Welcome to the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists
The Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists makes every effort to include on this website all relevant information pertaining to the licensing and regulation of the Barbering and Cosmetology professions of Montana.
Attention Licensees! – The renewal period is open for Individual and School licenses.
Please click on “Renew License” in the Quick Links.
You must renew by March 1, 2017 in order to avoid the late fee, which is 100% of the renewal fee. Please allow yourself ample time to renew to avoid any difficulties with the online renewal. Use the log-in information you used last renewal or the information you used to apply online. You will need your username and password. If you are having difficulty logging in to your online account, please access the help links found on the renewal website for assistance or email email@example.com. If you need a paper renewal form, please download one from the website. Paper renewals must be postmarked by midnight on the final day of the renewal period to avoid the late fee.
Attention Licensees – New Law in Effect July 1, 2015
The new law allows the board and department to suspend licenses of persons who
- submit fines or fees without sufficient funds in their account,
- fail to meet continuing education or certification requirements as discovered in an audit,
- fail to comply with a final order of the board, or
- fail to respond to correspondence concerning these matters.
You are cautioned to notify the board office of your current contact information or risk having correspondence not delivered to you and your license administratively suspended without further notice or hearing. More information may be found on the FAQ tab.
IMPORTANT CHANGE IN LAW:
SENATE BILL 343
Effective October 1, 2013
Senate Bill 343 can be found at
Senate Bill 343 allows instructor applicants to avoid taking the 650 teacher training course so long as the applicant has at least 3 years of experience in the particular area of practice, but the applicant has 2 years to complete board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology before a license to teach is renewed.
On July 15, 2013, the Board approved a rule draft that proposes a definition of “board-approved coursework.” The current draft of the Board’s proposed rule amendment reads as follows:
ARM 24.121.1105 TEACHER‐TRAINING CURRICULUM AND TEACHING METHODOLOGY
(1) Remains the same.
(2)The Teaching Methodology Coursework shall consist of 135 hours and includes the following:
(a) Teaching methods 6 credits or 90 hours
(i) task analysis,
(ii) developing instructional objectives,
(iii) visual aids and their construction,
(iv) motivational tools,
(v) preparation of instructive materials,
(vi) lesson planning,
(vii) fundamentals of speech and public speaking,
(viii) methods of test construction,
(ix) methods of evaluation or grading, and
(x) curriculum planning and development;
(b) Educational psychology 3 credits or 45 hours.
(c) Coursework may be completed through:
(i) the classes acceptable to the Board of Regents approved through the University System,
(ii) self‐study to be observed and documented by the administrator of the school employing the instructor, or
(iii) Class studies pre‐approved by the Board.
(d) Prior to renewal of the instructor license, documentation of completed coursework must be submitted to the Board for Board approval.
(3) Coursework completed prior to instructor licensure may be used to satisfy requirements of this section.
Please be aware that all proposed rules are subject to change until they are finally adopted by the board in a public meeting after a public hearing. If you would like to be on the boards interested party list to automatically receive board meeting agendas and rule notices please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org
FOR INFORMATION ON TATTOOING, BODY PIERCING AND EAR PIERCING WHICH IS NOT REGULATED BY THIS BOARD PLEASE GO TO www.fcss.mt.gov AND CLICK ON Tattooing, Cosmetic Tattooing, Body Piercing, Ear Piercing