

## **Montana Board of Private Security**

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: (406) 444-6880

Email: DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV Website: PRIVATESECURITY.MT.GOV

## Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Registered Process Server

## **License Requirements for Registered Process Server**

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. 18 years of age or older [37-60-303 MCA]
- 2. Is a citizen of the United States or a legal, permanent resident of the United States [37-60-303 MCA]
- 3. Is a resident of the State of Montana for at least 1 year immediately preceding making application [25-1102(3) MCA, ARM 24.182.516(2)]
- 4. Is of good moral character [37-60-303 MCA]
- 5. Has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony and not convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude or illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon, for which a full pardon or similar relief has not been granted; [25-1-1102(2) MCA, 37-60-303 MCA]
- 6. Has not been judicially declared incompetent by reason of any mental disease or disorder or if so declared, has been fully restored [37-60-303 MCA]
- 7. Is not suffering from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence [37-60-303 MCA]
- 8. Has passed board-approved background check through Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Montana Department of Justice [37-60-303(6) MCA, ARM 24.182.501]
- 9. Has passed the board-approved examination based on the process server handbook [37-60-303(4) MCA, ARM 24.182.505, ARM 24.182.516]
- 10. Shall maintain a surety bond in the amount of \$10,000 for an individual or \$100,000 for a firm. A levying officer may not levy on a judgment that exceeds the value of the bond. [25-1-111] MCA, ARM 24.182.405]

## Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Registered Process Server

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

| Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a |
|---|
| professional license of any type  |
| December of the whote and convert configurations for identification modest and                              |

☐ Passport style photo and copy of applicant signature for identification pocket card.

Page 1 of 2 Process Server Checklist Updated [06/18/20]



| ☐ Current Certificate of surety bond with the Montana Board of Private Security listed as the holder in the amount of \$10,000 for an individual or \$100,000 for a firm.  | ecertificate             |  |
|--|--------------------------|--|
| <ul> <li>Non-Criminal Justice Rights Application.</li> <li>Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint crimir background information.</li> </ul>   | nal                      |  |
| <ul> <li>☐ If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/crim proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documen</li> <li>☐ Proof applicant has passed the board-approved examination based on the process serve</li> </ul> | inal court<br>ts, etc.). |  |
| Application Fee(s) for Registered Process Server  The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or e-check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash.   |                          |  |
| □ \$100 application fee □ \$25 examination fee   |                          |  |
| You can apply for a license online at <a href="https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/">https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/</a> or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.   |                          |  |
| Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.   |                          |  |
| If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact   |                          |  |

the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.