Program Information

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

The Construction Blaster licensing program is moving to a new web address: ebiz.mt.gov/POL. The Professional Licensing Bureau will begin administrating license programs from the Building Codes Bureau beginning July 1, 2020. This change doesn’t impact you or your online services, you will now go to ebiz.mt.gov/POL to access your online account.

Watch your email and mail for more information on the transfer and specific direction and instructions about your account.

If you have any questions, concerns, or issues, please call our Customer Service team at (406) 444-6880 or email DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV. They are ready to help you and answer any questions.

 

Due to the evolving COVID-19 situation in Montana, all Montana Department of Labor & Industry offices are closed to the public to protect the health and safety of our clients and staff.  Our services are available through remote delivery.  We are available to assist customers through our online public portal at EBIZ.MT.GOV/POL (Professional and Occupational Licenses) and EBIZ.MT.GOV (for Permits). For other services, please contact us via email at DLIBSDWEBHELP@MT.GOV or by phone (406) 841-2300.

 

Welcome to the Montana Construction Blasters Program

The Construction Blasters Program makes every effort to include on this website all relevant information pertaining to the licensing and regulation of Construction Blasters in Montana.

Please choose from the program information topics to the left.

Contact Information

Board Office Contact:
Phone: (406) 444-6880
Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov

Events

There are no meetings scheduled at this time.
Information about upcoming meetings will be posted when available.

License Information

Please make a choice of the license types to the left
 
 


Construction Blaster

The following outlines general licensing information. For specific information on filing an application, you will need to obtain the application which includes a detailed listing of the requirements.

A. Fees:
$70 Application Fee
$40 Annual Renewal Fee

B. Experience Requirements: Applicants must have successfully complete 2 years of experience in construction blasting under the direct supervision of a licensed construction blaster. And because of that experience is familiar with the practical aspects of construction blasting, must be at least 18 years of age, not have a felony or misdemeanor convictions involving the use of explosives and must completed an approved training course.

C. Renewal Period: Annual Renewal
Regular Renewal dates:
November 1 - January
Late Renewals are assessed an additional $40 late fee

D. Licensure From Other State:

A license may be issued if the applicant has a current certificate, license or permit issued by another state or agency in the United States, if it is determined that the requirements are equivalent to those required in Montana.


Renew License

Renew License

Construction Blasters can renew online at ebiz.mt.gov/pol
Regular renewal window: Nov. 1 - Jan. 1
Late Renewals are charged a late fee which is 100% of the renewal fee.

 

Download List of Licensees

License Download System

This service allows you to purchase complete lists of individuals, businesses, and contractors licensed with the State of Montana through the Business Standards Division.

Options include:

  • Creating a customized list of licensees by selecting board type, license type, license status, county, etc.;
  • Submitting payment for your list using a credit/debit card or registered user account
  • Downloading your list immediately, and if necessary, retrieving your list within 24-hours of purchase

Lookup Licensed Individual

Licensee Lookup System

This site is a primary source for verification of license credentials.

The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division, presents Licensee Lookup information as a service to the public. The Division relies upon information provided by licensees to be true and correct, as required by statute. It is an act of unprofessional conduct for a licensee knowingly to provide erroneous information to the Division.

The Department of Labor and Industry makes no warranty or guarantee concerning the accuracy or reliability of the content of this website. Assessing the accuracy and reliability of information obtained from this website is solely the responsibility of the user. If you have questions regarding information found within this Licensee Lookup website, please contact the specific licensing board directly.

Please note that some disciplinary actions against licensees may not appear immediately on the website. Appeals, effective dates of orders and other administrative processes may delay posting on the website. Please contact the specific licensing board directly if you require discipline information that occurred prior to July 1, 1996.

Statute/Rule Information

All of the Statutes and Rules listed here are applicable to this program.

Statutes are laws passed by the Legislature. All changes in statutes must go through the legislative process and be passed into law before they become effective. Title 37, Chapter 1, Part 3 is the Uniform Regulatory Act passed by the Legislature in 1995. All professional and occupational licensing is covered in these statutes.

Administrative Rules pertaining to Construction Blasters Licensure are written and adopted by the Construction Blasters Program. The Program writes rules in order to administer the laws over which the Legislature has given the Program authority. Rules can be changed by going through the rule-making procedure. They do not go through the Legislative process. The Construction Blasters Program continuously reviews rules to determine needed changes.

The Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) at this site contain what should be the same text as the official version published by the Office of the Secretary of State. There is a possibility, however, that the content may vary from the official version. In addition, the format has been changed for viewing on this web site. A copy of the official ARM in official format can be obtained from the ARM Bureau of the Office of the Secretary of State, by calling (406) 444-2055. A web version of the ARM published by the Secretary of State can be viewed at Secretary of State's Administrative Rules of Montana.

Administrative Rules

Rules Notices

Click here to find rules notices older than one year at the Montana Secretary of State website.


MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-131-1

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.131.402, 24.131.405, 24.131.410, and 24.131.501 pertaining to fees, training programs, variances, and requirements for construction blaster licensing

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT
(published January 15, 2021)


MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-101-309

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.101.402 definitions and the adoption of New Rule I applicants with criminal convictions

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND ADOPTION
(published October 9, 2020)

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT AND ADOPTION
(effective November 21,2020)


MONTANA ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER (MAR) 24-101-308

In the matter of the amendment of ARM 24.101.417 registration for out-of-state volunteer professionals

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED AMENDMENT
(published May 29, 2020)

NOTICE OF AMENDMENT
(effective July 25, 2020)


 


 

Statutes




  

Forms

General Forms
Renewal Forms
Continuing Education Forms

Complaint Information

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry and Professional and Occupational Licensing Boards are charged with taking appropriate action for unprofessional, incompetent, or unlawful practice. To learn more about the complaint process or to file a complaint, please visit our Complaint Information page.

How to File a Complaint

Support Chat