Board Information

Welcome to the Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers

The Board of Real Estate Appraisers makes every effort to include on this website all relevant information pertaining to the licensing and regulation of Real Estate Appraisers and Appraisal Management Companies.

 

Attention Appraisal Management Companies

Beginning August 30, 2019, Montana will be joining other states participating in the Appraisal Management Company (AMC) national registry. The registry is maintained by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (ASC). This registry is required by federal rule and implements a new AMC registry fee formula. The state of Montana AMC renewal fee of $1,000 remains in place.

Starting with the 2019 renewal cycle, AMC renewals will be submitted online at EBIZ.MT.GOV/POL. By renewing online your AMC panel list can be maintained for future renewals. Click here to learn more about the new AMC national registry process and online AMC renewal instructions.

The Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers is available to answer questions regarding the AMC national registry. Please contact Executive Officer Sharon Peterson (406) 841-2375 or SPETERSON@MT.GOV for more information.

If you have questions regarding the general renewal process, please contact our Customer Service team at (406) 444-6880 or by email at DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV.

 

 

 

Fingerprint-Based Background Check Fee Increased

On March 1, 2019, the Montana Department of Justice increased the fee for a Federal Fingerprint-Based Check to $30.00 for background checks conducted for pre-employment, employment and, licensing purposes.

The background check and fee, includes the Montana WIN check, as required by the FBI. Statutory authority is required to conduct these checks.

Please contact the Montana Department of Justice at (406) 444-3625 for more information regarding this fee change.

 

Attention: New Administrative Rules in effect on January 12, 2019

Please click on the Regulations tab.

Summary of Changes

The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria

Please click on the License Information tab for the license requirements for each level of real estate appraiser license.

 

ATTENTION LICENSEES NEW LAW IN EFFECT JULY 1, 2015

The new law allows the board and department to suspend licenses of persons who

  • submit fines or fees without sufficient funds in their account,
  • fail to meet continuing education or certification requirements as discovered in an audit,
  • fail to comply with a final order of the board, or
  • fail to respond to correspondence concerning these matters.

You are cautioned to notify the board office of your current contact information or risk having correspondence not delivered to you and your license administratively suspended without further notice or hearing. More information may be found on the FAQ tab.

The Board of Real Estate Appraisers makes every effort to include on this website all relevant information pertaining to the licensing and regulation of real estate appraisers and appraisal management companies in Montana.

Contact Information

Thank you for your interest in contacting the Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers.

 

If you are already licensed, have applied for a license, are about to apply for a license, or are renewing your license from the Board of Real Estate Appraisers:

Professional Licensing Customer Service:

(406) 444-6880

DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV

 

If you have scope of practice questions or comments for the Board of Real Estate Appraisers:

Sharon Peterson, Executive Officer

(406) 841-2375

DLIBSDREA@MT.GOV

 

If you have questions about continuing education:

(406) 444-5696

AUDIT@MT.GOV

 

If you have questions about filing a complaint against a licensee:

(406) 841-2357

DLIBSDCOMPLAINTS@MT.GOV


Mailing Address:

Board of Real Estate Appraisers

PO Box 200513

Helena, MT 59620-0513

 

Physical Address:

Board of Real Estate Appraisers

301 S. Park Avenue

4th Floor

Helena, MT 59620



Board Events

Board meetings are usually held several times a year.
Meeting minutes are posted within 3 days of board approval.

In general, Board meetings are open to the public.
There are certain meetings or parts (Screening Panel and Executive Session), which are closed to the public.

Scheduled and Proposed Meetings

Board Members

Board members are appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation. Members serve 3 year terms with a two term limit per member.

Individual Board Members can be contacted by email at dlibsdrea@mt.gov. In your message please specify which board member you would like to contact. 

For additional contact information and information on board member terms, please visit the Governor’s Office link for Board Members and Councils at http://boards.mt.gov/.

Thomas Stevens, Chairperson, Real Estate Appraiser
Peter Fontana, Vice Chairperson, Real Estate Appraiser
Gregory Thornquist, Real Estate Appraiser
Timothy Mcginnis, Real Estate Appraiser
George Luther, Real Estate Appraiser
Myles Link, Public Member
Frank "Ed" Schoenen Jr, Public Member

License Information

All non-routine applications are reviewed by the Board at their regularly scheduled board meetings. The Board only meets four times a year.  If we are unable to process your application in time for the Board meeting, your application may not be reviewed until the next regularly-scheduled Board meeting.  To ensure that your application is reviewed at the earliest available meeting date, please allow at least 45 days from the meeting date for staff to process your complete application received in the Board office.  The schedule of board meetings can be found under the Board Information/Board Meeting tab or on the Events calendar.  

Please utilize the checklists for the list of required documents which must be submitted with each license appilcation type.

For a list of approved qualifying and continuing education, please click on the Education tab.  You must contact the education provider listed next to the course to inquire about availiability of the course.

Exam candidates will be notified of your eligibility to test when the Board has reviewed your application and the required documents.  Do not schedule your exam before you have been made eligible to test.

Results of the Fingerprint Background check will be sent directly to the Board office from the Department of Justice.

The Board utilizes the Montana Appraisal Review Report form to review all appraisal reports.

Ad Valorem Applicant Instructions

Ad Valorem Mass Appraisal Log

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lookup Licensed Individual

Licensee Lookup System

This site is a primary source for verification of license credentials.

The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, presents Licensee Lookup information as a service to the public. The Division relies upon information provided by licensees to be true and correct, as required by statute. It is an act of unprofessional conduct for a licensee knowingly to provide erroneous information to the Division.

The Department of Labor and Industry makes no warranty or guarantee concerning the accuracy or reliability of the content of this website. Assessing the accuracy and reliability of information obtained from this website is solely the responsibility of the user. If you have questions regarding information found within this Licensee Lookup website, please contact the specific licensing board directly.

Please note that some disciplinary actions against licensees may not appear immediately on the website. Appeals, effective dates of orders and other administrative processes may delay posting on the website. Please contact the specific licensing board directly if you require discipline information that occurred prior to July 1, 1996.

Download List of Licensees

License Download System

This service allows you to purchase complete lists of individuals, businesses, and contractors licensed with the State of Montana through the Business Standards Division.

Options include:

  • Creating a customized list of licensees by selecting board type, license type, license status, county, etc.;
  • Submitting payment for your list using a credit/debit card or registered user account
  • Downloading your list immediately, and if necessary, retrieving your list within 24-hours of purchase

Certified General Appraiser

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the license application
 
Please review the Checklists for a detailed list of requirements:
 
Checklist for application by Examination
Checklist for application by Reciprocity
 
 
 
 
  • Examination Information:  Please do not schedule your examination with Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP) until you have received written confirmation from the Board that your qualifying education and experience have been approved, and you are eligible to test.

 

  • Renewal Dates: Feb. 1 - March 31

 

  • Continuing Education Requirements:
    At every other renewal, licensees shall provide evidence to the board of having completed at least 28 hours of instruction in courses or seminars approved by the board, including the 7 hours National USAP update course. 

 

 

 

Licensed Appraiser

To apply for the Licensed Appraiser using the online application please click here.

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the license application

Please review the Checklist for a detailed list of requirements:

Checklist for application by Examination

Checklist for application by Reciprocity

Fingerprint Instructions

Sample Fingerprint Card

Noncriminal Justice Applicants Rights
 

  • Examination Information:  Please do not schedule your examination with Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP) until you have received written confirmation from the Board that your qualifying education and experience have been approved, and you are eligible to test.
     
  • Renewal Period: Feb. 1 - March 31.
     
  • Continuing Education Requirements:  At every other renewal, licensees shall provide evidence to the board of having completed at least 28 hours of instruction in courses or seminars approved by the board, including the 7 hours National USPAP update course. 

 

 

Certified Residential Appraiser

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the license application

Please review the Checklist for a detailed list of requirements:

Checklist for application by Examination

Checklist for application by Reciprocity

Certified Residential Appraiser Additional Required Qualifying Education

Fingerprint Instructions

Sample Fingerprint Card

Noncriminal Justice Applicants Rights

  • Exam Information:  Please do not schedule your examination with Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP) until you have received written confirmation from the Board that your qualifying education and experience have been approved, and you are eligible to test.
     
  • Renewal Period: Feb. 1 - March 31.
     
  • Continuing Education Requirements: At every other renewal, licensees shall provide evidence to the board of having completed at least 28 hours of instruction in courses or seminars approved by the board, including the 7 hours National USAP update course. 

Mentor

The following outlines general information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application

Please review the Checklist for a list of the requirements:

Checklist for Mentor application
 

Trainee

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the license application

Please review the Checklist for a detailed list of requirements:

Checklist for Trainee application

Fingerprint Instructions

Sample Fingerprint Card

Noncriminal Justice Applicants Rights

 

*

Board of Real Estate Appraisers

*

Real Estate Appraisers


 

 

 

 


 

 

Out-Of-State Temporary Applicants

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the license application which includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

A. Application Fee: All Fees are Non-Refundable $250.00 Application Fee

B. Renewal Period:
Temporary registration may be awarded for a 6-month period and renewed one time within the 12-month period following the original date on which the temporary registration was issued. If you anticipate having ongoing assignments in the State of Montana you will need to make application for a permanent license.

 

Approved Mentors

To verify if someone is an Approved Mentor, please call (406) 444-5711 or email unitb@mt.gov

Regulations

All of the Statutes and Rules listed here are applicable to this board.

Statutes are laws passed by the Legislature. All changes in statutes must go through the legislative process and be passed into law before they become effective. Title 37, Chapter 1, Part 3 is the Uniform Regulatory Act passed by the Legislature in 1995. All professional and occupational licensing is covered in these statutes.

Administrative Rules pertaining to real estate appraisers are written and adopted by the Real Estate Appraisers Board. The Board writes rules in order to administer the laws over which the Legislature has given the Board authority. Rules can be changed by going through the rule-making procedure. They do not go through the Legislative process. The Real Estate Appraisers Board continuously reviews rules to determine needed changes.

The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) at this site contain what should be the same text as the official version published by the Office of the Secretary of State. There is a possibility, however, that the content may vary from the official version. In addition, the format has been changed for viewing on this web site. A copy of the official ARM in official format can be obtained from the ARM Bureau of the Office of the Secretary of State, by emailing: SOSARM@mt.gov. A web version of the ARM published by the Secretary of State can be viewed at Secretary of State's Administrative Rules of Montana.

Administrative Rules

Rules Notices

Click here to find rules notices older than one year at the Montana Secretary of State website.

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-207-43

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.207.508 pertaining to ad valorem tax appraisal experience

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-207-42

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.207.401 fees, 24.207.404 appraisal review - USPAP exemption, 24.207.406 definitions, 24.207.501 examination, 24.207.502 application requirements, 24.207.504 approval of qualifying and continuing education courses, 24.207.508 ad valorem appraisal experience, 24.207.509 qualifying experience, 24.207.515 inactive license/certification, 24.207.516 inactive to active license, 24.207.517 trainee requirements, 24.207.518 mentor requirements, 24.207.1501 registration and renewal of appraisal management companies, 24.207.2101 continuing education - compliance and auditing, 24.207.2301 unprofessional conduct for appraisers, 24.207.2305 unprofessional conduct for appraisal management companies; the adoption of New Rule I incorporation by reference of the real property appraiser qualification criteria, New Rule II appraiser reporting obligations to the board, New Rule III appraisal management company reporting obligations to the board; and the repeal of ARM 24.207.403 regulatory reviews, 24.207.503 experience - number of hours required, 24.207.505 qualifying education requirements for licensed real estate appraisers, 24.207.506 qualifying education requirements for residential certification, 24.207.507 qualifying education requirements for general certification, 24.207.510 scope of practice, 24.207.2102 continuing education noncompliance

Statutes


Complaints

The mission of the Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers...

In order to meet its mission, the Board is charged with taking appropriate action for unprofessional, incompetent, or unlawful practice. You can learn more about the complaint process or file a complaint with the Board here.

 

Complaints Contact

Beth Murphy, Compliance Specialist
Telephone: (406) 841-2357

E-mail: dlibsdcomplaints@mt.gov

Complaint Form

Complaint Process

 

How to File a Complaint

The Department is charged with regulating professions and occupations for the protection of the public as a whole. Although the Department does not represent individuals filing complaints, the Department will review complaints in a timely manner to ensure a complaint is processed and that the Board will take appropriate action.

The length of time for resolution of a complaint is impossible to estimate due to the various complexities presented in individual complaints.

The following types of complaints may be filed:

  • Unprofessional conduct by a licensee;
  • Unprofessional conduct by a license applicant;
  • Unlicensed practice of the profession or occupation.

If an individual is unsure of what constitutes unprofessional conduct and needs a description of the various types, reference to Montana statutes and rules will provide an answer. These are found at your local public library or at the appropriate board site on this web page.

Drop Off or Mail to:
"Name of the Board or Program the complaint pertains to"
Business Standards Division
301 South Park, 4th Floor
PO Box 200514
Helena, MT 59620-0514

The Complaint Process

Business Standards Division

This process is used for the Boards that are administered in the Business Standards Division. 
The various Programs administered in the Division use a similar process.

Frequently Asked Questions about Complaint Process

IMPORTANT

When filing or responding to a complaint, be as thorough as possible. You may attach additional documents to the complaint form to ensure that all pertinent information has been included. The Screening Panel meeting is NOT a hearing, but is a time for the panel to consider the complaint and response. Attendance is your choice. If you attend the panel may ask additional questions. Please notify this office prior to the meeting if you plan to attend.

After a complaint has been filed against a licensed individual...

The Compliance Office will send a letter of acknowledgment to the person who filed the complaint (Complainant), and a letter requesting a response (with a copy of the complaint) to the licensee against whom the complaint was filed.

The Licensee may submit a written response addressing the complaint to the Compliance Office. The process continues whether or not a response is submitted. The Complainant is not entitled to a copy of the response.

The Compliance Office will notify the Licensee and Complainant regarding the date and time of any meeting during which the case will be discussed.

Complaints remain confidential unless a Notice of Proposed Board Action is issued, which is a public document along with all subsequent legal filings.

MEETINGS 
Closed Meeting - During a Closed Meeting only the Licensee, the Complainant, and/or attorneys for either can be in attendance. Minutes of Closed Meetings are not public documents.

Open Meeting - A public meeting which anyone can attend. The minutes of Open meetings are public documents and made available online via the specific Board’s webpage.
(Adjudication Panel meetings are usually open.)

Individuals may attend a meeting in person or by telephone. Please notify this office prior to the meeting if you plan to attend the meeting.

SCREENING PANEL

Screening PanelA committee comprised of members of the Board. The Screening Panel’s function is to determine the preliminary action(s) to take on a complaint. Possible preliminary actions include dismissal, investigation, or a finding of Reasonable Cause.

The complaint and response (if any) are submitted to the Screening Panel members. The Screening Panel meeting is not a hearing, but rather a committee meeting to review and discuss the complaint and response to determine if disciplinary action is warranted.

DISMISSAL

If the Screening Panel dismisses a complaint, the complaint can be dismissed with or without prejudice (see definitions below).

Dismissal With Prejudice - The complaint is dismissed and cannot be considered by the Screening Panel in the future.

Dismissal Without Prejudice - The complaint is dismissed but may be considered by the Screening Panel in the future if there are ever allegations of a similar nature.

INVESTIGATION

Only a member of the Screening Panel can request an investigation of a complaint. If an investigation is requested by the Screening Panel, the case is assigned to an investigator who may request an interview with the Licensee, the Complainant, and/or other individuals. Upon completion of the investigation, a written report is submitted to the Screening Panel, which will then determine if there is Reasonable Cause to proceed with disciplinary action.

REASONABLE CAUSE

Reasonable Cause - A finding by the Screening Panel that evidence exists that a violation of statutes and rules has occurred which warrants proceeding with disciplinary action.

If Reasonable Cause is found, the Department Counsel issues a Notice of Proposed Board Action (Notice) to the Licensee. Once a Notice is issued, it is public information. A proposed Stipulation may be included with the Notice.

Notice - A legal document from the Department’s Legal Counsel which sets forth the Department’s factual assertions, the statutes or rules relied upon, and advising the licensee of the right to a hearing.

Stipulation - A tentative agreement for settlement of the case. A Stipulation is not finalized until approved by the Adjudication Panel. 

The Licensee may either sign the Stipulation or contest the proposed action by requesting an administrativeHearing (a legal process before a Hearing Examiner). If the Licensee wishes to request a hearing, written request must be received within twenty (20) days from receipt of the Notice. Failure to either sign a Stipulation or request a hearing within twenty (20) days may result in the issuing of a Final Order of Default against the licensee.

Default - the licensee’s acceptance of the disciplinary action demonstrated by failing to participate in the process

ADJUDICATION PANEL

Adjudication Panel - A committee comprised of members of the Board who are  NOT on the Screening Panel. The Adjudication Panel determines the final outcome of a case.

The Adjudication Panel reviews the record to determine appropriate sanctions. A Final Order is issued by the Adjudication Panel, completing the complaint process.

COMPLAINT PROCESS FLOW

1

Current license status and information regarding disciplinary action(s) against
a licensee can be accessed online at:
https://ebiz.mt.gov/pol/

Unlicensed Practice Complaint Process

Department of Labor & Industry - Business Standards Division

PO Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513

When a complaint or other information is received alleging possible unlicensed practice...

  • (If the allegation is not made in the form of a formal written complaint, a complaint form is completed by the Department and a complaint number is assigned.)
  • A copy of the complaint and a request for a written response are mailed to the person against whom the complaint was filed (Respondent).
  • A written acknowledgment that the complaint has been received is mailed to the person who filed the complaint (Complainant)
  • The respondent may submit a letter of response to the complaint. If a written response is not submitted, the complaint process continues without a response.
  • The complainant and the respondent are sent written notification of the date, time, and location of any meeting at which the complaint will be discussed.

The Board Meeting

  • Unlicensed Practice complaints are addressed by the Full Board in executive session (meaning closed to the public). Board meetings are open to the public unless the chairperson determines an individual’s right to privacy outweighs the public’s right to know. If so, that portion of the meeting will be closed to the public (only the respondent, complainant, and legal counsel for each (if any) may be present).
  • The complaint and response (if any) are provided to the board members prior to an upcoming board meeting for their review. The board meeting is not a hearing, but rather a meeting at which the information provided is considered and discussed by the board.

DISMISSAL

  • If the board dismisses a complaint, the complaint can be dismissed with or without prejudice.
  • Dismissal With Prejudice-The complaint is dismissed and cannot be considered in the future.
  • Dismissal Without Prejudice-The complaint is dismissed but may be considered by the board in the future if there are ever allegations of a similar nature.

INVESTIGATION

  • The board can request an investigator be assigned to gather additional information surrounding the allegations made in the complaint. This may involve interviews with the respondent, the complainant, and possible witnesses.
  • After the investigation has been completed, an investigative report is prepared and presented to the board for consideration at a subsequent meeting.
  • Following the board’s review of the investigative report, a determination is made to either dismiss the complaint or take action in the form of a Cease and Desist or an Injunction.

CEASE & DESIST / INJUNCTION

  • The board may issue a Cease & Desist or seek an Injunction.
  • Cease & Desist–A letter from the administrative agency prohibiting a person or business from doing or continuing to do a certain activity.
  • Injunction-A writ granted by a court prohibiting a person or business from doing or continuing to do a certain activity.

For more information, contact DLI Business Standards Division at 406-841-2300

AMC's Licensed in Montana

AMC Registration Exemptions

37-54-502. Registration exemptions. (1) The provisions of this chapter do not apply to a person who exclusively employs appraisers on an employer-employee basis for the performance of an appraisal assignment.

(2) An appraisal management company that is a subsidiary owned and controlled by a financial institution that is regulated by a federal financial institution regulatory agency is not required to register with the board but shall comply with all provisions of this chapter, as long as the provisions of this chapter do not conflict with the federal law related to the operation of an appraisal management company in this state.

Appraisal Management Companies

Appraisal Management Companies

To register online as an Appraisal Management Company please click here

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application.

 

  1. FEES
    AMC Application Fee: $2000.00
     
  2. Required Documents:
    • Completed AMC registration application with fees, including list of current panel members and owner information forms.
    • Proof of registration with Montana Secretary of State.
    • Provide a current list of panel members.

Legislation

October 1, 2011: Legislation is effective
Provides licensure and regulation of Real Estate Appraisal Management Companies. For updates please visit www.leg.mt.gov

For AMC Rules Information please join our interested parties list by emailing us at

Renewal Information

Attention Appraisal Management Companies

Beginning August 30, 2019, Montana will be joining other states participating in the Appraisal Management Company (AMC) national registry. The registry is maintained by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (ASC). This registry is required by federal rule and implements a new AMC registry fee formula. The state of Montana AMC renewal fee of $1,000 remains in place.

Starting with the 2019 renewal cycle, AMC renewals will be submitted online at EBIZ.MT.GOV/POL. By renewing online your AMC panel list can be maintained for future renewals. Click here to learn more about the new AMC national registry process and online AMC renewal instructions.

The Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers is available to answer questions regarding the AMC national registry. Please contact Executive Officer Sharon Peterson (406) 841-2375 or SPETERSON@MT.GOV for more information.

If you have questions regarding the general renewal process, please contact our Customer Service team at (406) 444-6880 or by email at DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV.

 

 

 


 

 

FAQ