/0500-0600-0060-0040.html
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24.301.431 ELECTRICAL PERMIT 
(1) Except as provided by 50-60-602, MCA, an electrical permit is required for any installation in 

any new construction or remodeling or repair. 
(2) Prior to the commencement of any electrical installation, in an area where the electrical code is 

enforced by the department, the permittee shall submit an official and complete request for electrical 
permit to the department in Helena with fee(s) as provided in ARM 24.301.461. If the permittee fails to 
obtain a permit for an electrical installation, a "Failure to Permit Investigation Fee" may be required in 
addition to the standard permit fee. Electrical permit forms will be made available by the department 
and may also be available at any power supplier or from the electrical inspector. 

(3) The term "permittee" listed in ARM 24.301.431(2) applies to owners doing electrical work on 
their own residence, farm, or ranch property provided that said property is maintained for their 
personal, private use. The property or residence shall not be built on speculation of resale or intended 
as rental property. 

(4) A local government certified to enforce the electrical code may require, in addition to the 
electrical permit required by 50-60-605, MCA, the power supplier be provided with proof of an 
approved inspection before the power supplier can energize the electrical installation. The local 
government shall provide the power supplier with written notice of this requirement if it wishes to 
enforce this option. 

(5) The requirements listed in 50-60-605, MCA, requiring an "electrical permit" before the 
energizing of an electrical installation by a power supplier means the power supplier may energize 
said installation with provisional power, before an inspection has been performed by the department, 
after issuing a power supplier limited service certificate as allowed in ARM 24.301.472, or upon 
receipt of the power supplier's copy of the electrical permit issued by the department. 

(6) An individual that energizes an electrical installation without first obtaining an electrical permit 
for that installation is guilty of a misdemeanor per 50-60-607, MCA. The department may require a 
utility per 50-60-605, MCA, to not energize or to remove provisional power from the permittee's 
electrical system if the permittee connects new wiring to a new or existing power source, thereby 
causing the utility to energize the electrical installation without first receiving the required permit for 
the connection. 

(7) Upon receipt of the application for an electrical permit with the applicable fee(s), the 
department will issue the official electrical permit covering the installation. 

(8) The permittee shall be responsible for all work performed under the electrical permit, and shall 
ensure that all work meets the requirements of the National Electrical Code, as amended by the 
version of ARM 24.301.411 in effect at the time the permit was issued. No permittee shall allow any 
other person to do, or cause to be done, any work under an electrical permit issued to the permittee, 
except the permittee or the permittee's employees who are licensed as an electrician or registered as 
an electrical apprentice. 

(9) Electrical permits are valid for a period of 18 months from the date of issuance. One renewal of 
18 months may be granted by the department as long as the application for renewal is made not 
more than 30 days following expiration of the original permit. Original electrical permits expire after 18 
months from the date of issuance if not renewed. Renewed electrical permits will expire 18 months 
after the renewal date. 

(10) The electrical permit is transferable, with application for permit transfer being made in writing 
on forms provided by the department and the payment of a $20.00 transfer fee. The permit transfer 
shall be completed prior to the subsequent permittee commencing work under the transferred permit. 

(11) The exception to permit requirements listed in 50-60-602(2), MCA, for regularly employed 
maintenance personnel doing maintenance work on the business premises applies to personnel on 
the regular payroll rather than personnel under contract. 

https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E301%2E431
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(12) No electrical permit shall be issued for a building or structure under the jurisdiction of the 
department until the building permit has been issued for said building or structure or it has been 
determined that a building permit is not required or special circumstances exist which make issuance 
of the permit appropriate. 

History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, 50-60- 
605, MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, Eff. 3/15/78; AMD, 1979 MAR p. 1665, Eff. 12/28/79; AMD, 1981 
MAR p. 519, Eff. 5/29/81; TRANS, from Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, L. 1985, Eff. 7/1/85; AMD, 1987 
MAR p. 2237, Eff. 12/11/87; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 299, Eff. 2/11/94; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 2061, Eff. 
11/18/97; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2001 MAR p. 2293, Eff. 11/22/01; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 
567, Eff. 2/24/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 7/30/10; AMD, 2022 MAR p. 911, Eff. 6/11/22. 
 

24.301.441 COVER (ROUGH-IN) INSPECTIONS 
(1) Cover (rough-in) inspections are made by a state electrical inspector wherever possible. 

Insulation and wallboard shall not be applied prior to inspection unless 48 hours, excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, have expired after the electrical installation is complete and notice 
to inspect has been received. 

(2) The permittee of record, whether an electrical contractor or a homeowner, shall notify the area 
electrical inspector when the electrical installation is ready for cover (rough-in) inspection, whether or 
not an inspection is subsequently performed. 

(3) Whenever violations are found upon inspection, the inspector will notify the permittee verbally, 
with a written inspection report, or a written compliance order as to the nature of the violations. 

(4) Provisional power may be removed from the installation if code violations discovered during 
the cover (rough-in) inspection are of such a nature to be considered an immediate threat of fire to 
the structure or shock hazard. 

History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-103, 50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60- 
604, MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, Eff. 2/25/78; AMD, 1981 MAR p. 519, Eff. 5/29/81; TRANS, from 
Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, L. 1985, Eff. 7/1/85; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 420, Eff. 2/9/96; TRANS, from 
Commerce, 2001 MAR p. 2301; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 2/24/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 
7/30/10. 

 
24.301.451 FINAL INSPECTION 
(1) The permittee of record, whether an electrical contractor or a homeowner, shall notify the area 

electrical inspector when the electrical installation is ready for final inspection and provide access to 
the installation for inspection or furnish the necessary information as to who can provide access to the 
installation. 

(2) Upon completing final inspections, state inspectors will date and sign the inspection reports. 
Inspectors will apply a green "approved" tag when installations have been inspected and approved by 
the department. Upon approval, the department will remove the provisional power designation. 

(3) If the installation is disapproved, inspectors will provide the permittee with notice of and 
reasons for the disapproval. After correcting the cause for disapproval, the permittee must make a 
request for reinspection to the department. Failure to make corrections or request the final 
reinspection may cause the department to cancel the provisional power. When the inspector 
approves the corrected installation as identified on the permit and inspection documents, the 
inspector will apply the proper final inspection tag to the installation and the department will remove 
the "provisional power" designation. 
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History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-103, 50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60- 
604, MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, Eff. 2/25/78; AMD, 1979 MAR p. 1665, Eff. 12/28/79; AMD, 1981 
MAR p. 519, Eff. 5/29/81; TRANS, from Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, L. 1985, Eff. 7/1/85; AMD, 1996 
MAR p. 420, Eff. 2/9/96; TRANS, from Commerce, 2001 MAR p. 2301; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 
2/24/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 7/30/10; AMD, 2022 MAR p. 911, Eff. 6/11/22. 
 

24.301.461 ELECTRICAL INSPECTIONS FEES 
(1) The following is the schedule of electrical inspection fees as charged by the department. As 

provided in ARM 24.301.203 local governments certified to enforce the electrical code may establish 
their own electrical permit fees. 

 
Type of Installation Permit Fee 

(a) single-family dwellings or cabins (includes 
attached garage if wired at the same time 
as the house or cabin) A cabin is a structure designed 
for use for overnight stays that may not meet the definition 
of a dwelling unit. 
(i) up to 200 amp service $200 
(ii) 201 to 400 amp service 380 
(iii) 401 to 600 amp service 600 
(iv) 601 and up amp service 800 
(b) private property accessory buildings 
(includes new service or upgrade of existing service 
for supply of power to garages, barns, sheds, etc.) 
(i) up to 200 amp panel 80 
(ii) 201 to 300 amp panel 150 
(iii) 301 or more amp panel 250 
(c) multi-family dwellings (duplex through 12 units) per bldg* 
(i) Up to 200 amp service 180 
(ii) 201 to 400 amp service 380 

(iii) 401 to 600 amp service 580 
(iv) 601 and up amp service 780 
*Plus $60 per unit, up to and including 12 units. 
*For buildings containing more 
than 12 units, use the commercial schedule 
that follows. 
(d) multi-family dwellings (duplex through 12 units) 
rewire or remodel only - per dwelling unit 100 
(e) single-family dwelling interior/exterior wiring/rewiring 
(i) more than three circuits and change of service and/or 
interior panelboard 120 
(ii) more than three circuits only (does not include change of 
service or panelboard) 100 
(iii) two or three additional circuits or pieces of equipment only 70 
(iv) one additional circuit or piece of equipment (hot tub, 
air conditioner, etc.) 45 
(f) change of service 
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(i) exterior meterbase and interior/exterior main disconnect only 45 
(ii) exterior meterbase and interior/exterior main disconnect 
with feeder and distribution panelboard replacement 75 
(g) modular homes, mobile homes, and recreational vehicles 
(i) wiring to a mobile or modular home with wiring of a 
basement and/or addition at the same time 120 
(ii) wiring to a mobile, modular, or RV only on 
privately owned property 80 
(iii) wiring to a mobile or RV on rental space at a 
licensed court with previously existing electrical service 40 
(h) mobile home courts and/or recreational vehicle parks 
(new, rewire or addition) 
(i) first 3 spaces (1-3 spaces) $45 
(ii) additional spaces over 3 spaces installed 
at the same time (per space) 5 
(i) new service and wiring for utilization equipment 
such as livestock well, residential irrigation well, etc. 50 
(j) agricultural irrigation pumps or machines on a common surface 
(i) (one pump or one pivot) 50 
(ii) multiple pumps or pivots ($50 for first pump or pivot plus 
$25 for each additional piece of equipment supplied by a 
common service.) (Note: A separate permit is required for each 
service installed supplying either a single piece of equipment or a combination of equipment.) 
(k) permit renewal fee 60 
(l) refund/credit fee 25 
(m) permit transfer fee 20 
(n) failure to permit investigation fee 45/hour 
(o) Renewable energy system: net metering system or off-grid electrical generating system 

(photovoltaic (PV) system, wind generator, hydro turbine, etc.) 
(i) Commercial or residential installations 65 
(p) all other installations (commercial, industrial, institutional, 
or for public use). Fees are based on total cost to the owner of all 
labor and materials to complete the electrical project. Electrical materials 
furnished by the owner must be included in the total electrical project cost: 

 

Cost of Electrical Installation Fee 

$ 0 - $1,000 $45 for 1st $500 plus 6.0% of balance of construction 
cost 

$ 1,001 - $10,000 $75 for 1st $1,000 plus 2.0% of balance of construction 
cost 

$10,001 - $50,000 $255 for 1st $10,000 plus 0.5% of balance of 
construction cost 

$50,001 or more $455 for 1st $50,000 plus 0.3% of balance of 
construction cost 
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(q) provisional construction service $60.00 (Note: A provisional construction service permit may 
only be closed when the permit expires and power is removed or upon the permittee obtaining a new 
permit applicable for the wiring of the structure being built. The utility power supplier shall be ordered 
by the inspector to remove power from a "Provisional construction service" upon expiration of the 
permit, if no additional permit has been obtained.) 

 
(2) A requested inspection is limited to the inspection of existing electrical installations that an 

owner or occupant may wish to have inspected. The fee for a requested inspection is payable prior to 
or at the time of the inspection. The fee for a requested electrical inspection is $60, provided that 
such service, including all time spent preparing all paperwork furnished as documentation by the 
inspector regarding the inspection, is not in excess of one hour in duration, and then $30 for each 30 
minutes or fractional part thereof in excess of one hour. Travel and per diem will also be charged at 
the rates established under Title 2, chapter 18, part 5, MCA, when considered by the department to 
be applicable for the situation. 

History: 50-60-104, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, MCA; IMP, 50-60-104, 50-60-203, 50-60- 
603, 50-60-604, MCA; NEW, 1978 MAR p. 378, Eff. 3/25/78; AMD, 1978 MAR p. 1480, Eff. 
10/27/78; AMD, 1979 MAR p. 1665, Eff. 12/28/79; AMD, 1981 MAR p. 1054, Eff. 9/18/81; TRANS, 
from Dept. of Admin., Ch. 352, L. 1985, Eff. 7/1/85; AMD, 1986 MAR p. 109, Eff. 1/31/86; AMD, 1987 
MAR p. 2237, Eff. 12/11/87; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 670, Eff. 2/11/94; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2563, Eff. 
9/25/98; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 1885, Eff. 10/1/99; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2001 MAR p. 
2293, Eff. 11/22/01; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 2/24/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 
7/30/10; AMD, 2014 MAR p. 2655, Eff. 10/24/14. 
 

24.301.472 AUTHORITY FOR TEMPORARY CONNECTIONS 
(1) Temporary power supply connections may be performed under the authority of power supplier 

limited service certificates. 
(2) Power supplier limited service certificates ("service certificates") are four part forms created 

and provided by the department to consumers and power suppliers in Montana. These service 
certificates may be used to allow power suppliers to energize electrical services in Montana prior to 
obtaining an electrical permit and prior to inspection and approval of electrical service installations by 
department inspectors. 

(3) Service certificates may be used only for the following purposes: 

(a) to restore power to a structure for repairs after a fire, accidental damage, or natural disaster; 
(b) to restore power to a mobile home to prevent damage due to freezing conditions or to prevent 

loss of frozen or refrigerated food items after relocation of a mobile home; 
(c) to restore or establish power to a structure where power must be available to maintain 

conditions or equipment directly related to home health care; or 
(d) to restore or establish power in situations where failure to do so would imminently and directly 

jeopardize real or personal property, or human life or safety. 
(4) Power suppliers must be in receipt of a completed service certificate or ensure one is 

completed by a prospective consumer prior to or immediately coincidental with making temporary 
electrical connections to supply power. 

(5) Power suppliers must present a copy of completed service certificates to the area electrical 
inspector or his supervisor within five days, excluding weekends and holidays, of the issue date of the 
date that temporary power was supplied, whichever is later. 

(6) As provided by 50-60-605 , MCA, no temporary electrical connection made in accordance with 
this rule may remain in effect longer than 14 days. If the 14-day time limit lapses without the 
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consumer obtaining an appropriate permit from the department and presenting it to the power 
supplier, the power supplied under the authority of the service certificate must be disconnected by the 
power supplier no later than 72 hours following expiration of the 14-day period. 

(7) Subject to the administrative (contested case) procedures set forth in the Montana 
Administrative Procedure Act, a power supplier that neglects, refuses, or fails to comply with the 
provisions of this rule and 50-60-605 , MCA, shall forfeit the ability to utilize service certificates. 

History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-201, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, 50-60-605, 
MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 2/24/06. 

 
24.301.481 CARNIVALS, FAIRS, OUTDOOR CONCERTS AND SIMILAR AMUSEMENT 

ESTABLISHMENTS AND OTHER PUBLIC ASSEMBLIES OF A TEMPORARY NATURE 
(1) Temporary electrical power and lighting installations may be permitted for a period not to 

exceed 30 days. The installation must comply with Article 525 of the National Electrical Code. 
(2) The electrical inspection fee for each temporary installation shall be $45 for the entirety of the 

temporary installation, provided that such inspection can be completed within one hour. If additional 
inspection time is required, it will be charged at the rate of $25 for each additional 30 minutes or 
fractional parts thereof. 

(3) Each time a temporary amusement or public assembly electrical installation is erected or 
relocated, another electrical inspection will be required. 

History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, MCA; IMP, 50-60-201, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, 
MCA; NEW, 1986 MAR p. 106, Eff. 1/31/86; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2563, Eff. 9/25/98; AMD, 1999 MAR 
p. 1885, Eff. 10/1/99; TRANS, from Commerce, 2001 MAR p. 2301; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 567, Eff. 
2/24/06. 
 

24.301.491 REFUNDS OR CREDITS 
(1) No permit fee shall be refunded nor credit issued for a permit if the value of the permit does not 

exceed $25. 
(2) A permit with a value which exceeds $25 may be refunded or credited, at the discretion of the 

department, less the $25 refund/credit fee. 
(3) A refund or credit issued for a permit fee on a project, which was inspected by the department, 

shall have the refund or credit prorated at the rate of $45 per required inspection performed, in 
addition to the $25 refund/credit fee. 

(4) No refund or credit for permit fees shall be issued for duplicate permits, when the permittee 
failed to transfer the original permit pursuant to ARM 24.301.431(10) and a subsequent permit was 
obtained for the same project. 

(5) The department may suspend or revoke a permit when the permit was issued in error or 
issued on the basis of incorrect information. Suspended or revoked permits shall not be issued a 
refund or credit. 

History: 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, MCA; IMP, 50-60-203, 50-60-603, 50-60-604, 
MCA; NEW, 1994 MAR p. 299, Eff. 2/11/94; TRANS, from Commerce, 2001 MAR p. 2301; AMD, 
2010 MAR p. 1733, Eff. 7/30/10. 
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