MONTANA BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

301 SOUTH PARK, 4_{TH} FLOOR - Delivery P. O. Box 200513 Helena, Montana 59620-0513 (406) 841 -2300 FAX (406) 841-2305 E-MAIL: dlibsdrea@mt.gov

WEBSITE: www.realestateappraiser.mt.gov

Application Instructions for Real Estate Appraisers applying by Reciprocity

GENERAL INFORMATION

- Illegible and incomplete applications will be returned.
- Complete and routine applications will be processed within 30 business days.
- Real Estate Appraisers are not permitted to practice in Montana in any manner without an active Montana License at the appropriate level.
- Please review the Montana laws and rules regarding licensure in Montana.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

- Complete the appropriate application and submit the fee
- Have a current unencumbered license in a state or territory of the United States approved by the AQB/ASC or that strictly abides by the AQB/ASC standards
- Have no current or pending disciplinary action against any other licenses the applicant holds
- Be listed as AQB compliant on the ASC national registry
- Be of good moral character

FEES

- Original Application Fee: \$ 515.00 this includes the \$40.00 Federal Registry fee.
- Make check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers

APPLICATION PROCEDURES

- When the application file is complete, it will be processed. The applicant may be notified if additional information is required or if applicant is required to appear before the Board for a review.
- Applicants by Reciprocity do not have to submit the Education and Experience Logs.
- All applications that are considered non-routine by the board will require board review at a regularly-scheduled meeting. The Board meets once a quarter.
- There may be a delay in processing the application if the applicant fails to respond to requests for additional information.
- The applicant's license will be verified on the National Registry. If the applicant holds other professional licenses besides a Real Estate Appraiser license, the applicant will need to make sure that the verifications of out of state licensure are sent directly from each state board in which the applicant is currently or has ever been licensed. Please make copies of the verification request form as needed. Some states may charge a fee for verifications. Contact each state board prior to sending the request.
- Keep the Board office informed at all times of any address changes, changes in license status and complaints or proposed disciplinary action. This is essential for timely processing of applications and subsequent licensure.
- The applicant will be notified in writing of any deficient or missing items from the application file.

•	Once a completed application is processed and/or approved by the board a license will be issued.