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Status of Admin. R. Mont. 24.138.509 
 
On December 22, 2023, the Board of Dentistry proposed amendments to Admin. R. Mont. 
24.138.509 pertaining to Dental Hygiene Limited Access Permit Practice. The Economic Affairs 
Interim Committee (EAIC) informally objected to the proposal pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 2-
4-305(9). On May 10, 2024, EAIC issued a formal objection pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 2-4-
406. The objection was solely as to the proposal at subsections (2)(a) and (b). The Committee did 
not object to the rule in place prior to the amendment (2008 Rule). The Board of Dentistry 
adopted the proposed rule on June 21, 2024.  
 
The 2008 Rule and the Proposed Rule are set forth below. In short, subsection (5) of the 2008 
rule is amended to be subsection (2) of the Proposed Rule. Because of the objection, the 
objected-to subsections of the rule may not take effect until the day following the next regular 
session of the legislature. Mont. Code Ann. § 2-4-306(4)(c). 
 

2008 RULE PROPOSED RULE 
  24.138.509  DENTAL 
HYGIENE LIMITED ACCESS PERMIT  (1)  
The board shall issue a limited access permit 
(LAP) to a Montana licensed dental hygienist 
who: 
 (a)  possesses an active, unrestricted 
Montana dental hygiene license; 
 (b)  certifies that the dental hygienist 
has actively practiced either: 
 (i)  2400 clinical hours over the last 
three years; or 
 (ii)  a career total of 3000 hours, with 
a minimum of 350 hours in each of the last 
two years; 
 (c)  provides the name of the 
applicant's current liability insurance carrier, 
policy number, and expiration date; 
 (d)  acknowledges on the application 
that the applicant understands which public 
health facilities are eligible to provide 
services under a limited access permit 
pursuant to 37-4-405, MCA; 
 (e)  provides certificates of attendance 
of completion of 12 additional continuing 
education credits for the three-year reporting 
period immediately preceding LAP 
application pursuant to ARM 24.138.2105; 
and 

 24.138.509  DENTAL HYGIENE 
LIMITED ACCESS PERMIT  (1)  The board 
shall issue a limited access permit (LAP) to a 
Montana licensed dental hygienist who: 
 (a)  possesses an active, unrestricted 
Montana dental hygiene license; 
 (b)  certifies that the dental hygienist 
has actively practiced either: 
 (i)  2400 clinical hours over the last 
three years; or 
 (ii)  a career total of 3000 hours, with 
a minimum of 350 hours in each of the last 
two years; 
 (c)  provides the name of the 
applicant's current liability insurance carrier, 
policy number, and expiration date; 
 (d)  acknowledges on the application 
that the applicant understands which public 
health facilities are eligible to provide 
services under a limited access permit 
pursuant to 37-4-405, MCA; 
 (e)  provides certificates of attendance 
of completion of 12 additional continuing 
education credits for the three-year reporting 
period immediately preceding LAP 
application pursuant to ARM 24.138.2105; 
and 
 (f)  submits a completed application 
and pays all appropriate fees. 



 

Page 2 of 2 OFFICE OF LEGAL SERVICES  

2008 RULE PROPOSED RULE 
 (f)  submits a completed application 
and pays all appropriate fees. 
 (2)  Application material remains valid 
for six months from receipt in the board 
office.  If the application is not completed 
within six months a new application and fees 
must be submitted. 
 (3)  A LAP dental hygienist shall 
maintain 48 hours of continuing education 
credits for each three-year cycle following 
initial issuance of a LAP.  The 48 hours 
includes the 36 hours required for a dental 
hygiene license and an additional 12 hours 
required for the LAP.  If the LAP dental 
hygienist qualifies for limited prescriptive 
authority pursuant to 37-4-405, MCA, and 
ARM 24.138.419, the dental hygienist shall 
maintain an additional three continuing 
education credits for each three-year cycle. 
 (4)  LAPs must be renewed annually. 
 (5)  Pursuant to 37-4-405, MCA, the 
board identifies the following additional 
public health facilities and programs at which 
services under a LAP may be provided: 
 (a)  Dodson School; 
 (b)  Great Falls Rescue Mission; 
 (c)  Harlem Elementary School; 
 (d)  Harlem Junior/Senior High 
School; and 
 (e)  Paris Gibson Education Center.   

 (2)  In addition to the authorized 
public health facilities already defined under 
37-4-405, MCA, the board identifies the 
following additional public health facilities 
and programs where LAP services may be 
provided: 
 (a)  schools that receive federal funds 
under Title I of the Elementary and 
Secondary Education Act; 
 (b)  schools in which at least 65% of 
the student population is eligible for free or 
reduced price lunch under federal 
guidelines; 
 (c)  hospice facilities; 
 (d)  family violence shelters; and 
 (e)  homeless shelters. 
 
[Bold italics identify the objected-to portion 
of the rule.] 

  
Because Proposed Rule (2)(c) through (e) were not objected to, those provisions, and the 
remainder of the Proposed Rule, became effective on June 22, 2024. Those subsections include 
the Great Falls Rescue Mission, which was included in the 2008 Rule as subsection (5)(b). 
 
To alleviate any ambiguity for users of these rules, it is necessary to clarify the effective portions 
of the 2008 Rule and the Proposed rule. Dodson School, Harlem Elementary School, Harlem 
Junior/Senior High School, and the Paris Gibson Education Center (2008 Rule subsections 
(5)(a), (c) through (e)). Because EAIC did not object to the 2008 Rule, the Department interprets 
the effect of the objection, and the delayed effective date, as continuing to permit LAP practice 
within these facilities until the amendments take effect. 


