
MONTANA BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 
PO BOX 200513 

301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR 
Helena, MT 59620-0512 

Licensing Phone: 406-444-5711 
Email: UnitB@mt.gov     Website: www.slpaud.mt.gov   

AUDIOLOGIST LICENSE APPLICATION 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
 Applicants who are not currently licensed out-of-state must meet the requirements in ARM 24.222.502.
 Applicants who are currently licensed out-of-state must meet the requirements in ARM 24.222.506.

APPLY FOR LICENSURE 
*Applicants NOT Currently Licensed Out-of-State*
The following must accompany an application for licensure:
 $350 application fee;
 certified transcript sent directly to the board office from the school verifying graduation with a minimum

with a doctorate in audiology;
 license verification from states in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of

any type.  License verifications must requested by the applicant and sent directly to the board office
from each state or jurisdiction.

The applicant must pass the following examinations: 
 national PRAXIS exam. Proof of passage must be reported directly to the board office from the testing

agency; and
 open book Montana Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology jurisprudence examination

included with this application (passing score is 95% or higher).

*Applicants CURRENTLY Licensed Out-of-State*
The following must accompany an application for licensure:
 $350 application fee;
 proof of a current certificate of clinical competence from the American of Speech-Language Hearing

Associate (ASHA); or the following:
1. certified transcript sent directly to the board office from the school verifying graduation from an

audiology program. Note: per ARM 24.222.506, if the applicant has a current license in another
state or jurisdiction which was issued prior to January 1, 2007, a doctorate is not necessary;

2. proof passage of the national PRAXIS exam. Proof of passage must be reported directly to the
board office from the testing agency;

 license verification from states in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of
any type.  License verifications must requested by the applicant and sent directly to the board office
from each state or jurisdiction; and

 copies of the current laws and regulations pertaining to the licensure and practice of audiology for the
state in which the applicant is currently licensed.  The board must determine whether those laws are
substantially equivalent to Montana laws and regulations.

The applicant must pass the following examination: 
 open book Montana Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology jurisprudence examination

included with this application (passing score is 95% or higher).

APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
 Illegible and incomplete applications will be returned.
 When the application file is complete, it will be processed. The applicant will be notified if additional

information is required or if the application will go to a board meeting as non-routine.  Non-routine
applications must be submitted and complete 15 days prior to a board meeting.

 All verifications of licensure must be sent directly from each state board in which the applicant is
currently or has ever been licensed.

 Keep the board office informed of any address changes, changes in license status and complaints or
proposed disciplinary action. This is essential for timely processing of applications and subsequent
licensure.

 Once a routine application is complete, the application takes up to two weeks to process.
 The applicant will be notified of any deficient or missing items from the application file.
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For information regarding the processing of this application or other concerns please contact board 
licensing staff at 406-444-5711 or email UnitB@mt.gov. 

Be aware of the Montana laws and rules for the practice of speech-language pathology and audiology 
which can be found at www.slpaud.mt.gov.    
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MONTANA BOARD OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 

PO BOX 200513 
301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR 
Helena, MT 59620-0512 

Licensing Phone: 406-444-5711 
Email: UnitB@mt.gov     Website: www.slpaud.mt.gov   

 
AUDIOLOGIST LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
I am applying for licensure: 
 
 by examination (i.e. not currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction ) – $350  

or 
 as an out-of-state applicant (i.e. currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction) – $350  
 
 
1. FULL NAME:   
  First Middle Last 
 
2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY:   
 
3. MAILING ADDRESS:   
 
4. EMAIL ADDRESS:   
 
5. TELEPHONE:       
  Business  Home  Cell  
 
6. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:   7. FOREIGN ID NUMBER:   
 
8. DATE OF BIRTH:  9. GENDER:  FEMALE MALE 
 
10. Date PRAXIS Exam Taken:    
 
11. Academic degrees received, including certificates equivalent to degrees. List the most recent degree first. 
 
Name of University or 
College 

City and 
State/Province/Territory Dates Attended Degree Earned 

    

    

    

    

    
 
12. Speech-language pathology supervised clinical practicum experience(s) and the date(s) of completion. 
This supervised clinical practicum experience must have occurred prior to graduation.  
 
Clinical Practicum 
Experience Program 

City and 
State/Province/Territory Dates Attended Practicum Completed 

         Yes         No 

         Yes         No 

         Yes         No 
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13. List speech language pathology supervised professional experience(s) and the date(s) of completion. This 
supervised professional experience occurs after graduation from a master's program. 
 
Supervised Professional 
Experience 

City and 
State/Province/Territory 

Beginning and End Date 
of Experience 

Supervised Professional 
Experience Completed 

         Yes         No 

         Yes         No 
 
14. Do you hold a current certificate of clinical competence from the American of Speech-Language Hearing 
Associate (ASHA)?   
 
  Yes No 
 
15. List all professional licenses or certifications you hold or have ever held. Verification must be sent directly 

to Montana from each state or jurisdiction. 
 

State Other Jurisdiction License Type License Number Requested State 
Verification 

          Yes         No 

          Yes         No 

          Yes         No 

          Yes         No 

          Yes         No 
 
Disciplinary Questions 
Please read carefully and answer questions completely and truthfully.  It may affect your licensure. 
 
1. Have you ever had an application for a professional or occupational license 

refused or denied?  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
supporting documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

2. Have you ever withdrawn an application for licensure prior to the licensing 
agency's decision regarding your application? If yes, please attach a 
detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

3. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination required 
for any professional or occupational license?  If yes, please attach a 
detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the 
source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

4. Have you ever withdrawn or been suspended, placed on probation, 
expelled or requested to resign from any postsecondary educational 
program?  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
supporting documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

5. Have you ever requested temporary or permanent leave of absence, been 
placed on probation, restricted, suspended, revoked, allowed to resign, or 
otherwise acted against by any professional or occupational education 
program (i.e., residency, internship, apprenticeship, etc)? If yes, please 
attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from 
the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

6. Has a licensing agency initiated or completed disciplinary action against any 
professional or occupational license you have held? If yes, please provide 
agency documents including the complaint, initiating documents, orders, final 
orders, stipulations and consent and/or settlement agreements directly from 
the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 
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7. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered, cancelled, forfeited, failed to renew a 
professional or occupational license in anticipation of or during an 
investigation or disciplinary proceeding or action?  If yes, please attach a 
detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

8. Is there a pending complaint against you with a professional or occupational 
licensing agency?  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
supporting documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

9. Have you ever been the subject of any sanction or action, denial, suspension, 
revocation, restriction or termination regarding hospital, facility or staff 
privileges; health maintenance organization participation, third party provider 
or Medicare/Medicaid participation; or any other privileges? If yes, please 
attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the 
source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

10. Have you ever been censured, expelled, denied membership or asked to 
resign from a professional organization related to your profession or 
occupation? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

11. Do you have any initiated or completed action against you by any state, 
federal, tribal, or foreign licensing jurisdiction? (For example:  Drug 
Enforcement Agency; Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms; Homeland Security; 
Indian Health Service, etc)  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and 
provide documentation from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

12 Have any civil legal proceedings been filed against you by a (patient 
/client), (former patient/client) or employer/employee? If yes, attach a detailed 
explanation and documentation from the source including initiating 
document(s) and documentation of final disposition. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

13. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime or do you 
have a pending criminal charge?  "Convicted" for the purposes of this 
question includes a conviction under appeal, guilty plea, no contest plea, 
and/or forfeiture of bond.  "A pending criminal charge" for the purpose of this 
question includes a deferred imposition of sentence and/or deferred 
prosecution.  If you answer yes, you must submit a detailed explanation of the 
events AND the charging documents and final judgments or orders of 
dismissal.  You must report but may omit documentation for: (1) misdemeanor 
traffic violations older than 10 years and that resulted in fines of less than 
$200; and (2) convictions prior to your 18th birthday unless you were tried as 
an adult. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

14. Have you ever been diagnosed with chemical dependency or another 
addiction, or have you participated in a chemical dependency or other 
addiction treatment program?  If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and 
provide documentation regarding evaluations, diagnosis, treatment 
recommendations and monitoring from the source. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

15. Have you been diagnosed within the past 5 years with a physical condition or 
mental health disorder involving potential health risk to the public?  If yes 
please provide a detailed explanation. 
 

  
Yes 

  
No 

16. Have you ever been court-martialled or discharged other than honorably from 
any branch of the armed service?  If yes, attach a detailed explanation and 
documentation from the source. 

  
Yes 

  
No 

 
DECLARATION  
I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training record, character, license history and 
competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of Veterinary 
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Medicine. I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and 
complete to the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive 
answer to any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical 
grounds.  
 
I have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the 
profession. I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice.  
 
    
Legal Signature of Applicant  Date 
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Montana Board of Speech-Language Pathologists & Audiologists 
Jurisprudence Exam 

Revised 9/21/16 Jurisprudence Exam Page 1 of 3 

Name 

Address  

City State Zip 

Signature 

*By signing on the above line, I verify that I am the person completing this exam.

 This exam is to be taken by speech-language pathologist and/or audiologist applicants.
This exam must be passed for licensure.

 This is an open book exam.  Please download the statutes and administrative rules
governing speech-language pathology and audiology found on our website
http://www.slpaud.mt.gov under the "Regulations" tab.  Then click on "Administrative Rules"
and "Statutes".  You may also contact the board office at dlibsdslp@mt.gov if you have
trouble finding the rules and statutes on the website.  Note that the statutes ("Montana Code
Annotated" or "MCA") are legislative mandates. The administrative rules ("Administrative
Rules of Montana" or "ARM") explain how to implement the statutes.

 This exam consists of 20 questions.  Questions 1 through 17 require you to select one
answer among the choices given.  If more than one answer is chosen per question, or if you
fail to answer the question, the question will be scored as incorrect.  Questions 18 through
20 are fill-in-the-blank.  Please take your time and review your answers.

 A passing score of 19 out of 20 correct answers is required for a speech-language
pathologist and/or audiologist license in the state of Montana.  If you fail the exam three
times you must petition the board for each subsequent retake (ARM 24.222.510).

1. Which corresponds to the membership composition of the board?
A. 2 audiologists, 2 speech-language pathologists, 1 consumer
B. 1 audiologist, 1 speech-language pathologist, 2 consumers
C. 1 professional, 3 consumers, 1 physician
D. 1 audiologist, 1 speech-language pathologist, 1 consumer

2. To practice as a speech-language pathologist and/or audiologist in the state of
Montana, an individual must:
A. meet the academic and clinical coursework requirements as defined by board rules

and regulations.
B. pass a professional examination approved by the board.
C. maintain required continuing education as prescribed by the board.
D. all of the above.

3. The purpose of a licensing board is:
A. protect and support the profession of speech-language pathology.
B. set and enforce standards and adopt and enforce rules governing the licensing,

certification, registration, and conduct of the members of the particular profession
or occupation within the board's jurisdiction.

C. A and B.
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Montana Board of Speech-Language Pathologists & Audiologists 
Jurisprudence Exam 

 

Revised 9/21/16  Jurisprudence Exam Page 2 of 3 

 4. The board is able to do the following: 
  A. seek an injunction to prevent an unlicensed person from practicing speech-

language pathology or audiology until obtaining a license. 
  B. suspend, revoke, censure, or reprimand a licensee upon finding a violation of 

board statute or rule. 
  C. hold hearings, issue subpoenas, and authorize depositions in connection with an 

investigation, hearing, or other disciplinary proceeding.  
  D. All of the above. 
 
 5. Which of the following is true? 
  A.  There is a 30-day grace period for renewal of all licenses. 
  B.  A license not renewed within one year is subject to review by the board 

and completion of examination plus $100 fee for each month the license 
has lapsed. 

  C.  A professional with a suspended license is able to reactivate, but is not allowed to 
engage in licensed activity without a current license. 

  D.  A professional with a revoked license due to disciplinary grounds may renew. 
 
 6. Which of the following is true? 
  A.  A board member individually has the authority to act on a complaint. 
  B.  Complaints are first considered by the board's screening panel. 
   C. When received, a complaint will be presented to the entire board first.  
  D.  A complaint must first go to the Governor's Office before be referred to 

the board. 
 

 7. Each licensed speech-language pathologist and audiologist shall annually, on or 
before October 31, register with the board on forms provided by the board all speech-
language pathology aides or assistants and audiology aides or assistants working 
directly under the supervision of the licensee. 

  A. True 
  B. False 

 
 8. Each licensee must obtain 40 continuing education hours  which must  be accrued 

every other year. A dual licensee must have 50. 
  A. True 
  B. False 

 
 9. All audiologists or speech-language pathologists must have a license in the state of 

Montana issued by the board in order  to practice the profession, unless a specific  
exemption applies. 

  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 10. A person from another state is not restricted from offering speech-language pathology 

or audiology services in Montana if the services are performed for not more than five 
days in any calendar year and if the services are performed in cooperation with a 
Montana licensed speech-language pathologist or audiologist. 

  A. True 
  B. False 
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Montana Board of Speech-Language Pathologists & Audiologists 
Jurisprudence Exam 

 

Revised 9/21/16  Jurisprudence Exam Page 3 of 3 

 11. A licensed speech-language and/or audiologist must be licensed for at least one year 
to supervise an aide or assistant. 

  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 12. The board does not license speech-language pathology or audiology aides or 

assistants. 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 13. Individuals must meet all licensing requirements for a license to be issued. 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 14. Licensure fees are set by the board and appear in the board's rules. 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 15. A misleading advertisement to the public may be grounds for disciplinary action. 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
 16. Aide or assistant registration forms which indicate supervision of more than three aides 

or assistants are subject to review by the board. 
  A. True 
  B. False 

 
 17. Continuing education is due every odd numbered year. 
  A. True 
  B. False 

  
Fill-in the correct citation(s) in the spaces provided. 

 
 18. Cite the administrative rule (number) and statute (number) for unprofessional conduct. 
 
     
 
 19. Cite the administrative rule (number) for supervisor responsibilities for speech-

language and audiology aides or assistants. 
   
     
 
 20. Cite the administrative rule (number) for the continuing education requirements. 
 
     
 

 
End of Exam 
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