

Montana Board of Psychologists

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: [406-444-5773

Email: UnitC@mt.gov Website: www.psy.mt.gov

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Behavior Analyst

License Requirements for Behavior Analyst

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. A completed behavior analyst application form with the appropriate fee(s) (37-17-403(2a-b) MCA)
- 2. Passed a Montana-approved background check (37-17-403(2c) MCA)
- 3. Holds a current certification as a behavior analyst from the behavior analyst certification board; (37-17-403(2d and 3b) MCA)
- 4. Of good moral character; (37-17-403(2e) MCA)
- 5. Attests to abiding by professional and ethical requirements indicated in the Professional and Ethical Compliance Code for Behavior Analysts recognized by the behavior analyst certification board; (37-17-403(2f) MCA)
- 6. Have passed the board-certified behavior analyst examination by the behavior analyst certification board; (37-17-403(3a) MCA)
- 7. Minimum of 100 hours of supervised clinical experience beyond those hours required by the behavior analyst certification board (37-17-403(3c) MCA; ARM 24.189.910)
- 8. Applicant may not supervise:
 - a. More than one student intern if the analyst is also supervising a behavior technician or an assistant behavior analyst; or
 - b. More than seven student interns if the analyst is not also supervising a behavior technician or an assistant behavior analyst. (37-17-403(3c) MCA; ARM 24.189.910)

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Behavior Analyst

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a
professional license of any type
Completed Noncriminal Justice Applicant's Rights form (37-17-403(2c) MCA; ARM 24.189.901(2d))
Completed background check results sent directly from State of Montana Department of Justice to
board offices. (37-17-403(2c) MCA; ARM 24.189.901(2d))
An original letter of good standing sent directly to the board office from the behavior analyst certification
board documenting applicant's passage of the behavior analysis examination, current certification level
and date of certification, as well as disciplinary action(s), if any. (37-17-403(2d), (3a) and (3b) MCA)
Documentation of 100 hours of clinical supervised experience beyond the hours set forth in the current
version of the "BACB Experience Standards" required by the BACB for the current certificate level of
the applicant. (37-17-403(3c) MCA; ARM 24.189.910)



	If applicant is also a supervisor of assistant behavior analyst(s), behavior technician(s) and/or student intern(s), the appropriate supervision form(s) with appropriate fee(s) must also be submitted. (37-17-403(3c) MCA; ARM 24.189.910) If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.)	
pplication Fee(s) for Behavior Analyst ne following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash.		
	\$600 application fee \$50 behavior analyst initial supervision fee, per behavior technician, student intern, or assistant behavior analyst supervised	

You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.