

Montana Board of Private Security

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: (406) 444-6880

Email: DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV Website: PRIVATESECURITY.MT.GOV

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Private Security Guard

License Requirements for Private Security Guard

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Applicant must be at least 18 years of age [MCA 37-60-303]
- 2. Each Private Security Guard applicant shall complete the training program required by -[ARM 24.182.807, <u>37-60-303 MCA</u>, ARM 24.182.514]
- 3. Applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a legal, permanent resident of the United States [37-60-303 MCA]
- 4. Applicant is required to provide a background investigation that includes a fingerprint check by the Montana department of justice and the federal bureau of investigation - [37-60-303 MCA]
- 5. Each Private Security Guard shall provide evidence that the applicant is currently employed, or a contractual promise of future employment of the applicant upon issuance of a license, with a contract security company, a proprietary security organization, or an electronic security company – [ARM 24.182.514]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Private Security Guard

The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

inay in	sea to be cont to the beard uncerty from the searce.
	Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of any type
	If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).
	Non-Criminal Justice Rights Application
	Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint criminal background information.
	Passport style photo and copy of applicant signature for identification pocket card. Proof the applicant is employed or contracted to be employed and has completed the 16-hour training program required by board rule.
ilaaA	cation Fee(s) for Private Security Guard
The fo	llowing fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or account. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash.
	\$100 application fee

ba



You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.