Congratulations on obtaining your Real Estate Appraiser Trainee License. Issuance of this Trainee
License means you have already completed 30 hours of basic appraisal principles, 30 hours of basic
appraisal procedures, and the 15-hour national USPAP course.

Below are key items that will need your attention during your training assignment.

1. Priorto you performing an assignment with limited supervision, your mentor shall evaluate your
competency by accompanying you on the first 50 onsite field inspections. 24.207.518(1)(h)
A.R.M.

2. Notify the board within ten days if there is a change in the trainee-mentor relationship, ie
adding an additional mentor, changing mentors etc. 24.207.517(11) A.R.M.

3. If the trainee is not signing the certification page and experience is being sought for the
assignment, a detailed explanation of the significant real property assistance should be found in
the SCOPE OF WORK section of the report. This is a USPAP requirement and is the only way you
will able to document your experience for each assignment on your log. 24.207.509(3-6) A.R.M.

4. The trainee may only obtain 50% of qualifying education from online courses and the remaining
50% must be obtained in a classroom setting. Note: The 15 hour USPAP and any USPAP updates
are required to be taken in a classroom setting. The Board does not allow these courses to be
taken online.

5. Prior to sitting for the National License/Certification Exam you MUST have all your qualifying
education and experience hours completed and obtain written permission from the Board prior
to sitting for the exam. This will require the trainee to submit your experience log and
education certificates to the Board for review.

6. Ensure you possess all the educational requirements set forth by the Appraisal Foundation for
the specific licensure or certification level being sought. Please visit
www.appraisalfoundation.org for specific details.

7. Successfully complete a background check as approved by the Board. (Future requirement)

8. The Board has granted 2 credit hours of continuing education for attending board meetings.
Typically there are 4 Board meetings each year and while you are not required to attend you are
encouraged to. Not only will you receive up to 8 hours of continuing education on an annual
basis you will obtain invaluable information about the regulatory process.

9. Review the Montana Statutes, Administrative Rules, and board Policies on this website.

We would like to welcome you into the Real Estate Appraisers Training Program and hope your training
experience will be a rewarding one. Please do not hesitate to contact the Board office if you have
specific questions during your training assignment. We encourage you to ask questions along the way
so when it comes time to submit your application for licensure your materials will be in good order.

Best Regards,

Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers
PO Box 200513

Helena MT 59620-0513
www.realestateappraiser.mt.gov



