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PO Box 200513 

301 S Park, 4th Floor 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: 406-444-5711 

Email: UnitB@mt.gov Website: www.plumber.mt.gov  
 

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist 
Journeyman Plumber by Out of State - Reciprocity 

 
License Requirements for Journeyman Plumber License: 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana. 
 

1. RECIPROCITY: [ARM 24.180.603, 37-1-304, MCA] 
a. The board may enter into a written reciprocal agreement for journeyman licensure with the licensing 
authority of another state or jurisdiction if the other state or jurisdiction's qualifications for journeyman 
licensure include the following:  

i. five years of documented experience in the field of plumbing; and 
ii. a written examination based on the Uniform Plumbing Code with a minimum passing score of 
70 percent. 

b. If the other state or jurisdiction does not require a practical examination with a minimum 
passing score of 70 percent, the applicant for journeyman licensure by reciprocity shall be 
required to pass the Montana practical examination with a score of 70 percent or greater. 

 
 Montana has reciprocal agreements with Oregon, Idaho, North Dakota and South Dakota for 

Journeyman licensure ONLY. The license must be active and may not have any current 
complaints filed against it.  

 Applicants that do not qualify for reciprocity will be required to sit for the examinations. 
 

2. *(OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS): [ARM 24.180.604, 37-1-304, MCA] 
a. Out-of-state applicants for a master or journeyman plumber's license may provide proof of prior 
licensing in another state by submitting a copy or copies of the license(s) held along with a certified 
letter of verification from the state or local licensing agency stating date of licensure and requirements 
for licensure. If the qualifications from the state of original licensure are not equivalent to Montana's, the 
applicant will receive credit for the years required by the original state, but will need to provide the 
additional year's documentation as required by (2). 
 
b. Applicants from states with no journeyman or master licensing shall provide a notarized statement or 
letter from a qualified individual(s) acceptable to the board, with direct knowledge of the applicant's 
qualitative and quantitative plumbing experience equivalent to five years for the journeyman license 
and nine years for the master license. 
 
 

*Applicants that apply by the (Out of state method only) will be required to sit for all the required 
examinations. 

 
 
 
 
 

mailto:UnitB@mt.gov
http://www.plumber.mt.gov/
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E180%2E603
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0040/0370-0010-0030-0040.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E180%2E604
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0040/0370-0010-0030-0040.html
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Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for a Journeyman Plumber by Out of State - 
Reciprocity: 
 
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some 
documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, 
may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.  
 
 Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a 

professional license of any type;  
 Licensure requirements from the State they obtained experience (Out of state applicants only) 

And/Or; 
 Journeyman experience verification form providing five years of legally obtained experience in the field 

of plumbing or nine years for the master license. (Out of state applicants only) 
 

Application Fee(s) for Journeyman Plumber by Out of State - Reciprocity: 
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application.  Online applicants can pay using a credit card or 
e-check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash. 
 
 $400 - ($100 application fee plus $300 Reciprocity license fee paid together at the same time) 
 $100 - Temporary work permit for exam candidates (fee is in addition to application and license fee) 

 

 

You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the 
website. Online application is recommended. 

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of 
communication. 

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact 
the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at 

the top of this checklist. 
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