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Montana Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 
PO Box 200513 

301 S Park, 4th Floor 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: 406-444-5773 

Email: UnitC@mt.gov   Website: www.landsurveyor.mt.gov 

 

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist 
Professional Land Surveyor (by Exam) 

 

License Requirements for PLS (by Exam) 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to sit for the Principles & Practices of Surveying 
(PS) licensure exam administered by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying 
(NCEES) as well as the Montana state-specific Land Surveyor Exam. A license will be issued only after both 
exams are passed. 

NOTE: An applicant who already has passed the NCEES PS exam but does not possess a license in any 
jurisdiction must apply “by Exam.” 

 
1. Land surveying experience (amount depends on statutory pathway to licensure chosen) – [MCA 37-67-

325, ARM 24.183.303, ARM 24.183.802] 
2. Land surveying education (not required for all pathways until October 1, 2022) – [MCA 37-67-325, ARM 

24.183.303, ARM 24.183.501] 
3. Passage of the NCEES Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam. [MCA 37-67-325, MCA 37-67-327,  

ARM 24.183.509] 
4. 5 references, at least 3 from U.S.-licensed Professional Land Surveyors – [MCA 37-67-325, ARM 

24.183.503]  
5. At least 2—and not more than 4—exhibits of land surveying projects with written narratives 

accompanying each. At least 1 exhibit shall demonstrate the applicant’s knowledge of the principles 
and practices of boundary surveying. [MCA 37-67-325, ARM 24.183.505] 

 

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for PLS (by Exam) 
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some 
documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, 
references, out-of-state exam verifications or license or certificate verifications, must be sent to the board 
directly from the source.  
 

 References, sent directly to the Board from the individual providing the reference. 
 Exhibits and narratives. 
 Educational transcripts (if required by licensure pathway.)  
 Exam verifications (if exam was taken in another state.) 
 Official license verifications from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a 

professional license of any type.  
 If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and 

documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court 
proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.) 
 

 

 

 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0250/0370-0670-0030-0250.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0250/0370-0670-0030-0250.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E303
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E802
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0250/0370-0670-0030-0250.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E303
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E303
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E501
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0250/0370-0670-0030-0250.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0270/0370-0670-0030-0270.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E509
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0250/0370-0670-0030-0250.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E503
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E503
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0670/part_0030/section_0250/0370-0670-0030-0250.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E183%2E505


 

Page 2 of 2 LS by Exam Checklist Updated 6/4/2018 

 

 

Application Fee(s) for PLS (by Exam) 
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application.  Online applicants can pay using a credit card or 

e-check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash. 

 

 $100 application fee 
 $100 Montana state-specific Land Surveyor Exam (fee assessed per attempt, 3 allowed/application) 

 
NOTE: Examination fees assessed by NCEES are not collected by the Board. 
 

 

You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the 

website. Online application is recommended. 

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of 

communication. 

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact 

the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at 

the top of this checklist. 

 

https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/

