
Guide 
Application Rev. 
Sept. 2024 

Page 1 of 8 

 

 

 
MONTANA BOARD OF OUTFITTERS 
301 S.Park Ave, 4th Floor, PO Box 200513 

Helena, Montana 59620-0513 
Phone: (406) 444-6880 

Email: dlibsdout@mt.gov 
Website: http://www.outfitter.mt.gov 

 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Guide Application 

• A guide is a person who is employed by or who has contracted independently with a licensed 
outfitter and who accompanies a participant in the pursuit of fish or game. A person may not act 
as a Guide or otherwise represent to the public that they are a guide without first securing a 
license to practice guiding in Montana. 

• First-time applicants must complete a board approved First Aid course. Board approved 
online First Aid certification will be accepted for initial applicants. 

• Complete and routine applications will be processed within 10 days. Non-routine (Non-routine is 
defined in ARM 24.101.402) applications must be considered by the Board during a regularly 
scheduled meeting and the process may take up to 120 days. The applicant will be notified if 
additional information is required or if the application is going to be considered non-routine. 
Applicants may be required to appear before the Board for an interview. 

• Guides who utilize any type of watercraft while providing services shall display Board issued 
watercraft identification stickers. The watercraft identification must display the guide’s license 
number for identification purposes.  

• The applicant will be notified in writing of any deficient or missing items from the application file. 
• Applicants and licensees shall keep the Board office informed at all times of any address 

changes, changes in license status and complaints or proposed disciplinary action. 
• Your guide license must be in your possession at all times while providing services. [See ARM 

24.171.2301(2)(i)] 
• Guide licenses expire on December 31 of each license year but may be renewed. [See ARM 

24.101.413] 
• Applicants should review the Board’s laws and rules regarding the practice of guiding in Montana. 

These laws and rules can be found on the Board’s website at www.outfitter.mt.gov. 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND QUALIFICATIONS 
• Must be 18 years of age or older. 
• Must be physically capable and mentally competent to perform the duties of a guide. 
• Must be endorsed and recommended by an Outfitter with a valid current Montana license. 
• Must have a valid current wildlife conservation license. 
• Must have current First Aid Certification from the board approved list. 
• Must be currently licensed in another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent licensing 

requirements as Montana or have successfully completed a school approved by the board that 
trains persons to be a guide or professional guide; otherwise, an Endorsing Outfitter Affidavit is 
required. 

• Must have knowledge of hunting and fishing techniques to provide the particular services 
contracted to the client by the endorsing outfitter. 

• Must have knowledge of equipment and terrain and hazards to competently provide a safe 
experience for those persons guided. 

 
FEES: Guide Application Fee: $125 

(All fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable. Please make check or money order payable to 
the Montana Board of Outfitters) 

mailto:dlibsdout@mt.gov
http://www.outfitter.mt.gov/
http://www.outfitter.mt.gov/
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APPLICATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 

•  Applicants should complete the application in its entirety and attach to it all supporting documents 
and a check or money in the appropriate amount for all fees required. Supporting documents are 
identified below and any document that is not in English must be accompanied by certified 
translations. 

• Submit current copy of the First Aid Certification (front and back). 
• Submit proof of age, such as, copy of birth certificate, driver’s license or passport. 
• Submit copy of valid Montana FWP issued wildlife conservation license. 
• Submit, if applicable, a copy of successful completion of Guide School. 
•  Submit copies of legal documents/detailed explanation and supporting documentation from the 

source explaining a “yes” response to questions 10 to 20 on this application. Failure to submit 
documentation will delay the processing of the application. 

•  Applicant must request license verifications from all states (including Montana) if they hold or have 
ever held any professional or occupation license. Attachment A should be used for requesting this 
verification. Contact each state to see if a fee is charged for the verification. The license 
verification should then be sent directly to the Montana Board of Outfitters. Make copies of the 
attached verification form (Attachment A) as needed. Professional and occupational licenses 
include, but are not limited to: guide, outfitter, private investigator, security guard, nurse, EMT, 
massage therapist, dental hygienist, medical assistant, electrician, plumber, architect, engineer, 
cosmetologist, barber, attorney, real estate sales person, card dealer, timeshare broker, teacher, 
taxidermist license, etc. 
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MONTANA BOARD OF OUTFITTERS 
301 S. Park Ave, 4th Floor, PO Box 200513 

Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: (406)444-6880 

Email: dlibsdout@mt.gov 
Website: http://www.outfitter.mt.gov 

 
 

Guide Application Fee - $125.00 
Complete routine applications will be processed within 10 days. 

 
1. FULL NAME:   

Last First Middle 

2. HOME ADDRESS   
Street or PO Box # City and State Zip 

 
3. PREFERRED METHOD OF CONTACT  Postal Mail  E-Mail E-MAIL ADDRESS  

4. TELEPHONE ( )   ( )   
Home Fax 

 
5. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER   ALS/CONSERVATION LIC #   

(Attach copy of Conservation License) 

6. DATE OF BIRTH   
(Attach copy of Driver’s License, Passport, or Birth Certificate)  MALE FEMALE 

 
ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS: 

 
7. I request the required watercraft ID Sticker.  Yes   No 

 
8. I have a current First Aid Certification. Yes No Expiration Date   

(Attach a copy (front and back) of your current First Aid Card) 

 
9. PROFESSIONAL/OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES: 
List all professional/occupational licenses you hold or ever have held. License verification must be sent 
directly to Montana from each state/province/territory. Examples: Teacher, Barber, EMT, Taxidermist, 
Nurse, Realtor, Doctor, massage therapist, timeshare broker, or any profession or occupation requiring a 
license. 

List 
State 

 
License # 

 
License Type 

 
Issue Date Expiration 

Date 
Requested 
State Verification 

     
 Yes No 

     
 Yes No 

     
 Yes No 

     Yes No 

mailto:dlibsdout@mt.gov
http://www.outfitter.mt.gov/


 

 

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS AND NOTICE 

 
• Please read the following questions carefully. Giving an incomplete or false answer is 
unprofessional conduct and may result in denial of your application or revocation of your 
license. See, 37-1-105, MCA. 
• You have a continuing duty to update the information you provide in your application and 
supplemental responses, including while your application is pending and after you are granted 
a license. 
• Upon submittal of your application form, for every “yes” answer provided, you will receive a 
request for specific information or documents associated with the question. Your application is 
not complete until staff receive all information requested. 



 

 

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
 

1. Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration, or other privilege to serve as a volunteer or 
practice a profession denied, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a public or private local, state, 
federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority? 

 
2.  Have you ever surrendered a credential like those listed in number 1, in connection with or to avoid 

action by a public or private local, state, federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority? 
 

3. Have you ever resigned to avoid discipline, been suspended, or been terminated from a volunteer 
or employment position? 

 
4. Have you ever been required to participate in a behavioral modification or assistance program in 

lieu of suspension or termination from a volunteer or employment position? 

5. Have you ever withdrawn an application for any professional license? 

6. As of the date of this application, are you aware of any pending complaint, investigation, or 
disciplinary action related to any professional license you hold? 

 
7. Are you under a current order that remains unsatisfied (e.g., fines unpaid, probation not concluded, 

conditions unmet?) 
 

"Chemical substances" include alcohol, drugs, or medications, whether taken legally or illegally. 
 

8. Do you have any medical, physiological, mental, or psychological condition which in any way 
currently (within the last 6 months) impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession or 
occupation with reasonable skill and safety? 

 
9. Do you currently (within the last 6 months) use one or more chemical substances in any way which 

impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession or occupation with reasonable skill and 
safety? 

 
A criminal conviction may not automatically bar you from receiving a license. For more information about 
how a criminal conviction may impact your application, consult the board or program website. 

 
10. Have you ever been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a similar plea, or had 

prosecution or sentence deferred or suspended as an adult or “juvenile convicted as an adult” in 
any state, federal, tribal, or foreign jurisdiction? 

 
 

 Yes  No 
 
 

Yes   No 

 
Yes  No 

 
Yes   No 

Yes  No 

Yes  No 

 
 Yes  No 

 
 
 

 Yes  No 

 
Yes   No 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Yes No 

11. Are you now subject to criminal prosecution or pending criminal charges? 
Yes  No 

 

12. Have you ever been disciplined, censured, expelled, denied membership or asked to resign from a 
professional society or organization? 

 
13. Have you ever had a civil judgment entered against you in a lawsuit for incompetence, negligence, 

or malpractice in practicing any profession? 
 

14. Have you ever been disqualified from working with children, elderly persons, mentally ill persons, or 
other vulnerable persons? 

 Yes  No 

 Yes  No 

 
Yes No 



Guide 
Application Rev. 
Sept. 2024 

Page 6 of 8 

 

 

Certification 
I attest I have completed a state licensed Board approved guide school and have 
attached a copy of my school certification with my application. 

License from another jurisdiction 
Currently hold an active license as a guide from another jurisdiction with 
substantially equivalent licensing requirements to Montana. Subject to verification. 

 
10. QUALIFICATIONS: Applicant must have an active license from another jurisdiction with substantially 
equivalent license requirements as Montana or have successfully completed a guide school approved by 
the Board, and that trains persons to be a guide. Please ATTACH your guide school certificate of 
completion if applicable. 

  

 
CHECK (√) APPLICABLE TYPE OF QUALIFICATIONS [Pursuant to ARM 24.171.601(1)(a)] 

 

 

 

If applicant does not have a License or Certification as described above, an Endorsing Outfitter 
Affidavit (page 7) IS REQUIRED. 

 

 
AFFIDAVIT 

I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record, character, license history 
and competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of 
Outfitters. 

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and 
complete to the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or 
evasive answer to any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure 
on ethical grounds. I have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of 
Montana governing the profession. I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice. 

 
Legal Signature of Applicant Date 

 
 
 
 

APPLICANT RELEASE OF INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION 

I give permission to the Board of Outfitters to release information regarding my guide application to my 
endorsing outfitter. (If you choose not to sign the release, be aware that the Board office cannot release 
any information regarding your application to the endorsing outfitter). 

 
 

Legal Signature of Applicant Date 

https://rules.mt.gov/browse/collections/aec52c46-128e-4279-9068-8af5d5432d74/policies/5f91f848-a908-4c83-a423-b437fd200fba
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ENDORSING OUTFITTER AFFIDAVIT 

 
Name of Endorsing Outfitter License # 

 
Phone # ( )  --  Fax # ( )  --  

CHECK ONE: 
The Applicant is in fact to be employed by me or retained as an independent contractor in 
accordance with 37-47-101, MCA. I confirm that I have inquired and, to my knowledge, the 
applicant meets all the qualifications of a guide in accordance with ARM 24.171.601. 

 
 
 

Legal Signature of Endorsing Outfitter Date 
 
 
 

Please make sure that the following documents are attached to this application 
prior to submitting it to the Board of Outfitters. 

 Proof of age (i.e. copy of driver’s license, birth certificate or passport) 

 Copy of valid Montana FWP issued Conservation License 

 Copies of documents explaining a “yes” response to questions 10 to 20 on this application 

 Guide school certification (if applicable) 

Copy of current Board approved First Aid Card (front and back). Note: First time applicants 
may take a Board Approved Hands-On or online First Aid Course. 

Attach check or money in the appropriate amount and make it payable to Montana Board of 
Outfitters 
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE (Attachment A) 

THIS IS NOT AN ENDORSEMENT CERTIFICATION 

PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION OF THE FORM AND MAIL TO EACH STATE BOARD IN WHICH YOU ARE 
NOW OR HAVE EVER BEEN LICENSED. YOU MAY COPY THIS FORM AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED. SOME 
BOARDS REQUIRE A FEE FOR THIS SERVICE. 

STATE BOARD of OUTFITTERS 
 

I am applying for a license to practice guiding in the State of Montana. The Board of Outfitters requires 
this form to be completed by each state wherein I hold or ever have held a professional/occupational 
license. This is your authority to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise, DIRECTLY 
to the BOARD OF OUTFITTERS, P. O. BOX 200513, 301 SOUTH PARK AVENUE, HELENA, MT 
59620-0513. Your early response is appreciated. 

 
  Name:   
(Signature)  (Please print) 

 
Address:  

 
 

My License Number is:  

DO NOT DETACH -- THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF THE STATE BOARD AND 
RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE MONTANA STATE BOARD OF   

 
State of:   

Full Name of Licensee:   
 

License No.   Issue Date:   

License is current?  If No, explain  
 

Has license been suspended, revoked, placed on probation or otherwise disciplined?  

If yes, explain and attach documentation  
 

Has licensee ever been requested to appear before your Board?   

If yes, explain   

Derogatory information, if any  

Comments, if any   

 
Signed:   

BOARD SEAL Title:    
State Board:  Date:  


	MONTANA BOARD OF OUTFITTERS
	GENERAL INFORMATION
	Guide Application
	 First-time applicants must complete a board approved First Aid course. Board approved online First Aid certification will be accepted for initial applicants.
	 Applicants and licensees shall keep the Board office informed at all times of any address changes, changes in license status and complaints or proposed disciplinary action.

	LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND QUALIFICATIONS
	FEES: Guide Application Fee: $125

	MONTANA BOARD OF OUTFITTERS
	301 S. Park Ave, 4th Floor, PO Box 200513 Helena, MT 59620-0513
	Guide Application Fee - $125.00
	1. FULL NAME:
	2. HOME ADDRESS
	4. TELEPHONE ( )   ( )
	5. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER   ALS/CONSERVATION LIC #
	6. DATE OF BIRTH


	ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS:
	9. PROFESSIONAL/OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES:
	PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS AND NOTICE
	AFFIDAVIT
	APPLICANT RELEASE OF INFORMATION AUTHORIZATION
	ENDORSING OUTFITTER AFFIDAVIT
	CHECK ONE:

	Please make sure that the following documents are attached to this application prior to submitting it to the Board of Outfitters.
	VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE (Attachment A)
	PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION OF THE FORM AND MAIL TO EACH STATE BOARD IN WHICH YOU ARE NOW OR HAVE EVER BEEN LICENSED. YOU MAY COPY THIS FORM AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED. SOME BOARDS REQUIRE A FEE FOR THIS SERVICE.
	DO NOT DETACH -- THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF THE STATE BOARD AND RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE MONTANA STATE BOARD OF



