
MONTANA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
PO BOX 200513 

301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 

Licensing Phone: 406-444-6880 
Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov    Website: www.vet.mt.gov 

VETERINARIAN LICENSE APPLICATION 

I am applying for licensure: 

by examination (i.e. exam taken within the last 62 months/not licensed in another jurisdiction) – $200 
or 

as an out-of-state applicant (i.e. currently licensed in another jurisdiction) – $200 

1. FULL NAME:
First Middle Last 

2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY:

3. MAILING ADDRESS:

4. EMAIL ADDRESS:

5. TELEPHONE:
Business Home Cell 

6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: FOREIGN ID NUMBER:  

7. DATE OF BIRTH: 8. GENDER:  FEMALE MALE 

9. North American Veterinary Licensing Exam (NAVLE)/National Board Examination (NBE)/Clinical
Competency Test (CCT) Information

Name of Exam Date of Exam State Candidate ID # 
NAVLE 
NBE 
CCT 

10. List academic degrees received, including certificates equivalent to degrees. List the most recent degree
first.

Name of University or 
College 

City and 
State/Province/Territory Dates Attended Degree Earned 
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11. *This question is for foreign veterinary school graduates only.*  
 Indicate the type of proof of fluency in English. 
  Graduate of U.S. or Canadian English language high school 
 
  Completion of Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) and Test of Spoken English (TSE). 
 
  Other (specify)   
 
12. *This question is for foreign veterinary school graduates only.* 
 If applicable, did you complete the requirements of the American Veterinary Medical Association's (AVMA) 

Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECVFG); or the American Association of 
Veterinary Medical State Boards (AAVMA) Program for Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence 
(PAVE)?  Verification of completion must be sent directly to Montana from the appropriate organization. 

 
Name of Program Date of Completion Requested Verification 
ECVFG        Yes         No 
PAVE        Yes         No 

 
13. List all professional licenses or certification you hold or ever have held. Verification must be sent directly to 

Montana from each state or jurisdiction. 
 

State Other Jurisdiction License Type License Number Requested State 
Verification 

          Yes         No 
          Yes         No 
          Yes         No 
          Yes         No 
          Yes         No 

 
 
DECLARATION  
I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training record, character, license history and 
competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of Veterinary 
Medicine. I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and 
complete to the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive 
answer to any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical 
grounds.  
 
I have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the 
profession. I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice.  
 
    
Legal Signature of Applicant  Date 
 

Page 2 Veterinarian Application Updated 1/3/20



BSD 3.1 -  Personal History Questions  Page 1 of 3 
Rev. 12-20-2019; Eff. 01-06-2020 

 

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS 
IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS AND NOTICE 

 
1. Please read the following questions carefully.  Giving an incomplete or false 

answer is unprofessional conduct and may result in denial of your application or 
revocation of your license. See, 37-1-105, MCA.   

2. You have a continuing duty to update the information you provide in your 
application and supplemental responses, including while your application is 
pending and after you are granted a license.   

3. Upon submittal of your application form, for every “yes” answer provided, you will 
receive a request for specific information or documents associated with the 
question.  Your application is not complete until staff receive all information 
requested.   
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PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS  

  
1. Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration, or other 

privilege to serve as a volunteer or practice a profession denied, 
revoked, suspended, or restricted by a public or private local, state, 
federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority? 

 

Yes  No 

2. Have you ever surrendered a credential like those listed in number 1, in 
connection with or to avoid action by a public or private local, state, 
federal, tribal, religious, or foreign authority? 

 

Yes  No 

3. Have you ever resigned to avoid discipline, been suspended, or been 
terminated from a volunteer or employment position? 

 

Yes  No 

4. Have you ever been required to participate in a behavioral modification 
or assistance program in lieu of suspension or termination from a 
volunteer or employment position?  

 

Yes  No 

5. Have you ever withdrawn an application for any professional license? 
 

Yes  No 

6. As of the date of this application, are you aware of any pending 
complaint, investigation, or disciplinary action related to any 
professional license you hold?  

 

Yes  No 

7. Are you under a current order that remains unsatisfied (e.g., fines 
unpaid, probation not concluded, conditions unmet?) 

 

Yes  No 

8. Do you have any medical, physiological, mental, or psychological 
condition which in any way currently (within the last 6 months) impairs 
or limits your ability to practice your profession or occupation with 
reasonable skill and safety? 

 

Yes  No 

9. Do you currently (within the last 6 months) use one or more chemical 
substances in any way which impairs or limits your ability to practice 
your profession or occupation with reasonable skill and safety?  

 

Yes  No 

The following information is provided for Question 10 below:    
 
A criminal conviction may not automatically bar you from receiving a 
license.  For more information about how a criminal conviction may impact 
your application, consult the board or program website. 
 
10. Have you ever been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a 

similar plea, or had prosecution or sentence deferred or suspended as 
an adult or “juvenile convicted as an adult” in any state, federal, tribal, 
or foreign jurisdiction?  

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Yes 

  
 
 
 
 
 
No 
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11. Are you now subject to criminal prosecution or pending criminal 
charges?  

 

Yes  No 

12. Have you ever been disciplined, censured, expelled, denied 
membership or asked to resign from a professional society or 
organization? 

 

Yes  No 

13. Have you ever had a civil judgment entered against you in a lawsuit for 
incompetence, negligence, or malpractice in practicing any profession?  

 

Yes  No 

14. Have you ever been disqualified from working with children, elderly 
persons, mentally ill persons, or other vulnerable persons?   

 

Yes  No 

15. Have you ever been placed on probation, restricted, reprimanded, 
suspended, revoked, resigned in lieu of action against you, or had other 
action taken against you by any hospital, clinic, health care facility, 
group medical practice, health maintenance organization, or third-party 
insurance provider, including Medicare and Medicaid?  

 

Yes  No 

16. Are you currently on an exclusion list by the Office of Inspector General 
(OIG) for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
prohibiting you from working in a facility receiving federal funding? 

 

Yes  No 

17. Has your authority to prescribe, dispense, or administer drugs, 
including controlled substances, ever been denied, restricted, 
suspended, or revoked?  

 

Yes  No 

18. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or had your U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Administration registration placed on probation, restricted, 
suspended, or revoked?   

Yes  No 
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MONTANA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
PO BOX 200513 

(301 S PARK, 4th FLOOR - Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0512 

(406) 444-6880 FAX (406) 841-2305
EMAIL: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov WEBSITE: www.vet.mt.gov 

MONTANA VETERINARY MEDICINE JURISPRUDENCE 
EXAMINATION 

PLEASE PRINT YOUR NAME AS IT SHOULD APPEAR ON THE LICENSE IF GRANTED: 

NAME DATE 

Address 

City  State  Zip Code 

Daytime Phone Evening Phone 

Email Address   

1. This is an open book exam.

2. Access the statutes and administrative rules governing veterinary medicine which can found
on our website www.vet.mt.gov. Go to the "Regulations" tab and select "Administrative
Rules", "Statutes", and "Rule Notices". Rules that have recently take effect can be found under
"Rule Notices" and may not yet be updated on the official Secretary of State's rule website.

3. A passing score of 90% is required for licensure. Each question is worth 2 points.

4. This examination may be submitted with your application.

By submitting and signing this form I verify that I am the person that has completed this examination. 

Signature 
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VETERINARY MEDICINE JURISPRUDENCE TEST QUESTIONS 
Answer each question by indicating the correct answer in the box. 
 

1. The Board of Veterinary Medicine consists of: 

a) six members appointed by the Governor. 
 

b) six members appointed by the Montana Veterinary Medical Association. 

six members appointed by the Montana House of Representatives from a 
list supplied by the Montana Senate. 

d) six members appointed by the Attorney General. 

2. All applicants for licensure or renewal are required to report any legal or disciplinary 
actions instituted against them which relate to the applicant's practice or their 
fitness to practice veterinary medicine. Failure to furnish the required information 
or the filing of false information is grounds for: 

 
a) denial of a license or disciplinary action. 

 
b) expulsion from the Montana Veterinary Medicine Association. 

 
c) an immediate press release concerning the facts. 

 
 

3. Those who may submit lists of nominees to the Governor for appointment to the 
Board of Veterinary Medicine include: 

 
a) private associations. 

 
b) members of the public. 

 
c) both of the above. 

 
 

4. The denial of a license or the issuance of a probationary license to practice veterinary 
medicine must be conducted: 

 
a) by a secret ballot of the Board. 

 
b) only during the Legislative Session. 

 
c) as a contested case hearing under the provisions of the Montana 

Administrative Procedures Act. 
 

5. A person is considered practicing veterinary medicine when he/she does the following: 
a) represents him/herself to the public as a veterinarian or is 

engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine in any of its 
branches, either directly or indirectly. 

 
b) performs manual or laboratory procedure on livestock for the diagnosis 

of pregnancy, sterility or infertility for remuneration or hire. 
 

c) performs acupuncture or dentistry on animals. 
 

d) a, b, & c. 
 

e) None of the above 

c) 
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6. If a veterinarian license applicant fails the jurisprudence exam: 
 

a) the applicant must pay a penalty fee of $50 to the Board. 
 

b) the applicant may retake the exam at any time 
 

c) the applicant's application is deemed withdrawn. 
 

d) The applicant may retake the exam in one year. 

 
7. Which of the following are considered unprofessional conduct: 

 
a) fraud or deception in procuring the license. 

b) failing to cooperate with an investigation authorized by the Board.  

c) practice beyond the scope of practice encompassed by the license 
except when reasonably undertaken in an emergency situation to 
protect life, health or property. 

d) all of the above. 
 
 

8. The Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses embryo transfer technicians and non-surgical 
euthanasia technicians: 

a) True 
 

b) False 
 

9. The Board may impose each of the following sanctions EXCEPT: 
 

a) citation for contempt of court. 
 

b) limitation or restriction of the practice. 
 

c) requirement of surrender of license within 24 hours after revocation or 
suspension. 

d) payment of a fine not to exceed $1,000 for each violation. 
 

10. Online continuing education courses are: 

a) allowed for up to 10 hours which are obtained during the 24-month renewal period. 
 

b) allowed for up to 20 hours which are obtained during the 24-month renewal period. 
 

c) unrestricted in any way. 
 

d) not allowed. 
 

11. Veterinarian licensees can request a hardship exemption from 
continuing education requirements due to certified illness or undue 
hardship.  

a) True 
 

b) False 

 
12. Out of the required number of continuing education hours, practice 

management hours: 

a) Are not to exceed 25% of the total required continuing education hours. 
 

b) require full documentation before acceptance. 

c) are not restricted in any way. 
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13. Veterinarians must dispose of infectious wastes as defined in 75-10-

1003, MCA, in accordance with: 
 

a) ARM 24.225.301  
 

b) ARM 24.225.520 

c) Montana Veterinary Medical Association recommendations 
 

14. A veterinarian not licensed in Montana is exempt from licensure and 
qualifies for an occasional case exemption if the veterinarian: 

is actively licensed and in good stand in another state or jurisdiction. 

b) practices no more than three days in any calendar year. 

c) is supervised by a Montana-licensed veterinarian 

d) all of the above. 
 

15. Which of the following is true: 

a) certified euthanasia agencies are inspected by the board with regard 
to controlled substance storage, inventory, administrative procedures, 
and recordkeeping. 

b) sodium pentobarbital is the only Board-approve euthanasia drug 
approved for use by certified euthanasia technicians. 
ace-promazine and xylazine are the only Board-approved euthanasia 
restraint drugs for use by certified euthanasia technicians. 

d) all of the above are true. 

16. Which of the following is one condition that must exist in a valid 
veterinarian-client-patient relationship? 

a) the veterinarian knows the client personally but has not personally 
examined the animal in question. 

b) the client has not agreed to follow the veterinarian's instructions. 

c) a new client asks the veterinarian to diagnose a livestock herd problem but the 
veterinarian has not been to the premises where the animals are kept. 

 
d) the veterinarian is available for follow up when the treatment regimen 

doesn't produce the desired results. 
 

17. Applicants must achieve a grade of on the jurisprudence 
examination to pass: 

a) 80%. 
b) 90%. 
c) 65%. 

 

18. Continuing education requirements do not apply until a veterinarian licensee's 
first full year of licensure. 

a) True 

b) False 
 

19. Support personnel may render emergency care to a patient without 
direct authorization: 

a) never. 

b) only after reasonable attempts to contact the employing veterinarian or another 
veterinarian who could manage the case within allowable time constraints. 

c) when it would appear that to delay treatment and care for the time necessary to send 
the animal to another practitioner would be life threatening. 

d) b and c.  

a) 

c)
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20. The annual renewal fee for a veterinarian license is: 
a) $145 
b) $75 
c) $100 

21. Which of the following is NOT a function of the Board: 
a) certifying embryo transfer technicians, euthanasia agencies, and euthanasia 

technicians. 

b) protection of the consumer. 

c) ensuring employment for veterinarians. 
 

d) hearing unprofessional conduct complaints. 
 

22. Veterinarian licenses must be renewed: 
a) annually, by November 1. 

b) annually, by January 1. 

c) every other year, by November 1. 

d) annually, on your birthday.  

23. Medical records shall be maintained for a minimum of: 
a) 2 years. 

b) 3 years. 

c) 4 years. 

d) 5 years. 
 

24. A person can treat farm animals he/she owns even if that person 
is NOT licensed as a veterinarian. 

a) True 

b) False 
 

25. Which of the following is considered unprofessional conduct: 
offering, giving, or promising anything of value to a federal or state 

a) government employee for the purpose of influencing the official to 
circumvent a regulation governing the licensee's profession. 

b) misleading, deceptive, false, or fraudulent advertising. 
 

c) dispensing or prescribing a veterinary prescription drug without a valid 
veterinarian-client-patient relationship. 

d) all of the above. 
 

26. The Board shall report the issuance of a disciplinary notice and final 
order via: 

a) publication in a newspaper. 

b) a television advertisement. 

c) "licensee lookup", available on the board's website. 
 

27. Veterinary technicians are licensed in Montana: 
a) True 

b) False
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28. Which of the following is true with regard to the Board of
Veterinary Medicine:

a) each term is five years.

b) veterinarian members must have practiced veterinary medicine either
privately or in public service in Montana for at least five years
immediately before

c) the board consists of five veterinarians and one public
member

d) all of the above are true.

29. You live out-of-state and fail to renew your license for a three-year period,
but you have all the continuing education requirements. Which of the
following is the most accurate statement regarding the situation:

a) a letter to the Board explaining the circumstances is required.

b) the normal renewal process with the late fee applies.

c) a new license must be obtained.

30. The Board is responsible for selecting quality continuing
education programs for individual licensees.

a) True

b) False

31. The Board of Veterinary Medicine licenses animal trainers.
a) True

b) False

32. A certified euthanasia technician may only administer sodium pentobarital and
telazole:

a) True

b) False

33. Which of the following are unprofessional conduct and grounds for disciplinary
action:

a) cruel or inhumane treatment of animals.

b) dispensing or prescribing a veterinary prescription drug or veterinary feed direction
drug without a valid veterinarian/client/patient relationship.

c) possession, use, addition to, prescription for use, diversion, or
distribution of controlled substances or legend drugs in any way
other than for legitimate or therapeutic purposes or violation of
any drug law.

d) all of the above.

34. All continuing education taken by a veterinarian licensee
must be documented and maintained by the licensee for
one year following the renewal cycle.

a) True

b) False
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35. Which of the following is true:
a) it is not necessary to keep records for a herd/flock.

b) patient medical records must be handwritten.

c) a veterinarian must be able to substantiate the medical care provided
for an animal group.

d) a record shall be maintained for 2 years after the death of an animal.

36. When a complaint is filed against a licensed veterinarian, to verify standards
of sanitation and cleanliness the Board may inspect for ALL of the following
at that veterinarian's premises: odor, insect control, interior décor, and
waste disposal.

a) True

b) False

37. Which of the following require a license to practice veterinary medicine:
a) veterinarians from other states, or a foreign country whose practice in

this state is limited to an occasional case as defined in Board rule.

b) veterinarians in the Armed Forces engaging in private practice.

c) veterinary research workers engaged under the employment of Montana
State University.

38. Support personnel can administer anesthesia when a veterinarian is not physically
present.

a) True

b) False

39. Licensed embryo transfer technicians can only possess and administer
drugs which fall under the following categories: local anesthetics;
antibiotics used in reproductive work; and synchronizing and
stimulating hormones used in reproductive work.

a) True

b) False

40. The Board does NOT have the authority to impose a sanction
upon finding of unprofessional conduct by a licensee.

a) True

b) False

41. Licensees may not apply continuing education hours used to
complete delinquent CE requirements for the next education
reporting period.

a) True

b) False

42. The Board of Veterinary Medicine may issue an order providing for
which of the following sanctions:

a) monitoring of the practice by a supervisor approved by the disciplining
authority.

b) refund of costs and fees billed to and collected from a consumer.

c) censure or reprimand, either public or private.

d) all of the above.
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43. A license may be administratively suspended if during an
audit of continuing education, the licensee is found to be
noncompliant with the continuing education requirements.

a) True

b) False

44. The Screening Panel of the Board of Veterinary Medicine is comprised
of the Board members who determine whether there is reasonable
cause to believe that a licensee has violated a statute or rule justifying
disciplinary proceedings. The final decision (judgement) on the case
must be made by:

a) the governor.

b) a majority of the Board members who did not serve on the Screening
Panel for the case.

c) three private attorneys chosen by the Montana Veterinary Medical
Association.

d) a ballot of all licensees.

45. The Board of Veterinary Medicine must meet:
a) once a year.

b) at least twice a year.

c) when there are more than six applicants for exam.

d) at the discretion of the president.

46. Third year veterinary students may be employed under which of the
following circumstances:

a) if employed as assistant to a licensed veterinarian.

b) after being issued a permit.

c) third year students are automatically allowed to practice unrestricted
until graduation.

47. An unlicensed employee of your clinic does unauthorized surgery while
you are on call away from the clinic. The animal dies as the result of the
surgery. How does the Montana Veterinary Practice Act address this
situation:

a) recommends you fire the employee.

b) requires the employee to appear before the Board.

c) the animal owner has no recourse since the surgery was done by an
unlicensed person.

d) as a licensed veterinarian you could be charged with a violation for
failing to adequately supervise an employee.

48. Support personnel may not perform the following:
a) initiate treatment for a patient.

fill a prescription for an animal that has not been examined by the
veterinarian.

c) render emergency care to a patient without direct authorization, before
reasonable efforts have been made to contact the employing veterinarian.

d) examine an animal and make a preliminary diagnosis for a client.

e) all of the above

b) 
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49. Which of the following is considered to be part of the medical record?
a) radiographs.

b) medications given.

c) consent forms.

d) examination results.

e) diagnostic tests.

f) all of the above.

50. The definition of a veterinary prescription drug is:
a) a drug restricted by federal law to use by or on the order of a licensed

veterinarian.
b) a drug restricted by law to use by or on the order of an accredited

veterinarian.

c) a drug restricted by state law to use by or on the order of a licensed
veterinarian.
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