Board Information

Welcome to the Montana State Electrical Board

The State Electrical Board makes every effort to include on this website all relevant information pertaining to the licensing and regulation of electricians in Montana. 


Attention Licensees, Electrical Contractors and Home Owners

At the 2017 State of Montana Legislative Session, a new law was established under SB36 that requires that work on grid-tied generators be performed by licensed electricians, regardless of homeownership status.  Below are the significant changes that were made to the State Electrical Boards statutes.  The law will go into effect for work performed on or after July 1, 2017.

Mont. Code Ann. §37-68-102(5)  "Grid-tied generator" means a generator or a group of generators located on a utility customer's property or residence and designed to operate in parallel with a utility distribution facility.

Mont. Code Ann. §37-68-103(3)(a) Except as provided in subsection (3)(b), this chapter does not require an individual to hold a license to perform electrical work on the individual's own property or residence if the property or residence is maintained for the individual's own use.

(b) Subsection (3)(a) does not include an exemption for an individual who is performing electrical work on a grid-tied generator located at the individual's own property or residence.

If you wish to read the Bill in its entirety, please click Here.

 

As of November 6, 2014, the State of Montana has adopted the 2014 NFPA 70 (2014 NEC), the 2012 International Existing Building Code, the 2012 International Mechanical Code, the 2012 International Fuel Gas Code, the 2012 International Building Code, the 2012 International Residential Code, the 2012 International Energy Conservation Code, and the 2012 Uniform Plumbing Code.  Official versions of these administrative rules will not be available until published by the Secretary of State.  You may check for updated publishing at their site: www.mtrules.org

You may also review additional information on the code amendments at the Building Codes Web page at bsd.dli.mt.gov/building-codes-permits.

 

Montana State Electrical Board

301 South Park Avenue

P.O. Box 200513

Helena, MT  59620-0513

Board Members

Board members are appointed by the Governor with Senate confirmation. 
Members serve 5 year terms with no limit on the number of terms a member may serve.

To contact the Board, please use the Email the Board link located under Quick Links. For additional contact information and information on board member terms, please visit the Governor’s Office link for Board Members and Councils at boards.mt.gov.

Mel Medhus III, President   

John Gordon, Vice President    

Dawn Achten, Secretary
Keith Simendinger, Treasurer
Rick Hutchinson, Master Electrician
 

 

Contact Information

For information on applications and licensing contact
Phone: (406) 444-5711
Email:

For information on renewals, license verifications, and name changes contact
Phone: (406) 444-6880
Email:

For information on continuing education or course approvals
Phone: (406) 444-5696
Email:

For information on filing a complaint against a licensee contact:
Compliance Specialist
Phone: (406) 841-2357
Email:

Board Management:
Jason Steffins, Executive Officer
Board Management Bureau
Phone: (406) 841-2329
Email:

Board Events

Board meetings are usually held 4 times a year. 
Meeting minutes are posted within 3 days of board approval.

In general, Board meetings are open to the public. 
There are certain meetings or parts (Screening Panel and Executive Session), which are closed to the public.

Scheduled and Proposed Meetings

Newsletters

License Information

Please make a choice of the license types to the left

Residential Electrician

To apply for the Residential Electrician License using the online application please click here

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application that includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

Examination Information:
Applications for examination must be approved by the State Electrical Board. Currently, exams are based off the 2014 NEC

Continuing Education Requirements:

16 hours of Board approved courses per renewal cycle. A minimum of 8 hours must be on code update. The Board accepts Continuing Education from any reciprocal state.

Journeyman Electrician

To apply for the Journeyman Electrician License using the online application please click here

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application that includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

Examination Information:
Applications for examination must be approved by the State Electrical Board. Currently, exams are based off the 2014 NEC.

Continuing Education Requirements:
16 hours of Board approved courses per renewal cycle. A minimum of 8 hours must be on code update. The Board accepts Continuing Education from any reciprocal state.

Other Special License Requirements:
The Board issues Electrical Contractors Licenses. An applicant must provide proof of compliance with workers compensation and unemployment laws, and must identify a full-time Montana licensed journeyman or master electrician responsible for all work done in Montana.

Master Electrician

To apply for the Master Electrician License using the online application please click here

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application that includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

Examination Information:
Applications for examination must be approved by the State Electrical Board. Currently, exams are based off the 2014 NEC.

Continuing Education Requirements:
16 hours of Board approved courses per renewal cycle. A minimum of 8 hours must be on code update. The Board accepts Continuing Education from any reciprocal state.

Other Special License Requirements:

The Board issues Electrical Contractors Licenses. An applicant must provide proof of compliance with workers compensation and unemployment laws, and must identify a full-time Montana licensed journeyman or master electrician responsible for all work done in Montana.

Limited Electrical Contractor

To apply for the Limited Electrical Contractor License using the online application please click here

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application that includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

Fees:(Non-refundable)
(see application)

Licensing Requirements:
Proof of compliance with Montana Workers Compensation and also Unemployment Insurance or an Independant Contractor Exemption.

Additional Requirements:
Montana Licensed Journeyman Electrician is responsible party for the business.

The Montana responsible electrician’s license determines the level of the contractor’s license and what electrical work can be performed.  A limited electrical contractor will require a Montana licensed journeyman electrician as the responsible party and limits the electrical work to residential construction consisting of less than five living units in a single structure.  

Unlimited Electrical Contractor

To apply for the Unlimited Electrical Contractor License using the online application please click here

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application that includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

Fees:(Non-refundable)
(see application)

Licensing Requirements:
Proof of compliance with Montana Workers Compensation and also Unemployment Insurance or an Independant Contractor Exemption.

Additional Requirements:
Montana Licensed Master Electrician is responsible party for the business.

The Montana responsible electrician's license determines the level of the contractor's license and what electrical work can be performed. An unlimited electrical contractor license will require a Montana licensed master electrician as the responsible party and allows the electrical contractor to perform residential, commercial, industrial, and institutional work.

Renewal Process

  1. The renewal deadline date (expiration date) for all Electricians is July 15 on even years.
  2. Renewal opens 60 days prior to your expiration date. We encourage you to renew your license early in the renewal cycle.
  3. Please note that our online system is available 24/7 during the renewal cycle however, there is no staff available to assist you after 5:00 p.m. Waiting until the last hours to renew could mean that there is no one available to assist you and this may cause your renewal to accrue late fees.    

Lookup Licensed Individual

Licensee Lookup System

This site is a primary source for verification of license credentials.

The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, presents Licensee Lookup information as a service to the public. The Division relies upon information provided by licensees to be true and correct, as required by statute. It is an act of unprofessional conduct for a licensee knowingly to provide erroneous information to the Division.

The Department of Labor and Industry makes no warranty or guarantee concerning the accuracy or reliability of the content of this website. Assessing the accuracy and reliability of information obtained from this website is solely the responsibility of the user. If you have questions regarding information found within this Licensee Lookup website, please contact the specific licensing board directly.

Please note that some disciplinary actions against licensees may not appear immediately on the website. Appeals, effective dates of orders and other administrative processes may delay posting on the website. Please contact the specific licensing board directly if you require discipline information that occurred prior to July 1, 1996.

Download List of Licensees

License Download System

This service allows you to purchase complete lists of individuals, businesses, and contractors licensed with the State of Montana through the Business Standards Division.

Options include:

  • Creating a customized list of licensees by selecting board type, license type, license status, county, etc.;
  • Submitting payment for your list using a credit/debit card or registered user account
  • Downloading your list immediately, and if necessary, retrieving your list within 24-hours of purchase

Exam Information

Only applicants who have been approved by the Montana State Electrical Board will be allowed to register for an exam PSI is the exam vendor for the State Electrical Board. Approved applicants will be issued an admission letter. Once an applicant is approved for the examination the applicant is eligible to take the exam within one week.

A. Examination Information:
Applications for examination must be approved by the State Electrical Board. Currently, exams are based off the 2014 NEC.

Exam Information Sheet

Examination Dates & Locations

Days and hours of operation vary at each PSI location. PSI maintains test centers at over 700 locations nationwide. To find test centers visit PSI web site for exact locations nearest you.

License Verification Request

THERE ARE TWO TYPES OF LICENSURE VERIFICATION REQUESTS:
 
1) Licensees for any profession can be verified by using LicenseLookup.mt.gov.
This website provides real-time connectivity to the Business Standards Licensing Database.  There is no charge for this service.
 
2) To request an official license verification be sent to another state licensing board, jurisdiction or individual for license confirmation status in the State of Montana. The fee for this is $20.00 per verification requested.
 


A response should occur within 3 days of receipt. 
 

Official License Verification Form

Statute/Rule Information

All of the Statutes and Rules listed here are applicable to this board.
 
Statutes are laws passed by the Legislature. All changes in statutes must go through the legislative process and be passed into law before they become effective. Title 37, Chapter 1, Part 3 is the Uniform Regulatory Act passed by the Legislature in 1995. All professional and occupational licensing is covered in these statutes.
 
Administrative Rules pertaining to electrical licensure are written and adopted by the State Electrical Board. The Board writes rules in order to administer the laws over which the Legislature has given the Board authority. Rules can be changed by going through the rule-making procedure. They do not go through the Legislative process. The State Electrical Board continuously reviews rules to determine needed changes.

The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) at this site contain what should be the same text as the official version published by the Office of the Secretary of State. There is a possibility, however, that the content may vary from the official version. In addition, the format has been changed for viewing on this web site. A copy of the official ARM in official format can be obtained from the ARM Bureau of the Office of the Secretary of State, by calling (406) 444-2055. A web version of the ARM published by the Secretary of State can be viewed at Secretary of State's Administrative Rules of Montana.

Administrative Rules

Declaratory Rulings

 
In the matter of the petition for declaratory ruling on the clarification of low voltage electrical communication or signal equipment, whether parking lot or street lighting are covered by electrical code and which electrical code is applicable

Rules Notices

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-101-307

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.101.402 definitions and 24.101.403 administrative fees, and the repeal of 24.101.401 purpose, 24.101.407 licensing, and 24.101.414 renewal notification

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-141-37

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.101.413 renewal notification and the adoption of NEW RULE I military training or experience

 MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-141-36

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.141.405 fee schedule

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT
posted May 31, 2013

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
posted August 15, 2013

 MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-101-259

In the matter of the adoption of NEW RULE I registration for out-of-state volunteer professionals

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED ADOPTION
posted November 7, 2011

NOTICE OF ADOPTION
posted January 27, 2012

 MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-141-35

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.141.405 fee schedule and the adoption of NEW RULE I nonroutine applications

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND ADOPTION
posted July 21, 2011

NOTICE: THIS HEARING HAS BEEN CANCELLED (DATED 8-15-2011)

AMENDED NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND ADOPTION
posted August 23, 2011

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND ADOPTION
posted November 4, 2011

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-141-34

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.141.301 definitions, 24.141.405 fee schedule, and 24.141.2102 continuing education

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT
posted January 26, 2010

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
posted April 22, 2010

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-141-33

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.141.301 definitions, 24.141.402 apprentice registration, 24.141.405 fee schedule, 24.141.501 electrician applications, 24.141.502 permits, 24.141.503 examinations, 24.141.504 licensure, 24.141.505 contractor licensing, 24.141.2102 continuing education, 24.141.2301 unprofessional conduct, and 24.141.2402 complaint procedure and the repeal of ARM 24.141.506, electrician qualifications

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND REPEL
posted September 21, 2009 

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-101-203

In the matter of the adoption of NEW RULE I pertaining to licensee lookup database

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED ADOPTION
posted January 23, 2009

NOTICE OF ADOPTION
posted July 10, 2009

MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-141-32

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.141.301 definitions, 24.141.405 fees, 24.141.501 applications, 24.141.502 temporary practice permits, 24.141.503 examinations, 24.141.2102 continuing education, and repeal of ARM 24.141.506 master electrician qualifications

Statutes

Compliant Information

The mission of the Montana State Electrical Board... 

In order to meet its mission, the Board is charged with taking appropriate action for unprofessional, incompetent, or unlawful practice. You can learn more about the complaint process or file a complaint with the Board here.

Complaint Form

Complaint Process 

Complaint Process FAQ's

For information on complaints contact:
Alicia Tangen, Compliance Specialist
Telephone: (406) 841-2357
E-mail: dlibsdcomplaints@mt.gov

How to File a Complaint

The Department is charged with regulating professions and occupations for the protection of the public as a whole. Although the Department does not represent individuals filing complaints, the Department will review complaints in a timely manner to ensure a complaint is processed and that the Board will take appropriate action.

The length of time for resolution of a complaint is impossible to estimate due to the various complexities presented in individual complaints.

The following types of complaints may be filed:

  • Unprofessional conduct by a licensee;
  • Unprofessional conduct by a license applicant;
  • Unlicensed practice of the profession or occupation.

If an individual is unsure of what constitutes unprofessional conduct and needs a description of the various types, reference to Montana statutes and rules will provide an answer. These are found at your local public library or at the appropriate board site on this web page.

Drop Off or Mail to:
"Name of the Board or Program the complaint pertains to"
Business Standards Division
301 South Park, 4th Floor
PO Box 200514
Helena, MT 59620-0514

The Complaint Process

This process is used for the Boards that are administered in the Business Standards Division. The various Programs administered in the Division use a similar process.

Important: When filing or responding to a complaint, be as thorough as possible. You may attach additional documents to the complaint form to ensure that all pertinent information has been included. The Screening Panel meeting is NOT a hearing, but is a time for the panel to consider the complaint and response. Attendance is your choice. If you attend the panel may ask additional questions. Please notify this office prior to the meeting if you plan to attend.

After a complaint has been filed against a licensed individual the Compliance Office will send a letter of acknowledgment to the person who filed the complaint (Complainant), and a letter requesting a response (with a copy of the complaint) to the licensee against whom the complaint was filed.

The Licensee may submit a written response addressing the complaint to the Compliance Office. The process continues whether or not a response is submitted. The Complainant is not entitled to a copy of the response.

The Compliance Office will notify the Licensee and Complainant regarding the date and time of any meeting during which the case will be discussed.

Complaints remain confidential unless a Notice of Proposed Board Action is issued, which is a public document along with all subsequent legal filings.

Meetings

  • Closed Meeting - During a Closed Meeting only the Licensee, the Complainant, and/or attorneys for either can be in attendance. Minutes of Closed Meetings are not public documents.
  • Open Meeting - A public meeting which anyone can attend. The minutes of Open meetings are public documents and made available online via the specific Board’s webpage. (Adjudication Panel meetings are usually open.)

Individuals may attend a meeting in person or by telephone. Please notify this office prior to the meeting if you plan to attend the meeting.

Screening Panel

  • Screening Panel - A committee comprised of members of the Board. The Screening Panel’s function is to determine the preliminary action(s) to take on a complaint. Possible preliminary actions include dismissal, investigation, or a finding of Reasonable Cause.

The complaint and response (if any) are submitted to the Screening Panel members. The Screening Panel meeting is not a hearing, but rather a committee meeting to review and discuss the complaint and response to determine if disciplinary action is warranted.

Dismissal

If the Screening Panel dismisses a complaint, the complaint can be dismissed with or without prejudice (see definitions below).

  • Dismissal With Prejudice - The complaint is dismissed and cannot be considered by the Screening Panel in the future.
  • Dismissal Without Prejudice - The complaint is dismissed but may be considered by the Screening Panel in the future if there are ever allegations of a similar nature.

Investigation

Only a member of the Screening Panel can request an investigation of a complaint. If an investigation is requested by the Screening Panel, the case is assigned to an investigator who may request an interview with the Licensee, the Complainant, and/or other individuals. Upon completion of the investigation, a written report is submitted to the Screening Panel, which will then determine if there is Reasonable Cause to proceed with disciplinary action.

Reasonable Cause

  • Reasonable Cause - A finding by the Screening Panel that evidence exists that a violation of statutes and rules has occurred which warrants proceeding with disciplinary action.

If Reasonable Cause is found, the Department Counsel issues a Notice of Proposed Board Action (Notice) to the Licensee. Once a Notice is issued, it is public information. A proposed Stipulation may be included with the Notice.

  • Notice - A legal document from the Department’s Legal Counsel which sets forth the Department’s factual assertions, the statutes or rules relied upon, and advising the licensee of the right to a hearing.
  • Stipulation - A tentative agreement for settlement of the case. A Stipulation is not finalized until approved by the Adjudication Panel.

The Licensee may either sign the Stipulation or contest the proposed action by requesting an administrative Hearing (a legal process before a Hearing Examiner). If the Licensee wishes to request a hearing, written request must be received within twenty (20) days from receipt of the Notice. Failure to either sign a Stipulation or request a hearing within twenty (20) days may result in the issuing of a Final Order of Default against the licensee.

  • Default - the licensee’s acceptance of the disciplinary action demonstrated by failing to participate in the process

Adjudication Panel

  • Adjudication Panel - A committee comprised of members of the Board who are NOT on the Screening Panel. The Adjudication Panel determines the final outcome of a case.

The Adjudication Panel reviews the record to determine appropriate sanctions. A Final Order is issued by the Adjudication Panel, completing the complaint process.

Complaint Process Flow

Current license status and information regarding disciplinary action(s) against a licensee can be accessed online at: https://ebiz.mt.gov/pol/

Unlicensed Practice Complaint Process

Department of Labor & Industry - Business Standards Division

PO Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513

When a complaint or other information is received alleging possible unlicensed practice...

  • (If the allegation is not made in the form of a formal written complaint, a complaint form is completed by the Department and a complaint number is assigned.)
  • A copy of the complaint and a request for a written response are mailed to the person against whom the complaint was filed (Respondent).
  • A written acknowledgment that the complaint has been received is mailed to the person who filed the complaint (Complainant)
  • The respondent may submit a letter of response to the complaint. If a written response is not submitted, the complaint process continues without a response.
  • The complainant and the respondent are sent written notify cation of the date, time, and location of any meeting at which the complaint will be discussed.

The Board Meeting

  • Unlicensed Practice complaints are addressed by the Full Board in executive session (meaning closed to the public). Board meetings are open to the public unless the chairperson determines an individual’s right to privacy outweighs the public’s right to know. If so, that portion of the meeting will be closed to the public (only the respondent, complainant, and legal counsel for each (if any) may be present).
  • The complaint and response (if any) are provided to the board members prior to an upcoming board meeting for their review. The board meeting is not a hearing, but rather a meeting at which the information provided is considered and discussed by the board.

DISMISSAL

  • If the board dismisses a complaint, the complaint can be dismissed with or without prejudice.
  • Dismissal With Prejudice-The complaint is dismissed and cannot be considered in the future.
  • Dismissal Without Prejudice-The complaint is dismissed but may be considered by the board in the future if there are ever allegations of a similar nature.

INVESTIGATION

  • The board can request an investigator be assigned to gather additional information surrounding the allegations made in the complaint. This may involve interviews with the respondent, the complainant, and possible witnesses.
  • After the investigation has been completed, an investigative report is prepared and presented to the board for consideration at a subsequent meeting.
  • Following the board’s review of the investigative report, a determination is made to either dismiss the complaint or take action in the form of a Cease and Desist or an Injunction.

CEASE & DESIST / INJUNCTION

  • The board may issue a Cease & Desist or seek an Injunction.
  • Cease & Desist–A letter from the administrative agency prohibiting a person or business from doing or continuing to do a certain activity.
  • Injunction-A writ granted by a court prohibiting a person or business from doing or continuing to do a certain activity.

For more information, contact DLI Business Standards Division at 406-841-2300

Continuing Education

Licensed Residential, Journeyman and Master Electricians:
 
You may view available on-line, correspondence, and in-person courses as well as check your individual credits taken. Please allow one month for entry of course information by sponsors. 
Only courses approved by the Montana State Electrical Board will be reported for your individual credits. 

Courses approved by a reciprocal state are accepted by the Montana State Electrical Board. Reciprocal state approved course credits will not appear in your individual credits but may be audited by the Board. A reciprocal state may or may not allow the use of Montana approved courses. You will need to contact that state's office for specifics on their continuing education program.  

Eight hours of continuing education must be obtained for each year in the renewal cycle. Requisite hours may be obtained during any portion of the renewal cycle. A minimum of four of the eight annual hours shall be certified as covering NEC updates. Newly licensed graduates of approved apprenticeship programs are exempt from continuing education requirements in the first renewal cycle. Licensees changing from journeyman or residential to a higher level of licensure are not exempt from completing the required hours of continuing education.  Licensees are responsible for maintaining a record of completion certificates for courses or seminars and the hours attended. A random audit of completion certificates may be performed by the board at any time.
 
Continuing Education Provider:
Courses must be approved before course credits are granted to an individual. 
All approved courses will expire on August 1st. 
Once your course is approved you will be sent a username and password. Course providers will be able to update contact information and course dates. Course providers are required to enter a roster of course attendees within 20 days of completion of a course.

 

Please email the Board office or call 406-444-5696 for specific questions regarding continuing education.

FAQ

A NSF payment is described as any of the following: 

  • overdraft
  • closed account
  • stopped payment
  • invalid credit card number or expiration date, or
  • payment not authorized by customer

If you are curing a payment issue with the Business Standards Division (BSD) for a check or credit card used to pay a fee or fine and the payment was sent back as NSF, you will be required to pay both the original amount due and a $30 NSF fee with a money order or cashier’s check.  If you are paying only the reinstatement fee and no other fees or fine, you may use a personal check. 

NOTICE: 
Effective April 1, 2009, The Washington Electrical Board has withdrawn from the Multi-State Reciprocal group for Electricians. Applicants wishing to apply from the State of Washington can only do so by endorsement. Please click the link for more information on endorsing your license from the State of Washington.

The Board will reciprocate a Residental and Journeyman electrican license or a Master electrician licensed down to a Journeyman license if the Master electrician license was obtained by examination.

The Board does not recipricate a Master electrician license. The only way to obtain a master license is by examination.

Alaska
Arkansas
Colorado
Idaho
Iowa
Minnesota
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Mexico 
Oklahoma
Oregon (state-to-state only)
North Dakota
South Dakota
Texas
Utah
Wyoming

For Exam Frequently Asked Questions please click here.

Exam Information
Only applicants who have been approved by the Montana State Electrical Board will be allowed to register for an exam. PSI is the exam vendor for the State Electrical Board. Approved applicants will be issued an admission letter. Once an applicant is approved for the examination the applicant is eligible to take the exam within one week. 

Examination Dates & Locations

Days and hours of operation vary at each PSI location. PSI maintains test centers at over 700 locations nationwide.

  • Test center locations in Montana are Belgrade, Big Timber, Billings, Helena, Kalispell, and Missoula.
  • Test center locations in Idaho are Blackfoot and Post Falls.
  • Test center location in Washington is Spokane.
  • Test center location in Wyoming is Sheridan.

Eight hours of continuing education must be obtained for each year in the renewal cycle. Requisite hours may be obtained during any portion of the renewal cycle. A minimum of four of the eight annual hours shall be certified as covering NEC updates. Newly licensed graduates of approved apprenticeship programs are exempt from continuing education requirements in the first renewal cycle. Licensees changing from journeyman or residential to a higher level of licensure are not exempt from completing the required hours of continuing education.  Licensees are responsible for maintaining a record of completion certificates for courses or seminars and the hours attended. A random audit of completion certificates may be performed by the board at any time.