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MONTANA BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 
301 SOUTH PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery 

P. O. Box 200513 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 444-4773   FAX (406) 841-2305
E-MAIL: dlibsdrea@mt.gov

WEBSITE: www.realestateappraiser.mt.gov 

Application Instructions for Certified Residential Appraiser 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
• Illegible and incomplete applications will be returned.
• Complete and routine applications will be processed within 90 days.
• Real Estate Appraisers are not permitted to practice in Montana in any manner without an active

Montana License at the appropriate level.
• Please review the Montana laws and rules regarding licensure in Montana.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
 Certified Residential Appraiser

• Applicant be of good moral character
• Successfully completed the Appraiser Qualifications Board –endorsed Uniform State Licensed Real

Property Appraiser Examination with a passing score of 75 percent or better.
• Successfully complete a course of study prescribed by the Board as follows:

• Basic Appraisal principles - 30 hours
• Basic Appraisal procedures - 30 hours
• The 15-hour National USPAP course  - 15 hours
 Residential Market Analysis and highest and best use – 15 hours
 Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach – 15 hours
 Residential Sales Comparison and Incomes Approaches – 30 hours
 Residential Report Writing and Case Studies – 15 hours
 Statistics, Modeling and Finance – 15 hours
 Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies – 15 hours
 Appraisal Subject Matter Electives – 20 hours (May include hours over minimum shown

above in other modules)
Total Residential Education Requirements equaling 200 hours AND

 Must hold a Bachelor’s degree, or higher, from an accredited college or university. The
college of university must be a degree-granting institution accredited by the
Commission on Colleges, a national or regional accreditation association, or by an
accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education.

Must have 2,500 hours of appraisal experience obtained over a period of NOT less than 24 months. (Hours 
may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the necessary  2,500 hours  of appraisal experience.) The  2,500 
hours of appraisal experience must include 2 to 4 unit residential income producing     properties. 

Fingerprint-Background Check: All Certified General, Certified Residential, Licensed Appraiser and Trainee 
applicants must complete a background check through submission of fingerprints to the Department of Justice, 
Montana Criminal Records prior to being licensed. 

• Read, sign and submit the Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Rights form with the application.
• Fingerprint cards are available from most local law enforcement agencies and the Montana Department of

Justice (DOJ) https://dojmt.gov/enforcement/background-checks/. Complete the information requested at
the top of the fingerprint card prior to having your prints taken and include the following information:

o EMPLOYER AND ADDRESS: Board of Real Estate Appraisers, PO Box 200513, Helena, MT
59620-0513

o REASON FINGERPRINTED: MtCA 37-54-202 Real Estate Appraiser/Trainee License
ORI:MT920092Z (See Sample)

mailto:dlibsdrea@mt.gov
http://www.realestateappraiser.mt.gov/
http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/Portals/133/Documents/rea/Noncriminal_Justice_Applicant_Rights.pdf?ver=2016-11-21-152418-150
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• Most local law enforcement agencies will take your fingerprints for a nominal fee. After paying this fee and
having your fingerprints taken, send the completed fingerprint card along with a check or money order for
the fee made payable to the “Montana Department of Justice” and mail it to Montana Criminal Records,
2225 11th Avenue, PO Box 201403, Helena MT 59620-1403. Please check with your local post office and
add accurate postage prior to mailing.

• If DOJ rejects your first fingerprint card as “unreadable,” the Board office will notify you and you will need
to re-submit your fingerprints. You are not required to repay the processing fee to the Montana
Department of Justice under these circumstances.

• Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) from the fingerprints is only released to the Board of
Real Estate Appraisers. Your application will not be considered complete until the CHRI is
received from the DOJ.

• Licensure applications will not be considered complete until the information is received and processed by
the Board Office. Results of the background check are sent directly to the Board office by the Montana
Department of Justice. Applicants shall be notified by Board staff of receipt of documentation from the
Department of Justice only if qualifying events exist on the report.

FEES 
Original Application Fee: $ 515.00 this includes the $40.00 Federal Registry fee. 

Licensure Upgrading Fee:  $300.00 

Make check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Real Estate Appraisers 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 
The following documents must be submitted to the Board office in order to complete your license application. 
Please make 8 ½” x 11” copies of the following and submit with your application. NOTE: Any document that 
is not in English must be accompanied by certified translations. 

• Completed License Application with fees, including the Experience Logs and Education Logs attached.
• Certified Copies of your College or University Transcripts mailed directly from the institution to the  board

office. 
• Completion certificates for all qualifying education.
• Copy of the Appraiser Qualifications Board –endorsed Uniform State Licensed Real Property Appraiser

Examination results.  This will be verified by the board staff.
• DO NOT provide any appraisal Reports, staff will request them from your experience log. Please be  sure

that your experience log is accurate and up-to-date. Failure to respond to the request for appraisals and
work product may result in a delay in application processing.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES 
• When the application file is complete, it will be processed and considered by the Board for permanent

licensure during a regularly scheduled board meeting. The applicant may be notified if additional
information is required or if applicant is required to appear before the Board for a review.

• All applications are considered non-routine by the board and require board review at a regularly scheduled
meeting.

• There may be a delay in processing the application if the applicant fails to respond to requests for
additional information or appraisal reports.

• All verifications of out of state licensure must be sent directly from each state board in which the applicant
is currently or has ever been licensed. Please make copies of the attached verification request form as
needed. Some states may charge a fee for verifications. Contact each state board prior to sending the
request.

• Keep the Board office informed at all times of any address changes, changes in license status and
complaints or proposed disciplinary action. This is essential for timely processing of applications and
subsequent licensure.

• The applicant will be notified in writing of any deficient or missing items from the application file.
Once a completed application is processed and approved by the board a license will be issued.
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MONTANA BOARD OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 
(301 SOUTH PARK, 4TH FLOOR - Delivery) 

P. O. Box 200513 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 444-4773  FAX (406) 841-2305
EMAIL: dlibsdrea@mt.gov 

WEBSITE: www.realestateappraiser.mt.gov 

Please allow a minimum of 45 days for processing complete application. 

Real Estate Appraiser Certified Residential Application 

Application for Licensure as: 

Certified Residential Appraiser Fee - $515 Original or $300.00 for Upgrade 

1. FULL NAME:
Last First Middle 

2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY

3. BUSINESS NAME

4. BUSINESS ADDRESS
Street or PO Box # City and State Zip 

5. HOME ADDRESS
Street or PO Box # City and State Zip 

6. PREFERRED MAILING ADDRESS Business Home 

7. E-MAIL

8. TELEPHONE (  ) ( ) ( ) 
Business Home Fax 

9. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
MALE 
FEMALE 

10. DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH 
(City / State) 

mailto:dlibsdrea@mt.gov
http://www.realestateappraiser.mt.gov/
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PROFESSIONAL LICENSES: 
List all professional licenses you hold or ever have held. License verification must be sent directly to Montana 
from each state/province/territory. 

DISCIPLINARY QUESTIONS: 
Please read carefully & answer questions completely and truthfully, it may affect your licensure. 

1. Have you ever had an application for a professional or occupational license refused or
denied? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation
from the source.

2. Have you ever withdrawn an application for licensure prior to the licensing agency’s
decision regarding your application? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and
provide supporting documentation from the source. 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

3. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination required for any
professional or occupational license? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and
provide supporting documentation from the source.

4. Has a licensing agency initiated or completed disciplinary action against any professional
or occupational license you have held? If yes, please provide agency documents including
the complaint, initiating documents, orders, final orders, stipulations and consent and/or
settlement agreements directly from the source.

5. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered, cancelled, forfeited, failed to renew a professional or
occupation license in anticipation of or during an investigation or disciplinary proceedings
or action? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation
from the source.

6. Is there a pending complaint against you with a professional or occupational licensing
agency? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation
from the source.

7. Have you ever been censured, expelled, denied membership or asked to resign from a
professional organization related to your professional or occupation? If yes, please attach a
detailed explanation and provide documentation from the source.

Yes No 

8. Have any civil legal proceedings been filed against you by a (patient/client), (former
patient/client) or employer/employee? If yes, attach a detailed explanation and
documentation from the source including initiating document(s) and documentation of final
disposition.

Yes No 

State
License # License Type Issue Date Expiration 

Date License Method 
Requested 
State Verification 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 
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Yes No 

Yes No 

Yes No 

9. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime or do you have a pending
criminal charge?  "Convicted" for the purposes of this question includes a conviction under
appeal, guilty plea, no contest plea, and/or forfeiture of bond.  "A pending criminal charge"
for the purpose of this question includes a deferred imposition of sentence and/or deferred
prosecution.  If you answer yes, you must submit a detailed explanation of the events AND
the charging documents and final judgments or orders of dismissal.  You must report but
may omit documentation for: (1) misdemeanor traffic violations older than 10 years and that
resulted in fines of less than $200; and (2) convictions prior to your 18th birthday unless
you were tried as an adult.

10. Have you ever been diagnosed with chemical dependency or another addiction, or have you
participated in a chemical dependency or other addiction treatment program? If yes, please
attach a detailed explanation and provide documentation regarding evaluations, diagnosis,
treatment recommendations and monitoring from the source.

11. Have you been diagnosed withing the past 5 years with a physical condition or mental
health disorder involving potential health risk to the public? If yes, please provide a detailed
explanation.

12. Have you ever been courts martial or discharged other than honorably from any branch of
the armed service? If yes, attach a detailed explanation and documentation for the source.

Yes No 

AFFIDAVIT 

I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record, character, license history and 
competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of Real Estate 
Appraisers. 

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and complete to 
the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive answer to any 
question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical grounds. I have 
read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the profession. 
I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice. 

Legal Signature of Applicant Date 
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 
THIS IS NOT AN ENDORSEMENT CERTIFICATION 

PLEASE COMPLETE THIS SECTION OF THE FORM AND MAIL TO EACH STATE BOARD IN WHICH YOU 
ARE NOW OR HAVE EVER BEEN LICENSED TO PRACTICE AS A REAL ESTATE APPRAISER. YOU MAY 
COPY THIS FORM AS MANY TIMES AS NEEDED.  SOME BOARDS REQUIRE A FEE FOR THIS SERVICE. 

STATE BOARD: 

I am applying for a license to practice appraising in the State of Montana. The Board  of  Real  Estate  Appraisers 
requires this form to be completed by each state wherein I hold or ever have held a professional/occupational 
license. This is your authority to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise, DIRECTLY to the 
BOARD  OF REAL  ESTATE  APPRAISERS, P. O. BOX 200513,  301 SOUTH PARK AVENUE, HELENA, 
MT 59620-0513.  Your early response is appreciated. 

 Name: 
(Signature) (Please print) 

Address:  

My License Number is: 

DO NOT DETACH -- THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF THE STATE BOARD AND 
RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE MONTANA STATE BOARD OF   

State of:       
Full Name of Licensee:  

License No. Issue Date:     

License is current? If NO, explain  __________ 

Has license been suspended, revoked, placed on probation or otherwise disciplined? If YES, explain and attach 
documentation __________________________________________________________________________ 
Has licensee ever been requested to appear before your Board? If YES, explain. _________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________

Derogatory information, if  any 

Comments, if any  

Signed:   
BOARD SEAL Title:   

State Board: Date: 



Board of Real Estate Appraisers 

Experience and Education Log 

Experience Log Instructions 

Report Date: Enter the date the appraisal report was completed. 

Subject Address: Enter the address or legal description of land the appraisal report was 
completed on. 

Total Acres/Units: Enter the total acres of the land or total units. 

Report Type: Enter R for Restricted, S for Summary, Or SC for Self-Contained. 

Type of Property: Enter R for Residential or NR for Non-Residential. 

Client: Enter the name of the client that the appraisal report was completed for. 

Est. Market Value: Enter the value you estimated the property to be worth. 

T/L = Trainee and/or Licensee 

M = Mentor 

Trainee’s and Mentors: Complete columns I-X marking each approach to value you 
each used when completing the appraisal. 
**Trainees must indicate which portions of the assignment they contributed to by 
putting an "x" in columns I - X 
** Mentors must indicate whether they: Had Primary Responsibility = P, Co-Appraised 
= C, or Reviewed and Approved = R 

Licensees who are upgrading their licensure: Complete columns I-X marking each 
approach to value you used when completing the appraisal. If you are completing this 
for an upgrade application you will not have a mentor. 

Application Hours: Enter the amount of hours the Trainee/Licensee spent on the 
appraisal. The guide identifying the number of experience hours for each type of 
appraisal assignment can be found under the Administrative Rules 24.207.509    
QUALIFYING EXPERIENCE. Total these at the bottom of each page and keep a 
running total on each page as well. 

The mentor must sign, date and enter his/hers license number on each page. 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E207%2E509
http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/rea#9


 
 

In accordance with federal law regarding notices and disclosures, MT Dept of Justice requires the entity to which you 

are applying to work or volunteer to use this form. 

Form number:  APPR&R 20120611 

 

Form number:  DOJ-NCPA/VCA20120611 

NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S RIGHTS 
 
As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a noncriminal justice purpose 
(such as an application for a job or license, an immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have 
certain rights which are discussed below. 
 
 • You must be provided written notification8 by The Board of Real Estate Appraisers that your fingerprints will be used to check 

the criminal history records of the FBI. 
 • If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the job, license, or other 

benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record. 
 • The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your criminal history 

record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34. 
 • If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or complete the record 

(or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the job, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history 
record.9 

 
You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check will use it only for authorized 
purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or 
standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.10 
 
If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record for review and possible 
challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting 
fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information regarding this process may be obtained at http://www.fbi.gov/about-
us/cjis/background-checks. 
 
If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you should send your challenge to the 
agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI at the 
same address as provided above. The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned 
information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication from that 
agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information supplied by that 
agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.)   
 
If a change, correction, or update needs to be made to a Montana criminal history record, or if you need additional information or 
assistance, please contact Montana Criminal Records and Identification Services at DOJCRISS@mt.gov or 406-444-3625. 
 

Your signature below acknowledges this agency has informed you of your privacy rights for fingerprint-based 

background check requests used by the agency for non-criminal justice purposes.  

Signed: 

_______________________________________________ __________ _________________________ 

Name           Date 

8 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification. 
9 See 28 CFR 50.12(b). 
10 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 42 U.S.C. 14616, Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d). 

mailto:DOJCRISS@mt.gov
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