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laws and regulations,
plus safety and 

environmental tips.

For a complete copy 
of the laws and rules, 
contact Montana Fish,
Wildlife & Parks.

Is your boat correctly identified?

Montana requires two decals 
to identify your boat:

You will receive two validation decals: Display one 
validation decal on each side of your boat’s bow, aft of the
identification numbers.

Montana Validation Decal
Permanent Decal

Montana 
Validation decal

Permanent decal
n Pay a one-time fee to 

your County Treasurer.

n Decal is valid for as long 
as you own your boat.

n Display on the left (port) 
bow behind the boat’s identification numbers.

Validation decal
n Validation decals are 

free. Green decals are valid 
March 1, 2017 through 
February 28, 2020

n New boat owners can obtain 
validation decals from their 
County Treasurer when registering their boat. 

n Current boat owners can obtain this  decal from any 
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks office, or on-line at: 
fwp.mt.gov/recreation/permits/boats.html
Information from your Boat Registration and Payment Receipt 
are needed in order to get your decal.
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RULES FOR OPERATING A BOAT 
IN MONTANA
Operator Age Limit — Motorboats & 
Personal Watercraft (PWC)
Children 12 years old or younger may not operate a 
motorboat or a personal watercraft  (PWC) powered 
by a motor rated at more than 10 horsepower unless 
accompanied by someone 18 years of age or older. 
Youths 13 and 14 years of age may not operate those vessels 
without possessing a valid Montana motorboat operator’s 
safety certificate or evidence of completing an approved 
boating safety course, or unless accompanied by someone 
18 years of age or older.

Motorboat Certificates 
The Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks boat safety 
education program offers a home-study course  or 
internet courses for motorboat and PWC operators. 
Persons 13 years of age or older who successfully 
complete the course will receive a motorboat 
operator’s certificate. To obtain a motorboat home-
study course packet contact your regional Fish, 
Wildlife & Parks office or call the state headquarters 
at 406-444-2535.  To view the internet courses 
visit the fwp.mt.gov website and look under 
“Education.”

Rented Boats and Watercraft 
A person must be 18 years or older to rent a motorboat 
or a PWC powered by a motor rated at more than 10 
horsepower. All required equipment, as described in 
this booklet, and a copy of the rental agreement must 
be on board rented vessels.

Water Skiing and Using Other Towed 
Devices

•		Anyone towed by a boat (including wake boards) 
must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket.

•	Water skiing and other towed recreation is not 
allowed between sunset and sunrise.

•		There must be at least two people in the towing 
boat: an operator and a person to observe the 
skier. If the operator is 12 or younger, the observer 
must be at least 18.

•		Water skiers must not approach within 50 feet of 
swimmers or enter a designated swimming area.

•	Be courteous, minimize repetitive passes on any 
one portion of shoreline, stay well away from the 
shoreline & docks, and keep music at reasonable 
level.
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Personal Watercraft (PWC): 
Jet Ski, Wave Runner, Sea-Doo

•		All operators and riders must wear a U.S. Coast 
Guard approved life jacket.

•		If the PWC is equipped with a lanyard-type cord 
that shuts off the engine if the operator falls off 
the craft, the lanyard must be attached to the 
operator’s wrist or life jacket.

•		A “no wake” speed must be maintained when 
within 200 feet of a dock, swimmer, swimming 
raft, non-motorized boat or anchored vessel.

•		Stand-up PWC and PWC towing a waterskier 
must travel at the minimum speed necessary to 
operate when leaving from or returning to a dock 
or shore.

•		All rules regarding safe operation of a boat apply 
to PWC.

Swimming Areas
Designated swimming areas are marked with white 
and orange buoys. It is unlawful to deface, disturb, 
remove or relocate any authorized buoys.

Alcohol and Drug Use
It is unlawful to operate or be in actual physical 
control of a motorboat, PWC, sailboat, water 
skis, surfboard, or similar device while under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs.

Negligent Operation
Operating a vessel in a manner which may endanger 
the personal health or damage the property of any 
person is considered negligent operation. A boat’s 
owner is liable for any injury or damage resulting 
from negligent operation.

Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS)
AIS are non-native organisms like mussels, snails, 
crayfish, clams, plants and pathogens. AIS cause 
harm to watercraft, fisheries and the environment, 
and can spread rapidly because there are no natural 
predators or competitors to keep them in check.  All 
motorized and non-motorized watercraft must stop 
at all open inspection stations.  Areas subject to 
search include but are not limited to the exterior of 
the vessel, livewells, bait buckets, bilges, and trailer.  
Watercraft found with AIS will be decontaminated 
and must pass a second inspection prior to launching. 
See back page for more details or visit:

 www.CleanDrainDryMT.com
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Montana law prohibits:
•		Operating a boat in a careless manner 

including such things as weaving through 
congested traffic, passing unreasonably or 
unnecessarily close to another vessel, buzzing 
or wetting down others, and riding on the bow, 
gunwales or transom.

•		Crossing or jumping the wake of another boat 
within 100 yards of the vessel or within 100 yards 
of a water skier being towed by the vessel (except 
when directly entering or leaving a marina or other 
watercraft docking/loading area).

•		Traveling at a speed which does not permit 
bringing the boat to a stop within the assured 
clear distance ahead.

•		A reckless approach to, departure from, or 
passage by a dock, ramp, diving board or float .

Observe all “no wake” and speed-limit signs located 
on the water. Boaters are responsible for any 
damage caused by their wake. Check with a local 
game warden or the Fish, Wildlife and Parks office 
for additional speed and use restrictions that may 
apply.

Harassment of Wildlife
Powerboats, PWC, and sailboats may not be used 
to kill, capture, take, pursue, concentrate, drive or 
stir up any upland game birds, game or fur-bearing 
animals. Motor-driven vehicles may not be used to 
drive, molest, flush or harass any game animal or 
game bird while hunting.

Launching and Mooring
Boats must be launched from established launching 
areas if provided. Boat owners should prepare their 
vessel for launching before parking at the boat 
ramp, should launch the vessel quickly, and move 
the tow vehicle so that others may use the area.

Boats may not be left unattended while moored 
or attached to a public boat dock. Docks are to 
be used only for loading and unloading unless 
otherwise posted.

Discharge of Waste
It is illegal to discharge any garbage, refuse, waste 
or sewage into or near the water. Boats equipped 
with toilets or porta-potties must dispose of waste 
properly. Because there are so few marine pumpout 
stations in Montana, boaters should check on the 
local availability of waste disposal stations before 
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using their on-board facilities. A listing of the RV 
dump sites is available at the stateparks.mt.gov/
camping website.

Loading Passengers and Gear
•		Do not load a boat with passengers or cargo 

beyond its safe carrying capacity, taking into 
consideration weather and operating conditions. 

•		Distribute the weight of passengers and gear 
evenly.

•		Keep gear low and centered.
•		Do not stand or make quick, unbalanced 

movements in small boats.

Motor Size
It is illegal as well as unsafe to overpower a boat. 
The U.S. Coast Guard Capacity Plate on each boat 
provides the recommended horse power for that 
vessel.
Noise Limitations
Motorboats and PWC may not emit noise in excess 
of 86 decibels measured at a distance of 50 feet. At 
idle speed, exhaust noise may not be in excess of 90 
decibels measured one meter from the muffler. 

More restrictive noise standards are in effect for 
Flathead Lake (Flathead and Lake Counties), Echo 
Lake (Flathead County) and Swan Lake (Lake 
County) because of population density and heavy 
recreational use. On these waterways, a person may 
not operate a motorboat or PWC in proximity to 
the shoreline if the noise emitted is greater than 75 
decibels measured at shoreline in accordance with 
the shoreline sound level measurement procedure.  
Certain exceptions are made for state-sanctioned 
regattas or boat races and by special permit.

Races, Regattas and Other Marine Events
Written permission from Montana Fish, Wildlife 
and Parks is necessary to conduct a boating race, 
regatta or other marine event on Montana’s waters. 
Letters of application must be sent at least 30 days 
prior to the scheduled event. Mail to: Montana Fish, 
Wildlife and Parks, Boating Law Enforcement, P.O. 
Box 200701, Helena, MT 59620-0701.
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Restricted Areas — General
(See also: Closures and Use Restrictions on page 18)

•		Do not anchor in a position that obstructs a 
passageway ordinarily used by other vessels.

•		Do not operate or beach your motorboat within a 
designated swimming area or within 20 feet of the 
exterior boundary of a swimming area marked by 
white and orange buoys.

•		Do not operate a boat within 75 feet of a person 
engaged in fishing or hunting waterfowl unless it 
is unavoidable. If unavoidable travel at no wake 
speed or at the minimum speed necessary to 
maintain upstream progress.

•		Do not operate a motorboat within 200 feet of 
a tow-float or buoy displaying a red flag with a 
white slash indicating a “diver down” except by 
use of sail or oar. In an emergency or if there is 
insufficient water on either side to avoid passing 
through the 200-foot safety zone, do not exceed 
the “no wake” speed. (Note: the burden of proof 
of the necessity of passing through the safety 
zone is on the boat operator.) See Diver Down Flag 
Warning on page 7.

•		Do not operate your motorboat within 50 feet of 
a swimmer in the water except for boats towing 
water skiers.

Local and Federal Regulations
In addition to state boating laws, local government 
and federal agency regulations may apply to boating 
activities in some areas. Contact the county sheriff’s 
office or the federal agency for the area where 
you will be boating to find out if any additional 
regulations are in effect.

Accidents, Collisions and Casualties
Boating accident reports are required by law 
and provide valuable information for use in the 
prevention of future boating accidents. An accident 
must be reported immediately to the local sheriff’s 
office or game warden if it caused:

•		The death or disappearance of any person
•		An injury requiring medical treatment beyond first-

aid
•		Property damage in excess of $100

The operator of a boat involved in a collision, accident 
or other casualty must:

•		Render practical assistance, without putting self 
or others in danger, to persons affected by the 
accident.
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•		Give his or her name, address and identification 
of the boat in writing to any person injured and to 
the owner of any damaged property.

Boating accident report forms are available from 
game wardens or any Montana Fish, Wildlife and 
Parks office.

Diver Down Flag Warning
Boaters must stay at least 200 feet away from a 
“diver down” flag. If a boat must approach this 
warning flag, it must do so at a “no wake” speed. 
The commonly used diver down warning flags are: 

1) the blue and white International Code 
Flag “A”  (alpha)

2) a red flag with a diagonal white stripe

Enforcement
Authorized officers of Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks 
(FWP) have peace officer status for enforcement of 
the boating regulations. Sheriffs, peace officers, and 
U.S. Coast Guard law enforcement officers also have 
authority to enforce these provisions. FWP wardens 
are authorized to stop, halt or inspect vessels in 
order to enforce the laws of this state. 

Penalties
A person convicted of violating Montana’s boating 
laws or regulations may be fined up to $500 and 
sentenced for up to six months in jail.

Diver Down Flag
Indicates a person(s) is engaged 

in diving in the area.

Alpha Flag
Internationally recognized 

diving flag
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REQUIRED EQUIPMENT
Montana and federal laws require that basic safety 
items be on board all boats and stand-up paddle 
boards (SUP).

Flotation Devices
•		U.S. Coast Guard approved Personal Flotation 

Devices (PFDs) or life jackets must fit the intended 
wearer, be readily accessible, and be in good 
condition.

•		Children under 12 years of age must wear a life 
jacket on a boat less than 26 feet in length that is 
in motion.

•		There must be a wearable life jacket (Type I, II, 
or III) for each person on vessels less than 16 
feet long (including canoes and kayaks of any 
length). A Type IV throwable device  may not be 
substituted for wearable life jackets.

•		Vessels 16 feet and longer must have one Type 
I, II or III life jacket  for each person on board. In 
addition, one U.S. Coast Guard-approved Type 
IV throwable device must be on board and be 
immediately available for use.

•		A Type V life jacket may be used in place of any 
life jacket if specifically approved by the U.S. 
Coast Guard for the activity in which the wearer is 
engaged. The Type V life jacket must be worn at 
all times to be acceptable.

•		Sailboard operators (wind-surfers) under 15 years 
of age must wear a life jacket at all times. If two 
or more persons are occupying a sailboard, each 
person must wear a life jacket.

•		Anyone towed by a boat must wear a life jacket.
•		All persons operating or riding on a PWC must 

wear a life jacket.

Life Jackets and Type IV Throwable     
Device
Type I:  Wearable Off-shore Life Jacket
Best for open, rough or remote waters where 
rescue may not be immediate.  Designed to 
turn an unconscious person face-up. 

Type II:  Wearable Near Shore Life Vest
Good for calm water where fast rescue is 
likely.  A good choice for children when 
equipped with a strap to buckle between 
their legs.
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Fire Extinguishers
A fire extinguisher is classified by the type of fire 
it is meant to extinguish and its size. Extinguishers 
approved for motorboats are hand-portable of either 
B-I or B-II classification.  A type B extinguisher is 
intended for  flammable liquids such as gasoline, oil 
and grease fires.

Type III: Wearable Floatation Aid
Generally the most comfortable to wear for 
water sports.  Available in many colors and 
styles including vests and  
float coats.  Will not turn an unconscious 
person face-up. 

Type IV: A Throwable Device — Not Wearable
Includes boat cushions, ring buoys and horseshoe 

buoys.  Designed to be thrown 
to a person in the water and 
grasped to the chest, not worn.  

Type V:  A Special Use Device
Intended for specific activities.  May be 
used instead of another PFD only if used 
according to conditions printed on the 
label.  Includes deck suits, pullover vests, 
work vests and some hybrid life jackets.  
Not intended for children under age 16. 

Fire Extinguisher Requirements

Boat 
Length

Without fixed 
extinguishing 

system in 
machinery space

With fixed 
extinguishing 

system in 
machinery space

Less 
than 26 
feet*

1 B-I None

26 feet 
to less 
than 40 
feet

2 B-I or 1 B-II 1 B-I

40 feet 
to 65 
feet

3 B-I  
or 1 B-II and 1 B-I 2 B-I or 1 B-II

All motorboats must carry on board a U.S. Coast Guard 
approved fire extinguisher as listed below:
* Exception: motorboats less than 26 feet long that are 
propelled by an outboard motor and are completely 
open construction (no closed spaces where gasoline 
fumes may be trapped) are not required to have a fire 
extinguisher.
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Backfire Flame Arresters
Every inboard gasoline engine must be equipped 
with a backfire flame arrester that is securely 
attached to the carburetor and in proper working 
order.

Ventilation
All boats of closed construction (the engine or fuel 
compartments are not open to the atmosphere) and 
which use gasoline as fuel must be equipped with a 
ventilation system to remove explosive vapors from 
the bilges of engine and fuel tank compartments. 
The explosive vapors are heavier than air and 
accumulate in the bottom of the boat without 
proper venting, creating an extremely hazardous 
condition.

Montana requires at least two ventilation intake 
ducts fitted with cowls or their equivalent to vent 
bilges and fuel tank compartments. At least one 
intake duct must be installed so that it extends to 
the point at least midway to the bilge, or at least 
below the level of the carburetor air intake. At least 
one exhaust duct must be installed so as to extend 
to the lower portion of the bilge. The duct should 
not be located so that a normal accumulation of 
bilge water would obstruct it.

Remember to adequately ventilate your boat before 
starting it by running your blower for at least 4 
minutes — especially after fueling.



11

Whistles, Horns and Bells
•		Sirens may not be used or installed except on 

authorized emergency vessels.
•		A motorboat 16 to 26 feet long must carry some 

means of producing an efficient sound signal that 
is audible for one-half mile, such as a whistle or a 
horn.

•		A motorboat more than 26 feet long must have 
on board a bell and a whistle or horn capable of 
making a sound that is audible for one mile.

•		It is advised that all vessels carry a whistle or 
horn or some other sound signaling device to 
signal your intentions and signal your position 
during periods of reduced visibility.

Maneuvering and warning signals:
One Long Blast:	 warning signal 
	 (coming out of a slip)
One Short Blast: 	 I will pass you on my 		
	 port (left) side
Two Short Blasts: 	 I will pass you on my 		
	 starboard (right) side
Three Short Blasts: 	 I am in reverse
Five or More Blasts: 	 danger signal

Navigational Lights
Between sunset and sunrise and at other times of 
restricted visibility, vessels in operation must display 
navigational lights. All white lights required by the 
rules must be visible from a distance of at least 
two miles. All colored lights must be visible for a 
distance of at least one mile.

Navigation lights include:
•		A green light on the starboard (right) side of the 

boat
•		A red light on the port (left) side of the boat
•		A white light that is visible in all directions 

(usually located on the stern and higher than the 
red and green lights)
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Manually propelled (non-motorized) boats may 
exhibit navigation lights or instead carry a white 
light which can be exhibited in time to prevent a 
collision.
Boats at anchor outside of a designated mooring 
area must display an all-around white anchor light 
between sunset and sunrise.

RULES OF THE ROAD
These rules of the road are the traffic laws of 
Montana’s waterways. Like other traffic laws, they 
are legally binding on vessel operators. The rules 
dictate who has the right of way when vessels meet 
in open water and in crowded anchorages.

•		Sailboats and manually powered vessels have the 
right of way over motorized boats in nearly all 
situations. Motorboats generally should stay clear 
of sailboats and manually powered vessels and 
not create a wake which may cause them trouble 
or to be swamped.

•		When overtaking another vessel, the boat being 
overtaken (stand-on vessel) has the right of way 
and must hold course and speed. The passing 
boat (give-way vessel) is required to stay clear.

•		When meeting head on, keep to the right. Boats 
going downstream have the right of way over 
boats going upstream.

Motorized Boat

Manually propelled boat



13

•	 	When two boats are meeting at right angles, the 
boat on the right (stand-on vessel) has the right 
of way. The give-way vessel on the left must slow 
down and permit the stand-on vessel to pass.

•	Always operate a vessel at a safe speed so that 

you are able to stop within the assured visible 
distance ahead or take proper and effective 
action to avoid collision.

•		Refer to Rules for Operating a Boat in Montana 
beginning on page 2. 
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NUMBERING, REGISTRATION, &                 
VALIDATION DECALS
Boat Registration and Exemptions
Sailboats 12 feet long and longer and all motorboats 
and PWC must be registered and numbered. Non-
motorized sailboats less than 12 feet long and 
manually propelled boats, regardless of length, are 
exempt from registration and taxation.

Also exempt are a vessel’s lifeboat, government-
owned boats, and properly registered boats from out 
of state or country which will not be in Montana for 
more than 90 consecutive days.

Out-of-state boats that are within Montana for more 
than 90 consecutive days must be registered at the 
County Treasurer’s office in the county where the boat 
will be principally used.

Measuring Boat Length
To determine the length of a boat, measure the 
distance down the centerline from the foremost part 
to the aftermost part of the boat. Do not include 
bowsprits, rudders, outboard motors, brackets, or 
similar fittings in the measurement.

How to Register a Boat
In Montana, boat owners must obtain a certificate 
of ownership (title) and certificate of number 
(registration) and pay all fees to the County Treasurer 
in the county where the owner resides. The certificate 
of number must be carried on board the boat and 
be available for inspection whenever the boat is in 
operation. Owners of a titled motorboat must notify 
the county treasurer within a reasonable amount of 
time when the owners address changes and provide 
the county treasurer with the new address.

Failure to pay the fee in lieu of tax is a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine equal to four times the 
applicable fee.

Permanent Registration Decal
The boat owner will receive one permanent registration 
decal as proof of payment of fees in lieu of tax.  The 
permanent decal is white in color and is valid until the 
current owner sells the vessel.

Validation Decals
All motorboats, sailboats or PWC that are registered 
must display two validation decals. Validation decals 
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are green in color and are in effect for a 3-year 
period expiring February 28, 2020. Validation decals 
may be obtained, free of charge, at any Fish, Wildlife 
and Parks regional office or at the fwp.mt.gov 
website.

Display of Number and Decals
The boat’s registration number must:
1.	 Be painted on or attached to each outboard side 

of the bow (forward half) of the vessel;
2.	 Read from left to right
3	 be vertical block letters at least 3 inches in height;
4.	 Be a color contrasting with the background color 

of the boat;
5.	 Be as high above the water line as practical and 

still be visible;
6.	 Be maintained in a legible condition;
7.	 Contain a space or hyphen separating the “MT” 

from the number/letter suffix. 
	 Example: MT  234  ABC or MT-234-ABC
	 • 	 No other numbers or letters may be displayed 

on the bow of the boat.
	 •	 Boat owners receive one permanent 

registration decal (white) that must be 
securely attached to the left or port side of 
the vessel. The decal must be spaced three 
inches aft (rearward) and directly in line with 
the boat number displayed on the left side of 
the vessel.

	 •	 Boat owners receive two validation decals. 
One decal must be attached immediately 
after (rearward) of the permanent registration 
decal on the left (port) side and one decal 
immediately before (rearward) of the 
identifying number on the right (starboard) 
side of the boat.  Refer to the diagram above.

Correct Display of Numbers and Decals
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One-Time Registration Fees

Sale, Trade or Transfer of a Boat Which 
Must Be Registered
When ownership of a boat changes, the previous 
owner must sign the back of the certificate of 
ownership before a county treasurer, deputy county 
treasurer or notary public. 

Within 40 days, the new owner must apply for 
a change of certificate of ownership (title) and 
registration and validation decals. If the boat is 
operated during the 40-day application period, a 
temporary registration permit issued by the county 
treasurer must be kept on board and shown upon 
request.

A boat owner also must contact the county treasurer 
within a reasonable amount of time when there is 
a change of address or upon the sale, destruction, 
abandonment or theft of the boat.

All boats sold or manufactured in Montana must 
comply with all applicable equipment requirements.

AIDS TO NAVIGATION
Hazards
Individuals and non-profit organizations may identify 
hazards on state waterways by placing a sign or marker 
at the hazard. Only department approved signs, markers 
or buoys may be used to mark a hazard. A white plastic 
milk jug attached by a cord to the hazard may also be 
used. The sign or marker must:

•		Display the name and telephone number of the 
individual or nonprofit organization that placed it.

•		Be maintained or removed by the individual or 

Certificate of Ownership (title) $10

• All motorboats, including motorized canoes, motorized 
rubber rafts, motorized pontoons, and personal water-
craft  less than 16 feet in length $65.50

• Sailboats at least 12 feet in length but less than 16 feet 
in length

• All motorboats, including motorized canoes, motor-
ized rubber rafts, motorized pontoons, and personal 
watercraft  at least 16 feet in length but less than 19 feet 
in length $125.50

• Sailboats at least 16 feet in length but less than 19 feet 
in length

• All motorboats, including motorized canoes, motorized 
rubber rafts, motorized pontoons, and personal water-
craft 19 feet in length or longer $295.50

• Sailboats 19 feet in length or longer
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nonprofit organization when dictated by changing 
water conditions or seasonal changes.

•		Be placed only to signal a hazard in the waterway. 
They may not be used to mark swim areas, safe 
channels, speed limits or water skiing courses.

•		Be located on state waterways. They are not 
allowed on navigable waters with federal 
jurisdiction. 

Placement of Water Obstacles
No person shall place any permanent or anchored 
water obstacle on the waters of this state without 
a permit issued by Fish, Wildlife & Parks (FWP) or 
a federal, state, or county entity with authority.  A 
water obstacle includes a pier, floating dock, platform, 
shoreline dock greater than 75 feet from shoreline, 
navigational aid, slalom course, jump/rail or inflatable 
recreational equipment located more than 75 feet 
from shoreline.   Water obstacles that are permitted by 
an entity with authority are not required to obtain an 
additional permit from FWP.  Please contact any FWP 
office for details on the permitting process.

NO-WAKE ZONES ON LAKES  IN THE    
WESTERN FISHING DISTRICT
Lakes 35 Acres or Less 
All watercraft operating on public lakes and reservoirs 
in the western fishing district that are 35 acres or less 
of surface water are limited to no-wake speed. These 
lakes have been determined 35 acres or less by means 
of the 1:100,000-scale hydrography layer within the 
department’s geographic information system (GIS).  
The list of lakes can be found on the 
fwp.mt.gov website or call 406-444-2535.

Lakes Greater than 35 Acres 
All watercraft operating on public lakes and reservoirs 
greater than 35 surface acres within the western 
fishing district are limited to no-wake speed from the 
shoreline to 200 feet from the shoreline. 
The exceptions include:

•	PWC which must maintain a minimum operating 
speed to remain upright and maneuver in the 
water may travel at that minimum operating speed 
following the most direct route through the no-
wake zone to and from shore.

•	Motorized watercraft towing a skier from or to a 
dock or the shore, except that watercraft must 
travel the most direct route through the no-wake 
zone.



18

CLOSURES AND USE RESTRICTIONS
The following closures and public use restrictions 
are in effect for reasons of public health, safety or 
protection of property. Only authorized exceptions 
such as search and rescue, scientific purposes or 
special events with the director’s prior written 
approval are exempt. Some waterways have multiple 
restrictions that apply, so be sure to check all of the 
following sections for the body of water you plan to 
use. Other dams not listed here may also be posted 
for restricted access.
RESTRICTIONS AT DAMS
The following dams are closed to all boating, sailing, 
floating and swimming or closed to all public access as 
marked by boat restraining systems or signs.

•	The following lakes located with the Thompson 
Chain of Lakes in Lincoln county:

	 - Crystal Lake	 - Horseshoe Lake
	 - Loon Lake	 - Lower Thompson Lake
	 - McGregor Lake	 - Middle Thompson Lake
	 - Upper lobe of Upper Thompson Lake	  
•		Echo Lake in Flathead County is limited to a 200 

feet from shoreline no wake speed except for the 
following areas:(a) the upper three islands in the 
southwest corner of section 5, approximately 1/4 
mile southeast of the entrance of Blackies Bay; (b) 
the narrow corridor that serves as the entrance 
and exit to Blackies Bay located in the northwest 
corner of Echo Lake; and (c) the narrow corridor 
that serves as the entrance and exit to Causeway 
Bay located in the northeast corner of Echo Lake.

•	Lake Five in Flathead County

NO-WAKE ZONES NEAR COMMERCIAL
MARINAS
All watercraft are limited to no wake speed surrounding 
commercial marinas as buoyed.  The no-wake zone may 
not be more than 300 feet without prior approval from 
FWP.

NO WAKE SPEED is defined as a speed 
whereby there is no “white” water in the 
track or path of the vessel or in created 
waves immediate to the vessel.

Name of Dam Restriction

Black Eagle 
Dam

500’ above dam to 100’ below the 
waterfalls. Closed to all public access 
below ordinary high-water mark from 
the dam to 100’ below the waterfalls.
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Canyon Ferry 
Dam

The area immediately above and below 
the dam is closed to all watercraft as 
posted or marked.

Cochrane Dam 500’ above the dam to 500’ below the 
dam.

Flint Creek
Dam

100’ above the dam to 150’ below the 
dam.

Hauser Dam

250’ above the dam to 600’ below 
the dam. Closed to all public access 
below ordinary high-water mark from 
the dam to 100’ below the dam from 
December 1 to April 1.

Hebgen Dam 100’ above the dam to 100’ below the 
outlet works.

Holter Dam 150’ above the dam to 900’ below the 
dam.

Sèliš Ksanka 
QÌispè Dam
(SKQ Dam)

The area immediately above the dam 
is closed to all watercraft as posted or 
marked.

Madison Dam 600’ above the dam to 700’ below the 
dam.

Morony Dam 500’ above the dam to 500’ below the 
dam.

Mystic Dam

100’ above the dam to the dam. Closed 
to all public access below ordinary 
high-water mark from the south side 
of West Rosebud Creek from the 
powerhouse to the USGS concrete 
weir.

Rainbow Dam

600’ above the dam to 100’ below 
the waterfalls. Closed to all public 
access below ordinary high-water 
mark from the dam to 4,400’ below 
the dam to the east end of the Tailrace 
Island adjacent to the Rainbow dam 
powerhouse.

Ryan Dam

500’ above the dam to 100’ below the 
waterfalls. Closed to all public access 
below ordinary high-water mark from 
the dam to the east end of Ryan 
Island.

Thompson 
Falls Dam

1,020’ above the dam to 500’ below 
the dam.

Toston Dam
Between the dam and 300’ 
downstream and the reservoir between 
the dam and the boat barrier.

W. Rosebud 
Dam 100’ above the dam to the dam.
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ra
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X

 
 

 

C
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)
Fe

rg
us

 
 

 
X

 

C
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R
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R
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X

 
 

 
N

o 
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 t
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m

in
g 

ar
e 
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ed
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0
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 t
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ke
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tu
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.

C
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rc
h 
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gh
 

(o
n 
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at

he
ad
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iv

er
)

Fl
at

he
ad

X
C
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se

d 
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ll 

w
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er
cr
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t 

fr
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ar

ch
 1 
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C
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n

 
 

 
X

C
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m
ps

on
 C
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.
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D
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G
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M
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er
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M
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w
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X
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:
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1)
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ro

m
 K

el
ly
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la

nd
 (

Sp
ur
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n 

R
oa

d)
 F

is
hi

ng
 A

cc
es

s 
Si

te
 b

oa
t 

ra
m

p 
an

d 
th

e 
G

ra
ss

 V
al

le
y 

D
itc

h 
D

iv
er

si
on

 to
 H

ar
pe

r’s
 B

rid
ge

 
Fi

sh
in

g 
A

cc
es

s 
Si

te
 m

ot
or

iz
ed

 w
at

er
cr

af
t, 

ex
ce

pt
 P

W
C

, a
re

 
pe

rm
itt

ed
 M

ay
 1 

to
 J

un
e 

15
; a

nd
 m

ot
or

iz
ed

 w
at

er
cr

af
t 2

0
 h
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se

-
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w
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 o
r 
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 p
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m
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ed
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 1 
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31
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cc
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Si

te
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 S
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h-
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A
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 m
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 O
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 m
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w
at

er
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af
t 

20
  h
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se

po
w

er
 o

r 
le
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 p
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m
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ed
 J
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e 

16
 t
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ou
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 S

ep
te

m
be

r 
30

.
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ro
m

 m
ou
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 o

f F
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C
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 b
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C
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w
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e
M

is
so
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a

X
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X
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br
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ge

 d
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 C
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p 
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w
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 d
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m
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 S
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ut
 R
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d 

B
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no
rt

h 
of

 S
ee

le
y 

La
ke

 to
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he
 m
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f C

le
ar

w
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 R

iv
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t 

th
e 

no
rt

h 
en

d 
of

 S
ee

le
y 

La
ke

. 

C
oc

hr
an

e 
R

es
er

vo
ir

C
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ca
de

 
 

C
lo

se
d 

to
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ll 
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at
in

g,
 s

ai
lin

g,
 fl

oa
tin

g,
 s

w
im

m
in

g,
 p

er
so
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l 

w
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er
cr

af
t 

us
e,

 a
nd

 w
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fo

w
l h

un
tin

g.

C
ol

t 
La

ke
M

is
so

ul
a

X

C
oo
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y 

R
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ir
C

ar
bo

n
 

 
 

X

A
ll 

of
 W

ill
ow

 C
re

ek
 a

rm
 a

s 
bu

oy
ed

. N
or

th
 S

ho
re

 a
nd

 M
ar

sh
al

l 
C

ov
e 

w
ith

in
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0
0
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et

 o
f d
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s 
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ts
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lin
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w
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s 
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 t
ra
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l i
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ra
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w
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e 
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d 
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M
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a
X
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N
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ot

or
bo
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fr
om
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an

ad
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n 
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rd
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 C

am
as

 b
rid

ge
. 

C
lo

se
d 
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ot
or

bo
at

s 
gr

ea
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r 
th

an
 10

 h
or

se
po

w
er

 fr
om

 C
am

as
 

br
id

ge
 to

 c
on

flu
en

ce
 o

f M
id

dl
e 

Fo
rk

.

Fl
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he
ad

 R
iv

er
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M

id
dl

e 
Fo

rk
Fl

at
he

ad
 X

X
Cl

os
ed

 to
 m

ot
or

bo
at

s f
ro

m
 B

ob
 M

ar
sh

al
l W

ild
er

ne
ss

 b
ou

nd
ar

y 
to

 H
ig

hw
ay

 
2 

br
id

ge
 a

t E
ss

ex
.  C

lo
se

d 
to

 m
ot

or
bo

at
s g

re
at

er
 th

an
 10

 h
or

se
po

w
er

 fr
om

 
Hi

gh
w

ay
 2

 b
rid

ge
 a

t E
ss

ex
 to

 co
nf

lu
en

ce
 o

f S
ou

th
 F

or
k.

Fl
at

he
ad

 R
iv

er
 –

  
So

ut
h 

Fo
rk

Fl
at

he
ad

 X
X

C
lo

se
d 

to
 m

ot
or

bo
at

s 
fr

om
 S

po
tt

ed
 B

ea
r 

Fo
ot

br
id

ge
 to

 B
ob

 
M

ar
sh

al
l W

ild
er

ne
ss

 b
ou

nd
ar

y.
  C

lo
se

d 
to

 m
ot

or
bo

at
s 

gr
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te
r 

th
an

 10
 h

or
se

po
w

er
 fr

om
 S

po
tt

ed
 B

ea
r 

Fo
ot

br
id

ge
 to

 H
un

gr
y 

H
or

se
 R

es
er

vo
ir 

at
 fu

ll 
po

ol
 (

38
50

 fe
et

 e
le

va
tio

n)
.

Fo
re

st
 L

ak
e

M
ea

gh
er

 
 

X
 

 
Fo

rt
 P

ec
k 

D
re

dg
e 

C
ut

 
Tr

ou
t 

Po
nd

Va
lle

y
 

 
 

X
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X
R
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k 
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ar
in
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&
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k 
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w
n 
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nd

M
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a
 

 
X
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no
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vo
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H
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X

Th
e 
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d 
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e 

Fr
es

no
 b
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t 
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 d
oc
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, p

ub
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t 
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m
p 

ar
ea
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w

im
m
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g 

an
d 

be
ac

h 
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ea
 a
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 a
nd

 s
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G
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R

es
er
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ir

R
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an

d
X

 
 

 
 

G
eo

rg
et

ow
n 

La
ke

D
ee

r 
Lo

dg
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G

ra
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te
 

 
 

X
Fr

om
 t
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 m
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 o
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M

ill
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m

ar
ke

d 
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 b
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.

H
ar

pe
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 L
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e
M
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a

X
 

 
 

H
ar

ris
on

 L
ak

e 
(W

ill
ow

 
C

re
ek

 R
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vo

ir)
M

ad
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on
 

 
 

X
A

ll 
of

 W
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ow
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rm
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 N
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w
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ia
n 

A
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s 

bu
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m
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am

.



32

	
		


	

Bo
dy

	
Co

un
ty

	
D

es
cr

ip
tio

n 
& 

Ex
ce

pt
io

ns
   

   
   

   
 o

f W
at

er
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

*V
is

it 
fw

p.
m

t.g
ov

 fo
r 

up
da

te
s 

an
d

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

   
   

 c
ha

ng
es

 to
 t

he
se

 re
gu

la
tio

ns

Manually powered or

   e
lectric

 motors only

Closed to motorboats 

over 10
 HP Closed to
 all

motorboats
No-wake speed

Boat and Motor Restrictions

H
au

se
r 

R
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w
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C
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rk
X
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ke

si
de

 m
ar

in
a 

an
d 

H
au

se
r 

La
ke

 S
ta

te
 P

ar
k 

at
 B

la
ck

 S
an

dy
 

be
ac

h 
w

ith
in

 3
0

0
 fe

et
 o

f t
he

 d
oc

ks
 o

r 
as

 b
uo

ye
d.

  S
po

ka
ne

 
C

re
ek

 B
ay

 w
ith

in
 5

0
0

 fe
et

 fr
om

 m
ou

th
 o

f t
he

 b
ay

 a
s 

bu
oy

ed
.  

Fr
om

 C
an

yo
n 

Fe
rr

y 
D

am
 to

 R
iv

er
si

de
 b

oa
t 

ra
m
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 D

ev
il’
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bo
w

 
C
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ro
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d 
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om
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he
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0
 fe
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 t

he
 r

iv
er

 c
ha

nn
el

 o
r 
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 b
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ye

d.
  C
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rk
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 B
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om
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0
0

 fe
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ho
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oy
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rk
 B

rid
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 fi
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g 
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0

0
 fe

et
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f b
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ra

m
p 

an
d 
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uo

ye
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W
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te

 S
an

dy
 R

ec
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A
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a 

w
ith
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0

 fe
et

 o
f d
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w
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a 
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 b
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ye
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H
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ge
n 

La
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G
al
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 X
R
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ow
 P

oi
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 B
ay
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s 

bu
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ed
; L
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m
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 c
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w
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in
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0
 fe

et
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H
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w
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SAFETY TIPS
Courtesy — Because many different types of 
recreators may be sharing a boating area, show 
respect by operating at safe speeds and keeping an 
adequate distance from others. Due to their limited 
maneuverability, give sailboats and other non-
motorized craft a wide berth. Remember, you are 
responsible for any damage your boat, or the wake 
from your boat, may cause.

Weather — It’s unpredictable in Montana, so watch 
carefully for changing conditions. Be prepared to 
protect your passengers and yourself in case of foul 
weather.

Tell somebody — Make sure a friend, relative or 
neighbor knows of your boating plans. Leave your 
destination, time of departure and expected time of 
return, because this information may save your life in 
the event of an accident.

Safety equipment — The items covered in this 
booklet cover only the bare essentials. Additional 
recommended equipment which could allow you 
an extra margin of safety might include an extra fire 
extinguisher, extra life jackets, a tool kit, spare parts, 
a bailing bucket, an anchor and line, a flashlight, a 
paddle, a radio, a towline, extra fuel and oil, and a 
first aid kit.

Cliff and bridge diving — Look before you jump and 
check the water for hidden rocks, trees, etc. Make 
sure the water is deep enough. Always jump feet first; 
never dive head first.

Hypothermia — When a body loses heat faster than 
it can produce it, the body temperature goes below 
normal. That’s hypothermia, and it can be deadly. 
Immersion in Montana’s cold water (less than 70°F) 
will cause a body’s core temperature to decrease. 
Symptoms can include shivering, poor coordination, 
and numb hands and feet. Learning how to treat 
hypothermia could save a life.

Dams — Currents above dams can suck boats into 
the water going through the dam. The currents and 
turbulent waters below can swamp boats and drown 
boaters. Even low head dams, which sometimes seem 
to have a very small drop, are dangerous, because 
the water going over the dam circulates back toward 
the face of the dam and can trap a person or boat.
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DEFINITIONS
Aft – at, near or toward the stern; opposite of “fore”.

Ahead – in the direction of the vessel’s bow.
Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) – a nonnative, 
aquatic species that can cause harm to the economy, 
environment, recreational opportunities, or human 
health. AIS can be plants (Eurasian watermilfoil, curly 
leaf pondweed) or mollusks (quagga mussels, New 
Zealand mud snail) or parasites/pathogens (whirling 
disease, IHN virus). 

Bilge – the lower part of a boat’s hull.
Bow – the most forward part of a vessel.
Buoy – a floating signpost for boaters.
Certificate of Number (Registration)– the certificate 
issued by the county treasurer to the owner of a 
water craft which must be registered.
Certificate of Ownership (Title) – the certificate 
issued by the department of justice identifying the 
owner of a motorboat or sailboat 12 feet in length or 
longer.
Certified Boater – Program for watercraft owners who 
primarily recreate on either Canyon Ferry Reservoir or 
Tiber Reservoir and allows for expedited inspections. 
Visit www.CleanDrainDryMT.com to learn more.

Identifying number – the boat number set forth in 
the Certificate of Number and properly displayed on 
the vessel.
Fore – towards the bow; opposite of “aft”.

Motorboat – any vessel, including a canoe, kayak, 
rubber raft or pontoon, propelled by any machinery, 
motor or engine of any description, whether or not 
such machinery, motor or engine is the principal 
source of propulsion. The term includes boats 
temporarily equipped with detachable motors or 
engines.
Operate – to navigate or otherwise use a motorboat 
or vessel.
Operator – the person who navigates, drives or is 
otherwise in immediate control of a motorboat or 
vessel.
Personal flotation device (PFD) – a lifesaving device 
designed to keep your head above water; such as a 
life jacket, life vest, buoyant cushion, or life preserver 
ring.
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24,000 of copies of this public document were published 
at an estimated cost of $0.28 per copy, for a total cost 
of $7475.00, which includes $6675.00 for printing and 
an estimated $800 for distribution.

Personal watercraft (PWC) – vessels that use a 
motor or engine to power a water jet pump as the 
primary source of propulsion and that is designed to 
be operated by a person sitting, standing or kneeling 
on the vessel.
Port – the left side of a vessel as you look forward.
Stand Up Paddle Board (SUP) – a surfboard-like 
device, usually thicker and longer than a standard 
surfboard, where the operator stands upright and 
propels the board using a long paddle.  Unless being 
used within a designated swimming area, SUP are a 
“vessel” and are subject to the boating laws.

Registration decal – the serially numbered registration 
sticker, referred to as the permanent decal, issued by 
the county treasurer and displayed as required by 
law.
Starboard – the right side of a vessel as you look 
forward.
Stern – the rear or back of the boat.
Validation decals – the serially numbered validation 
stickers issued by Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks and 
displayed as required by law.
Vessel – every description of watercraft, other than a 
seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used 
as a means of transportation on water; NOT included in 
this definition are inner tubes, float tubes (belly boats), 
air mattresses and sailboards when used without 
mechanical propulsion.
Wake – path of disturbed water left behind a moving 
vessel; “no wake” speed means there is no “white” 
water in the track or path of the vessel or created in 
waves immediate to the vessel.
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Westslope Cutthroat Trout  Species of Concern

Average Size: 6”–12”

Yellowstone Cutthroat Trout  Species of Concern

Average Size: 6”–12”

Bull Trout  A Threatened Species listed under the Endangered Species Act

Average Size: 16”–22”

small irregularly shaped black
spots, sparse on belly

medium-large, rounded black
spots, few or none on snout

red or orange cutthroat slash– one 
on each side (weak on juveniles)

white leading edge on fins
slightly forked tail

cutthroat slash—
one on each side

spots more dense 
toward rear of fish

spots more dense 
toward rear of fish

no black spots or lines on dorsal fin
red or orange spots on sides

FISH IDENTIFICATION KEY If you don’t know, let it go!
CUTTHROAT TROUT are frequently mistaken for Rainbow Trout (see pictures below): 

1. Turn the fish over and look under the jaw. Does it have a red or orange stripe? If yes—the fish 
is a Cutthroat Trout. Carefully release all Cutthroat Trout that cannot be legally harvested
(see page 10, releasing fish).

BULL TROUT are frequently mistaken for Brook Trout, Lake Trout or Brown Trout (see below):

1. Look for white edges on the front of the lower fins. If yes—it may be a Bull Trout.

2. Check the shape of the tail. Bull Trout have only a slightly forked tail compared to the lake
trout’s deeply forked tail.

3. Is the dorsal (top) fin a clear olive color with no black spots or dark wavy lines? If yes—the fish
is a Bull Trout. Carefully release Bull Trout (see page 10, releasing fish).

MONTANA LAW REQUIRES:

n All Bull Trout must be released immediately in Montana unless authorized. See Western
District regulations.

n Cutthroat Trout must be released immediately in many Montana waters. Check the district
standard regulations and exceptions to know where you can harvest Cutthroat Trout.

NATIVE FISH
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Columbia River Redband Trout Species of Concern

Average Size: 6”–10”

Arctic Grayling  Species of Concern

Average Size: 6”-12”

Northern Pikeminnow

Average Size: 7”–14”

Mountain Whitefish

Average Size: 6”–12”

Rainbow Trout

Average Size: 8”–16”

Lake Trout

Average Size: 14”–20”

heavily spotted fins,
sides and tail

Distinct white tips on fins
orange-red lateral line 

NON-NATIVE FISH

large scales

dark spots on 
front half of body

dorsal fin large,
colorful, and

sail-like

long snout

deeply forked
tail fin

large, toothless mouth
extends behind front of

eye (except in small fish)

markings on dorsal fin numerous light spots
none red or orange

deeply forked 
tail finwhite leading edge often present on fins

Note: Native populations of Lake trout exist in 
a few isolated waters of southwestern Montana.

no spots on back large scales

mouth small, 
no teeth

spotted tail fin

fewer than 12 anal fin rays

pink or red midside
band usually present

Adipose fin

Note: Native populations of Columbia
River Redband Trout exist in localized
waters of northwestern Montana.
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Brown Trout

Average Size: 12”–16”

Brook Trout

Average Size: 6”–12”

Golden Trout

Average Size: 6”–12”

Lake Whitefish

Average Size: 19”–27”

Kokanee

Average Size: 8”–16”

Species of Concern: see definitions. Fish illustrations by Joseph Tomelleri. Fish are not shown to scale. 

background color usually
golden-brown

black or brown spots
often with light halos

red spots on sides 
with light halos

tail fin squarish with few
spots or no spots

round black spots on
upper 1/3 of body

numerous spots on
dorsal fin and tail fin

10-12 parr marks (may persist on adults)

fine black spots
on back

tail fin moderately forked

13 or more anal fin rays

Spawning male

body deep and flat-sided

deeply forked tail fin

mouth overhung 
by snout

markings on dorsal fin red spots with
blue halos

tail fin nearly square
white leading edge on fins
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STATE HEADQUARTERS
MT Fish, Wildlife & Parks
1420 East 6th Avenue
PO Box 200701
Helena, MT 59620-0701
406-444-2535
FAX: 406-444-4952

REGION 1
490 North Meridian Rd
Kalispell, MT 59901
406-752-5501

REGION 2
3201 Spurgin Rd
Missoula, MT 59804
406-542-5500

REGION 3
1400 South 19th
Bozeman, MT 59718
406-994-4042

HELENA Area Resource     	
  Office  (HARO)
930 Custer Ave  W
Helena, MT   59602
406-495-3260

FWP Administrative Regions with Fishing Districts in Color

BUTTE Area Office
  Resource (BARO)
1820 Meadowlark Ln
Butte, MT 59701
406-494-1953

REGION 4
4600 Giant Springs Rd
Great Falls, MT 59405
406-454-5840

LEWISTOWN Area             	
  Resource  Office   	
  (LARO)
333 Airport Rd
Lewistown, MT 59457
406-538-4658

REGION 5
2300 Lake Elmo Dr
Billings, MT 59105
406-247-2940

REGION 6
1 Airport Rd
Glasgow, MT 59230
406-228-3700

HAVRE Area Resource    	
  Office (HvARO)
2165 Hwy 2 East
Havre, MT 59501
406-265-6177

REGION 7
352 I-94 Business Loop
PO Box 1630
Miles City, MT 59301
406-234-0900

Western District=Orange Central District=Blue Eastern District=Green

INTERNET— 
http://fwp.mt.gov 
A var ie ty  o f  in format ion 
is  avai lable f rom FWP’s 
award winning World Wide 
website. Fishing, Hunting, 
State Parks, Recreation, Wild 
Things, Habitat, Education, 
Montana Outdoors magazine 
and Inside FWP are just a 
few of the areas filled with 
helpful information. The site 
also provides links to various 
agencies, organizations, and 
news and weather services.

Contact FWP
TELEPHONE DEVICE  FOR THE DEAF – 711 or 1-800-253-4091
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Emergency Fishing Regulations/Closures 
FWP may announce short-term emergency fishing closures in response to biological 
or environmental conditions. Sport fishing regulations in this booklet for the designated 
waters will be suspended, and fishing may be curtailed or disallowed for the duration of the 
emergency period announced by the department. In recent years, many Montana streams 
have experienced drought conditions. Low stream flows can force trout to congregate in pools, 
making them more susceptible to anglers. Warm water temperatures can cause considerable 
stress to trout and can be fatal to fish handled by anglers. Check the FWP website, your local 
newspaper or call your regional FWP office to find out about emergency regulations/closures.

Regulations Adopted by the F&W Commission
By order of the Fish & Wildlife Commission (F&W Commission), the seasons, limits, and 
regulations listed here shall govern the 2019 fishing season (a fishing season runs from March 
1 through the following February). These regulations were adopted by the F&W Commission on 
October 17, 2018 and will be valid March 1, 2019 through the end of February 2020. The F&W 
Commission may formally adopt changes to these fishing regulations, including emergency 
regulations/closures or corrections. Any changes to these regulations for the 2019 season 
will appear on the FWP website http://fwp.mt.gov. Emergency regulations/closures are 
posted at access sites. Anglers must check the web to make sure they are in compliance 
with fishing regulations.

How To Use These Regulations 
Follow these easy steps: 

1) 	Read the first 22 pages of this booklet for general regulations and helpful information.
2) 	Determine the fishing district that you will be in and read the district’s standard regulations. 

These are the regulations and limits that apply to a majority of waters in the district. 
		 WESTERN FISHING DISTRICT – page 23
		  CENTRAL FISHING DISTRICT – page 51
		  EASTERN FISHING DISTRICT – page 78
 Check if the specific water you will be fishing is listed in the District Exceptions to Standard 
Regulations (waters are listed alphabetically). If the water you plan to fish is identified, the 
exceptions take the place of the standard regulations for those items listed (i.e. season, 
daily limits, etc.). If not listed, the District Standard Regulations apply.
EXAMPLE: To fish for Sauger on the Missouri River downstream from Fort Benton: 
•	 Eastern District Standard Regulations: Pages 78 to 88 tell you when 

you can fish, standard limits, methods of angling allowed, and special permits that 
may be needed. The standard regulations also explain the daily and possession 
limits, including handling and transporting your catch, and provide basic information 
concerning fishing hours, bait and fishing methods. 

•	 Eastern District Exceptions to Standard Regulations: Page 90 
identifies exceptions for the Missouri River and says that you are limited to two 
Saugers per day with a possession limit of four upstream from Fort Peck Reservoir. 
All Sauger and Walleye must remain whole until you are off the water and done 
fishing for the day. Daily and possession limits for all other species are standard for 
the Eastern District.

3) 	If you don’t find the water you are looking for listed in the district exceptions, use the 
standard regulations for the district you are fishing in. If you don’t find a species you are 
looking for in the exceptions for your water, use the standard regulations for the district.

4) 	New or changed 2019 regulations are displayed in bold italics.  
       Or:  Check the Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks (FWP) website at  
	 http://fwp.mt.gov/fish/regulations/. 

 Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)



Visit http://fwp.mt.gov   3

Subject Index

Waterway Map Index

A
Aquatic Invasive Species.................. 15, 94
Aquatic Invertebrates................................ 6
Artificial Lures......................................... 20
B
Bait Fish Species Identification.............. 8-9
Bait Regulations.......................... 26, 54, 82
Beaver Ponds.............................. 24, 52, 79
Boat and Motor Restrictions........ 14, 52, 80
Bow and Arrow............................ 25, 54, 81
C
Catch–And–Release Angling............ 10, 19
Central Fishing District........................... 51
Certified Boater....................................... 15
Children’s Fishing Waters....................... 10
Closed Waters............................. 24, 52, 79
Commercial Fishing Licenses................... 6
Consumption Advisory............................ 16
D
Dam Closures.............................. 24, 52, 79
Definitions.......................................... 20-22
Disposal of Fish...................................... 10
E
Eastern Fishing District........................... 78
Exceptions to Standard  
   Regulations............................... 29, 58, 89
F
Federal Wildlife Refuges.........................11
Fishing Access Sites............................... 18
Fish Records.......................................... 96
Float Fishing............................................11
Future Fisheries Program....................... 16
FWP Foundation..................................... 17
G
General Information for Anglers................ 8
H
Handling and Transport  
   of Legally Taken Fish .............. 27, 56, 84
Hook and Line Limits................... 25, 53, 80
Hoop Nets...................................... 7, 21, 81
Hours........................................... 27, 56, 84

I
Ice Fishing................................... 25, 53, 80
Ice Fishing Shelter....................... 25, 53, 81
Unlawful Introductions............................ 13
Indian Reservations...........................12, 24
Irrigation Canals and Ditches...... 24, 52, 79
K
Knots...................................................... 17
L
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R
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S
Seasons....................................... 27, 56, 84
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T
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Trespass Law......................................... 12
W
Warm Water Game Fish......................... 22
Western Fishing District.......................... 23

Beaverhead River................................... 59
Big Hole River......................................... 61
Bighorn River.......................................... 63
Bitterroot River........................................ 31
Blackfoot River....................................... 33
Clark Fork River...................................... 35
Georgetown Lake................................... 39
Madison River......................................... 69

Missouri River......................................... 71
Missouri River Lower.............................. 93
Missouri River Upstream from  
   Fort Peck Dam..................................... 91
Smith River............................................. 74
Warm Springs WMA............................... 49
Yellowstone & Lower Missouri
    Rivers................................................. 93
Yellowstone River................................... 77
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License/Permit Requirements

A valid fishing license (see license requirements table above) is required 
for all types of fishing on state waters.  To fish in Montana, most anglers need 
two licenses: a Conservation License and a Fishing License, and  also an AIS Pass, see table 
above. You must have your fishing license in your possession while fishing. A license 
on your smart phone is acceptable.
A Conservation License is needed before you can buy any fishing or hunting license that Fish, 
Wildlife & Parks (FWP) issues. Conservation license applicants are required to provide the 
last four digits of their social security number in addition to the information usually requested.  
A valid driver’s license or a valid photo ID is required to purchase a license. 
A fishing license allows a person to fish for and possess any fish or aquatic invertebrate 
authorized by the state’s fishing regulations. It is nontransferable and nonrefundable. The 
license enables one to fish from March 1 through the end of February of the following year.

What Do I Need to Fish in Montana? 

 Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Free fishing weekend on June 15-16, 2019.
By Montana law, each year on Father’s Day weekend any person 
(resident or non-resident) may fish for any fish within this state without 
obtaining a fishing license as long as they abide by the seasons, 
restrictions and bag limits listed in these Fishing Regulations. The two 
exceptions to this are Paddlefish and Bull Trout fishing, both of which 
require the purchase of a Conservation and Fishing License. Fishing for 
Paddlefish also requires a Paddlefish tag.  A catch card is required to 
fish for Bull Trout as described on page 5. 

Age License  
Specifics

Conser- 
vation  

License

AIS  
Prevention  

Pass

License 
Fee

Total  
Cost

0-11 No license required. Must observe all limits and regulations.  

Resident  
12 - 17,

62 and older, 
or disabled

Resident Sportsman 
license includes a 

season fishing license.
$8 $2

$5 for 2 
 consecutive 

calendar days
$15

$10.50 for 
season $20.50

Resident 
18-61

Resident Sportsman 
license includes a 

season fishing license.
$8 $2

$5 for 2 
 consecutive 

calendar days
$15

$21 for season $31

Nonresident 
12 and older

Nonresident 
Combination license 
includes a season 

fishing license.
$10 $15

$25 for 2 
 consecutive 

calendar days
$50

$56 for 10 
 consecutive 

calendar days
$81

$86 for season $111
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The AIS Prevention Pass is required for all individuals who fish in Montana. This new program 
initiated by the 2017 Montana Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Steve Bullock is helping 
fund the fight against aquatic invasive species in Montana. 
Resident Licenses: To qualify for a resident license, a person must meet the criteria 
set out in MCA 87-2-102 and 202. To be a legal resident eligible to purchase a resident fishing 
license, you must have physically been living in Montana for at least 180 consecutive days 
(six months) immediately before purchasing any resident license; you must file Montana state 
income tax returns as a resident, if you are required to file; you must have registered your 
vehicles in Montana; if you are registered to vote, you must be registered in Montana; and you 
may not possess or apply for any resident hunting, fishing or trapping privileges in another 
state or country.  At the time of purchase, a person must present a valid Montana driver’s 
license,  a valid Montana driver’s examiner’s identification card, or  a tribal identification card. 
If unsure of your residency status, contact a regional FWP office.

Special Fishing Licenses
Paddlefish: All anglers must purchase a Paddlefish tag to fish for Paddlefish. To purchase 
a tag, all anglers must have a valid Conservation License, an AIS Prevention Pass and the 
required Fishing License. Limit of one Paddlefish tag (one fish) per person:   

Resident - $6.50 each        Nonresident - $15 each 
Paddlefish harvest only tags will be available via lottery draw ($5 drawing fee) for the Upper 
Missouri River Paddlefish season (White Tag) only.  Anglers need to apply individually or 
as a party (up to five people) before 5pm March 29, 2018. See page 86 for specifics on the 
Upper Missouri Paddlefish drawing.
Bull Trout: Hungry Horse Reservoir, Lake Koocanusa and part of the South Fork Flathead 
River are open for a regulated and experimental Bull Trout angling season. When fishing for 
Bull Trout each angler must have in possession a valid Bull Trout Catch Card for the specific 
water he/she is fishing.  Anglers may select only one of the following areas: A) Lake Koocanusa, 
or B) Hungry Horse Reservoir and South Fork Flathead River. Swan Lake is open to angling 
for Bull Trout without a special permit but no harvest is allowed. All other waters are closed 
to intentional angling for Bull Trout year around.
Catch Cards are free of charge and are available at the FWP Region One office in Kalispell. 
Applications for a catch card are available at the FWP Region One office or online at  
http://fwp.mt.gov/fish/license/. Completed applications must be presented at the regional 
headquarters or mailed to FWP Bull Trout Permit, 490 North Meridian, Kalispell MT 59901.
Montana Resident With Disability: Montana FWP seeks to ensure that its programs, 
services and activities are accessible to persons with disabilities. Montana FWP provides 
many representative recreational opportunities. To learn more or to request modifications or 
accommodations relative to a disability, contact the FWP Human Resources office at 406-444-1289.
•	 Resident Person With a Disability must purchase a Conservation License - $8,  

an AIS Prevention Pass - $2 and  a Fishing License - $10.50. To qualify a person must 
be permanently and substantially disabled. Applications and licenses available to residents 
only at regional FWP offices. 

•	 Lifetime Fishing License for the Blind - $10 plus an annual $2 AIS Prevention Pass.
Contact the Helena FWP Licensing office for information and an application.

Veterans Administration Patients: Permits are available for patients residing at VA 
Hospitals and residents of State institutions, except the State penitentiary. These free permits 
are available on-site at the VA hospital or State institution. Contact 406-444-2452.
Legion of Valor: A Conservation License allows both residents and non-residents, regardless 
of age, to fish. Legion of Valor membership card required to qualify.  Available only at FWP offices.
Care Facility: The manager or director of an eligible facility licensed in Montana may apply 
for permission to take supervised residents fishing during activities approved by the facility. 
Licensed facilities include long-term care, personal care, home for persons with developmental 
disabilities and home for persons with severe disabilities. Contact 406-444-2452.
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Education Exemptions: Free fishing license exemptions are available for qualified 
educational events and fishing clinics. For information on these free educational exemptions, 
call 406-444-9943.
Purple Heart: Residents who have been awarded a Purple Heart, regardless of age, 
may fish and hunt upland game birds with a conservation license issued by the Department.
•	 Nonresidents who have been awarded a Purple Heart, regardless of age, may fish and hunt 

upland game birds with a conservation license issued by the Department during expeditions 
arranged by a nonprofit organization that uses fishing and hunting as part of rehabilitation.

•	 Verification of Purple Heart and DD 214 Form required to qualify. Residents only available 
at FWP offices. Nonresidents only available at FWP Headquarters in Helena.

Other Permit Requirements and Laws
State School Trust Lands: Your conservation license provides anglers, hunters and 
trappers access to legally accessible State School Trust Lands for fishing and hunting. 
Other recreational activities such as hiking and bird watching still require the $10 state 
lands recreational use permit. These activities cannot, by Federal statute, be covered by the 
conservation license. Additional information regarding the rules, regulations, and restrictions 
governing these activities is available from FWP or contact DNRC at 406‑444‑2074.

-- On lands outside designated campgrounds there is a 2‑day camping limit.
-- Motorized travel is only allowed on public roads or on designated roads.
-- No open fires are allowed except in designated campground fire pits. Contained 
mechanical heat sources are allowed. 

Aquatic Invertebrates  -  Crayfish/Mussels: A valid fishing license is required to 
harvest crayfish for personal use (see “License/Permit Requirements” for specific license 
requirements).  Crayfish may be taken in traps no larger than 24x12x12 inches. Freshwater 
mussel harvest or possession is prohibited in the Western and Central Fishing Districts. 
Mussels may be harvested for personal use in the Eastern Fishing District only. No fishing 
license is required to harvest mussels.
Commercial Collection of Aquatic Invertebrates and Mussels: Persons 
wishing to collect aquatic invertebrates (such as leeches and aquatic insects) for sale or 
commercial distribution should contact their regional FWP office for information. In accordance 
with the Administrative Rules of Montana, Section 12.2.501, it is unlawful to take or possess 
freshwater mussels or their shells for sale or commercial distribution. 
Commercial Fishing Licenses 
   Bait Fish Seining:  Commercial Harvest, $10 Fee

-- Contact regional FWP offices for a Bait Fish Seining License and a list of waters open 
to commercial seining:  $10 fee per year.  

-- A bait fish seining license is required:  
-- For persons 15 years of age or older to seine for or trap and transport bait fish for 

commercial purposes in Montana; 
-- For any person who seines or traps for or has in his/her possession more than 24 

dozen non-game bait fish. 
-- Non-game bait fish (Fathead Minnow, Flathead Chub, Western Silvery Minnow, Plains 
Minnow, Emerald Shiner, Longnose Dace, Lake Chub, Creek Chub, Longnose, Sucker, 
and White Sucker.) may be harvested commercially and transported in accordance with 
Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM) Section 12.7.201-12.7.206. Live bait fish or leeches 
may not be imported into Montana for commercial or other purposes unless authorized by 
FWP.  Bait fish may not be exported without FWP authorization. Call 406‑452‑6181 or go 
online at http://fwp.mt.gov for more information.

Commercial Whitefish Fishing: A permit is required to sell Whitefish. 
-- Hook and Line Permits: Whitefish may be taken by hook and line for sale in the following 
 Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)
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waters--Flathead Lake north of the Flathead Reservation boundary, Flathead River north of 
Flathead Lake, Fisher River, Kootenai River, and Whitefish Lake.

-- Net/Seine Permits: Whitefish may be taken from the Kootenai River and tributaries (within 
one mile of the Kootenai River). Application required; fee is $200 plus a $1,000 bond per year.

Fishing Contests: A permit from FWP is required for most fishing contests. Contact your local 
FWP office for information and an application or download an application from the FWP website.
Hoop Net Fishing Permit: A permit is required to use hoop nets. Permits are only 
available in the Eastern Fishing District. Contact FWP offices in Billings, Glasgow or Miles 
City for information.
Import Permits for Fish: A permit is required to import live fish into Montana. Contact 
the FWP Fish Health Lab in Great Falls at 406-452-6181 or download an application from 
the FWP website.
Private Fish Ponds – License Requirements, $10 application fee
A person who owns or lawfully controls a private fish or ornamental pond may obtain a license 
from FWP to stock the pond with fish. Only lawfully purchased fish may be planted. Contact 
your local FWP office for more information and an application or download the application 
from the FWP website. No fishing license is required to fish on licensed, privately stocked fish 
ponds. Fishing license requirements apply to all other ponds and/or waters on private land.
Koi and goldfish ponds must be registered with FWP. Registration forms are available online 
at https://myfwp.mt.gov/fwpPub/koiPond or from all FWP offices. There is no fee for 
registering a pond.
Tribal Lands: Special regulations may apply and special permits may be required to fish 
on tribal waters. Check with the local Tribal Government.
Unattended Fishing Devices: Any unattended fishing device (crayfish traps, minnow 
traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) must have the angler’s name and phone number or ALS# 
attached to it.

Penalties for Violations of the Law 
Most fish and game violations are misdemeanors that are punishable by a fine not to exceed 
$1,000 and imprisonment for not longer than six months. The court may also order the forfeiture 
of any current hunting, fishing and trapping licenses and the privilege to hunt, fish and trap, 
or use state lands for recreational purposes for a period set by the court.
Taking an over limit of fish will result in a fine plus restitution to the state for each fish over 
the limit. Restitution for Bull Trout may be up to $500 per fish and for river Arctic Grayling, 
White Sturgeon, and Paddlefish restitution is $300 per fish.
It Is Unlawful And A Misdemeanor 

•	To violate any regulations listed in this booklet.
•	To introduce any fish or viable fish eggs into any waters without FWP permission.
•	To refuse to show one’s fishing license upon demand.
•	To refuse to show one’s fish upon demand.
•	To loan or transfer your fishing license or tags to any person.
•	To sell game fish except as prescribed by F&W Commission regulations.
•	To leave or dump any dead animal, fish, garbage or litter in or on any state, federal or 

private property where public recreation is permitted.
•	To stun or kill fish by using any carbide, lime, giant powder, dynamite, or other 

explosive compounds, or any corrosive or narcotic poison. To possess these 
substances within 100 feet of any stream where fish are found is unlawful.

•	To hire or retain an unlicensed outfitter or guide.
•	To waste any part of game fish suitable for food (see Waste of Fish or Game definition 

on page 22).
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General  Information For Anglers
Bait Fish Species Identification: there are 10 species of fish that may be used for 
bait.  The following images are for help in identification (for more details see the “Live Bait 
Fish Identification” brochure available online or at Regional offices). See the regulations 
concerning bait use in each District (pages 26, 54 and 82). 

 Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

CREEK CHUB HABITAT: Typically creeks. Less common in rivers and shallows 
of lakes.

black spot

body almost round in 
cross section

mouth large, 
extending 
behind front 
of eye

black spot usually 
present

4” (6”)

LAKE CHUB HABITAT: Mostly small streams atlower elevations; to a lesser 
extent, larger streams and lakes.

barbel body almost round in cross section

FLATHEAD CHUB HABITAT: Mostly turbid rivers and streams.

front of dorsal fin usually ahead of 
front of pelvic fins

head wedge 
shaped, flattened 
on top

snout projects slightly 
beyond upper lip

EMERALD SHINER HABITAT: Open water of large streams, reservoirs and lakes.

anal fin usually has 10 or 11 
rays, base moderately long

mouth at end 
of snout

front of dorsal fin behind 
front of pelvic fin

3” (4”)

FATHEAD MINNOW HABITAT: Clean cold streams and lakes; sometimes moderately warm 
waters and turbid waters.

narrow dark line often 
present at base of tail fin

mouth small

dorsal fin rounded

2” (3”)
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LONGNOSE SUCKER HABITAT: Clean cold streams and lakes; sometimes moderately warm 
waters and turbid waters.

lower lip much 
wider than high

snout long

scales small, crowded 
toward front of body; 
95-120 in lateral line

WHITE SUCKER HABITAT: All kinds of lakes and streams but avoids rapid current-very 
adaptable.

lower lip much 
wider than high

8-10 scales in oblique row above lateral 
line (not including lateral line scale)

13” (21”)

LONGNOSE DACE HABITAT: Riffle areas of streams and rivers; to a lesser extent, 
lakes.

snout projects well 
beyond upper lip

head wedge shaped

3” (6”)

T h e  We s t e r n 
Silvery Minnow 
and the Plains 
M i n n o w  a r e 
very similar. The 
Western Silvery 
Minnow is more 
streamlined (see 
outlines) and  has larger scales than the Plains Minnow. Scale counts from lateral 
line to lateral line under the belly of the fish might be 11 to 17 on the Western Silvery 
Minnow, and 15 to 22 on the Plains Minnow. Distinguishing these species when live is 
understood to be very difficult.

WESTERN SILVERY MINNOW

PLAINS MINNOW

HABITAT: Slower portions of medium-sized to larger streams. 
Sometimes found in creeks and impoundments.

4” (6”)

scales large

front of dorsal fin ahead 
of front of pelvic fins

4” (6”)

Outline 
of Plains 
Minnow
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Catch–and–Release Angling: Waters designated catch-and-release for one or more 
species of fish require that those fish be immediately released alive. Before you start fishing in 
these waters, consider the following in order to give the fish you release the best possible chance 
to survive: 1) Artificial lures are preferred over bait to reduce deep hooking and catch-and-release 
mortality; 2) Single hooks are preferred over treble or multiple hooks because they are easier 
and quicker to remove; 3) Barbless hooks are recommended over barbed hooks because they 
are easier to remove and reduce release time; 4) Heavier gear is preferred over lighter gear 
because it makes it easier to land fish; and 5) Rubber or neoprene nets are preferable because 
they are less likely than nylon nets to catch hooks which increases release time. 
   Releasing Fish

   To ensure a released fish has the best chance for survival:
•	Play the fish as rapidly as possible.  Do not play it to total exhaustion.
•	Keep the fish in water as much as possible when handling and removing the hook.
•	Remove the hook gently.  Do not squeeze the fish or put your fingers in its gills. There 

are release devices available from most sporting/fishing stores to assist you, and the 
use of barbless hooks makes releasing fish easier.

•	Set the hook quickly to avoid deep hooking the fish. If the fish is deeply hooked and 
must be released by regulation, cut the line inside the mouth opening. Do not yank 
the hook out, as some fish will survive with hooks in them. Anglers should strongly 
consider keeping fish deeply-hooked in the throat or gills if allowed by regulations on 
that waterbody.

•	Release the fish only after it has gained its equilibrium. If necessary, gently hold the 
fish upright in the current facing upstream and move it slowly back and forth.

•	Release the fish in quiet water close to the area where it was hooked.
    Lake/Reservoir fishing from boats:

•	Fish caught from deep water may be unable to vent their air bladder and may “bloat”. 
Puncturing the air bladder or “fizzing” is not recommended because it may cause 
infections. A simple release tool will facilitate releasing the fish in deep water and 
recompressing it quickly. All you need is a 50-foot cord, a weight and a hook. Dull the 
hook, flatten the barb and attach the hook inline just above the weight with knots at 
the hook eye and bend. The hook should be pointing down toward the weight. Place 
the hook over the lower jaw of the fish and let the weight drop, pulling the fish down 
rapidly. A tug on the cord will release the fish.

Check Stations: Anglers and hunters are required to stop as directed at all designated 
check stations on the way to and from fishing and hunting areas, even if they have no fish 
or game to be checked.
Family Fishing Waters: Numerous waters across the state provide excellent fishing 
opportunities for young anglers. A few waters have been set aside exclusively for the use of 
young anglers. Waters posted as Family Fishing Waters are open to fishing during the entire 
year to persons 14 years of age and younger only with the exception of Indian Road Pond  
near Townsend (see District Exceptions). One rod allowed per child. There are 64 Family 
Fishing Waters in Montana, including the waters listed below. Check the FWP website for 
all Family Fishing Waters. 

Blacktail Meadows Pond, Dillon
Elks Club Pond near Lewistown
Fairground Pond, Helena
Fort Peck Kids Pond near Fort Peck
Gheny Pond near Twin Bridges

Home Run Pond, Glasgow
Indian Road Pond near Townsend 
Kid’s Pond in the Warm Springs Wildlife
   Management Area near Warm Springs
Skyline Pond in Butte
Vigilante Pond near Virginia City

 Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)
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Disposal of Dead Fish and Fish Entrails: When you are in a boat on the water 
and fishing, it is acceptable to dispose of fish entrails in deep water in the lake, reservoir or 
river. When you are near or on the shore or bank, it is recommended that you bag all fish 
remains and dispose of the bag in an appropriate garbage receptacle. Help keep the shoreline 
clean for others. It is unlawful to discard game fish; however, dead non-game fish may be 
treated like fish entrails for disposal purposes (puncture the bladder first so the fish will sink).
Federal Wildlife Refuges

•	Certain waters on Federal Wildlife Refuges may have special rules. Specific 
information may be obtained from the headquarters of the federal refuge involved.

•	Commercial bait regulations are not valid on Indian Reservation waters. For 
information,  contact local tribal officials.

Fishing From Boats/Vessels, Float Fishing and Float Outfitting are 
regulated on some rivers and streams (see District Exceptions for regulated waters). 
These regulations apply as follows: 

•	When a water is closed to “Fishing From Boats/Vessels,” an angler may not fish 
while on any boat or vessel. However, an angler may use a boat or vessel to access wade 
fishing opportunities. The angler must be completely out of the boat or vessel while wade 
fishing.

•	When a water is closed to “Float Fishing,” an angler may not fish from a boat or 
vessel, and may not wade fish in the river or stream, or from the bank or shoreline of 
the river or stream, when fishing access is gained by boat or vessel.

•	When a water is closed to “Float Outfitting,” the operation of any boat or vessel for 
the commercial purpose of float fishing by a fishing outfitter or fishing guide is prohibited.

Fishing Methods: Fish may be taken only by hook and line or other approved methods. 
Regulations for the taking of fish are listed in the standard regulations for each fishing district 
(see pages 25, 53 & 80). 
Good Fishing Depends on Clean Water: Many of our rivers, lakes, and coastal 
areas are experiencing algae blooms that cover our favorite fishing spots with green slime and 
may cause fish kills and “dead zones” where no aquatic life can survive. The cause is usually 
nitrogen and phosphorus pollution that comes from farm and lawn fertilizers, septic systems, 
animal waste, and sewage treatment plants. Here’s what you can do to keep the water clean:

•	Take care not to over fertilize and closely follow package instructions
•	Pick up pet waste and properly manage waste from livestock
•	Use green practices such as rain barrels, rain gardens, and permeable pavements
•	Maintain septic systems
•	Encourage your community to invest in its wastewater infrastructure

Supporting water quality protection supports great fishing! Learn more at:
 www.epa.gov/nutrientpollution/

Visit http://www.epa.gov/mywaterway
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Indian Reservations: Certain waters on Indian Reservations may have special rules 
and permits. Specific information should be obtained from Reservation headquarters.

•	The State of Montana and Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes have entered into a 
cooperative agreement on the Flathead Reservation. A tribal permit is required to fish 
on waters within the exterior boundary of the Reservation. Call tribal headquarters at 
406-675-2700 for information.

•	The State of Montana and the Fort Peck Tribes have entered into a cooperative agreement 
on the Fort Peck Reservation. A tribal permit is required to fish on waters within the exterior 
boundary of the reservation. Call tribal headquarters at 406-768-5305 for information.

•	A State of Montana fishing license is required to fish on the Bighorn River inside the 
boundaries of the Crow Reservation. A tribal permit is not required.

Measuring Fish: Measure the greatest length from the tip of the nose to the tip of the 
tail. Place the fish on a flat surface and squeeze the lobes of the tail fin together so as to 
achieve the greatest length. Do not measure over the curve of the body. 
Montana Stream Access Law: Under the Montana Stream Access Law, the public 
may use rivers and streams for recreational purposes up to the ordinary high water marks. 
Although the law gives recreationists the right to use rivers and streams for water-related 
recreation, it does not give them the right to enter private lands bordering those streams 
or to cross private lands to gain access to streams without landowner permission. FWP 
recommends that recreationists obtain landowner permission to cross private land to access 
a stream. Complete rules are available at any FWP office.
Montana Trespass Law: Montana’s trespass law states that a member of the public 
has the privilege to enter private land only:

•	with the explicit permission of the landowner or his/her agent, or
•	when the landowner has failed to post a no-trespassing notice or mark legal accesses 

with 50 square inches of orange.
FWP recommends that anglers obtain permission from the landowner before entering private 
lands. Recreationists are urged to obtain complete rules about this law from any FWP office.
National Parks: Certain waters within National Parks have special rules. Specific 
information may be obtained from the park headquarters. For Glacier National Park, call 
406‑888‑7800 and for Yellowstone National Park, call 307‑344‑7381.
Off–Highway Vehicles (OHVs): Residents – OHVs (ATV, UTV, Dirtbike) must be 
registered and display a current Off-Highway decal to be used for off-road recreation on public 
lands (trails, frozen lakes, reservoirs). To be used on roads (County, Forest Service, etc.), 
an OHV must have a license plate and street-legal modifications. Register your OHV with 
the County Treasurer. Nonresidents – OHVs registered in another state must purchase a 
nonresident permit to operate (anywhere) in Montana. Idaho and North Dakota residents are 
exempt. Permits are good for one calendar year, cost $27 and can be purchased from local 
vendors (stateparks.mt.gov, OHV Program) or online at app.mt.gov/als. Contact Montana 
State Parks OHV Program at 406-444-3753 or SMcArthur@mt.gov with questions.
River Etiquette

•	Be aware that boat access areas can be busy places; you may wish to fish in a location 
that is less congested.

•	Do not encroach on another angler’s space. Use the “visual rule of crowding” and 
attempt to keep out of sight of other anglers, if at all possible.

•	Try not to monopolize a good fishing spot on the river. Fish for a while, then move on.
•	Boats should always yield to wade anglers, however, there are instances when the 

wading angler should yield to floaters, such as when there is no other channel for the 
floaters to navigate. 

•	When possible, avoid using the streambed as a pathway. This type of foot traffic can 
cause damage to the fragile aquatic habitat. Anglers should use the shoreline to travel 
from one point to the other, if doing so doesn’t violate trespass and stream access laws.
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Safer Fishing Tackle: Loons, swans, cranes and other waterbirds can die from lead 
poisoning after swallowing lead fishing sinkers and jigs lost by anglers. Sinkers and jigs do 
not have to be made of lead. To help protect waterbirds from getting lead poisoning, anglers 
can use sinkers and jigs made from non-poisonous materials such as tin, bismuth, steel and 
recycled glass.
     What You Can Do

-- Ask your local sporting goods store to stock non-lead fishing tackle.
-- Use non-lead fishing weights.
-- Discard old lead sinkers and jigs properly.
-- Spread the word. Tell other anglers about the problem with lead and encourage them 

to switch to non-lead sinkers and jigs. 

Tagged Fish: It is legal to harvest a radio tagged fish, however, the radio tag must be 
returned to FWP. If you catch a tagged fish, please report the following information to any Fish, 
Wildlife & Parks office or online at http://fwp.mt.gov/fish/anglingData/taggedFishForm.html

1.  the tag’s number and color;
2.  the date the fish was caught;
3.  the species of the fish;
4.  the fish’s length and weight (close as possible);
5.  location of the catch (the body of water and distance from nearest landmark);
6.  whether the fish was kept or released; and 
7.  the name and address of the angler.

HELP STOP THE SCOURGE OF UNLAWFUL FISH INTRODUCTIONS

UNLAWFUL INTRODUCTIONS HURT THE RESOURCE AND YOU THE ANGLER
•	 Unlawful introductions of fish can displace existing fisheries, resulting in a loss of fishing 

opportunity.
•	 Unlawful introductions can lead to the spread of diseases which can kill fish.
•	 Unlawful introductions can lead to the genetic contamination of native or other important 

fish species.
•	 Unlawful introductions can raise fish management costs, and therefore costs to anglers, 

through increased hatchery operations and chemical treatments. 
•	 Unlawful introductions are made without proper biological analysis and public input meaning 

that you the angler had no say in an ill-informed action by self-serving individuals.

PENALTIES
•	 Fines of $2,000 up to $10,000 and imprisonment for up to one year.
•	 Liability for all costs to eliminate or mitigate the effects of the violation.
•	 Loss of hunting, fishing and trapping privileges for at least 5 years.

WHAT YOU CAN DO
Be aware that without FWP authorization, the release of any live fish into any 
Montana pond, lake, stream or river is strictly unlawful. Anyone who appears to 
be dumping fish (including bait fish) should be reported immediately by calling  
1-800-TIP-MONT — 1-800-847-6668. Anyone providing information leading to a conviction 
for unlawful fish introductions is eligible for up to a $1,000 reward.  In addition, rewards in 
excess of $10,000 may be available from various angling organizations.
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Motorboat and Vessel Restrictions 
The use of vessels and motors may be restricted on some waters. A complete, updated, 
copy of the Montana Boating Laws is available from any FWP office, or by calling 406-444-
2535. Additional restrictions may be posted at access points to specific waters. Contact the 
County Sheriff’s office or federal agency where you will be boating to find out if additional 
restrictions are in effect.
All passengers under the age of 12 must wear a personal floatation device (PFD) at all times 
when the motorboat or vessel is in motion if the motorboat or vessel is less than 26 feet long. 
A wearable, U.S. Coast Guard approved PFD must be available for each occupant. Children 
12 years of age or younger may not operate a motorboat or a personal watercraft (jet skis, 
water bikes, etc. that use a motor or engine to power a water jet pump as the primary source 
of propulsion and that is designed to be operated by a person standing or kneeling on the 
vessel) powered by a motor rated at more than 10 horsepower unless accompanied by 
someone 18 years of age or older. Youths 13 and 14 may not operate those vessels without 
possessing a valid Montana motorboat operator’s safety certificate or evidence of completing 
an approved water safety course, unless accompanied by someone 18 years of age or older. 
A home-study boating course is available from FWP.
Sailboats 12 feet long and longer, and all motorboats and personal watercraft must be 
registered and numbered. Non-motorized sailboats less than 12 feet long and manually 
propelled boats, regardless of length, are exempt from registration and taxation. Also exempt 
are a vessel’s lifeboat, government-owned boats, and properly registered boats from out-of-
state or country that will not be in Montana for more than 90 consecutive days.
No-Wake Zones on Lakes – Western Fishing District Only
All watercraft operating on public lakes and reservoirs of 35 surface acres or less within the 
Western Fishing District are limited to no-wake speed. The Montana Boating Laws booklet 
contains a complete list of these lakes. Contact your local FWP office for a copy.
All watercraft operating on public lakes and reservoirs greater than 35 surface acres within 
the Western Fishing District are limited to no-wake speed from the shoreline to 200 feet from 
the shoreline. No-wake speed is defined as a speed whereby there is no “white” water in the 
track or path of the vessel or in waves created next to the vessel.
General Boating Restrictions

•	Do not anchor a vessel in a position that obstructs a passageway ordinarily used by others.
•	Do not operate a vessel within:

-- 20 feet of a designated swimming area marked by white and orange buoys.
-- 50 feet of a swimmer in the water except for boats towing water skiers.
-- 75 feet of an angler or a waterfowl hunter unless it is unavoidable.  If unavoidable, travel 

at no wake speed or at the minimum speed necessary to maintain upstream progress.
-- 200 feet of a diver’s flag.

•	Motorboats and vessels 16 feet and longer (except canoes and kayaks) must also 
have a throwable type IV PFD on board.

•	It is unlawful to operate or be in actual physical control of a 
motorboat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

•	All motorboats and vessels must carry equipment as required 
  by the Montana Boating Laws.

Boaters: This flag means there are scuba divers in the area. 
Montana law requires that motorboats stay at least 200 feet away 
from a DIVER DOWN flag. Violators may be subject to a fine 
of $500 or 6 months imprisonment, or both.  MCA 23-2-525.

 Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)
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Aquatic Invasive Species
Aquatic Invasive Species are mainly transported by human activities. 

A message from
STOP AQUAT IC 
HITCHHIKERS !

Symbol indicates the presence of invasive 
plants, snails or mussels - check the maps.AIS

All watercraft are required to stop at all boat inspection stations.
New watercraft inspection regulations:  
•	 All watercraft entering Montana are required to be inspected for aquatic invasive species 

prior to launching in the waters of the state.  
•	 All watercraft crossing the Continental Divide into the Columbia River Basin are also 

required to be inspected prior to launch.  
•	 Due to the detection of invasive mussel larvae in Tiber Reservoir and suspected 

detection in Canyon Ferry Reservoir, all watercraft exiting those waters are required 
to be inspected as per MCA 12.5.706.

♦♦ A Certified Boater program is available for boaters that primarily use Canyon 
Ferry or Tiber Reservoirs.  

♦♦ For more information see the website  www.CleanDrainDryMT.com

DO YOUR PART TO PROTECT MONTANA WATERS
Clean: Completely remove all mud, water, and vegetation before leaving the access area.
•	 Inspect your boat, trailer, and all gear. Pay attention to crevices and hidden areas.
•	 Remove all mud and vegetation
•	 Dispose of debris in trash or on dry land away from water or ramp.

Drain: Drain all water from watercraft and equipment.
•	 Drain or remove water from boat, bilge, live well, engine, internal compartments andbait 

buckets by removing drain plugs before leaving the access area.
•	 Lower motor to ensure all water is drained.

Dry: Aquatic invaders can survive only in water and wet areas.
•	 Dry your watercraft and fishing equipment thoroughly; this will kill most invasive species. 

The longer you keep your watercraft, trailer, waders and other equipment outside in the 
hot sun between fishing trips, the better.

•	 Dry the watercraft and gear completely between trips and allow the wet areas of your 
watercraft to air dry.
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Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines
The Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) has issued advisories 
for the consumption of fish from certain Montana waters. Fish from some Montana waters contain 
levels of chemicals that may be especially harmful to young children, nursing mothers, and 
childbearing women or persons frequently consuming fish. Information, advice and additional 
details about fish consumption is available from the DPHHS, telephone 406‑444-2837. This 
information is also available in a brochure titled “Montana Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines” 
which can be obtained at any FWP office and many license providers, or on the FWP website at:

http://fwp.mt.gov/fwpDoc.html?id=28187

General Guidelines to Reduce Your Health Risk
•	Keep smaller fish for eating. They typically taste better and have had less time to 

accumulate contaminants than older, bigger fish.
•	Eat smaller meals when you eat big fish and eat them less often.
•	Eat fish that are less likely to be contaminated. Contaminants such as mercury 

and PCBs build up in large predatory fish such as Walleye and Lake Trout. Their prey, 
such as Yellow Perch and Rainbow Trout, have less contaminants.

•	Clean and cook your fish properly. Trim fish to remove fatty portions. Cook fish in a 
way that drains juices away from the meat.

The following waterbodies contain fish species with consumption advisories. More detailed 
information is available on the FWP website: http://fwp.mt.gov/fwpDoc.html?id=28187
Alder Gulch
Bair Reservoir 
Belt Creek
Big Spring Creek
Bighorn Lake and  
    Afterbay Reservoir 
Blacktail Creek
Boulder River
Bowman Lake (Glacier NP)
Browns Gulch
Bynum Reservoir
Cabinet Gorge Reservoir
Canyon Ferry Reservoir
Carpenter Creek
Castlerock Lake
Cataract Creek
Chrome Lake
Clark Canyon Reservoir
Clark Fork River
Clear Lake

Cooney Reservoir
Crystal Lake 
Dry Fork Belt Creek 
East Fork Reservoir
Firehole River
Flathead Lake
Flint Creek
Fort Peck Reservoir
Fred Burr Creek 
Fresno Reservoir
Georgetown Lake
Gibbon River
Harrison Lake (Glacier NP)
Hauser Reservoir
Hebgen Reservoir
Holter Reservoir
Island Lake
 Lake Elwell aka 
  Tiber Reservoir

Lake Frances 
Lake Helena
Lake Koocanusa 
Lake Marlin
Lake Mary Ronan
Lake McDonald
Lee Metcalf Pond NWR
Leigh Lake
Libby ponds
Lower Stillwater Lake
Lower Willow Creek  
    Reservoir
Madison River
Martinsdale Reservoir
Medicine Lake NWR
Missouri River
Mountain View Lake
Mystic Lake
Nelson Reservoir 
Ninepipes Pond NWR

Noxon Rapids Reservoir
Petrolia Reservoir
Pishkun Reservoir
Prickly Pear Creek
Seeley Lake
Silver Creek
Snow Creek
South Sandstone 
    Reservoir
St. Mary Lake
Swan Lake
Thompson Falls 
    Reservoir
Tongue River 
    Reservoir
Upper Two Medicine 
Waterton Lakes
Whitefish Lake
Yellowstone River near  
      Powder River

Future Fisheries Program
For many years, FWP’s Future Fisheries Improvement Program has provided funding to 
restore rivers, streams and lakes to improve and protect Montana’s wild fish habitats. About 
$650,000 are available each year for habitat projects that revitalize wild fish populations.  Any 
project that would benefit Montana’s wild fish will be considered for funding.  Applications are 
considered twice a year and are due December 1 and June 1.  An independent review panel 

Waters with a fish consumption advisory and an exception to the standard 
fishing regulations are identified with a fish icon to help you identify places to 
pay special attention to when harvesting fish.
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Montana FWP Foundation

The Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Foundation is a non-profit corporation to provide private 
financial support for the critical efforts of Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks and for preserving 
and enhancing Montana’s natural, cultural and recreational resources for future generations. 

The Foundation was created to help support new work. It will build an endowment of corporate 
donations and individual gifts to fund programs that conserve wild places, restore imperiled 
species, maintain access, protect unique cultural and historic parks and educate kids about 
the wonders of our world.  For more information or if you would like to make a contribution, 
call 406‑444-6759, or write Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Foundation at PO Box 200701, 
Helena MT  59620-0701.

Thank You Anglers And Motorboaters!

The Sport Fish Restoration (SFR) Program provides grant funding 
to all state fish and wildlife agencies for fishery projects, boating 
access, and aquatic education.  The Program is authorized by the 
Sport Fish Restoration Act of 1950, also known as the Dingell-
Johnson Act in recognition of the original bill sponsors. Annually, 
FWP receives in excess of $8 million in SFR funds.

The SFR Program was created to assist states with restoration and 
management of our nations fisheries, and was modeled after the 
successful Wildlife Restoration Program of 1937. Funding for the 

Program comes from tax revenues collected from the sale of fishing equipment, motorboat, 
and small engine fuels. 

Every time you purchase fishing equipment or fuel for your boat, you are supporting fisheries 
management and motorboat access programs in Montana.  

The SFR Program represents one of the most successful user-pay, user-benefit programs 
in the nation.

1) 	Put the end of the line through the eye of the hook 
and bring it back toward the line.

2) 	Make five “S” twists around the line.

3) 	Take the end back toward the hook and push it 
through the first loop nearest the eye.

4) 	 Bring the end back through the big loop.

5) 	 Hold the hook and the line, pull the knot tight until 
it looks like the knot shown.

Modified Clinch Knot

reviews program applications and recommends funding to the Fish & Wildlife Commission for 
final decisions. Future Fisheries applications and additional information about the program 
can be found on FWP’s webpage:

http://fwp.mt.gov/fishAndWildlife/habitat/fish/futureFisheries
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Montana Fishing Access Sites
With over 338 fishing access sites to choose from across the state, anglers enjoy good access 
to the state’s streams and rivers, lakes and reservoirs. You may download a field guide to fishing 
access sites located on Montana’s streams, rivers, and lakes, or you may use the interactive 
“Visit a Fishing Access Site” at https://myfwp.mt.gov/fishMT/explore.html to find a fishing 
access site. 
The field guide describes the Fishing Access Sites (FASs) located on Montana’s streams, 
rivers and lakes that vary in size from less than one acre to several hundred acres.  Montana’s 
FAS program provides public access to high quality waters for angling, boating, rafting, and 
other recreation opportunities.  In addition, FASs are often popular areas for hunting, wildlife 
viewing, hiking, bird watching, picnicking, etc.  The funding to purchase, develop, and maintain 
these important sites comes from the sale of sportsman’s licenses, state motorboat registration 
fees, and federal Sport Fish Restoration fees.

Fees

There are no day use fees for Montana’s FAS program; however, where overnight camping 
is allowed, a camping fee may be charged. The revenue from the camping fees is used to 
offset the additional expenses involved in operating and maintaining these higher use sites.

Commercial Use

A permit is required to conduct commercial activities at fishing access sites. Please contact 
the Regional FWP administrative office or the FWP website for more information.

Camping

Many of the FASs are managed as day use only, but camping is allowed at 97 locations. An 
overnight camping fee is charged at many of the sites.

FASs are primitive or semi-primitive sites. They do not have electricity, running water, or 
dump stations. Not all sites are designed for access by larger recreational vehicles.  It may 
be necessary to physically inspect the facility before pulling in if the parking area is not visible 
from the access road.

Additional camping opportunities with higher levels of development are available at Montana’s 
State Parks and at other locations throughout the state. Please refer to the State Parks 
brochure for a list of state parks with campgrounds.

Purchase your fishing license, hunting license(s) and special 
drawing items online https://app.mt.gov/als/index/index.html
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Catch-and-Release Techniques for Trout

Don’t Forget: Keep Them Wet!
The species of fish, water temperature, and angler behavior affect the success of catch-and-
release fishing. Trout species are susceptible to angling mortality. Warm water stresses fish
more than cold water. How an angler fishes, choice of gear, and how the angler handles the
fish affect survival of released fish. Here is what anglers can do to maximize fish survival:

Consider limiting your catch. Even with catch-and-release, fish are stressed and some
will die. To best avoid harming the fish, keep it underwater where it can breathe.

Land the fish quickly and do not play it to exhaustion.

Wet your hands before handling the fish.

Keep the fish in the water as much as possible.
Minimize the time out of water for photos.

Remove the hook gently. Use of artificial lures, single and barbless 
hooks makes hook removal faster and easier.

Let the fish recover before release. If the fish is hooked deeply 
or bleeding, you may have to snip the line at the fish’s mouth, or consider 
keeping it if regulations allow.

1.
2.
3.

4.

5.

Learn more: fwp.mt.govRainbow trout photo by Pat Clayton/Engbretson Underwater Photography.

This message brought to you by Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks
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Definitions
ANGLING/FISHING: Angling or fishing means to capture or attempt to capture fish, or 
the act of a person possessing any instrument, article or substance for the purpose of taking 
fish in any location that a fish might inhabit.
ARTIFICIAL LURE: Any man-made lure (including flies) that imitates natural bait. Artificial 
lures may have a scent infused or applied. Artificial lures do not include fish eggs, any natural 
or artificial food such as corn and marshmallows, any products that are derivatives of natural 
foods, any chemically treated or processed natural bait such as salted minnows, nor any 
artificial dough, paste or edible baits.
ATTENDED LINE: A line with/without a pole held in hand or under immediate control. 
When used through the ice, the angler need not be in immediate control but must be in the 
vicinity and in visual contact with the line.
CALENDAR DAY: A 24-hour period from midnight to midnight.
DAILY LIMIT: The number of fish that may be legally taken during a calendar day. A fish 
when landed and not immediately released becomes part of the bag limit of the person 
originally hooking the fish even if the fish is donated to another person. If you receive fish 
from another angler, those fish also become part of your daily limit.
DRAINAGE: All of the waters comprising a watershed, including tributary rivers, streams, 
sloughs, ponds and lakes that contribute to the water supply of the watershed.
DRESSED FISH: A fish which has been cleaned by removing the entrails. Dressed fish 
also may be filleted and/or have their head, gills and scales removed.
ENDANGERED SPECIES: Species in imminent danger of extinction throughout their 
range and listed by state or federal regulation.
FISHING ACCESS SITE (FAS): An area adjacent to a stream or lake which has been 
acquired by FWP to allow anglers access to a water body. Fishing access sites are funded 
in part by fishing license fees.
FISHING FROM BOATS/VESSELS: Means fishing while on any boat or vessel. When 
a water is designated as closed to fishing from boats/vessels, anglers may not fish from a 
boat or vessel, but may use a boat or vessel to access wade fishing opportunities. An angler 
must be completely out of the boat or vessel while wade fishing.
FLOAT FISHING: Means any fishing from a boat or vessel, or wade fishing when fishing 
access is gained by boat or vessel. When a water is designated as closed to float fishing, 
an angler may not fish from a boat, and may not wade fish in the river or stream, or from the 
bank or shoreline of the river or stream, when access is gained by boat or vessel.
FLOAT OUTFITTING: Means the operation of any boat or vessel for the commercial 
purpose of float fishing by a fishing outfitter or fishing guide.
GAFF: A hook attached directly to a pole (metal or wooden shaft) or other device. Use of 
gaffs is permitted only to help land a fish that was lawfully hooked.

GAME FISH: All species of the family Salmonidae (trout, salmon, Arctic Grayling, whitefish, 
Cisco and chars); all species of the genus Sander (Sauger and Walleye); all species of the 
genus Esox (Northern Pike and Tiger Muskie ); all species of the genus Micropterus (Bass); all 
species of the genus Polyodon (Paddlefish); all species of the family Acipenseridae (Sturgeon); 
the genus Lota (Burbot or Ling); the species Perca flavescens (Yellow Perch); all species of 
the genus Pomoxis (Crappie); and the species Ictalurus punctatus (Channel Catfish).

•	Bull Trout are defined as any trout with white leading margins on the lower fins and no 
markings on the dorsal fin. (Note: it is unlawful to intentionally fish for Bull Trout in any 

 Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)



Visit http://fwp.mt.gov   21

waters unless specifically authorized in the Western Fishing District Regulations.)
•	Cutthroat Trout are defined as any trout with a red or orange stripe under its jaw. See 

the inside cover for an identification (id) key.
•	Sauger are defined as any Sander (Sauger/Walleye) with multiple small, distinct 

black spots on the spiny (first) dorsal fin ray membranes.
HOOK: A hook is a single, double, or treble point attached to a single shank. A lure with 
multiple hooks is still considered a single hook.
HOOP NET: A cylindrical or conical net distended by a series of hoops or frames, covered 
by web netting. The net has one or more internal funnel-shaped throats whose tapered ends 
are directed inward from the mouth
LEGALLY TAKEN: Any fish caught using legal methods and not immediately released 
alive.
LENGTH: Measure the greatest length from the tip of the nose to the tip of the tail. Place 
the fish on a flat surface and squeeze the lobes of the tail fin together so as to achieve the 
greatest length. Do not measure over the curve of the body.
LIVE BAIT: Live bait are animals such as meal worms, red worms, night crawlers, leeches, 
maggots, crayfish, reptiles, amphibians and insects, which may be used as live bait on all 
waters not restricted to artificial flies and lures. Live bait includes fish only as specified in 
Live Bait sections for the Central and Eastern Fishing Districts. No live fish can be used as 
live bait in the Western Fishing District. Sculpins may not be used as bait live or dead in the 
Western Fishing District. 
MAINSTEM: In a drainage, the mainstem is the primary stream or river into which most 
tributaries flow.
MOTORBOAT: A vessel, including a personal watercraft or pontoon, propelled by any 
machinery/motor/engine of any description, whether or not the machinery/motor/engine is the 
principal source of propulsion. The term includes boats temporarily equipped with detachable 
motors/engines.
NON-GAME FISH: Any wild fish not otherwise legally classified by statute or regulation. 
NOODLING: A technique for catching fish by hand.  It is unlawful to catch fish by hand 
in any district.
PERMANENT RESIDENCE: The physical abode or structure you maintain as your 
principal, legal residence.  A person may have only one permanent residence.
POSSESSION LIMIT: The number of fish that may be possessed at any time in any form: 
fresh, stored in freezers or lockers, salted, smoked, dried, canned, or preserved.
RESERVOIR: A body of water artificially impounded behind a man-made dam that 
extends upstream to the mouth of its inlet stream(s) or river. Reservoirs do not include waters 
incidentally impounded on a stream or river by a structure such as a check dam for irrigation, 
a headgate to divert water for irrigation, or similar structures. 

•	Under normal operations, reservoir pool elevation, surface acreage and the mouths 
of the inlet stream(s) are expected to vary throughout the year. An imaginary line 
connecting the reservoir shoreline across the mouth of the stream marks the boundary 
between reservoir and stream/river, and the boundary will move as reservoir levels 
change. Streams are defined by a sloped streambed that results in a defined current 
flow between two discernible stream banks. Stream regulations apply upstream from 
the mouth on the reservoir and often are managed under seasons, limits and special 
regulations that differ from the reservoir regulations.
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SALMONIDAE: Any species of Trout, Char, Salmon, Arctic Grayling, Cisco, or Whitefish.  
Wild salmonids possess an adipose fin (small fleshy on the back near the tail); hatchery-reared  
fish sometimes have had this fin intentionally removed.
SEINE: A net, usually suspended between two poles, which is pulled through the water 
to capture fish for bait. Seines used for this purpose must not exceed 12 feet in length and  
four feet in width.
SETLINE: A line or lines with or without a pole set to catch fish without the angler being 
present or within immediate control. The angler’s name, phone number, or 9 or 10 digit ALS 
# must be attached.
SNAGGING: A technique of angling in which a hook or hooks are cast, trolled or lowered 
into the water and manipulated to embed the hook or hooks into the body of the fish. You have 
snagged a fish if: (a) you are fishing in a manner that the fish does not voluntarily take the hook 
in its mouth, or (b) if you accidentally hook the fish in a part of the body other than the mouth.
SPEAR: Any sharp-pointed instrument, with or without barbs, used to capture and/or kill 
fish by penetrating the body. Usually a spear consists of a shaft with a sharp head or point. 
Spears may be hand-propelled or propelled with a spring or rubber band.
SPECIES OF CONCERN: Native Montana species with limited habitats and/or limited 
numbers in the state.  Such species are at risk of becoming threatened.
STREAM MOUTH: The downstream point defined as a straight line running from the 
most downstream extremity on one stream bank to the most downstream extremity on the 
other stream bank or a point defined and marked by FWP (also see Reservoir definition).
THREATENED SPECIES: Species that may become endangered within the foreseeable 
future without conservation measures.
TRIBUTARY: Any watercourse that flows into a body of water, including tributaries to a 
tributary.
VESSEL: Every type of watercraft or boat capable of being used as a means of transportation 
on water except devices that are propelled entirely by kicking fins and the floater sits in the 
water, such as inner tubes (motor vehicle type), float tubes (belly boats), air mattresses and 
sailboards when used without mechanical propulsion by an individual. Contact your local 
warden for more information.
WASTE OF FISH OR GAME: To purposely waste any part of a game fish suitable 
for food by transporting, hanging, or storing the carcass or flesh in a manner that renders it 
unfit for human consumption; or, to abandon or dispose of, in the field or water, the carcass 
or flesh of any game fish suitable for food; or, to use the carcass or flesh of any game fish as 
bait except as authorized in the bait regulations.

Report unlawful fish introductions!      
Help Protect Montana’s Fisheries ...

Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)
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Western Fishing District

The Western Fishing District includes all waters in Montana west of 
the Continental Divide.
Columbia River Basin – Inspection Prior to Launch: All watercraft crossing the 
Continental Divide into the Columbia River Basin are required to be inspected prior 
to launch.
For additional information about fishing in this district, please call the following regional 
headquarters Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.:

Kalispell....................................................................406-752-5501
Missoula...................................................................406-542-5500
FWP Headquarters...................................................406-444-2449

         Hearing Impaired (use Montana Relay).......7-1-1 or 1-800-253-4091
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Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Western District Standard Regulations
Beaver Ponds: Beaver ponds on streams are governed by the same regulations that 
govern the streams.
Boat and Motor Restrictions: All passengers under the age of 12 must wear a personal 
floatation device (PFD) at all times when the boat is in motion if the boat is less than 26 feet long.  
A wearable, U.S. Coast Guard approved PFD must be available for each occupant of any boat.
Closed Waters: Waters operated as fish hatcheries and rearing ponds by FWP and the 
US Fish and Wildlife Service shall be closed to fishing at all times. Waters in which FWP 
operates fish traps and other structures are closed to fishing as posted. Certain water-supply 
lakes, streams and hazardous areas are also closed as posted.
Dam Closures and Use Restrictions: In the interest of public health and safety, 
certain areas above and below most dams are closed to the public. These restrictions include 
areas where no public access is allowed below the ordinary high-water mark. The restricted 
areas are identified and delineated by signs and/or boat restraining systems.

The following dams are closed to all boating, sailing, floating, swimming, fishing or 
other recreational activity as marked by boat restraining systems or as posted to restrict 
access. Other dams not listed here may also be posted for restricted access. For more 
information call the FWP Fishing Access Coordinator at 406-444-7885, or contact the 
Army Corp of Engineers (ACOE) 406‑293‑7751, x255, AVISTA 1-800-227-9187, Bureau 
of Reclamation (BOR) 406-387-5241, CSKT 406-883-2888, Northwestern Energy (NWE) 
888-467-2669 or PacificCorp Energy 503-813-6666.		
Big Fork Dam (PacifiCorp, Lake County) Libby Dam (ACOE, Lincoln County)
Hungry Horse Dam (BOR, Flathead  
   County)

Noxon Rapids Dam (AVISTA , Sanders  
   County)

Kerr Dam (CSKT, Lake County) Thompson Falls Dam (NWE, Sanders 
   County)

Flathead Indian Reservation: A tribal permit is required to fish on waters within the 
boundary of the Reservation. Call tribal headquarters at 406-675-2700 for information.
Irrigation Canals and Ditches: Man-made irrigation canals and ditches are open to 
fishing year round unless stated otherwise in exceptions to standard regulations. The same 
daily and possession limits apply to them as for rivers/streams. Anglers need to be aware 
that the Montana Stream Access Law does not apply to canals and ditches. Under Montana’s 
trespass law, permission to access these waters is implied if the land is not posted, but that 
implied permission may be revoked at any time.  It is best to obtain the explicit permission of 
the landowner. Where ditches cross land belonging to others, rights of the ditch owner versus 
those of the landowner vary. Therefore, always obey any sign clearly marking the ditch as 
closed to public access or fishing.
Reservoirs: Under normal operations, reservoir pool elevation, surface acreage and the 
mouths of the inlet stream(s) are expected to vary throughout the year. An imaginary line 
connecting the reservoir shoreline across the mouth of the stream marks the boundary 
between reservoir and stream/river, and the boundary will move as reservoir levels change. 
Streams are defined by a sloped streambed that results in a defined current flow between 
two discernible stream banks. Stream regulations apply upstream from the mouth of the 
reservoir and often are managed under seasons, limits and special regulations that differ 
from the reservoir regulations.
Sloughs: Sloughs with surface water connecting to a river at any time during the year fall 
under the river regulations for that river, unless listed under the exceptions.  Sloughs with no 
surface water connecting to a river at any time during the year fall under standard lake limits 
unless listed under the exceptions.
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Transporting Live Fish: An import permit is required to bring live fish into Montana. It 
is unlawful to possess or transport live fish away from the body of water in which the fish 
were taken except for transportation of fish for valid (approved) commercial purposes or as 
authorized by FWP.

Methods of Taking Fish
•	 A valid fishing license is required for all types of fishing. 
•	Spears and bows count as lines for purposes of determining line limits.
•	All unattended fishing devices (crayfish traps, minnow traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) 

must  have the angler’s name and phone number or name and ALS# attached. 
Hook and Line Limits
Open Water 

Rivers and Streams
•	1 line with 2 hooks per line, with or without a rod. The rod or line must be attended 

and in the angler’s immediate control.
Lakes and Reservoirs
•	2 lines with 2 hooks per line, with or without a rod. Each line must be attended and in 

the angler’s immediate control. 
Ice Fishing

Lakes and Reservoirs
•	2 lines with 2 hooks per line on all lakes and reservoirs open to fishing. When a line is 

used through the ice, the angler need not be in immediate control but must be in the 
vicinity and in visual contact with the line.

Size of Hole
•	In waters not open to spearing, the maximum size hole that may be used for ice 

fishing is 144 square inches or 12 inches in diameter.
•	There is no size limit for a hole used for fishing with a spear.
Shelters: It is unlawful to use any ice fishing shelter not conforming to the following 
rules:

Definition/use: Any hut or enclosure constructed of any material, except ice or snow, 
for the purpose of ice fishing. 
Identification: Identification must be painted on or otherwise affixed to all unattended 
shelters in legible, 2-inch letters plainly visible at a distance of 100 feet.  Identification 
must include the owner’s name and address, name and phone number, or 9/10-digit 
ALS number. Attended shelters at Brown’s Lake  and Georgetown Lake must also be 
identified.
Inspection: Each closed shelter shall have a door that an officer may readily open 
from the outside for inspection when it is occupied. 
Waste and Rubbish Disposal: Owners and occupants of shelters are required to 
keep their shelters (and the area immediately around them) free from rubbish and 
trash. Anglers must remove waste materials before they leave for the day.
Removal: Daily removal of shelters is required on: 

  Browns Lake (near Ovando)	
  Echo Lake (near Anaconda) 
  Georgetown Lake

Removal After the Season: The owner of an ice fishing shelter shall remove it  from 
the ice before it becomes irretrievable at the end of the season, or within five days 
from receipt of notification from FWP to remove the shelter.

Bow and Arrow: All waters are closed to bow-and-arrow taking of game and non-game 
fish, except as noted under special regulations.  
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Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Crossbows:  Unlawful.   
Nets and Traps: Landing nets may be used for landing hooked fish. See Bait Regulations 
for use of nets to harvest bait fish.
Setlines: Setlines (unattended lines) are not allowed in the Western Fishing District.
Snagging: All waters are closed to snagging of game and non-game fish, except as 
otherwise noted under District Exceptions. 
Spearing: All waters are closed to spearing of game and non-game fish except as otherwise 
noted under District Exceptions. 

Bait Regulations 

•	Game fish, including Yellow Perch, may not be used as bait except as authorized below 
under Dead Bait.

•	Possession of live fish or use of live fish as bait is prohibited in the Western Fishing 
District.

•	It is unlawful to release live bait of any kind into Montana waters; do not empty any live 
bait containers at your fishing site.

•	Non-game fish except Sculpins (genus Cottus), Carp, Goldfish and Rainbow Smelt 
may be taken for use as dead bait in the following manner:
- with hook and line; or
- with seines no larger than 12 feet by 4 feet; or
- with minnow traps (the dimensions shall not exceed 24 inches x 12 inches x 12 inches); or
- with cast nets (maximum 6-foot radius) and dip nets (no larger than 3 feet x 3 feet).

•	See Commercial Fishing License requirements for information on commercial harvest 
permits.

•	All unattended fishing devices (Crayfish traps, Minnow traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) 
must have the angler’s name and phone number or name and ALS# attached.

Dead Bait
•	Non-game fish that are freshly killed or have been preserved by freezing, salting or 

pickling may be used whole or in pieces as bait on all waters not restricted to artificial 
lures only. Sculpins (genus Cottus) may not be used as bait, live or dead, in the Western 
Fishing District.

•	Whole game fish may not be used as bait. 
•	Parts/pieces of Bass, Burbot (Ling), Black Crappie,  Northern Pike,  or Yellow Perch 

may be used as bait if edible portions are not wasted.
•	The eggs of Char, Cisco, Arctic Grayling, Salmon or Trout may be used as bait. Other 

parts/pieces of Salmonids may not be used as bait.
Live Bait

•	Live bait fish may not be imported into Montana without authorization from FWP.
•	Live animals such as meal worms, red worms, night crawlers, leeches, maggots, 

crayfish, reptiles, amphibians and insects may be used as bait on all waters not 
restricted to artificial lures only. 

•	Leeches may only be imported into Montana from FWP-approved leech dealers. 
Anglers who import leeches must have in their possession a bill-of-sale (a receipt) 
from the approved out-of-state leech dealer when fishing with leeches in Montana. A 
list of approved out-of-state leech dealers may be obtained from FWP by calling 406-
452-6181.

•	No fish species may be used as live bait in the Western Fishing District. 
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Possession limit means the number of fish that you may possess at any time in any form: 
fresh, stored in freezers or lockers, salted, smoked, dried, canned or otherwise preserved. It 
is unlawful to preserve fish (salted, smoked, dried, canned, or otherwise preserved) before 
taking them to your permanent residence (the physical abode or structure you maintain as 
your principal, legal residence) unless those fish can be counted. Mobile recreational vehicles, 
travel trailers, tents or storage/freezer lockers do not qualify as permanent residences. No 
person may sell or take for the purpose of sale any fish except as authorized in commercial 
fishing regulations.
Daily limit means the number of fish you may legally take during a calendar day. It is 
unlawful to exceed the standard daily limit unless the regulations for the water body where 
you are fishing specify a different limit. “Legally taken” means fish caught and not immediately 
released alive. Where catch-and-release is allowed, fish immediately released alive are 
considered not taken. A fish when landed and not immediately released becomes part of 
the daily limit of the person originally hooking the fish, even if the fish is donated to another 
person. If you receive fish from another angler, those fish also become part of your daily limit. 
You may possess the daily limit allowed only for the body of water on which you are fishing.
Handling and Transporting Legally Taken Fish
While a person is fishing, or while on the water or on the ice:

•	All fish in possession must be visibly identifiable to species.
•	All fish in possession must be whole with head, skin, fins and tail attached. Gills and 

entrails may be removed (see Disposal of Dead Fish and Fish Entrails on page 10).
Once off the water or ice, fish may be dressed and filleted for transport to your permanent 
residence, unless size limits apply, under the following conditions: 

•	All fish can be counted and identified. Two fillets will be counted as one fish. If the catch 
is frozen prior to transport, each fish or fillet must be packaged so it can be counted.

•	Salmonids (Trout, Salmon, Arctic Grayling, Char and Whitefish): the entire skin must 
be attached to the fillet for identification.

 General Fishing Seasons and Hours
  Fishing Hours

•	Fishing is allowed at all hours during open fishing seasons unless otherwise specified 
in District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.

  Fishing Season: Rivers and Streams 
•	Open third Saturday in May through November 30 unless otherwise specified in 

District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.
  Fishing Season: Lakes and Reservoirs 

•	Open entire year unless otherwise specified in District Exceptions to Standard 
Regulations.
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Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Western District Standard Daily and Possession Limits
Each angler may take all of the limits listed in the chart, unless otherwise noted in the Western 
District Exceptions. For species not listed, there are no limits on the number of fish that may be 
taken or possessed. Check for exceptions to the standard regulations in the following pages.
Anglers who move from one fishing water to another may possess the limit of fish allowed 
only for the water on which they are currently fishing.

       Species Daily and Possession Limits

T
R
O
U
T

Brook trout  20 daily and in possession.
Bull Trout All waters are closed to angling for Bull Trout and all fish 

must be immediately released unless otherwise authorized  
in the Western District Exceptions. See Special License  
Requirements on page 5.  Note: Federal rules  
prohibit the attempted take of Bull Trout unless specifically  
authorized by state or tribal regulation. 

Combined trout
includes Brown Trout, 
Rainbow Trout, Golden 
Tr o u t  a n d  A r c t i c 
Grayling

Lakes/Reservoirs: 5 daily and 10 in possession,
 only 1 over 22 inches daily and in possession.
Rivers/Streams: 5 daily and in possession, 
only 1 over 14 inches.

Cutthroat Trout
(see page ii for id key)

Lakes/Reservoirs: 3 daily and in possession, no size limit.
Rivers/Streams: 3 daily and in possession, none over 12 
inches. 

Lake Trout 20 daily and 40 in possession. 

Bass 5 daily and in possession, no size limit.
Third Saturday in May through June 30:1 daily 
 and in possession, must be over 22 inches. 

Burbot (ling) 2 daily and in possession.

Kokanee Salmon 20 daily and 40 in possession.

Northern Pike 15 daily and in possession. 

Sturgeon 0 - All waters are closed to angling for Sturgeon. 
Captured Sturgeon must be released immediately. 

Whitefish 20 daily and 40 in possession.

2019 GENERAL FISHING SEASON

Western 
District

Rivers and Streams Lakes and 
Reservoirs

Open third Saturday in May through November 
30, unless otherwise specified in Exceptions to 
Standard Regulations.

 Open all year

If you don’t find the water you are looking for listed in the district exceptions, use 
the standard regulations for the district you are fishing in.
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Western District Exceptions To Standard Regulations

Check the following list of waters for the body of water you intend to fish in the Western District. 
If the body of water is not found in the listing of Exceptions, all of the Western District standard 
seasons, daily/possession limits, and standard regulations apply. Standard regulations apply 
for species not listed in the Exceptions. 

ABBOT LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in  possession from the third Saturday in May through June 

30, must be over 22 inches. 5 daily and in possesssion from July 1 to the third 
Saturday in May, only 1 over 12 inches.

ALICE CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
ANACONDA SETTLING POND SYSTEM  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 See Warm Springs Wildlife Management Area.
ASHLEY LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Entire lake
•	 Salmon: 35 daily and 70 in possession.

Inlet tributaries
•	 Closed entire year.

BEAR CREEK (tributary to Middle Fork Flathead River)  ––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Angling is closed within 150-yard radius of the stream mouth June 1 through 

September 30.
BEAVER CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
BELMONT CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  – ––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20) within 100-yard radius of mouth.

BIG CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (tributary to North Fork Flathead River)  ––––– 
•	 Closed entire year.

Mouth of Big Creek
•	 Angling is closed within 150-yard radius of the stream mouth June 1 through 

September 30 unless posted at a greater distance.

If you don’t find the water you are looking for, use 
the Standard  Daily & Possession Lim

its on p 28.
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 Turn In Poachers.  Enough is Enough!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

BITTERROOT LAKE (see Little Bitterroot Lake)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
BITTERROOT RIVER (note: river flows south to north)  –––––––––––––––––––

Fishing Regulations  	  
The ENTIRE Bitterroot River to include the East Fork (downstream from Star 
Falls) and the West Fork (downstream from Painted Rocks Dam) to the mouth of 
the river near Missoula. During the Extended Season (December 1 to the third 
Saturday in May)
•	 Extended season for Northern Pike and Whitefish and catch-and-release for all 

trout open December 1 to third Saturday in May. 
•	 Artificial lures (see definition on page 20), maggots and/or aquatic insects only. All 

other live/dead bait prohibited.
West Fork Bitterroot River downstream from Painted Rocks Dam.  During 
General Season (third Saturday in May through November 30). 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout and Rainbow Trout.
•	 Brown Trout: 3 daily and in possession.

East Fork Bitterroot River downstream from Star Falls.  During General Season 
(third Saturday in May through November 30). 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout and Rainbow Trout.
•	 Brown Trout: 3 daily and in possession.

Bitterroot River from confluence of East and West Forks to the north boundary 
of the Woodside Bridge FAS. During General Season (third Saturday in May 
through November 30).
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 rainbow or Brown Trout daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 

inches.
North Boundary of Woodside Bridge FAS to Florence Bridge. During General 
Season (third Saturday in May through November 30).
•	 Catch-and-release for all Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 	Live/dead bait prohibited.

Florence Bridge to mouth of Bitterroot River. During General Season (third 
Saturday in May through November 30).
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 rainbow or Brown Trout daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 

inches.
Ditches, canals and sloughs between US 93 and east side highway, and between 
Hamilton and the Florence Bridge 
•	 Regulations are the same as the adjacent river section.

Recreation Rules (see http://fwp.mt.gov/recreation/permits/floating/ and 
signs on site for more information)   
West Fork Bitterroot River and upper Bitterroot River
No commercial floating or fishing June 1 to September 15 from:
•	 Painted Rocks Dam to Applebury Forest Service Site on Fridays.
•	 Applebury Forest Service Site to Trapper Creek Job Corps site on Saturdays.
•	 Trapper Creek Job Corp site on to Hannon Memorial FAS on Sundays.
•	 Hannon Memorial FAS to Wally Crawford FAS on Mondays.
No floating of any kind July 1 to September 15 from:
•	 Painted Rocks Dam to Applebury Forest Service Site on Fridays.
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If you don’t find the water you are looking for, use 
the Standard Daily & Possession Lim

its on p 28.
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BLACKFOOT RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Mainstem and all tributaries except the Clearwater River. During the General 
Season (third Saturday in May through Nov 30)
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches 

long, any size Brown Trout.  (See Clearwater River Drainage for exception.)
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20) within 100-yard radius of the mouths of 

Belmont Creek, Copper Creek, Gold Creek, Monture Creek and North Fork Blackfoot River.
Mainstem only during the Extended Season (Dec 1 to the third Saturday in May
•	 Extended season for Mountain Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 

1 to third Saturday in May.  Tributaries are closed to fishing during the extended season.
•	 Artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or maggots only. 
•	 All other live/dead bait prohibited.

Mainstem from Landers Fork mouth downstream to the confluence with the 
Clark Fork River
•	 Catch-and-release for Brook Trout. (This regulation is a result of Bull Trout being 

misidentified and harvested as Brook Trout. Brook Trout are very rare in this 
section of river whereas Bull Trout are common.)

BLANCHARD LAKE (near Whitefish)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Northern Pike: 5 daily and in possession, 4 less than 28 inches and 1 greater than 

36 inches.
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession, must be over 22 inches.

BOOTJACK LAKE (near Whitefish)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open April 1 through November 30.
•	 Combined trout: 1 daily and in possession, 22-inch minimum.
•	 Artificial lures (see definition on page 20) only.

BUFFALOHEAD POND  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 5 

trout daily, 10 in possession.
BULL LAKE  (near Troy)––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
CABINET GORGE RESERVOIR  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Bass: 5 daily and in possession except from June 15 through July 15 only 1 daily 
and in possession, must be over 22-inches.

CEDAR CREEK (tributary to Clark Fork River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within a 100-yard radius of 

the mouth.
CHAMBERLAIN CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
CHURCH SLOUGH  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open entire year.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 22 inches.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession from the third Saturday in May through June 30, 

must be over 22 inches. 5 daily and in possession from July 1 to the third Saturday 
in May, only 1 over 12 inches.

•	 Hook and Line: 2 rods and/or lines with up to 2 hooks per line all year.
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If you don’t find the water you are looking for, use 
the Standard Daily & Possession Lim

its on p 28.
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                   If you see this icon, turn to page 16 for information on Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines.

CIBID LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 4 under 12 inches and only 1 over 22 inches daily and in 

possession.
CLARK FORK RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Upstream from Perkins Lane Bridge, near Warm Springs
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Closed to fishing from boats/vessels.

Perkins Lane Bridge, near Warm Springs, to mouth of the Flathead River
During the General Season (third Saturday in May through Nov 30):
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Northern Pike: No Limit.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 inches long,
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20) within a 100-yard radius of the 

mouths of Rattlesnake Creek, Petty Creek, Fish Creek, Cedar Creek, Dry Creek, 
Trout Creek and St. Regis River. 

During the Extended Season (Dec 1 to the third Saturday in May):
•	 Extended season for Northern Pike and Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout 

open December 1 to third Saturday in May.
•	 Artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or maggots only. 
•	 All other live/dead bait prohibited.

Mouth of Flathead River to mouth of Thompson River
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

Mouth of Thompson River to Idaho Border
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and 10 in possession, only 1 over 22 inches.
•	 Cutthroat Trout: 3 daily and in possession, no size limit.
•	 Hook and Line: 2 lines with up to 2 hooks per line all year.

CLEARWATER RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES (lakes not included, see exceptions 
for individual lakes elsewhere)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Clearwater River upstream from the Salmon Lake inlet and all tributaries of the 
Clearwater River except the West Fork and Marshall Creek
•	 Closed to fishing from Rainey Lake fish barrier downstream for 100 yards.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit, open to spearing.
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon from Lake Alva outlet to Lake Inez inlet and 

from Lake Inez outlet to Seeley Lake inlet from September 15 through November 
30.  Closed to snagging from Seeley Lake outlet to Salmon Lake inlet.

NOTE: Clearwater River sections between lakes are closed to fishing from Dec. 1 until the 
third Saturday in May. This includes the Clearwater River section from outlet of Seeley 
Lake at Riverview Drive Bridge (“Dogtown”) downstream to inlet of Salmon Lake.

Clearwater River from Salmon Lake outlet to mouth of the Clearwater River, 
including Blanchard Lake and Elbow Lake
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout Limit: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 

inches.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit, open to spearing.



Visit http://fwp.mt.gov   35

      W
estern D

istrict
  Waterbody/Section	             Exceptions to Standard Regulations

If you don’t find the water you are looking for, use 
the Standard Daily & Possession Lim

its on p 28.

   C
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iver 

AIS Status: Curlyleaf pondweed and flowering rush

COAL CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (tributary to North Fork Flathead River)  ––– 
•	 Closed entire year.

COPPER CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within a 100-yard radius of 

the mouth.
COTTONWOOD CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
DALY CREEK (tributary to Skalkaho Creek)  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

AIS
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                   If you see this icon, turn to page 16 for information on Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines.

DRY BRIDGE POND  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age and younger may take 

1 trout daily and in possession.
DRY CREEK (tributary to Clark Fork River)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20) within 100-yard radius of the mouth.
DUNHAM CREEK (tributary to Monture Creek, Blackfoot drainage)  ––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

EAST FORK BITTERROOT RIVER DOWNSTREAM FROM STAR FALLS  – ––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout and Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Brown Trout: 3  daily and in possession.
•	 Extended season for Northern Pike and Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout 

open December 1 to third Saturday in May with aquatic insects, maggots and/or 
artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

ECHO LAKE (near Anaconda)  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open third Saturday in May through March 31.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, includes Brook Trout.

ECHO LAKE (near Bigfork)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Bass: Third Saturday in May through June 30, 1 daily and in possession, must be 

over 22 inches.  From July 1 to third Saturday in May, 5 daily and in possession, 
only 1 over 12 inches. 

•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only, daily limit of 2.
ELK CREEK (tributary to Swan River)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Closed entire year.
EMILY SPRINGS (tributary to Georgetown Lake)  –––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Closed entire year.
EUREKA POND  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age and younger may take 
1 trout daily and in possession.

FENNON SLOUGH  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 22 inches.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession from the third Saturday in May to June 30, must be 

over 22 inches. 5 daily and in possession from July 1 to the third Saturday in May, 
only 1 over 12 inches.

•	 Hook and Line: 2 rods and/or lines with up to 2 hooks per line all year.
FISH CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (Clark Fork River drainage)  –––––––––––––– 

Entire drainage
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within a 100-yard radius of 

the mouth.
Mainstem downstream of the confluence of the South and West forks
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
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FISHTRAP CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (Thompson River drainage)  –––––––– 
Excluding Fish Trap Lake
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, none over 10 inches.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

FLATHEAD LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Flathead Lake north of Flathead Indian Reservation boundary
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Lake Trout: 100 daily and in possession, only 1 over 36 inches, and all fish 30 to 36 

inches must be released.
•	 Lake Whitefish: 100 daily and in possession.
•	 Yellow Perch: No limit, only 10 daily over 10 inches. No possession limit.
•	 NOTE: A Flathead Indian Reservation Tribal Permit is required to fish on the southern 

portion of the lake. Check Tribal Fishing regulations for the south portion of the lake.
FLATHEAD RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Flathead Indian Reservation boundary to mouth
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Bass: Open entire year, 5 daily and in possession, no size limit.

Confluence of the North and Middle forks (near Blankenship Bridge) downstream 
to Flathead Lake
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Northern Pike: extended season for Northern Pike from December 1 through 

February 28, artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.
•	 Whitefish: 100 daily and in possession.
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession from third Saturday in May through June 30, must 

be over 22 inches. 5 daily and in possession from July1 to the third Saturday in 
May, only 1 over 12 inches.

•	 Extended season for Whitefish and Lake Trout, and catch-and-release for other 
game fish, except Northern Pike, from December 1 through the third Saturday in 
May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or maggots only. From the 
mouth of the Stillwater River downstream to Flathead Lake, no maggots and no 
scented artificial lures (infused, saturated or applied).

FLATHEAD RIVER SLOUGHS  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Brenneman, Church, Egan, Fennon, Half Moon, McWennegar, Mill,  and Rose 
Creek
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 22 inches.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession from third Saturday in May through June 30, must 

be over 22 inches. 5 daily and in possession from July 1 to the third Saturday in 
May, only 1 over 12 inches.

•	 Hook and Line: 2 rods and/or lines with up to 2 hooks per line all year.
FLINT CREEK  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Downstream from Georgetown Lake
•	 Extended season for Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 1 to third 

Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or maggots only.
FRED BURR LAKE (Granite County)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Philipsburg water supply
•	 Closed entire year.



38   

  
 W

es
te

rn
 D

is
tr

ic
t   Waterbody/Section	             Exceptions to Standard Regulations

If 
yo

u 
do

n’
t fi

nd
 th

e w
at

er
 yo

u 
ar

e l
oo

kin
g 

fo
r, 

us
e 

th
e S

ta
nd

ar
d 

Da
ily

 &
 P

os
se

ss
io

n 
Li

m
its

 o
n 

p 
28

.

                
                   If you see this icon, turn to page 16 for information on Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines.

FRENCHTOWN POND  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for bass.

GEORGETOWN LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open third Saturday in May through March 31, except for the South and East 

shoreline area which is only open July 1 through March 31. South and East 
shoreline areas described as follows: all waters from the shore or within 100 yards 
of shore in the area extending from a point 200 yards west of Denton’s Point 
Marina (along the shore, including all of Stuart Mill Bay) to a point 200 yards north 
from the mouth of North Fork Flint Creek.

•	 Combined trout, includes Brook Trout: 5 daily and in possession, of which only 1 
may be a  Brook Trout. Only Brook Trout over 16 inches can be kept.

•	 Kokanee Salmon: no daily or possession limit.
Tributaries to Georgetown Lake (Hardtla, North Fork Flint, and Stuart Mill creeks)
•	 Open July 1 through November 30.
•	 Emily Springs: Closed entire year.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brook Trout.

GERMAN GULCH  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Mainstem and tributaries
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout

GOAT CREEK (tributary to Swan River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year.

GOLD CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within 100-yard radius of 

the mouth.
GRANITE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (Middle Fork Flathead River drainage)  –––– 

•	 Closed entire year.
GRAVE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (near Eureka including Clarence Creek 
and Blue Sky Creek)  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Upstream of Highway 93 bridge
•	 Open third Saturday in May through August 15.

Downstream of Highway 93 to mouth
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon from September 15 through November 30.
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 20 daily and 40 in possession.

HANDKERCHIEF LAKE ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch and release for Arctic Grayling.

HARDTLA CREEK (tributary to Georgetown Lake)  ––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open July 1 through November 30.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brook Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.

HEIRONYMOUS POND  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, includes Cutthroat Trout and Brook Trout.

HERRIG CREEK (tributary to Little Bitterroot Lake)  –––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year.
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HOLLAND CREEK  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Mouth on Holland Lake upstream to the Falls
•	 Closed entire year.

HORSESHOE LAKE  (near Ferndale)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for bass.

HORSESHOE LAKE (Thompson Chain of Lakes)  – –––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Tiger Muskie : 1 daily and in possession, must be over 40 inches.

HUNGRY HORSE RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Dam to Crossover Boat Ramp
•	 Bull Trout: 1 daily and in possession from the third Saturday in May through August 

15, maximum of 2 fish per license year. Catch-and-release the rest of the year with 
a Hungry Horse/South Fork Flathead permit validation on fishing license. A Hungry 
Horse/South Fork Flathead Bull Trout Catch Card must be in possession when 
fishing for Bull Trout. See Special Licenses requirements for application information. 
All Bull Trout must be released immediately or killed and counted as your limit when 
harvest is allowed. It is unlawful to possess a live Bull Trout for any reason.

HUNGRY HORSE RESERVOIR TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 See South Fork Flathead River Drainage regulations.
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JOB CORPS PONDS (Deer Lodge County)––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––  
       - see Warm Springs WMA map on page 49 

•	 Open August 15 through September 30.
•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Motorized boats/vessels prohibited.

KEELER CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open third Saturday in May through August 15.

KOOTENAI RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 As per the District Standard Regulations, the Kootenai River is closed to angling for 

Bull Trout; any Bull Trout caught must be immediately released.
Highway 37 Bridge, near Fisher River, to Idaho Border
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Closed to angling June 1 through September 30 within 150-yards upstream 

and downstream of the Quartz Creek stream mouth unless posted at a greater 
distance.

•	 Catch-and-release for Burbot.
•	 Combined trout: 4 daily and in possession, includes 3 under 13 inches and only 1 

over 18 inches.
Libby Dam to Highway 37 Bridge, near Fisher River
•	 Open June 1 through February 28.
•	 Combined trout: 1 daily and in possession, 28 inch minimum length.
•	 Brown Trout: All Brown Trout must be killed immediatley, kept, and the entire fish 

turned into FWP.  Anglers who catch Brown Trout in the Kootenai River are required 
to report the catch to FWP within 24 hours (406-752-5501.) Anglers must provide 
the angler’s full name, ALS Number, phone number, date and time of capture, and 
location on the river.  Anglers are required to turn in the whole Brown Trout to a 
FWP office during regular business hours and within 10 days of capture.

Libby Dam to Kootenai Falls
•	 Brown Trout: All Brown Trout must be killed immediately, kept, and the entire fish 

turned into FWP.  Anglers who catch Brown Trout in the Kootenai River are required 
to report the catch to FWP within 24 hours (406-752-5501.) Anglers must provide 
the angler’s full name, ALS number, phone number, date and time of capture, and 
location on the river.  Anglers are required to turn in the whole Brown Trout to a 
FWP office during regular business hours and within 10 days of capture. 

Kootenai Falls to Idaho Border
•	 Brown Trout: no limit. 

Kootenai Falls to 0.8 miles downstream of Swinging Bridge
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon from September 15 through November 30.

LAKE ALVA  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.

LAKE CREEK (near Troy)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing all year, except 150 yards upstream of Keeler Creek to Chase 

Cutoff  Bridge: Closed to angling from July 15 through October 31.
•	 Brown Trout: no limit.
•	 Snagging: Downstream of Troy Dam open for Kokanee Salmon from September 15 

through November 30.
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LAKE INEZ  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.

LAKE KOOCANUSA  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Rainbow Trout: Adipose clipped fish less than 22 inches must be released (see 

location of adipose fin on the Rainbow Trout color plate at the front cover of this 
booklet).

•	 Bull Trout: 1 fish per license year from June 1 through February 28. Catch-and-
release the rest of the year (all Bull Trout must be released immediately).  A 
Lake Koocanusa Bull Trout Catch Card must be in possession when fishing for 
Bull Trout.  See Special Licenses requirements for application information.   It is 
unlawful to possess a live Bull Trout for any reason.

•	 Kokanee Salmon: 50 daily and 100 in possession.
LAKE MARY RONAN  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession from third Saturday in May through June 30, only 1 

over 22 inches; 5 daily and in possession from July 1 to the third Saturday in May, 
only 1 over 12 inches.

•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.

LANDERS FORK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
LIBBY POND  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger who may 
take 1 trout daily and in possession.

LION CREEK (tributary to Swan River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year.

Mouth of Lion Creek
•	 Closed to angling June 1 through September 30 within a 300-yard radius of the 

stream mouth, unless posted at a greater distance.
LITTLE BITTERROOT LAKE aka Bitterroot Lake  –––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Kokanee Salmon: 20 daily and 40 in possession, no more than 2 daily and 4 in 
possession over 12 inches.

•	 Bass: No daily or possession limit for entire year.
LITTLE BLACKFOOT RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Mainstem River
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Extended Whitefish season and catch-and-release for trout open December 1 

to third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots only.

Tributaries
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

LODGEPOLE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES  
    (Middle Fork Flathead River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Closed entire year.
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LONG CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (Middle Fork Flathead River drainage)  – –– 
•	 Closed entire year.

LOON LAKE (near Ferndale)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 4 less than 12 inches and only 1 over 22 inches daily and in 

possession.
LOST LAKE (Eureka)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open April 1 through November 30.
•	 Combined trout: 1 daily and in possession, 22-inch minimum.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

LOWER STILLWATER LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Yellow Perch: No limit, only 10 daily over 10 inches. No possession limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.

LOWER THOMPSON LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.

MARSHALL CREEK (tributary to West Fork Clearwater River)  ––––––––––––– 
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

McCORMICK POND aka Silver’s Lagoon (Missoula)  ––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger.
•	 Open April 1 through October 30.
•	 Combined trout, including cutthroat trout: 1 fish daily and in possession.

MEDICINE LAKE AND TRIBUTARIES (near Philipsburg)  –––––––––––––––––– 
Lake
•	 Open July 1 through April 30.

Tributaries to lake
•	 Open July 1 through November 30.

MIDDLE FORK FLATHEAD RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Non-wilderness portion
NOTE: Montana/Glacier National Park boundary is the ordinary high water mark on 

the park side of the river.
•	 Closed to angling June 1 through September 30 within a 150-yard radius of the 

Bear Creek stream mouth.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.
•	 Extended Whitefish season and catch-and release for trout open December 1 to third 

Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or maggots only.
MIDDLE THOMPSON LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.

MILL CREEK (tributary to Clark Fork River)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Downstream from the Stewart Street Bridge in Opportunity
•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
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MONTURE CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within 100-yard radius of 

the mouth.
MORRELL CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (tributary to Clearwater River)  ––––––– 

Entire drainage
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Mainstem from Cottonwood Lakes Road (USFS Rd 477) bridge upstream to 
Pyramid Pass Road (USFS Rd 4381) bridge
•	 Closed entire year.

MORRISON CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES 
     (Middle Fork Flathead River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Closed entire year.
NEVADA CREEK (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
NINEPIPES POND  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 5 
trout daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 inches. A Flathead Indian Tribal Permit 
is required to fish on Ninepipes Pond.

NORTH FORK BLACKFOOT RIVER (tributary to Blackfoot River)  –––––––––– 
Downstream from the North Fork Falls
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within a 100-yard radius of 

the mouth.
From North Fork Falls dowmstream to Highway 200 bridge
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Single point barbless hook lures only.

Entire river
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
NORTH FORK FLATHEAD RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

NOTE: Montana/Glacier National Park boundary is the middle of the river.
•	 Closed to angling June 1 through September 30 within a 150-yard radius of the Big 

Creek stream mouth unless posted at a greater distance.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.
•	 Extended season for whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 

1 to third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots only.

NORTH FORK FLINT CREEK (tributary to Georgetown Lake)  –––––––––––––– 
•	 Open July 1 through November 30.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brook Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.
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NOXON RAPIDS RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Birdland Bay Bridge to Noxon Rapids Dam
•	 Bass: 5 daily and in possession except from June 15 through July 15 only 1 daily 

and in possession, 22-inch minimum.
PETERSON LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Bass: 1 daily and in possession from the third Saturday in May through June 30, 
must be over 22 inches. 5 daily and in possession from July 1 to the third Saturday 
in May, only 1 over 12 inches.

PETTY CREEK (tributary to Clark Fork River)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20) within 100-yard radius of the mouth.

PINE GROVE POND  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 1 

trout daily and in possession.
PLACID CREEK (tributary to Placid Lake)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Kokanee Salmon: 5 daily and 10 in possession.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon October 15 through December 31; 20 daily 

and 40 in possession.
PLACID LAKE  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for bass.
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon October 15 through December 31; 20 daily 

and 40 in possession.
QUARTZ CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES 
    (Kootenai River drainage including West Fork) –––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open third Saturday in May through August 15.
RACETRACK POND  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 3 
trout daily and in possession.

RATTLESNAKE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (near Missoula)  –––––––––––––– 
Entire river
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), including within 100-yard radius of 

mouth.
Downstream from the mouth of Beeskove Creek
•	 Closed to fishing from the mouth of Beeskove Creek to 100 yards downstream of 

Mountain Water Company Dam.
ROCK CREEK (near Missoula)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

From the confluence of the East and West forks, near Phillipsburg, to the mouth
•	 Combined trout: 3 Brown Trout daily and in possession. Catch-and-release for 

Rainbow Trout and Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), except anglers 14 years of age or 

younger may use bait during the general season.
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•	 Closed to fishing from boats/vessels July 1 through November 30.
•	 Extended season for Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 

1 to third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots only.

SALMON LAKE –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.

SEELEY LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Bass: no daily or possession limit for entire year.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon October 15 through December 31; 20 daily 

and 40 in possession.

SHADY LANE POND  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 1 

trout daily and in possession.
SILVER LAKE (near Anaconda)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Closed to fishing July 1 through September 30 within a 50 yard radius of the mouth 
of Storm Lake Creek.

SILVERBOW CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Mainstem and Tributaries
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20) in Silver Bow Creek and German 

Gulch.
•	 Blacktail Creek is open all year from its mouth near Montana Street in Butte, 

upstream to Four Mile Road crossing.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout

SILVER’S LAGOON aka McCormick Pond (Missoula)  –––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger.
•	 Open April 1 through October 30. 
•	 Combined trout, including cutthroat trout: 1 fish daily and in possession.

SKALKAHO CREEK (tributary to Bitterroot River)  ––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout, includes Daly Creek.

SKYLINE POND (in Butte)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger. One rod per child. 1 trout 

daily and in possession.
SMITH LAKE  (near Kalispell)––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Yellow Perch: No limit, only 10 daily over 10 inches. No possession limit.
•	 Northern Pike: 50 daily and 100 in possession
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SOUTH FORK FLATHEAD RIVER  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Mainstem upstream from Hungry Horse Reservoir (from Crossover Boat Ramp 
south and upstream to the confluence of Youngs and Danaher creeks)
•	 Bull Trout: catch-and-release from the third Saturday in May through July 31. A 

Hungry Horse/South Fork Flathead Bull Trout Catch Card must be in possession 
when fishing for Bull Trout. See Special License requirements for application 
information. All Bull Trout must be released immediately. It is unlawful to possess a 
live Bull Trout for any reason.

Meadow Creek Bridge to Spotted Bear foot bridge and tributaries
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Hungry Horse Dam downstream to Devil’s Elbow and tributaries
•	 Closed entire year.

Devil’s Elbow downstream to mouth and tributaries
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Extended season for Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 

1 to third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots only.

SQUEEZER CREEK (tributary to Swan River)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year.

ST REGIS RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 Rainbow Trout over 14 inches, 

any size Brown Trout.
•	 Artificial lures (see definition on page 20) only within 100-yard radius of the mouth.

STILLWATER RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES (Flathead River drainage)  ––––––––– 
•	 Open entire year from mouth of Sunday Creek to lower Stillwater Lake.

STORM LAKE CREEK (tributary to Silver Lake near Anaconda)  –––––––––––– 
•	 Closed to fishing July 1 through September 30 from the Silver Lake diversion 

structure located near the stream mouth down to where the stream enters Silver 
Lake.

STUART MILL CREEK (tributary to Georgetown Lake)  – –––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open July 1 through November 30.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brook Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.

SWAN LAKE  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Bull Trout: Catch-and-release only.  All Bull Trout must be released immediately. It 

is unlawful to possess a live Bull Trout for any reason.
•	 Walleye: All Walleye caught must be killed immediately, kept, and the entire fish 

turned in to FWP.  Anglers who catch Walleye in Swan Lake and the Swan River 
are required to report the catch to FWP within 24 hours (406-752-5501). Anglers 
must provide the angler’s full name, ALS Number, phone number, date and time 
of capture, and location on lake or river. Anglers are required to turn in the whole 
walleye to a FWP office during regular business hours and within 10 days of 
capture. 
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SWAN RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed to angling June 1 through September 30 within a 300-yard radius of the 

Woodward Creek and Lion Creek stream mouths, unless posted at a greater 
distance.

•	 Walleye: All walleye caught must be killed immediately, kept and the entire fish 
turned in to FWP.  Anglers who catch walleye in Swan Lake and the Swan River 
are required to report the catch to FWP within 24 hours (406-752-5501). Anglers 
must provide the angler’s full name, ALS Number, phone number, date and time 
of capture, and location on lake or river. Anglers are required to turn in the whole 
walleye to a FWP office within 10 days of capture during regular business hours.

Piper Creek Bridge downstream to Swan Lake
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout and Rainbow Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Swan Lake outlet downstream to the Highway 35 Bridge
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

TALLY LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Lake Trout: 1 daily and in possession, must be over 42 inches.

THOMPSON RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire river
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout and Rainbow Trout.
•	 Brown Trout: 3 daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), except anglers 14 years of age or 

younger may use bait.
Upstream from mouth of Little Thompson River
•	 Closed to fishing December 1 to third Saturday in May.

Mouth of Little Thompson River to the confluence with the Clark Fork River
•	 Extended season for whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 

1 to third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots only.

TOBACCO RIVER  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon September 15 through November 30
•	 Kokanee Salmon: 20 daily and 40 in possession.

TRAIL CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (Yakinikak, N. Fork Flathead River drainage)  –– 
•	 Closed entire year downstream from mouth of Thoma Creek.

TROUT CREEK (tributary to Clark Fork River)  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Artifical lures only within 100-yard radius of the mouth.

TROY POND  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 1 

trout daily and in possession.
UPPER STILLWATER LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.
UPPER THOMPSON LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Kokanee Salmon: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.
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UPSATA LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for bass.
•	 Northern Pike: no limit.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike.

WARM SPRINGS CREEK (near Anaconda)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Upstream of Myers Dam
•	 Open from the third Saturday in May through November 30.

Myers Dam to Warm Spring Wildlife Management Area (WMA)
•	 Open from the third Saturday in May through November 30 except for the section 

from Myers Dam downstream 50 yards which is closed to fishing July 1 through 
September 30.

•	 Extended season: catch-and-release for trout December 1 to third Saturday in May 
with artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Warm Springs Wildlife Management Area (WMA)
•	 Open entire year on Warm Springs Wildlife Management Area (WMA). See Warm 

Springs WMA for additional regulations.
WARM SPRINGS WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA (WMA)  –––––––––––––––– 

All waters
•	 All ponds and canals open August 15 through September 30 including Job Corps 

Ponds and Ducks Unlimited Ponds.
•	 Catch-and-release only.  See Kid’s Pond and Gravel Pit Pond for exceptions.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).  See Kid’s Pond and Gravel Pit 

Pond for exceptions.
•	 Motorized boats/vessels prohibited.

JOB CORPS PONDS (Deer Lodge County)	  
•	 Open August 15 through September 30.
•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Motorized boats/vessels prohibited.

Kids pond at WSWMA headquarters
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Combined trout: 2 daily and in possession.
•	 Bait may be used.
•	 Open to fishing by anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

Gravel Pit Pond adjacent to Highway 48
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Combined trout: 2 daily and in possession.
•	 Bait may be used.

Hog Hole
•	 Open May 25 through September 30.  No trespassing on islands.

Pond 3
•	 Open May 25 through November 30 to fishing from non-motorized vessels.

Mill-Willow Bypass, Warm Springs Creek and Clark Fork River
•	 Open entire year.
•	 Closed to fishing from boats/vessels.
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WEST FORK BITTERROOT RIVER DOWNSTREAM OF PAINTED ROCKS DAM 
Fishing Regulations   	  

•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout and Rainbow Trout.
•	 Brown Trout: 3 daily and in possession.
•	 Extended season for Northern Pike and Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout 

from December 1 to third Saturday in May with aquatic insects, maggots and/or 
artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Recreation Rules (see http://fwp.mt.gov/recreation/permits/floating/ and 
signs on site for more information)   
West Fork Bitterroot River and upper Bitterroot River (see map page 31)
No commercial floating or fishing June 1 to September 15 from:
•	 Painted Rocks Dam to Applebury Forest Service Site on Fridays.
•	 Applebury Forest Service Site to Trapper Creek Job Corps site on Saturdays.
•	 Trapper Creek Job Corp site on to Hannon Memorial FAS on Sundays.
•	 Hannon Memorial FAS to Wally Crawford FAS on Mondays.
No floating of any kind July 1 to September 15 from:
•	 Painted Rocks Dam to Applebury Forest Service Site on Fridays.

WEST FORK CLEARWATER RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––– 
Entire drainage
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

West Fork Clearwater River upstream of confluence with Marshall Creek
•	 Closed entire year.

WEST FORK THOMPSON RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, none over 10 inches.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

WHALE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (North Fork Flathead River drainage)  ––– 
•	 Closed entire year downstream from Whale Creek Falls.

WHITEFISH LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Lake Trout: 20 daily and in possession, only 1 over 36 inches. All fish 30 to 36 

inches must be released.
WHITEFISH RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open entire year from Whitefish Lake to State Highway 40 Bridge.
WILLOW CREEK (near Warm Springs)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

From Stewart Street Bridge to the Warm Springs WMA
•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

WOODWARD CREEK  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed to angling within a 150-yard radius of the stream mouth June 1 through 

September 30, unless posted at a greater distance.

                
                   If you see this icon, turn to page 16 for information on Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines.
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The Central Fishing District includes all waters in Montana east of the 
Continental Divide, (including the Belly and St Mary’s River drainages) 
and west of the following described boundary: Interstate 15 from the Montana-
Canada border south to its junction with Hwy 2 at Shelby, then east on Hwy 2 to Chester, 
then south on Hwy 223 to State Route 80 at Fort Benton, then southeasterly along State 
Route 80 to its junction with State Route 81, then easterly on State Route 81 to its junction 
with U.S. Hwy 191, then northeasterly along U.S. Hwy 191 to its junction with State Route 
19, then south on State Route 19 to its junction with U.S. Hwy 87 at Grassrange, then south 
on U.S. Hwy 87 to its junction with U.S. Hwy 12 at Roundup, then west on U.S. Hwy 12 to 
its junction with State Route 3 at Lavina, then south on State Route 3 to its junction with 
Interstate 90 at Billings, then easterly and southerly on Interstate 90 to the first crossing of 
the Little Bighorn River, then southerly along the west bank of the Little Bighorn River to the 
Montana-Wyoming border.

Note: Roadways that are used as boundaries between the Central and Eastern Fishing 
Districts are interpreted to be in the Central Fishing District.

For additional information regarding the boundaries in this fishing district, please call the 
following regional headquarters Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.:

Billings......................................................................406-247-2940
Bozeman...................................................................406-994-4042
Butte Area Office......................................................406-494-1953
Great Falls................................................................406-454-5840
Helena Area Office...................................................406-495-3260
Lewistown Area Office............................................406-538-4658
FWP Headquarters...................................................406-444-2449

         Hearing Impaired (use Montana Relay)........7-1-1 or 1-800-253-4091

Central Fishing District 
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  Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Central District Standard Regulations
Beaver Ponds: Beaver ponds on streams are governed by the same regulations that 
govern the streams.
Boat and Motor Restrictions: A complete, updated, copy of Montana Boating Laws 
can be obtained from any FWP office or FWP license providers. All passengers under the age of 
12 must wear a PFD at all times when the boat is in motion if the boat is less than 26 feet long. 
A wearable, U.S. Coast Guard approved PFD must be available for each occupant of any boat. 
Closed Waters: Waters operated as fish hatcheries and rearing ponds by FWP and the 
US Fish and Wildlife Service shall be closed to fishing at all times. Waters in which FWP 
operates fish traps and other structures are closed to fishing as posted. Certain water-supply 
lakes, streams and hazardous areas are also closed as posted.
Dam Closures and Use Restrictions: In the interest of public health and safety, 
certain areas above and below most dams are closed to the public. These restrictions include 
areas where no public access is allowed below the ordinary high-water mark. The restricted 
areas are identified and delineated by signs and/or boat restraining systems.
The following dams are closed to all boating, sailing, floating, swimming, fishing or other 
recreational activity as marked by boat restraining systems or as posted to restrict access. 
Other dams not listed here may also be posted for restricted access. For more information 
call the FWP Fishing Access Coordinator at 406-444-7885, or contact the Bureau of 
Reclamation (BOR) 406‑247‑7298 or DNRC 406-444-2074 or Northwestern Energy (NWE) 
888-467-2669.
Black Eagle Dam (NWE, Cascade County)
Canyon Ferry Dam (BOR, Lewis & Clark  
   County)
Clark Canyon Dam (BOR, Beaverhead County)
Cochrane Dam (NWE, Cascade County)
Hauser Dam (NWE, Lewis & Clark County)
Hebgen Dam (NWE, Gallatin County)
Holter Dam (NWE Lewis & Clark County)
Madison Dam (NWE, Madison County)

Morony Dam (NWE, Chouteau County )
Rainbow Dam (NWE, Cascade County)
Ruby Dam (DNRC, Madison County)
Ryan Dam (NWE, Cascade County)
Tiber Dam (BOR, Liberty County
Yellowtail Dam (BOR, Bighorn County)
Yellowtail Afterbay Dam 
     (BOR, Bighorn County)

Irrigation Canals and Ditches: Man-made irrigation canals and ditches are open 
year round unless stated otherwise in exceptions to standard regulations. The same daily 
and possession limits apply to them as for rivers/streams. Please refer to “Irrigation Canals 
and Ditches” on page 24 for more details.
Reservoirs: Under normal operations, reservoir pool elevation, surface acreage and the 
mouths of the inlet stream(s) are expected to vary throughout the year. An imaginary line 
connecting the reservoir shoreline across the mouth of the stream marks the boundary 
between reservoir and stream/river, and the boundary will move as reservoir levels change. 
Streams are defined by a sloped streambed that results in a defined current flow between 
two discernible stream banks. Stream regulations apply upstream from the mouth on the 
reservoir and often are managed under seasons, limits and special regulations that differ 
from the reservoir regulations.
Transporting Live Fish: An import permit is required to bring live fish of any kind into 
Montana. It is unlawful to possess or transport any live fish away from the body of water in 
which the fish were taken without authorization from FWP with the following exceptions:  

1) 		transportation of fish for authorized commercial purposes (eg. Baitfish Seining Permit, 
Commercial Fish Ponds, Commercial Fishing, etc.); 

2) 	use as live bait subject to restrictions imposed by the F&W Commission for the taking, 
transport and use of live baitfish (see “Bait Regulations” below); or 

3) 	it is unlawful to possess or transport live fish, other than authorized baitfish, on roadways 
that form the boundary between the Eastern and Central fishing districts.
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•	A valid fishing license is required for all types of fishing. 
•	Spears and bows are counted as lines for purposes of determining line limits.  
•	When multiple lines are allowed on a body of water, the maximum number of lines 

allowed shall not exceed the greater of either the attended lines or the setlines. For 
example, if an angler wants to spear for Northern Pike on Lake Frances in the winter 
(where the limit is 2 attended lines all year or 6 setlines through the ice), he/she may have 
a maximum of only 5 setlines in use if he/she is using one spear, for a total of 6 lines.

•	All unattended fishing devices (crayfish traps, minnow traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) must 
have the angler’s name and phone number or name, date-of-birth and ALS# attached.

Hook and Line Limits
Open Water

    Rivers and Streams
•	1 line with 2 hooks per line, with or without a rod. The rod or line must be attended 

and in the angler’s immediate control.
    Lakes and Reservoirs

•	2 lines with 2 hooks per line. All lines must be attended and in the angler’s immediate 
control.

Ice Fishing
    Lakes and Reservoirs

•	2 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice on lakes, reservoirs, or ponds open to 
fishing. When a line is used through the ice, the angler need not be in immediate 
control, but must be in the vicinity and in visual contact with the line.

    Size of Hole
•	In waters not open to spearing, the maximum size hole that may be used for ice 

fishing is 144 square inches or 12 inches in diameter.
•	There is no size limit for a hole used for fishing with a spear.

    Shelters: It is unlawful to use any ice fishing shelter not conforming to the following 
      rules:

Definition/use: Any hut or enclosure constructed of any material, except ice or snow, 
for the purpose of ice fishing. 
Identification:  Identification must be painted on or otherwise affixed to all unattended 
shelters in legible, 2-inch letters plainly visible at a distance of 100 feet. Identification 
must include the owner’s name and address, name and phone number, or 9/10-digit 
ALS number.  Attended shelters at Clark Canyon Reservoir, Deadman’s Basin, 
Hauser Reservoir, Lake Francis and Lake Helena must also be identified.
Inspection: Each closed shelter shall have a door that an officer may readily open 
from the outside for inspection when it is occupied. 
Waste and Rubbish Disposal: Owners and occupants of shelters are required to 	
keep their  shelters (and the area immediately around them) free from rubbish. 
Anglers must remove waste materials before they leave for the day.
Daily Removal: Daily removal of shelters is required on Fitzpatrick Lake, Deadmans 
Basin and Helena Valley Regulating Reservoir.
Removal After the Season: The owner of an ice fishing shelter shall remove it from  
the ice before it becomes irretrievable at the end of the season, or within five days 
from receipt of notification from FWP to remove the shelter.



54   

C
en

tr
al

 D
is

tr
ic

t
Setlines

•	Setlines may be used only on waters specified in District Exceptions.
•	Setlines must be checked by the fisherman at least once every 24 hours.
•	The angler’s name and phone number or name and 9/10-digit ALS# must be attached 

to each setline.
•	Setlines shall not be attached to jugs or other floating devices.

Bow and Arrow: Waters open to angling are open to taking non-game fish with bow and 
arrow unless otherwise noted in the exceptions to the standard regulations.  
Crossbows: Unlawful.  
Nets and Traps: Landing nets may be used for landing hooked fish. See Bait Regulations 
below for use of nets to harvest bait fish.
Snagging: Snagging of fish is allowed only on waters specified in District Exceptions.
Spearing: In all waters open to fishing, non-game fish may be taken with rubber or spring-
propelled spears by persons swimming or submerged. Game fish species may be taken 
with rubber or spring-propelled spears by persons swimming or submerged but only from 
designated waters.
Spearing may be used through the ice for designated species in designated waters.

Bait Regulations 
•	Game fish, including Yellow Perch, may not be used as bait (live or dead) except as 

authorized below under Dead Bait.
•	Possession of live non-game fish is prohibited on waters closed to using live fish as bait.
•	It is unlawful to release live bait of any kind into Montana waters; do not empty any live 

bait containers at your fishing site.
•	Where live fish may be used as bait (see list below under Live Bait), legal non-game 

fish may be taken for use as bait in the following manner:
-- with hook and line; or
-- with seines no larger than 12 feet by 4 feet; or
-- with minnow traps (the dimensions shall not exceed 24 inches x 12 inches x 12 inches); or
-- with cast nets (maximum 6-foot radius) and dip nets (no larger than 3 feet x 3 feet).

•	Legal non-game fish, except Sculpins (genus Cottus) which must be killed prior to 
transport, may only be transported live to or from:
-- waters where live non-game fish may be used as bait in the Central Fishing District, or
-- anywhere within the boundaries of the Eastern Fishing District.

•	On waters within the Central Fishing District that do not allow the use of live bait and 
are not restricted to artificial flies and lures, Sculpins (genus Cottus) may be collected 
and used as dead bait. Collection screens or nets may not exceed four (4) feet in length 
on any side. Sculpins must be killed immediately upon collection and may not be used 
as live bait. [Note: Sculpins (genus Cottus) may not be used for bait in the Western 
Fishing District.]

•	See Commercial Fishing License (page 6) requirements for information on 
commercial harvest permits.

•	All unattended fishing devices (crayfish traps, minnow traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) 
must have the angler’s name and phone number or name and ALS# attached.

•	Areas within the Central Fishing District that have been identified as contaminated with 
Eurasian watermilfoil have additional bait restrictions as described on the next page.

  Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)
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Dead Bait

•	Non-game fish that are freshly killed or have been preserved by freezing, salting or 
pickling may be used as bait on all waters not restricted to artificial lures only. Heads 
and entrails of non-game fish may also be used as bait.

•	Whole game fish may not be used as bait. 
•	Parts/pieces of Bass, Burbot (Ling), Channel Catfish, Crappie, Northern Pike, 

Paddlefish, Sauger, Shovelnose Sturgeon, Tiger Muskie , Walleye, or Yellow Perch 
may be used as bait if edible portions are not wasted.

•	The eggs of Char, Cisco, Arctic Grayling, Salmon or Trout may be used as bait. Parts/
pieces of Salmonids may not be used as bait.

Live Bait
•	Live bait fish may not be imported into Montana, except by permit for use in Bighorn 

Lake and Afterbay Reservoir. 
•	Bait fish collected in the Bighorn River drainage of Wyoming may be imported under 

a permit issued by FWP for use only in Bighorn Lake. For a permit, contact the FWP 
Fisheries Division at 2300 Lake Elmo Drive, Billings, MT 59105 or call (406) 247-2940.

•	Live animals such as meal worms, red worms, night crawlers, leeches, maggots, 
crayfish, reptiles, amphibians and insects may be used as bait on all waters not 
restricted to artificial lures only. 

•	Leeches may only be imported into Montana from FWP-approved leech dealers. 
Anglers who import leeches must have in their possession a bill-of-sale (a receipt) 
from the approved out-of-state leech dealer when fishing with leeches in Montana. A 
list of approved out-of-state leech dealers may be obtained from FWP by calling 406-
452-6181.

•	Fish species that may be collected and used as live bait in the Central Fishing District 
include only the following: Fathead Minnow, Flathead Chub, Western Silvery Minnow, 
Plains Minnow, Emerald Shiner, Longnose Dace, Lake Chub, Creek Chub, Longnose 
Sucker, and White Sucker. These approved bait species may be used as live fish bait 
only in the following waters:

▪▪ Bighorn Lake and Afterbay Reservoir
▪▪ Bighorn River—Afterbay Dam to the cable 600 feet downstream, and downstream 
from the Bighorn FAS
▪▪ Clarks Fork Yellowstone River and tributaries, except the Rock Creek drainage—
downstream from the bridge at Bridger
▪▪ Marias River and tributaries downstream from I-15
▪▪ Missouri River downstream from Morony Dam
▪▪ Muddy Creek Drainage near Vaughn, including all streams and drainage canals
▪▪ Teton River and tributaries downstream from I-15
▪▪ Tiber Reservoir (Lake Elwell), Toole and Liberty counties
▪▪ Yellowstone River and all streams and ditches in the drainage downstream from the 

      mouth of the Clarks Fork (except the section of the Bighorn River between the cable
     600 feet downstream from Afterbay Dam and the Bighorn FAS).

Bait restrictions in Eurasian watermilfoil contaminated areas
Eurasian watermilfoil is an invasive aquatic plant that has become established in some Montana 
waters.  This plant is easily spread from one body of water to another primarily by people transporting 
plant fragments. Anglers shall inspect all bait buckets, live wells, anchors and gear to ensure 
that NO PLANT FRAGMENTS are present when leaving a body of water.  It takes only a small 
fragment of Eurasian watermilfoil to start a new plant and infest a body of water. 

Areas within the Central Fishing District that have been identified as contaminated with Eurasian 
watermilfoil are:
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•	Jefferson River
•	Lower Madison River north of I-90
•	Missouri River from the confluence of the three forks to the headwaters of Canyon 

Ferry Reservoir
•	Toston Reservoir

Additional bait restrictions within the contaminated areas are:
•	The collection of bait animals, including commercial seining is not permitted.
•	Transport of live aquatic bait animals to and from these contaminated areas is allowed 

only in clean water (e.g. transport minnows and leeches in well water).  

General Regulations
Possession limit means the number of fish that you may possess at any time in any form: 
fresh, stored in freezers or lockers, salted, smoked, dried, canned or otherwise preserved. It 
is unlawful to preserve fish (salted, smoked, dried, canned, or otherwise preserved) before 
taking them to your permanent residence (the physical abode or structure you maintain as 
your principal, legal residence) unless those fish can be counted. Mobile recreational vehicles, 
travel trailers, tents or storage/freezer lockers do not qualify as permanent residences. No 
person may sell or take for the purpose of sale any fish except as authorized in commercial 
fishing regulations.
Daily limit means the number of fish you may legally take during a calendar day. It is 
unlawful to exceed the standard daily limit unless the regulations for the water body where 
you are fishing specify a different limit. “Legally taken” means fish caught and not immediately 
released alive. Where catch-and-release is allowed, fish immediately released alive are 
considered not taken. A fish when landed and not immediately released becomes part of 
the daily limit of the person originally hooking the fish, even if the fish is donated to another 
person. If you receive fish from another angler, those fish also become part of your daily limit. 
You may possess the daily limit allowed only for the body of water on which you are fishing.
Handling and Transporting Legally Taken Fish
While a person is fishing, or while on the water, or on the ice:

•	All fish in possession must be visibly identifiable to species. 
•	All fish in possession must be whole with head, skin, fins and tail attached. Gills and 

entrails may be removed (see Disposal of Dead Fish and Fish Entrails on page 10).
Once off the water or ice, fish may be dressed and filleted for transport to your permanent 
residence, unless size limits apply, under the following conditions: 

•	All fish can be counted and identified. Two fillets will be counted as one fish. If the 
catch is frozen prior to transport, each fish or fillet must be packaged so it can be 
counted.

•	Salmonids (Trout, Salmon, Arctic Grayling, Char and Whitefish): the entire skin must 
be attached to the fillet for identification.

General Fishing Seasons and Hours
  Fishing Hours

Fishing is allowed at all hours during open fishing seasons unless otherwise specified in 
District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.

   Fishing Season: Lakes and Reservoirs
Open entire year unless otherwise specified in District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.

   Fishing Season: Rivers and Streams
Open entire year unless otherwise specified in District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.

Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

2019 GENERAL FISHING SEASON

Central 
District

Rivers and Streams Lakes and Reservoirs

Open all year unless otherwise specified in 
Exceptions to Standard Regulations.  Open all year

If you don’t find the water you are looking for listed in the district exceptions, use 
the standard regulations for the district you are fishing in.
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Central District Standard Daily and Possession Limits
See map on page 51 to make sure you are in the Central District. Each angler may take 
all of the limits listed in the chart, unless otherwise noted in the Central District Exceptions. For 
species not listed, there are no limits on the number of fish that may be taken or possessed.
Anglers who move from one fishing water to another may possess the limit of fish allowed 
only for the water on which they are currently fishing.  

Species                                 Daily and Possession Limits

T
R
O
U
T

     Brook Trout 20 daily and in possession.

    Combined trout
includes Brown Trout, 
Rainbow Trout, Golden           
Trout, Cutthroat Trout  
and Arctic Grayling

Lakes/Reservoirs: 5 daily and 10 in possession, 
includes Cutthroat Trout.
Rivers/Streams: 5 daily and in possession, 
only 1 over 18 inches, only 1 can be a Cutthroat Trout.
All Arctic Grayling must be released immediately.

     Lake Trout 3 daily and in possession.

Bass 5 daily and in possession.

Burbot (Ling) 5 daily and in possession.

Channel Catfish 10 daily and 20 in possession.

Northern Pike 10 daily and in possession.

Pallid Sturgeon
None - this is an endangered species and all fish must 
be released immediately. 
All waters are closed to fishing for Pallid Sturgeon.

Salmon (Kokanee & Chinook) 10 daily and in possession.

Sauger/Walleye 5 daily and 10 in possession.

Shovelnose Sturgeon 5 daily and in possession, none over 40 inches.

Tiger Muskie 1 daily and in possession, must be over 40 inches.

Whitefish 20 daily and 40 in possession.

2019 GENERAL FISHING SEASON

Central 
District

Rivers and Streams Lakes and Reservoirs

Open all year unless otherwise specified in 
Exceptions to Standard Regulations.  Open all year

If you don’t find the water you are looking for listed in the district exceptions, use 
the standard regulations for the district you are fishing in.
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Central District Exceptions To Standard Regulations

Check the following list of waters for the body of water you intend to fish in the Central District. 
If the body of water is not found in the listing of Exceptions, all of the Central District standard 
seasons, daily/possession limits, and standard regulations apply. Standard regulations apply 
for species not listed in the Exceptions. 

Waterbody/Section                      Exceptions to Standard Regulations
ABSAROKA-BEARTOOTH WILDERNESS LAKES  ––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Combined trout: 10 daily and in possession.
ANTELOPE BUTTE LAKE aka Ostle Reservoir (Teton County)  ––––––––––––– 

•	 Open May 15 at 12:00 noon through November 30.
ARMSTRONG SPRING CREEK  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

AROD LAKES aka Eyraud Lakes  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike and nongame fish through the ice only.

AXOLOTL LAKES  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.

BADGER CREEK DRAINAGE (near Heart Butte)  –––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Downstream from confluence of North Badger and South Badger creeks within 
National Forest
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, none over 12 inches.

BEAVER CREEK (tributary to Canyon Ferry Reservoir)  ––––––––––––––––––– 
Mouth to US Highway 12
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.

BEAVER CREEK (tributary to Missouri River below Hauser Dam)  –––––––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.

BEAVERHEAD RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire river
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches and only 1 may 

be a Rainbow Trout.
Clark Canyon Dam to Pipe Organ Bridge
•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30.

High Bridge FAS to Henneberry FAS
•	 Closed to float fishing by nonresidents and float outfitting on each Saturday from 

the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.
Henneberry FAS to Pipe Organ Bridge
•	 Closed to float fishing by nonresidents and float outfitting on each Sunday from the 

third Sunday in May through Labor Day.
Highway 91 South Bridge (Tash Bridge) to Selway Bridge
•	 Closed to float outfitting from the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

BIG COULEE CREEK (tributary to Highwood Creek, near Great Falls)  ––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year.

Report unlawful fish introductions!  Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)
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BIG HOLE RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
Fishing Regulations  	
Entire River
•	 Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.

Headwaters to Dickie Bridge
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, no size restriction.

Dickie Bridge to Melrose Bridges (Salmon Fly FAS)
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Extended season for Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 1 

to the third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots.

Melrose Bridges (Salmon Fly FAS) to the mouth
•	 Extended season for Whitefish and catch-and-release for trout open December 1 

to the third Saturday in May with artificial lures (see definition on page 20) and/or 
maggots.

Recreation Rules	
Entire River
•	 All float users are limited to a total of 2 launches at or near each official access site 

each day. See Big Hole River map for official access sites
Headwaters to Mudd Creek FAS
•	 Closed to float outfitting from the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

Mudd Creek FAS to Fishtrap FAS
•	 Closed to float outfitting on each Tuesday from the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

Fishtrap FAS to East Bank BLM FAS
•	 Closed to float outfitting on each Thursday from the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

East Bank BLM FAS to Jerry Creek FAS
•	 Closed to float outfitting on each Wednesday from the third Saturday in May 

through Labor Day.
Jerry Creek BLM FAS to Divide FAS
•	 Closed to float fishing by nonresidents and float outfitting on each Saturday from 

the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.
Divide Bridge to Melrose Bridges (Salmon Fly FAS)
•	 Closed to float fishing by nonresidents and float outfitting on each Sunday from the 

third Saturday in May through Labor Day.
Melrose Bridges (Salmon Fly FAS) to Glen FAS (bridges)
•	 Closed to float outfitting on each Monday from the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

Glen FAS (bridges) to Notch Bottom FAS
•	 Closed to float outfitting on each Friday from the third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

BIG SHEEP CREEK (Beaverhead River drainage)  – –––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

BIG SPRING CREEK (near Lewistown)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Upstream of the US Highway 191 bridge, including East Fork Big Spring Creek 
downstream from the Reservoir
•	 Catch-and-release only for all trout.
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BIGHORN LAKE AND AFTERBAY RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Bass: 10 daily and 20 in possession.
•	 Shovelnose Sturgeon: 2 daily and in possession.
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 6 daily (only 3 may be Sauger) and 12 in possession (only 3 may 

be Sauger).
•	 Channel Catfish: 6 daily and in possession.
•	 Burbot (ling): 3 daily and in possession.
•	 Hook and Line: 2 lines with 2 hooks per line on open water and 6 lines with 1 hook 

per line through the ice.
•	 Anglers obtaining live bait fish in Montana may use them only in the Montana 

portion of the lake.
BIGHORN RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Entire river
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 1 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 2 

may be Sauger.
•	 A State of Montana fishing license is required for all anglers to fish on the Bighorn 

River within the boundaries of the Crow Reservation. A tribal permit is not required.
Afterbay Dam to cable 600 feet downstream and downstream from Bighorn FAS
•	 May use live nongame bait fish (as identified in standard district regulations).

Cable 600 feet below Afterbay Dam to Bighorn FAS
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

BLACKTAIL DEER CREEK (Beaverhead River drainage)  – –––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

BLACKTAIL MEADOWS POND (Dillon)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

BOULDER RIVER (tributary to Jefferson River, near Cardwell)  ––––––––––––– 
Mouth upstream to the bridge on Boulder Cut-Off Road (mile 14.4)
•	 Open January 1 through September 30.

BOULDER RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES (near Big Timber)  –––––––––––––––––– 
River and Tributaries from the mouth upstream to Hawley Creek
•	 Combined trout: Only 1 fish over 14 inches.

River and Tributaries upstream of Hawley Creek
•	 Combined trout: Only 1 fish over 14 inches; may include 3 Cutthroat Trout.

BYNUM RESERVOIR  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice.

CANYON FERRY RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 All watercraft must be inspected prior to leaving.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession any size.
•	 Walleye: 20 daily, only 1 over 20 inches.  Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Yellow Perch: 10 daily and in possession.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.

Magpie Bay
•	 Closed (as posted) March 1 through June 14.
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CHESSMAN RESERVOIR (Tenmile Creek drainage, near Helena)  – ––––––––– 
•	 Closed to fishing (City of Helena water supply).

CLARK CANYON RESERVOIR  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Burbot (ling): 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 28 inches.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession.

CLARKS FORK YELLOWSTONE RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––– 
Mainstem downstream from the bridge at Bridger
•	 Hook and Line: 2 lines with 2 hooks per line all year.

CONFEDERATE GULCH (tributary to Canyon Ferry Reservoir)  – ––––––––––– 
Mouth to Highway 284
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.

COTTONWOOD CREEK (10 miles SW of Martinsdale)  –––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: limit includes 2 Cutthroat Trout daily and in possession.

CULVER POND (Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge)––––––––––––––––
•	 Closed to angling from November 30 to April 15.
•	 Artificial lures only. 

CUT BANK CREEK  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open entire year downstream of the Blackfeet Indian Reservation boundary in 

T33N, R6W, S2.
DEADMANS BASIN RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Combined trout: 10 daily and in possession.
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon October 1 through December 31, 35 daily and 

70 in possession.
DEARBORN RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30.
Upstream from Highway 434 Bridge in T18N R6W, Section 29
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 12 inches.

DEEP CREEK (tributary to Missouri River, near Townsend)  – –––––––––––––– 
Mouth to North Fork of Deep Creek
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

DICKENS LAKE (Sun River Wildlife Management Area)  –––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open May 15 at 12:00 noon through November 30.

DIVERSION LAKE (Sun River drainage)  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.

DRY CREEK (tributary to Missouri River, near Townsend)  ––––––––––––––––– 
Mouth to Flynn Lane
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.

DUCK CREEK (tributary to Hebgen Reservoir)–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30.

EAST FORK BIG SPRING CREEK (near Lewistown)  ––––––––––––––––– 
Downstream from the Reservoir
•	 Catch-and-release only for all trout.
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EAST FORK HYALITE CREEK –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Above Hyalite Reservoir including East Fork Hyalite Creek and West Fork Hyalite 
Creek
•	 Open July 15 through November 30.
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

Below Hyalite Reservoir
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

EAST FORK RESERVOIR (near Lewistown)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice.
•	 Spearing: open for non-game fish and Northern Pike through the ice and by 

persons swimming or submerged.
EAST GALLATIN RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Northern Pike: No limit
ELK LAKE (Beaverhead County)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 The Narrows Creek spawning channel is closed to angling.
•	 Catch-and-release for Lake Trout and Arctic Grayling.

ELK SPRINGS CREEK (Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge)––––––––––
•	 Closed to angling from May 15 to June 15.
•	 Artificial lures only.

ELKS CLUB POND (Lewistown)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

ENNIS RESERVOIR aka Ennis Lake  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.

EYRAUD LAKES aka Arod Lakes  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through ice only.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike and non-game fish through the ice only.

FAIRGROUNDS POND (Helena)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only.

GALLATIN RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire river
•	 Northern Pike: No limit

Yellowstone National Park to East Gallatin River
•	 Closed to fishing from boats/vessels.

GHENY POND (near Twin Bridges)  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

GIANT SPRINGS (near Great Falls)  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year where enclosed by concrete walks and masonry work.

GIBSON RESERVOIR  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Gibson Dam upstream to the point where the North and South forks of the Sun 
River meet, regardless of reservoir level
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession. Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.

GOOSE LAKE (Madison County)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.
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GRAYLING CREEK  (tributary to Hebgen Reservoir)–––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30.

HARRISON LAKE AND TRIBUTARIES  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Willow Creek arm, as posted
•	 Open third Saturday in May through the end of February.

Tributaries to reservoir - North Willow, South Willow and Norwegian Creeks - 
from the Highway 287 bridges to reservoir
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

HAUSER RESERVOIR  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Including Canyon Ferry Dam tailwater and Lake Helena
•	 Combined trout and Kokanee Salmon: 5 trout and Kokanee Salmon daily and in 

combination and 10 trout and Kokanee Salmon in possession in any combination.
•	 Walleye: 20 daily, only 1 over 25 inches. Possession limit is twice the daily limit. 
•	 Yellow Perch: 10 daily and in possession, except from April 1 through June 30, only 

1 fish daily and in possession, 14 inch minimum.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.

HAYMAKER CREEK  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Cutthroat Trout: 2 daily and in possession.

HELENA VALLEY REGULATING RESERVOIR  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Including irrigation canal in the area from the discharge outlet to 400 yards 
downstream
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon September 1 through October 31; 35 daily 

and 70 in possession.
HELLROARING CREEK (Yellowstone River drainage)  –––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Cutthroat Trout: 3 daily and in possession, only one over 14 inches.
HELLS CANYON CREEK (Jefferson River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open June 15 through September 30.
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout.

HIDDEN LAKE aka Our Lake (Teton County)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession.

HIDDEN LAKE AND TRIBUTARIES (Madison County)  –––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

HOLTER RESERVOIR  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Up to American Bar Gulch (approximately 4.6 miles downstream from Hauser Dam)
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Walleye: 10 daily, only 1 over 25 inches. Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Combined trout and Kokanee Salmon: 5 Rainbow Trout and Kokanee Salmon daily 

in any combination and 10 Rainbow Trout and Kokanee Salmon in possession in 
any combination.

•	 Yellow Perch: 50 daily and no possession limit.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
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HYALITE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Above Hyalite Reservoir including East Fork Hyalite Creek and  
  West Fork Hyalite Creek
•	 Open July 15 through November 30.
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

Below Hyalite Reservoir
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

HYALITE RESERVOIR  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.

INDIAN ROAD POND (Townsend)  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger, holders of a “Resident 

Person with a Disability Conservation License” and holders of a “Permit to Hunt 
From a Vehicle” with the proper prerequisite fishing license. One rod per angler.

JEFFERSON RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire river
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches and only 1 may be 

a Rainbow Trout.
Hells Canyon Creek and Willow Springs Creek
•	 Seasonal spawning closure at tributary mouths: Closed to fishing 100 yards 

upstream and downstream from the creek mouths from April 1 through April 30 and 
from September 30 through November 30.

LAKE ELWELL aka Tiber Reservoir  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
NOTE: 

•	 All watercraft must be inspected prior to leaving.
•	 Cisco and Whitefish: all fish must be released immediately or killed and counted as 

part of your limit. It is unlawful to possess live Cisco or Whitefish for any reason.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
•	 Spearing: open for nongame fish, Northern Pike, Walleye, and Burbot (Ling) 

through the ice and by persons swimming or submerged.
LAKE FRANCES  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Closed entire year around the water supply outlet as posted.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
•	 Spearing: open for nongame fish, Northern Pike, Walleye, and Burbot (Ling) 

through the ice.
LAKE HELENA  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 
take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.

•	 Yellow Perch: 10 daily and in possession, except from April 1 through June 30, only 
1 fish daily and in possession, 14 inch minimum.

•	 Walleye: 20 daily, only 1 over 25 inches. Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Combined trout and Kokanee Salmon: 5 trout and Kokanee Salmon daily and in 

combination and 10 trout and Kokanee Salmon in possession in any combination.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.

AIS Status: Quagga/zebra mussel AIS
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LITTLE PRICKLY PEAR CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (tributary to Missouri River)  –  
Mouth to Big Sheep Creek
•	 Open third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

LYMAN CREEK (near Bozeman)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
From the City water supply intake to a point 1,000 feet upstream
•	 Closed entire year as posted.

MADISON RIVER  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Yellowstone National Park boundary to Hebgen Reservoir
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger 

may take 1 Rainbow Trout daily and in possession, any size.
Quake Lake outlet to Lyons Bridge
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 1 

trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Closed to fishing from boats/vessels.

Lyons Bridge to Varney Bridge
•	 Catch-and-release for trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may take 1 

trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Varney Bridge to Ennis Bridge
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger 

may take 1 Rainbow Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

Ennis Bridge to Ennis Lake
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger 

may take 1 Rainbow Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).
•	 Closed to fishing from boats/vessels.

Ennis Dam to the mouth
•	 Northern Pike:  No Limit

MAGPIE CREEK (tributary to Canyon Ferry Reservoir)  ––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.

MARIAS RIVER  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 2 may be a Suager. Possession limit is 10, only 4 

may be Sauger.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches.
•	 Mountain Whitefish: 35 daily and in possession.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 2 lines with up to 2 hooks per line all year.

MIDVALE CREEK (Blackfeet Reservation)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year from intake of Glacier Park Hotel Company water supply to the 

park boundary.
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MISSOURI RIVER  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Confluence of Madison and Jefferson Rivers to Holter Dam
•	 Northern Pike: No limit.

Toston Dam to Canyon Ferry Reservoir
•	 Localized spawning areas closed as posted from March 1 through June 15.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Walleye: 20 daily, only 1 over 20 inches.  Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit

Canyon Ferry Reservoir
•	 All watercraft must be inspected prior to leaving.
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Yellow Perch: 10 daily and in possession.
•	 Walleye: 20 daily, only 1 over 20 inches. Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.

Canyon Ferry Dam to Hauser Dam (includes Hauser Reservoir, Lake Helena and 
Canyon Ferry Tailwaters)
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Combined trout and Kokanee Salmon: 5 trout and Kokanee Salmon daily and in 

combination and 10 trout and Kokanee Salmon in possession in any combination.
•	 Yellow Perch: 10 daily and in possession, except from April 1 through June 30, only 

1 fish daily and in possession, 14 inch minimum.
•	 Walleye: 20 daily, only 1 over 25 inches. Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.

Hauser Dam to Holter Reservoir (Hauser Dam downstream to American Bar 
Gulch approximately 4.6 miles)
•	 Combined trout: Standard river/stream limits apply, except catch-and-release for 

Brown Trout.
•	 Walleye: 10 daily, only 1 over 25 inches. Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit

Holter Reservoir (American Bar Gulch downstream to Holter Dam)
•	 Catch-and-release for Brown Trout, except anglers 14 years of age or younger may 

take 1 Brown Trout daily and in possession, any size.
•	 Walleye: 10 daily and only 1 over 25 inches.  Possession limit is twice the daily limit.
•	 Combined trout and Kokanee Salmon: 5 Rainbow Trout and Kokanee Salmon daily 

in any combination and 10 Rainbow Trout and Kokanee Salmon in possession in 
any combination.

•	 Yellow Perch: 50 daily and no possession limit.
•	 Northern Pike: No limit
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.

Holter Dam to Cascade Bridge
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches, and only 1 may 

be a Brown Trout.
•	 Walleye: No limit.

Cascade Bridge to Black Eagle Dam
•	 Walleye: 20 daily and 40 in possession.
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Morony Dam to Fort Benton
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 2 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 4 

may be Sauger.
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 10 daily and in possession.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 6 hooks per line all year.
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MUSSELSHELL RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
From the Highway 3 bridge at Lavina downstream to Fort Peck Reservoir
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 2 may be Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 4 may 

be Sauger.
Downstream from where North and South forks meet
•	 Channel Catfish: 10 daily and in possession.

NELSON SPRING CREEK  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release only.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20).

NEWLAN CREEK RESERVOIR– ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
(Including a 400-yard reach of inlet stream from the mouth up to a concrete water 
weir, and a 120-yard reach from the dam outlet down to Secondary Highway 259 
culvert crossing.)
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon October 1 through October 31; 15 daily 

and 30 in possession.
NORTH FORK SUN RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  ––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Upstream from the point where the North and South forks of the Sun River meet, 
regardless of reservoir level
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 12 inches, all may be 

Cutthroat Trout.
NORTH FORK TETON RIVER DRAINAGE (near Choteau)  ––––––––––––––––– 

Within the National Forest
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

NORTH WILLOW CREEK (near Harrison)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Highway 287 Bridge to Harrison Reservoir
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

NORWEGIAN CREEK (near Harrison)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Highway 287 Bridge to Harrison Reservoir
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

O’BRIEN CREEK (near Neihart)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Above intake to the Neihart public water supply
•	 Closed entire year.

ODELL CREEK (Red Rock River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

OSTLE RESERVOIR aka Antelope Butte Lake (Teton County)  – –––––––––––– 
•	 Open May 15 at 12:00 noon through November 30.

OTTER LAKE (Madison County)  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.
•	 Combined trout: 1 Rainbow Trout daily and in possession.

OUR LAKE aka Hidden Lake (Teton County)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession.

PARSONS SLOUGH  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––  
Downstream from Loomont Lane
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.
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PELICAN POINT POND #1 (largest pond on Pelican Point FAS - near Cascade)  – – 
•	 Northern Pike: No limit.

PISHKUN RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
•	 Snagging: open for Kokanee Salmon September 1 through December 31; 35 daily 

and 70 in possession.
RAT LAKE (Gallatin River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 The unnamed tributary to the lake, inlet and outlet, is closed all year.
RATTLESNAKE CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES (near Dillon, Beaverhead County)  –– 

•	 Closed entire year from city water supply intake to a point 1,000 feet upstream as 
posted.

•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.
RED ROCK CREEK (Beaverhead River drainage)  – –––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Open entire year except May 15 through June 14.
•	 Cutthroat Trout: No harvest of Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Artificial lures only.

RED ROCK RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Lima Dam to Clark Canyon Reservoir
•	 Open third Saturday in May through the end of November.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches.

ROCK CREEK AND TRIBUTARIES  
    (tributary to Clarks Fork of the Yellowstone River)  – –––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 West Fork Rock Creek is closed to fishing from the Red Lodge water intake to 
1,000 feet upstream.

ROCK CREEK RESERVOIRS (Robb-Ledford Game Range)  ––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

RUBY RIVER  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Upstream from Ruby Reservoir
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

Downstream from Ruby Dam
•	 Closed entire year just below Ruby Dam (that portion of the Ruby River from its 

confluence with the Ruby Dam outlet channel upstream to the dam, including the 
outlet channel).

SAGE CREEK (Pryor Mountains)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

SAWTOOTH LAKE (Beaverhead River drainage)  –––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 1 Golden Trout daily and in possession.

SCOTT RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed to fishing (City of Helena water supply).

SHEEP CREEK (tributary to Missouri River south of Cascade)  ––––––––––––– 
•	 Open third Saturday in May through Labor Day.

SILVER CREEK aka D2 Ditch (tributary to Prickly Pear Creek)  ––––––––– 
Downstream from I-15 bridge near Helena
•	 Open third Saturday in May through Labor Day.
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Smith River 

SLOUGH CREEK (Yellowstone River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Cutthroat Trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 inches.

SMITH RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
NOTE: Floating on the Smith River between Camp Baker and Eden Bridge is strictly 

limited.  Mandatory registration, floater’s fee and other regulations apply. A drawing 
for launch dates is held in February with remaining launches filled on a first-come 
basis. Contact the Great Falls FWP office at 406-454-5840 for more information.

Camp Baker Bridge to Eden Bridge
•	 Combined trout: 3 under 13 inches daily and in possession and only 1 over 22 

inches daily and in possession.
•	 Artificial lures only (see definition on page 20), except anglers 14 years of age or 

younger may use bait.
SODA BUTTE CREEK (Yellowstone River drainage)  ––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Cutthroat Trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 inches.
SOUTH FORK MADISON RIVER  (tributary to Hebgen Reservoir)– ––––––––––

•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30.
SOUTH FORK SUN RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES  – –––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Upstream from the point where the North and South forks of the Sun River meet, 
regardless of reservoir level
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession only 1 over 12 inches.
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SOUTH FORK TETON RIVER (near Choteau)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

SOUTH FORK TWO MEDICINE RIVER DRAINAGE  –––––––––––––––––––––– 
Within National Forest
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession, none over 12 inches.

SOUTH WILLOW CREEK (near Harrison)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Highway 287 Bridge to Harrison Reservoir
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

SPLIT ROCK LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
•	 Spearing: open for Northern Pike through the ice only.

SPRING MEADOW LAKE  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.
•	 Bass: 3 daily and in possession, none over 10 inches.
•	 No spear fishing or bow fishing allowed.

STILLWATER RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES (Yellowstone River drainage)  –––––– 
•	 Combined trout: Only 1 fish over 14 inches.

SUNNY SLOPE CANAL  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Downstream from Pishkun Reservoir
•	 Catch-and-release for Arctic Grayling.
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession.

SWAZEE LAKE (Sun River Wildlife Management Area)  ––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open May 15 at 12:00 noon through November 30.

TIBER RESERVOIR aka Lake Elwell  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
NOTE: 

•	 All watercraft must be inspected prior to leaving.
•	 Cisco and Whitefish: all fish must be released immediately or killed and counted as 

part of your limit. It is unlawful to possess live Cisco or Whitefish for any reason.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice only.
•	 Spearing: open for nongame fish, Northern Pike, Walleye, and Burbot (Ling) 

through the ice and by persons swimming or submerged.
TROUT CREEK (Tributary to Missouri River) ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30 
TUNNEL LAKE (Teton County)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Combined trout: Includes 1 Arctic Grayling.
TWIN LAKES (Big Hole River drainage)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Catch-and-release for Lake Trout.
•	 Combined trout: 3 daily and in possession.

VIGILANTE POND (near Virginia City)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

WADE LAKE (Madison County)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Spawning channel and channel inlet closed as posted.

WARM SPRINGS CREEK (tributary to Missouri River, near Townsend)  –––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.

AIS Status: Quagga/zebra mussel AIS
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WEST FORK HYALITE CREEK  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Above Hyalite Reservoir including East Fork Hyalite Creek and  
  West Fork Hyalite Creek
•	 Open July 15 through November 30.
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

Below Hyalite Reservoir
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout.

WEST FORK MADISON RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout.

WEST FORK ROCK CREEK  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Red Lodge water intake to 1,000 feet upstream
•	 Closed entire year.

WIDGEON POND (Red Rock Lakes National Wildlife Refuge)–––––––––––––––
•	 Closed to angling from November 30 to April 15.
•	 Artificial lures only.

WILLOW CREEK (Meagher County, near White Sulpur Springs)  – –––––––––– 
White Sulphur Springs water intake to its source
•	 Closed entire year.

WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR (near Augusta)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 5 trout daily only 1 over 20 inches.

WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR AND TRIBUTARIES (near Harrison)  ––––– 
Willow Creek arm, as posted
•	 Open third Saturday in May through the end of February.

Tributaries to reservoir - North Willow, South Willow and Norwegian Creeks - 
from the Highway 287 bridges to reservoir
•	 Open June 15 through November 30.

WILLOW SPRINGS CREEK (tributary to Jefferson River)  ––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open June 15 through September 30.
•	 Catch-and-release for Rainbow Trout.

YELLOWSTONE RIVER  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire River
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 10 daily and in possession.

Yellowstone National Park Boundary to Pine Creek Bridge
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

Yellowstone National Park Boundary to I-90 Bridge at Billings
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 1 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 2 

may be Sauger, includes tributary streams.
YELLOWSTONE RIVER TRIBUTARIES  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Hellroaring, Slough and Soda Butte creeks upstream from YNP Boundary
•	 Cutthroat Trout: 3 daily and in possession, only 1 over 14 inches.

All tributaries between YNP Boundary and Pine Creek Bridge
•	 Catch-and-release for Cutthroat Trout.

All tributaries downstream from Springdale 
•	 Combined trout: All may be Cutthroat Trout (unless indicated otherwise in exceptions).
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  Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

The Eastern Fishing District includes all waters lying east of the 
Central Fishing District. For the boundary description, see Central 
Fishing District, page 51.

Note: Roadways that are used as boundaries between the Central and Eastern Fishing 
Districts are interpreted to be in the Central Fishing District.

For additional information regarding the boundaries of this district, please call the following 
regional headquarters Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.:

Billings......................................................................406-247-2940
Glasgow....................................................................406-228-3700
Great Falls................................................................406-454-5840
Havre Area Resource Office...................................406-265-6177
Lewistown Area Office............................................406-538-4658
Miles City..................................................................406-234-0900
FWP Headquarters...................................................406-444-2449

         Hearing Impaired (use Montana Relay)........7-1-1 or 1-800-253-4091

Eastern Fishing District
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Closed Waters 
Waters operated as fish hatcheries and rearing ponds by FWP and the US Fish and Wildlife 
Service shall be closed to fishing at all times. Waters in which FWP operates fish traps and 
other structures are closed to fishing as posted. Certain water-supply lakes, streams and 
hazardous areas are also closed as posted.
Dam Closures and Restrictions 
In the interest of public health and safety, certain areas above and below most dams are closed to the 
public. These restrictions include areas where no public access is allowed below the ordinary high-water 
mark. The restricted areas are identified and delineated by signs and/or boat restraining systems.
The following dams are closed to all boating, sailing, floating, swimming, fishing or other 
recreational activity as marked by boat restraining systems or as posted to restrict access. 
Other dams not listed here may also be posted for restricted access. For more information call 
the FWP Fishing Access Coordinator at 406-444-7885, or contact the Bureau of Reclamation 
(BOR)  at 406‑247‑7296 or the Army Corp of Engineers (ACOE) 406-293-7751.

•	Anita Dam (BOR, Yellowstone County) 
•	Fort Peck Dam (ACOE, Valley County) 
•	Fresno Dam (BOR, Hill County)
•	Tongue River Reservoir (DNRC, Big Horn County)

Beaver Ponds
Beaver ponds on streams are governed by the same regulations that govern the streams.
Fort Peck Reservation - Tribal Boundary Water Regulations
Non-tribal members licensed through the State of Montana and/or Fort Peck Tribes that are 
fishing in waters that form the exterior boundaries of the Reservation -- Big Muddy Creek, 
Missouri River and/or Milk River -- are permitted to harvest the following limits:
	 Burbot (Ling)  		  5 daily and in possession
	 Channel Catfish   		  10 daily and 20 in possession
	 Northern Pike		  10 daily and in possession
	 Paddlefish  		  1 per season and in possession
	 Sauger/Walleye  		  5 daily and 10 in possession
	 Pallid Sturgeon 		  0 (all waters are closed to fishing for Pallid Sturgeon)
	 Shovelnose Sturgeon		 5 daily and in possession                
These harvest limits cannot be exceeded, even if the angler possesses both tribal and state 
licenses, and fishes on and/or off the reservation on the same day.  
Non-tribal members licensed through the State of Montana and/or the Fort Peck Tribes, that 
are fishing in exterior boundary waters — Big Muddy Creek, Missouri River and/or Milk River 
— are limited to a maximum of 6 lines with 6 hooks per line.  Unattended lines are required 
to be identified with the angler’s name and/or license number. Setlines shall not be attached 
to jugs or floating devices.
Irrigation Canals and Ditches
Man-made irrigation canals and ditches are open year round unless stated otherwise in 
exceptions to standard regulations. The same daily and possession limits apply to them as for 
rivers/streams. Please refer to “Irrigation Canals and Ditches” on page 24 for more details.
Reservoirs
Under normal operations, reservoir pool elevation, surface acreage and the mouths of the 
inlet stream(s) are expected to vary throughout the year. An imaginary line connecting the 
reservoir shoreline across the mouth of the stream marks the boundary between reservoir and 
stream/river, and the boundary will move as reservoir levels change. Streams are defined by a 
sloped streambed that results in a defined current flow between two discernible stream banks. 
Stream regulations apply upstream from the mouth on the reservoir and often are managed 
under seasons, limits and special regulations that differ from the reservoir regulations.
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  Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

  Eastern District Standard Regulations
Transporting Live Fish
An import permit is required to bring live fish of any kind into Montana. It is unlawful to possess 
or transport any live fish away from the body of water in which the fish were taken without 
authorization from FWP with the following exceptions:  

1) 		Transportation of fish for authorized commercial purposes (eg. Baitfish Seining Permit, 
Commercial Fish Ponds, Commercial Fishing, etc.); 

2) 	Use as live bait subject to restrictions imposed by the F&W Commission for the taking, 		
transport and use of live baitfish (see “Bait Regulations” for Eastern Fishing District) 
below; or 

3) 		Within the boundaries of the Eastern Fishing District. It is unlawful to possess or transport 
live fish, other than authorized baitfish, on roadways that form the boundary between the 
Eastern and Central fishing districts.

4) 	Transport of live baitfish to and from areas contaminated with Eurasian watermilfoil 
(Fort Peck Reservoir, Fort Peck Dredge Cut Ponds, and the Missouri River from Fort 
Peck Dam to the mouth of the Milk River) is allowed ONLY in clean water (e.g. transport 
minnows in well water). 

Boat and Motor Restrictions
A complete, updated, copy of the Montana Boating Laws may be obtained by contacting any 
FWP office or any FWP license agent. All passengers under the age of 12 must wear a PFD 
at all times when the boat is in motion if the boat is less than 26 feet long. A wearable, U.S. 
Coast Guard approved PFD must be available for each occupant of any boat. 

Methods of Taking Fish
•	A valid fishing license is required for all types of fishing. 
•	Spears and bows are counted as lines for purposes of determining line limits.  
•	When multiple lines are allowed on a body of water, the number of lines shall not 

exceed  the combination of attended lines,  setlines, or spears. For example, while 
spearing for Northern Pike on Tongue River Reservoir in the winter (where the limit is 
6 lines through the ice), an angler may only have 5 setlines in use.  

•	All unattended fishing devices (crayfish traps, minnow traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) 
must have the angler’s name and phone number or name and ALS# attached.

Hook and Line Limits
Open Water

    Rivers and Streams
•	6 lines with 6 hooks per line. The line/s must be attended and in the angler’s immediate 

control unless they are used as setlines. See regulations for Setlines below.
    Lakes and Reservoirs

•	2 lines with 2 hooks per line or as noted under Exceptions to Standard Regulations. 
All lines must be attended and in the angler’s immediate control unless they are used 
as setlines. See regulations for Setlines below. 

Ice Fishing
    Lakes, Reservoirs, Rivers and Streams

•	6 lines with 2 hooks per line through the ice. When a line is used through the ice, 
the angler need not be in immediate control but must be in the vicinity and in visual 
contact with the line unless they are used as setlines. See regulations for Setlines on 
next page.
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    Size of Hole: There is no size limit for a hole used for ice fishing or with a spear.
    Shelters: It is unlawful to use any ice fishing shelter not conforming to the following rules:

Definition/use: Any hut or enclosure constructed of any material, except ice or snow, 
for the purpose of ice fishing. 
Identification: Identification must be painted on or otherwise affixed to all unattended 
shelters in legible, 2-inch letters plainly visible at a distance of 100 feet.  Identification 
must include the owner’s name and address, name and phone number, or 9/10-digit 
ALS number. Attended shelters at Bearpaw Lake and Beaver Creek Reservoir must 
also be identified.
Inspection: Each closed shelter shall have a door that an officer may readily open 
from the outside for inspection when it is occupied. 
Waste and Rubbish Disposal: Owners and occupants of shelters are required to 
keep their shelters (and the area immediately around them) free from rubbish and 
trash. Anglers must remove waste materials before they leave for the day.
Removal After the Season: The owner of an ice fishing shelter shall remove it from 
the ice before it becomes irretrievable at the end of the season, or within five days 
from receipt of notification from FWP to remove the shelter.

Setlines
•	Number of lines is the same as for Hook and Line Limits. Setlines may be used in all 	

waters unless prohibited in the District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.
•	Setlines (unattended lines) must be checked by the owner at least once every 24 hours.
•	The angler’s name and phone number or name and 9/10-digit ALS# must be attached 	

to each setline.
•	Setlines shall not be attached to jugs or other floating devices.

Bow and Arrow: All waters open to angling are open to taking Paddlefish and non-game 
fish by bow and arrow unless otherwise noted in the exceptions to the standard regulations.  
Crossbows: Unlawful.
Nets and Traps: Landing nets may be used for landing hooked fish. See Bait Regulations 
for use of nets to harvest bait fish.
Hoop Nets

•	The use of hoop nets is permitted in certain areas of the Eastern Fishing District.
•	The use of hoop nets is limited to licensed resident anglers.
•	A permit is required. Permit applications and rules are available at FWP offices in 

Billings, Miles City and Glasgow.
Snagging: Snagging non-game fish is allowed on all open waters in the Eastern District 
except on the Missouri River downstream from Fort Benton to the North Dakota border, and on 
the Yellowstone River downstream from the mouth of the Bighorn River, where only Paddlefish 
may be snagged by anglers with a valid Paddlefish tag. All waters open to angling are open 
to snagging Paddlefish during the open Paddlefish season by anglers with a valid tag (see 
Special Paddlefish Regulations for additional important Paddlefish information). Snagging 
Chinook Salmon is allowed on Fort Peck Reservoir only from October 1 through November 30. 
Spearing: In all waters open to fishing, non-game fish, Northern Pike, Burbot (Ling), Walleye 
and Whitefish may be taken with rubber or spring-propelled spears by persons swimming or 
submerged. Spears or gigs may be used through the ice for non-game fish, Northern Pike, 
Walleye, Sauger and Burbot (Ling).
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  Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Bait Regulations 
•	Game fish, including Yellow Perch, may not be used as bait except as authorized 

below under Dead Bait.
•	Possession of live bait fish is prohibited on waters closed to using live bait.
•	It is unlawful to release live bait of any kind into Montana waters; do not empty any 

live bait containers at your fishing site.
•	Where live fish may be used as bait (see list below under Live Bait), legal non-game 

fish may be taken for use as bait in the following manner:
- with hook and line; or
- with seines no larger than 12 feet by 4 feet; or
- with minnow traps (the dimensions shall not exceed 24 inches x 12 inches x 12 inches); or
- with cast nets (maximum 6-foot radius) and dip nets (no larger than 3 feet x 3 feet).

•	Legal non-game fish, except Sculpins (genus Cottus) which must be killed prior to 
transport, may only be transported live:
-  to or from waters where live fish may be used as bait in the Central Fishing District, or
- anywhere within the boundaries of the Eastern Fishing District.
Note: Sculpins (genus Cottus) may not be used for bait in the Western District.

•	Landowner permission is required to capture live bait from privately owned ponds.
•	See Commercial Fishing License (page 6) requirements for information on commercial 

harvest permits.
•	All unattended fishing devices (crayfish traps, minnow traps, fish traps, setlines, etc.) 

must have the angler’s name and phone number or name and ALS# attached.
•	Areas within the Eastern Fishing District that have been identified as contaminated 

with Eurasian watermilfoil have additional bait restrictions as described below.
Dead Bait

•	Non-game fish that are freshly killed or have been preserved by freezing, salting or 
pickling may be used as bait on all waters not restricted to artificial lures only.  Heads 
and entrails of non-game fish may also be used as bait.

•	Whole game fish may not be used as bait. 
•	Parts/pieces of Bass, Burbot (Ling), Channel Catfish, Crappie, Northern Pike, 

Paddlefish, Sauger, Shovelnose Sturgeon, Tiger Muskie , Walleye, or Yellow Perch 
may be used as bait if edible portions are not wasted.

•	The eggs of Char, Cisco, Arctic Grayling, Salmon or Trout may be used as bait. Parts/
pieces of Salmonids may not be used as bait.

Live Bait
•	Live bait fish may not be imported into Montana.
•	Live animals such as meal worms, red worms, night crawlers, leeches, maggots, 

crayfish, reptiles, amphibians and insects may be used as bait on all waters not 
restricted to artificial lures only. 

•	Leeches may only be imported into Montana from FWP-approved leech dealers. 
Anglers who import leeches must have in their possession a bill-of-sale (a receipt) 
from the approved out-of-state leech dealer when fishing with leeches in Montana. A 
list of approved out-of-state leech dealers may be obtained from FWP by calling 406-
452-6181.

•	Fish species that may be collected and used as live bait in the Eastern Fishing District 
include only the following: Fathead Minnow, Flathead Chub, Western Silvery Minnow, 
Plains Minnow, Emerald Shiner, Longnose Dace, Lake Chub, Creek Chub, Longnose 
Sucker, and White Sucker. See pages 8-9 for live bait fish identification.
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•	These species may be used as live bait only in the following waters:
Rivers and Streams: All streams and rivers in the Eastern Fishing District except:

Milk River and its tributaries upstream from Fresno Dam.
Beaver Creek upstream from Beaver Creek Reservoir.

Lakes, Reservoirs, Ponds and Impoundments (listed by County):
 Big Horn Co – Tongue River Reservoir (see exceptions to standard regulations)
 Blaine Co – Cow Creek Reservoir, Dry Fork Reservoir, Anita Reservoir, Reser Reservoir 
 Carter Co. –Doug Gardner #2 Reservoir, Talcott Pond
 Custer Co. – Spotted Eagle Pond, Haughan Pond
 Daniels Co. – Whitetail Reservoir
 Dawson Co. – Hollecker Pond, Johnson Reservoir, Lindsey Reservoir
 Fallon Co, - Baker Lake, South Sandstone Reservoir
 Garfield Co. – Fort Peck Reservoir, Whiteside Reservoir
 Hill Co. – Beaver Creek Reservoir, Bailey Reservoir
 McCone Co. – Flat Lake, Fort Peck Reservoir, Hedstrom Reservoir
 Petroleum Co. – Fort Peck Reservoir, Petrolia Reservoir
 Prairie Co. – Grants Reservoir, Homestead Reservoir
 Phillips Co. – Bison Bone Reservoir, Big McNeil Slough, Cole Ponds, Ester  
   Reservoir, Fort Peck Reservoir, Frenchman Reservoir, Little Warm Reservoir,  
   McChesney Reservoir, Nelson reservoir, Wildhorse Reservoir 

 Richland Co. – Buxbaum West Reservoir, Gartside Reservoir, Kuester Reservoir
 Roosevelt Co. – Bainville Railroad Ponds
 Rosebud Co. – Castle Rock Lake, Lee Pond
 Sheridan Co. – Box Elder Reservoir, Engstrom Reservoir, Medicine Lake Nat. 
   Wildlife Refuge, Raymond Reservoir

 Valley Co. – Fort Peck Dredge Cut Trout Pond, Fort Peck Reservoir, Grub  
   Reservoir, Gut Shot Reservoir, Shoot Reservoir, Triple Crossing Reservoir,  
   Valley Reservoir, VR2 Reservoir, Wards Res., and all BLM reservoirs in the  
   Willow Creek Drainage

 Wibaux Co. – Wibaux Pond
Bait restrictions in Eurasian watermilfoil contaminated areas
Eurasian watermilfoil is an invasive aquatic plant species that has become established  in 
some Montana waters. This water weed is easily spread from one body of water to another 
primarily by plant fragments.  Areas within the Eastern Fishing District that have been identified 
as contaminated with Eurasian watermilfoil are:

•	Fort Peck Reservoir
•	Fort Peck Dredge Cut Ponds
•	Missouri River from Fort Peck Dam to the mouth of the Milk River

The additional bait restrictions within the contaminated areas are: 
•	Commercial collection of bait animals is not permitted. 
•	Transport of live aquatic bait animals to and from these contaminated areas is allowed 

only in clean water (e.g. transport minnows and leeches in well water).  
Anglers shall inspect all bait buckets and live wells to ensure that NO PLANT FRAGMENTS are 
present when leaving a body of water.  It takes only a small fragment of Eurasian watermilfoil 
(less than 2 inches) to start a new plant and infest a body of water.
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General Regulations  

Possession limit means the number of fish that you may possess at any time in any form: 
fresh, stored in freezers or lockers, salted, smoked, dried, canned or otherwise preserved. It is 
unlawful to preserve fish (salted, smoked, dried, canned, or otherwise preserved) before taking 
them to your permanent residence (the physical abode or structure you maintain as your principal, 
legal residence) unless those fish can be counted. Mobile recreational vehicles, travel trailers, 
tents or storage/freezer lockers do not qualify as permanent residences. No person may sell 
or take for the purpose of sale any fish except as authorized in commercial fishing regulations.
Daily limit means the number of fish you may legally take during a calendar day. It is unlawful 
to exceed the standard daily limit unless the regulations for the water body where you are 
fishing specify a different limit. “Legally taken” means fish caught and not immediately released 
alive. Where catch-and-release is allowed, fish immediately released alive are considered not 
taken. A fish when landed and not immediately released becomes part of the daily limit of the 
person originally hooking the fish, even if the fish is donated to another person. If you receive 
fish from another angler, those fish also become part of your daily limit. You may possess the 
daily limit allowed only for the body of water on which you are fishing.
Handling and Transporting Legally Taken Fish
While a person is fishing, or while on the water or on the ice:

•	All fish in possession must be visibly identifiable to species. 
•	All fish in possession must be whole with head, skin, fins and tail attached. Gills and 

entrails may be removed (see Disposal of Dead Fish and Fish Entrails on page 10).
Once off the water or ice, fish may be dressed and filleted for transport to your permanent 
residence, unless size limits apply, under the following conditions: 

•	All fish can be counted and identified. Two fillets will be counted as one fish. If the catch 
is frozen prior to transport, each fish or fillet must be packaged so it can be counted.

•	Salmonids (Trout, Salmon, Arctic Grayling, Char and Whitefish): the entire skin must 
be attached to the fillet for identification.

General Fishing Seasons and Hours 
Fishing Hours

-- Fishing is allowed at all hours during open fishing seasons unless otherwise specified 
in District Exceptions to Standard Regulations.

Fishing Season: Lakes/Reservoirs and Rivers/Streams
-- All waters open entire year unless otherwise specified in District Exceptions to 

Standard Regulations.

Special Paddlefish Regulations			 

All Paddlefish anglers must purchase a paddlefish tag, a conservation license, and the required 
fishing license (see License Requirements pages 4-5).  All licenses must be in the angler’s 
immediate possession while fishing.
Daily and Possession Limits and Tags: one Paddlefish per season per angler. 
Anglers may select only one of the following areas, and may only fish in the area selected:

•	Upper Missouri River, upstream from Fort Peck Dam to Fort Benton - White Tag
•	Fort Peck Dredge Cuts (west of Park Grove Bridge and Nelson Dredge) on the 

Missouri  River - Blue Tag
•	Yellowstone River and Missouri River downstream from Fort Peck Dam – Yellow Tag
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General Paddlefish Regulations for ALL Areas

•	It is unlawful for an individual to sell any portion of a paddlefish including eggs 
(processed or unprocessed) as prescribed by the F&W Commission.

•	Anglers harvesting a paddlefish anywhere in Montana (Yellowstone River, Missouri 
River or Ft Peck Dredge Cuts) are required to report harvested paddlefish within 48 
hours of harvest. 

•	Reporting options include: on-site where fish was harvested (in some instances 
fisheries staff will be available to assist with reporting), phone hotline (1-877-FWP-
WILD or 406-444-0356, or MyFWP.)

•	Anglers reporting a harvested paddlefish will be required to provide the following 
information: Angler tag number, jaw tag number (if present), length (eye-tail fork), sex, 
date of harvest and harvest location. Additional information that may be collected on-
site includes: weight and age structure (jaw section).  

•	Instructions for reporting will be included when the paddlefish tag is sold.
•	Anglers not reporting a harvested paddlefish will not be eligible to purchase a 

paddlefish tag the following year.
•	All waters open to angling are open to snagging paddlefish during the open paddlefish  

season by anglers with a valid tag, except the Ft Peck Dredge Cuts Archery section.  
•	Snagging non-game fish is allowed on all open waters in the Eastern District except 

on the Missouri River downstream from Fort Benton to the North Dakota border and 
on the Yellowstone River downstream from the mouth of the Bighorn River.

•	 Each angler must cast for, hook and reel in his or her own paddlefish. It is unlawful 
for another person to do so. It is unlawful to loan tags or use another angler’s tag.

•	Hook size is limited to 8/0 and smaller for all paddlefish snagging.
•	Gaffs, no longer than 4.5 feet in length, may be used to land a paddlefish that will be 

tagged. Gaffs may not be used to land a paddlefish that will be released.
•	Any tag locked shut prior to attachment to a paddlefish shall be void and is not replaceable. 

Any altered or modified tag shall be void. Voided or lost tags are not replaceable. 
•	Paddlefish must be tagged immediately upon harvest.
•	It is unlawful to possess an untagged paddlefish or part of one. If anglers cut up a 

paddlefish, they must keep the part of the fish back and dorsal fin (back fin) where the 
tag is attached and sealed to the fish.

•	Tags must remain with processed fish until consumption.
•	When a paddlefish is captured and tagged, the fish must be removed from the river by 

the end of the day (9:00 PM MST).

Tagging a Paddlefish 
•	Cut a small hole in the base of the dorsal fin.
•	Insert the metal loop portion of the plastic self-locking tag through this hole and seal tag.
•	The metal loop must penetrate the fish so as to make the plastic self-locking tag  

non‑removable when tag is sealed.
•	The plastic self-locking tag must be completely sealed so it cannot be reopened.  

Any fish not tagged in accordance with these instructions shall be considered to 
be untagged. You must have your conservation and Paddlefish license in your 
possession to fish for or/and take Paddlefish.
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Missouri River upstream from Fort Peck Dam to Fort Benton (White Tag)
Upper Missouri Paddlefish Drawing: Paddlefish harvest only tags will be available via lottery 
draw for the Upper Missouri River paddlefish season (White Tag) only. Anglers need to apply 
individually or as a party (up to five people). Applications can be submitted either on-line at  
http://fwp.mt.gov, at an FWP office (see page 1 for addresses) or mailed. 
•	Applications must be received by FWP no later than 5:00 PM March 29, 2019. 
•	Unsuccessful applicants can still catch-and-release paddlefish with their Conservation 

License, Fishing License, and paddlefish tag. Successful applicants will be allowed to 
fish from May 1 to June 15.  Harvested paddlefish must be immediately tagged and 
reported within 48 hours (phone hotline 1-877-FWP-WILD or 406-444-0356.) 

•	All paddlefish caught during the catch-and-release season must be released 
immediately and may not be gaffed or lifted out of the water. Captured fish must 
remain at least partially submerged in water at all times (to avoid injury to the fish). 

•	Paddlefish anglers can participate in only one Paddlefish season per year. For 
example, if an angler is unsuccessful in drawing a paddlefish tag for the Upper 
Missouri River paddlefish season (White Tag) he/she cannot purchase a tag to fish 
the Yellowstone River paddlefish season (Yellow Tag).                                    

•	Paddlefish Snagging: open to harvesting paddlefish from May 1 to June 15 from 6:00 AM 
to 9:00 PM (MST) daily. 

•	Catch-and-release snagging for paddlefish is open from May 1 to June 15. Proof of 
purchase of a white paddlefish tag on your fishing license is required for catch-and-
release fishing. All paddlefish must be released immediately and may not be gaffed or 
lifted out of the water. Captured fish must remain at least partially submerged in water 
at all times (to avoid injury to the fish).

Fort Peck Dredge Cuts (west of Park Grove Bridge and Nelson Dredge) (Blue Tag)
•	Bow and Arrow: open July 1 through August 31 for paddlefish. One paddlefish per 

angler. An unused blue paddlefish tag is required to fish for Paddlefish.
•	Snagging: no snagging allowed, this is an archery only season.

Paddlefish Season Summary by River and River Section

River River Section Color Season 
Dates Harvest Days C&R Days

Missouri  
River

Ft Peck Dam to Ft 
Benton white May 1 - Jun 15 all all

Ft Peck Dredge Cuts - 
no snagging blue July 1 - Aug 31 all - bow & arrow 

harvest only none

Ft Peck Dam to ND Line yellow May 15 - Jun 30 Tue,Wed,Fri,Sat none

Yellowstone 
    River

Big Horn R to Intake 
Dam yellow May 15 - Jun 30 Tue,Wed,Fri,Sat none

Intake FAS yellow May 15 - Jun 30 Tue,Wed,Fri,Sat Sun, Mon,Thur

Downstream of Intake FAS 
to ND Line yellow May 15 - Jun 30 Tue,Wed,Fri,Sat none

                 FAS = Fishing Access Site                            C&R = Catch-and-release
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Yellowstone River and Missouri River downstream from Fort Peck Dam (Yellow Tag)
•	The paddlefish fishery is managed under a harvest target so annual harvest will not 

exceed 1,000 fish. FWP will announce closure of the harvest season with a 24 hour 
notice to prevent exceeding the harvest target, and immediately at the Intake FAS 
and downstream to Cottonwood Creek, when it is estimated that the target will be 
reached. For current information on harvest status call the Miles City FWP office at 
406-234-0900.

•	The Montana nonprofit corporation designated to accept paddlefish egg donations in 
exchange for a free fish cleaning service, in accordance with guidelines developed 
and implemented through the annual Memorandum of Understanding, is authorized 
to accept and transport lawfully taken and tagged paddlefish donated by the angler. 
Paddlefish harvested on the Yellowstone River between the Burlington Northern 
Railroad Bridge at Glendive and the North Dakota state line are eligible for donation 
to the cleaning station at Intake FAS. 

Missouri River downstream from Fort Peck Dam and Yellowstone River from the 
mouth of the Bighorn River to Intake Dam (not including Intake Fishing Access 
Site) and downstream of Intake Fishing Access Site to North Dakota State Line 
(Yellow Tag)
•	Paddlefish Harvest snagging: open Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays 

from May 15 through June 30 from 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM (MST) daily, unless closed 
earlier by FWP; closed Sundays, Mondays and Thursdays - catch-and-release 
snagging for paddlefish is not permitted in these areas.

•	An unused yellow paddlefish tag is required to fish for paddlefish. The tag must be 
properly placed on the first paddlefish caught and landed. 

Intake Fishing Access Site (Yellow Tag)
•	Paddlefish Harvest Snagging: open Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays 

from May 15 through June 30 from 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM (MST) daily, unless closed to 
harvest earlier by FWP.

•	An unused yellow paddlefish tag is required to fish for paddlefish. The tag must be properly 
placed on the first paddlefish caught and landed. It is unlawful to release a paddlefish 
except on designated catch-and-release days during the open season for Paddlefish.

•	FWP will announce closure of the harvest season with a 24 hour notice to prevent 
exceeding the 1,000 fish harvest target, and immediately at the Intake FAS and 
downstream to Cottonwood Creek, when it is estimated that the target will be reached.  
Following the harvest closure, catch-and-release snagging will be allowed, at Intake 
Fishing Access Site only, for 10 consecutive calendar days or through June 30, 
whichever comes first.

•	Paddlefish Catch-and-Release Snagging: open Sundays, Mondays and Thursdays from 
May 15 through June 30 from 6:00 AM to 9:00 PM (MST) daily, unless closed earlier by 
FWP.

•	Evidence of a current year yellow paddlefish tag must be in possession to catch-and-
release snag for Paddlefish. All paddlefish must be released immediately and may 
not be gaffed or lifted out of the water. Captured fish must remain at least partially 
submerged in water at all times (to avoid injury to the fish). 

Intake Diversion Dam to 1/4 mile downstream (Yellow Tag)
•	Closed to fishing, snagging or landing paddlefish from boats/vessels during the 

open paddlefish season (i.e. May 15 through June 30 or earlier as posted on site).
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Waterbody/Section                    Exceptions to Standard Regulations

 Report unlawful fish introductions! Make the call: 1-800 TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

Eastern District Standard Daily and Possession Limits
Each angler may take all of the limits listed in the chart, unless otherwise noted in the Eastern 
District Exceptions. For species not listed, there are no limits on the number of fish that may 
be taken or possessed.
Anglers who move from one fishing water to another may possess the limit of fish allowed 
only for the water on which they are currently fishing.  

Species Daily and Possession Limits

T
R
O
U
T

   Brook trout 10 daily and in possession.
   Combined trout
        includes Brown Trout, 
        Rainbow Trout, 
        Golden Trout
        and Arctic Grayling

Lakes/Reservoirs: 5 daily and 10 in possession, 
   includes Cutthroat Trout.

Rivers/Streams: 5 daily and in possession.

   Cutthroat Trout Lakes/Reservoirs: included in the “Combined 
   Trout” daily and possession limit.

Rivers/Streams: all Cutthroat Trout must be 
    released immediately.

   Lake Trout 3 daily and 6 in possession.
Bass 5 daily and in possession.
Burbot (Ling) 5 daily and in possession.
Channel Catfish 10 daily and 20 in possession.
Crappie 15 daily and 30 in possession.
Northern Pike 10 daily and in possession.
Paddlefish 1 per season and in possession. Tag required.
Pallid Sturgeon  None - this is an endangered species and 

    all fish must be released immediately.
All waters are closed to fishing for Pallid Sturgeon.

Salmon (Kokanee & Chinook) 5 daily and 10 in possession.
Sauger/Walleye 5 daily and 10 in possession.

Shovelnose Sturgeon 5 daily and in possession, none over 40 inches.

Tiger Muskie  1 daily and in possession, must be over 40 inches.

Whitefish 20 daily and 40 in possession.

2019 GENERAL FISHING SEASON

Eastern 
District

Rivers and Streams Lakes and Reservoirs

Open all year  Open all year

If you don’t find the water you are looking for listed in the district exceptions, use 
the standard regulations for the district you are fishing in.



Visit http://fwp.mt.gov   89

E
astern D

istrict
Waterbody/Section                      Exceptions to Standard Regulations

If you don’t find the water you are looking for, use 
the Standard Daily & Possession Lim

its on p 88.
Eastern District Exceptions To Standard Regulations

Check the following list of waters for the body of water you intend to fish in the Eastern District. 
If the body of water is not found in the listing of Exceptions, all of the Eastern District standard 
seasons, daily/possession limits, and statewide regulations apply.  Standard regulations apply 
for species not listed in the Exceptions. 
Waterbody/Section                       Exceptions to Standard Regulations
BIGHORN RIVER (east of Billings)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

Entire river
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 1 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 2 may be Sauger.

BOXELDER RESERVOIR aka Bolster Dam (Sheridan County) – –––––––––––– 
•	 Yellow Perch: 25 daily and 50 in possession.

FORT PECK DREDGE CUTS (west of Park Grove Bridge and Nelson Dredge)  ––– 
•	 Bow and Arrow: open July 1 through August 31 for Paddlefish. 1 per season and in 

possession. An unused blue Paddlefish tag is required to fish for Paddlefish.
•	 Combined trout: 2 Rainbow Trout daily and in possession.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 2 lines with 2 hooks per line on open water and 6 lines with 

6 hooks per line through the ice.
•	 Snagging: no snagging allowed.

FORT PECK KIDS POND (near Downstream Campground)  ––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

FORT PECK RESERVOIR  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Fort Peck Dam to Beauchamp Creek and CMR Trail 837
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 2 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 4 

may be Sauger.
•	 Spearing: Chinook Salmon and Lake Trout may be taken by spear or gig through 

the ice December 1 through March 31.
•	 Snagging: allowed only for Chinook Salmon from October 1 through November 30.

HOLLECKER LAKE  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Bass: only 1 over 15 inches daily and in possession.

HOME RUN POND (Glasgow)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open to fishing for anglers 14 years of age or younger only. One rod per child.

JUDITH RIVER (from Hwy 81 downstream to mouth) –––––––––––––––––––––
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 2 may be Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 4 may 

be Sauger .
LAKE ELMO  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 

•	 Bow fishing prohibited.
MARIAS RIVER––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily only 2 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 4 may 
be Sauger.

•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches.
MEDICINE LAKE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE (Sheridan County)  – –– 

All lakes
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6  lines with 6 hooks per line during the applicable open season.

Medicine Lake
•	 Open November 15 through September 15.

Gaffney Lake and Lake 10
•	 Open August 15 through March 31.

Lake 12
•	 Open November 15 through March 31.



90   

E
as

te
rn

 D
is

tr
ic

t
Waterbody/Section                    Exceptions to Standard Regulations

                
                   If you see this icon, turn to page 16 for information on Sport Fish Consumption Guidelines.
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MISSOURI RIVER  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire river
•	 Snagging: it is unlawful to snag for fish other than Paddlefish on the Missouri River 

downstream from Fort Benton; any fish other than Paddlefish must be immediately 
released alive.

Upstream from Fort Peck Dam to Fort Benton
•	 Paddlefish snagging: open for harvesting Paddlefish from May 1 through June 15 

from 6 AM to 9 PM, MST, daily unless closed earlier by FWP.
•	 Catch-and-release snagging for Paddlefish is open from May 1 through June 15 

from 6 AM to 9 PM, MST, daily. See Special Paddlefish Regulations (pages 84-86) 
for additional important Paddlefish information.

•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily, only 2 may be a Sauger. Possession limit is 10, only 4 
may be Sauger.

Downstream from Fort Peck Dam
•	 Catch-and-release snagging for Paddlefish is not permitted.
•	 Paddlefish snagging: open Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays May 

15 through June 30 from 6 AM to 9 PM, MST, unless closed to harvest earlier by 
FWP.  Paddlefish snagging is closed on Sundays, Mondays and Thursdays. See 
Special Paddlefish Regulations (pages 84-86) for additional important Paddlefish 
information.

Fort Peck Dam to the mouth of the Milk River
•	 Combined trout: 2 Rainbow Trout daily and in possession.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 2 lines with 2 hooks per line on open water and 6 lines with 

6 hooks per line  through the ice.
Downstream from Fort Peck Dam near Duck Island as posted
•	 Closed from March 1 through July 31 to fishing and wading as posted.
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ROSS RESERVOIR (Blaine County)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Open third Saturday in May through November 30.

SPOTTED EAGLE POND (Miles City)  –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 5 fish daily and in possession, any combination of species.

TONGUE RIVER  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Tongue River Reservoir to Wyoming State Border
•	 Fish species allowed for use as live bait are: Fathead Minnow, Flathead Chub, 

Longnose Dace, Lake Chub, Creek Chub, White Sucker, and Longnose Sucker.
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily only 1 may be a Sauger and 10 in possession only 2 may 

be Sauger.
Twelve Mile Dam Fishing Access Site (T&Y Dam)
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 2 lines with 2 hooks per line all year.

TONGUE RIVER RESERVOIR  – –––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Fish species allowed for use as live bait are: Fathead Minnow, Flathead Chub, 

Longnose Dace, Lake Chub, Creek Chub, White Sucker, and Longnose Sucker.
•	 Crappie: 30 daily and 60 in possession.
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily only 1 may be a Sauger and 10 in possession only 2 may 

be Sauger.
•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 6 lines with 6 hooks per line through the ice.

WARM SPRINGS CREEK (Fergus County)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches.

WIND CREEK (Blaine County)  ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
•	 Closed entire year from Clear Creek road crossing to Ross Reservoir Dam.

YELLOWSTONE RIVER  – ––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––– 
Entire River
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 10 daily and in possession.

I-90 Bridge at Billings to the mouth of the Bighorn River
•	 Combined trout: 5 daily and in possession, only 1 over 18 inches, all may be Cutthroat Trout.
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily only 1 may be a Sauger and 10 in possession only 2 may 

be Sauger.
Mouth of the Bighorn River to Cartersville Diversion Dam at Forsyth
•	 Sauger/Walleye: 5 daily only 1 may be a Sauger and 10 in possession only 2 may 

be Sauger.
Downstream from the mouth of the Bighorn River, not  including Intake Fishing 
Access Site
•	 Catch-and-release snagging for Paddlefish is not permitted.
•	 Paddlefish Harvest Snagging: Open May 15 through June 30 from 6 AM to 9 PM 

MST, on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays only, unless closed earlier 
by FWP. Paddlefish snagging closed on Sundays, Mondays, and Thursdays. 
See Special Paddlefish Regulations (pages 84 - 87) for additional Paddlefish 
information.

•	 Snagging: It is unlawful to snag for fish other than Paddlefish.
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If you don’t find the water you are looking for, use 
the Standard Daily & Possession Lim

its on p 88.

Intake Fishing Access Site
•	 Snagging: It is unlawful to snag for fish other than Paddlefish.
•	 Paddlefish Harvest Snagging: open May 15 through June 30 from 6 AM to 9 PM 

MST, on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays unless closed earlier by 
FWP.

•	 Paddlefish Catch-and-release snagging: open May 15 through June 30 from 6AM 
to 9PM MST, on Sundays, Mondays, and Thursdays. Following the harvest closure, 
catch-and-release snagging will be allowed for 10 consecutive days or through 
June 30, whichever comes first. See Special Paddlefish Regulations (pages 84 - 
87) for important Paddlefish information. 

•	 Hook and Line/Setlines: 2 lines with 2 hooks per line all year.
Intake Diversion Dam to 1/4 mile downstream of dam
•	 Closed to fishing, snagging or landing fish from boats/vessels during the open 

Paddlefish season (May 15 through June 30 - may end earlier as posted on site).
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For more information on AIS identification and much more, visit: 
http://fwp.mt.gov/fishAndWildlife/species/ais/

Aquatic Invasive Species
Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) include clams, fish, mussels, plants, 
snails, crayfish and pathogens. 

AIS in Montana AIS we don’t want

Remember:
1. DO NOT transport invasive species in Montana...it 

is the LAW.
2. ALL watercraft MUST stop at encountered inspection 

stations, including canoes, kayaks, drift boats, etc.

Silver carp
Eurasian Watermilfoil

Curlyleaf pondweed

VHS virus

Zebra 
mussel

Quagga 
mussel

Hydrilla
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Montana Fish Records
Visit http://fwp.mt.gov/fish/anglingData/records/ for a complete list of Montana fish 
records – or call 406‑444-5594.  
If you think you have legally caught a fish in Montana that may be a state record:

•	To prevent loss of weight, don’t clean or freeze the fish. Keep the fish cool – 
preferably on ice. Take a picture of the fish.

•	Get the fish weighed as soon as possible on a certified scale (found in grocery or 
hardware stores, etc.) and witnessed by an observer.  Get an affidavit from the store if 
no FWP official is present. Measure the length.

•	Contact the nearest FWP office to have the fish positively identified and to determine 
if it is a state record.

Records as of January 1, 2019. Native fish species are shaded. 
FISH Length Weight lbs. SITE ANGLER DATE
Arctic Grayling 20 3.63 Washtub Lake Glenn Owens 6/28/03
Big Mouth Buffalo 40.7 57.75 Nelson Reservoir Craig D. Grassel 6/4/94
Black Bullhead 14.37 2.60 Smiley Slough Birrell White 6/20/09
Black Crappie 16.7 3.13 Tongue River Reservoir Al Elser 1973
Blue Sucker 32.56 11.56 Milk River Dean Armbrister 5/14/14
Bluegill 11 2.64 Peterson’s Stock Dam Brent Fladmo 6/3/83
Brook Trout 9.06. Lower Two Medicine Lake John R. Cook 1940
Brown Trout 29 Wade Lake E.H. “Peck” Bacon 1966
Bull Trout
(Dolly Varden)

37 25.63 James Hyer 1916

Burbot 39 17.08 Missouri River Jeff Eugene Iwen 4/18/89
Channel Catfish 41.75 34.8 Fort Peck Reservoir Dan Davenport 7/26/13
Chinook Salmon 38 31.13 Fort Peck Reservoir Carl L. Niles 10/2/91

Coho Salmon 25.5 4.88 Fort Peck Reservoir  
(Face of Dam) Irven F. Stohl 5/29/73

Cutthroat Trout 16 Red Eagle Lake Wm. D. Sands 1955
Golden Trout 23.5 5.43 Cave Lake Mike Malixi 7/16/00
Goldeye 3.18 Nelson Reservoir Don Nevrivy 7/4/00
Kokanee Salmon 26. 8 7.85 Hauser Lake John Bomar 9/23/03
Lake Trout 42.5 42.69 Flathead Lake Ruth Barber 6/23/04
Lake Whitefish 27 10.46 Flathead Lake Swan McDonald V 8/26/06
Largemouth Bass 22.5 8.80 Noxon Rapids Reservoir Darin Williams 5/2/09
Mountain Whitefish 23 5.11 Hauser Reservoir Walt Goodman 10/10/07
Northern Pike 37.5 Tongue River Reservoir Lance Moyer 1972
Northern Pikeminnow 27.125 7.88 Noxon Rapids Reservoir Darrel Torgrimson 5/28/91
Paddlefish 77 142.5 Missouri River Larry Branstetter 5/20/73
Pallid Sturgeon 60 Yellowstone River Gene Sattler 5/13/79
Rainbow Trout 38.62 33.1 Kootenai River Jack G. Housel, Jr. 8/11/97
Sauger 28.2 8.805 Fort Peck Reservoir Gene Moore 12/12/94
Shovelnose Sturgeon 39.75 14.125 Missouri River Chad Buck 5/21/10
Smallmouth Bass 21 7.51 Fort Peck Reservoir Mike Dominick 9/23/17
Smallmouth Buffalo 38 38 Nelson Reservoir Brady Miller 4/28/07
Tiger Muskie 50 38.75 Deadmans Basin Reservoir Leo Cantin 9/2/12
Walleye 35 17.75 Tiber Reservoir Robert Hart 11/18/07
White Bass 17 2.80 Missouri River Vernon Pacovsky 10/13/07
White Crappie 18.5 3.68 Tongue River Gene Bassett 5/10/96
White Sturgeon 75 96 Kootenai River Herb Stout 1968
Yellow Bullhead 14.0 1.62 Ninepipes Reservoir Frank Tepp 2/5/15
Yellow Perch 14.375 2.39 Lower Stillwater Lake Josh Emmert 2/19/06
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cheek has few 
or no scales

no spots on first dorsal fin

white spot at base of tail

Help protect native species
If you don’t know, let it go!
Key to identification:

PALLID STURGEON are frequently mistaken for Shovelnose Sturgeon 
(see pictures below and on next two pages): 
1. Look to see if the outer barbels are more than twice the length of the inner barbels. Are the

barbels attached closer to the mouth than to the tip of the snout? If yes—the fish is a Pallid
Sturgeon. Carefully release all Pallid Sturgeon (see page 10).

2. Sturgeon are difficult to distinguish. The Shovelnose Sturgeon is smaller and more common. 
Montana FWP recommends that all sturgeon be released if you are unsure of the species.

SAUGER are frequently mistaken for Walleye (see pictures below): 
1. Look for multiple small, distinct black spots on the spiny dorsal fin (first fin on top). If yes—it is

a Sauger.

MONTANA LAW REQUIRES:
• All Pallid Sturgeon must be released immediately and all sturgeon longer than 40 inches 

must be released immediately.
• Only two Sauger may be kept on the Missouri River upstream from Fort Peck Reservoir, on 

Fort Peck Reservoir, and on the Yellowstone River upstream from Forsyth at the 
Cartersville Diversion Dam.

Know the difference between Pallid and Shovelnose Sturgeon:

The Pallid Sturgeon is a fish of concern in Montana and it is listed as an Endangered Species by the 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Pallids are a bottom-dwelling fish of the Missouri and Yellowstone Rivers, 
preferring strong currents flowing over a sandy or gravely river bottom. Learn to distinguish the Pallid from 
the Shovelnose Sturgeon, a smaller and more common species. Because the sturgeon are hard to identify,
Montana FWP recommends that all sturgeon be released if you’re unsure of the species. 

Know the difference between sauger and walleye:

Pallid Sturgeon
Outer barbels 2 times 
the length of the inner
barbels. (Be alert for 
broken barbels).

Barbels attached close 
to mouth, about 1/3 
the distance between
mouth and tip of snout.

Shovelnose Sturgeon
Outer barbels barely
longer than inner 
barbels.

Barbels attached 
about 1/2 the 
distance between
mouth and tip 
of snout.

Sauger

Walleye

cheek 
mostly scaled

no white spot on base of tail

dark blotchy pattern
first dorsal fin

has rows of
rounded spots

(see Sauger definition 
under Game Fish on 
pages 20 & 21).
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Pallid Sturgeon  An endangered Species listed under the Endangered Species Act

 
Average Size: 60”

Shovelnose Sturgeon

Average Size: 20”–32”

Paddlefish  Species of Concern

Average Size: 55”–65”

Burbot

Average Size: 16”–24”

Channel Catfish

Average Size: 14”–20”

Sauger  Species of Concern

Average Size: 10”–16”

NATIVE FISH

Caudal peduncle long
and slender

Caudal peduncle
long and slender

“backbone” extends into
upper lobe of tail fin

snout long and
paddlelike

gill cover long and tapered

single chin 
barbel (whisker)

rounded tail

forked tail

cheek 
mostly scaled

no white spot on base of tail

dark blotchy pattern
first dorsal fin

has rows of
rounded spots

tail upturned,
sharklike

This fish is easily confused with the
Pallid Sturgeon. Note differences as

described on Page V

barbels

shovel-shaped
snout



Walleye

Average Size: 14”–18”

Know the difference between Sauger and Walleye

Yellow Perch

Average Size: 6”–10”

Largemouth Bass

Average Size: 10”–16”

Smallmouth Bass

Average Size: 8”–14”

Black Crappie

Average Size: 6”–12”

Northern Pike

Average Size: 18”–26”

Black Bullhead

Average Size: 7”–10”

NON-NATIVE FISH

cheek has few or
no scales

upper jaw reaches
behind rear margin

of eye in adult

upper jaw does not
reach behind rear

margin of eye

dorsal fin has
7 or 8 spines

side has dark
blotches in irreg-

ular pattern

snout flattened
like a duck’s bill

chin barbels black,
black spotted, or gray

pale band often
present on adults

17-21 anal fin rays 
including rudimentary rays

tail fin slightly
notched

numerous
sharp teeth

long body

pale spots

dorsal fin near
tail fin

no spots on first dorsal fin

white spot at base of tail

side yellow to 
yellow-green with 6-8 vertical bands

dorsal fin almost completely divided by
deep notch

shallow notch in dorsal fin

Note: Native populations of Northern pike 
may exist in localized waters of north-central
Montana.
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Montana Code Annotated 2019 
TITLE 2. GOVERNMENT STRUCTURE AND ADMINISTRATION  

CHAPTER 15. EXECUTIVE BRANCH OFFICERS AND AGENCIES  

Part 17. Department of Labor and Industry  

Board Of Outfitters  
2-15-1773. Board of outfitters. (1) There is a board of outfitters.  

(2) The board consists of the following seven members to be appointed by the governor with the 
consent of the senate:  

(a) one outfitter licensed to provide big game hunting services;  

(b) one outfitter licensed to provide fishing services but not hunting services;  

(c) two outfitters licensed to provide fishing and hunting services;  

(d) two sportspersons; and  

(e) one member of the general public.  

(3) A favorable vote of at least a majority of all members of the board is required to adopt any 
resolution, motion, or other decision.  

(4) A vacancy on the board must be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.  

(5) The members shall serve staggered 3-year terms and take office on the day they are 
appointed.  

(6) The board is allocated to the department of labor and industry for administrative purposes 
only as prescribed in 2-15-121.  

(7) Each member of the board is entitled to receive compensation and travel expenses as 
provided for in 37-1-133.  

History: En. 82A-2005 by Sec. 57, Ch. 511, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 63, L. 1974; R.C.M. 
1947, 82A-2005; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 192, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 
528, L. 1987; Sec. 2-15-3403, MCA 1985; redes. 2-15-1883 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 
1, Ch. 501, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 543, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 483, L. 2001; Sec. 2-15-1883, 
MCA 1999; redes. 2-15-1773 by Sec. 221(2), Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 328, L. 2011; amd. 
Sec. 5, Ch. 56, L. 2015; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 341, L. 2015.  

 

 

 

 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0020/chapter_0150/part_0010/section_0210/0020-0150-0010-0210.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0330/0370-0010-0010-0330.html


Montana Code Annotated 2019 

TITLE 37. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS 

CHAPTER 47. OUTFITTERS AND GUIDES 

Part 1. General 

Part 2. Board of Outfitters 

Part 3. Licensing 

Part 4. Relative Duties of Outfitters, Guides, and Participants 

Part 1. General  

37-47-101 Definitions  

37-47-101. Definitions. As used in this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise, the 
following definitions apply:  

(1) "Accompany" means to go with or be together with a participant as an escort, companion, or 
other service provider, with an actual physical presence in the area where the activity is being 
conducted and within sight or sound of the participant at some time during the furnishing of service.  

(2) "Board" means the board of outfitters provided for in 2-15-1773.  

(3) "Business entity" means any version of a proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or limited 
liability company.  

(4) "Consideration" means something of value given or done in exchange for something of value 
given or done by another.  

(5) "Department" means the department of labor and industry provided for in Title 2, chapter 15, 
part 17.  

(6) "Emergency" means an unforeseen combination of circumstances or the resulting state that 
calls for immediate action.  

(7) "Guide" means a person who is employed by or who has contracted independently with a 
licensed outfitter and who accompanies a participant during outdoor recreational activities that are 
directly related to activities for which the outfitter is licensed.  

(8) "License year" means the period indicated on the face of the license for which the license is 
valid.  

(9) "Net client hunter use" or "NCHU" means the number of clients authorized to be served by 
an outfitter on private and state land and on any federal land where an outfitter's use of the federal 
land is not limited by some means other than NCHU.  

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0010/sections_index.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/sections_index.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/sections_index.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0040/sections_index.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0010/section_0010/0370-0470-0010-0010.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0020/chapter_0150/part_0170/section_0730/0020-0150-0170-0730.html


(10) "Outfitter" means any person, except a person providing services on real property that the 
person owns for the primary pursuit of bona fide agricultural interests, who for consideration 
provides any saddle or pack animal, facilities, camping equipment, vehicle, watercraft, or other 
conveyance, or personal service for any person to hunt, trap, capture, take, kill, or pursue any 
game, including fish, and who accompanies that person, either part or all of the way, on an 
expedition for any of these purposes or supervises a licensed guide or outfitter's assistant in 
accompanying that person.  

(11) "Outfitter's assistant" means a person who is employed or retained by and directed by a 
licensed outfitter to perform the tasks of a guide when a guide's license cannot be readily attained 
prior to or during the service of a participant due to an emergency. The person may not represent 
to the public that the person is an outfitter or guide.  

(12) "Participant" means a person using the services offered by a licensed outfitter.  

History: Ap. p. Sec. 1, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 37, Ch. 511, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 
9, L. 1977; Sec. 26-908, R.C.M. 1947; Ap. p. Sec. 69, Ch. 173, L. 1917; re-en. Sec. 3748, R.C.M. 
1921; re-en. Sec. 3748, R.C.M. 1935; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 173, L. 1949; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 184, L. 
1951; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 223, L. 1955; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 541, L. 1975; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 9, L. 
1977; Sec. 26-904, R.C.M. 1947; R.C.M. 1947, 26-904(1), 26-908; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 170, L. 1981; 
amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 410, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 528, L. 1987; 
Sec. 87-4-101, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-101 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 
565, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 38, Ch. 16, L. 1991; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 
543, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 142, Ch. 483, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 97, Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 3, 
Ch. 241, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 341, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 55, L. 2015; amd. Sec. 1, 
Ch. 217, L. 2017.  

Part 2. Board of Outfitters  

37-47-201 Powers and duties of board relating to outfitters and guides  

37-47-202 Executive director  

Powers And Duties Of Board Relating To 
Outfitters And Guides  
37-47-201. Powers and duties of board relating to outfitters and guides. The board shall:  

(1) cooperate with the federal government in matters of mutual concern regarding the business 
of outfitting and guiding in Montana;  

(2) enforce the provisions of this chapter and rules adopted pursuant to this chapter;  

(3) establish outfitter standards and guide standards;  

(4) adopt:  

(a) rules to administer and enforce this chapter, including rules prescribing all requisite 
qualifications for licensure as an outfitter or guide. Qualifications for outfitters may include training, 
testing, experience, and knowledge of rules of governmental bodies pertaining to outfitting.  
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(b) any reasonable rules, not in conflict with this chapter, necessary for safeguarding the public 
health, safety, and welfare, including evidence of qualification and licensure under this chapter for 
any person practicing or offering to practice as an outfitter or guide;  

(c) rules specifying components and standards for review and approval of operations plans. 
Operations plans must:  

(i) be updated at least annually if there has been a substantive change; and  

(ii) report all forms of use of private land acreage where licensed outfitters are authorized by the 
landowner to operate, except for the use of private lands that allow unrestricted public access and 
are managed under cooperative agreements with adjacent public lands.  

(d) rules establishing outfitter reporting requirements. The reports must be filed annually and 
report:  

(i) client names or automated licensing system numbers;  

(ii) names or license numbers of outfitters, guides, and outfitter's assistants providing client 
services; and  

(iii) dates of client services.  

(e) rules specifying what constitutes an emergency for which an outfitter's assistant may be hired, 
standards for outfitter's assistants, and documentation standards for proof of employment or 
retention required of outfitter's assistants. The rules must also identify data that may be collected 
regarding use of outfitter's assistants.  

(5) hold hearings and proceedings to suspend or revoke licenses of outfitters and guides for due 
cause; and  

(6) maintain records of net client hunter use.  

History: En. Sec. 4, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 38, Ch. 511, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, 
L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-911; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 490, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 545, L. 1981; 
amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 277, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 528, L. 1987; Sec. 87-4-104, MCA 1985; redes. 
37-47-201 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 328, 
L. 1995; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 543, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 98, Ch. 467, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 45, Ch. 44, 
L. 2007; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 328, L. 2011; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 241, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 341, 
L. 2013; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 217, L. 2017; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 236, L. 2019 

 

 

Executive Director  
37-47-202. Executive director. The department may hire an executive director to assist the 
board in carrying out its duties under this chapter.  

History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 183, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 32, Ch. 492, L. 2001; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 100, 
L. 2011.  

Part 3. Licensing  

37-47-301 License required -- services performed -- standards  

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0010/0370-0470-0030-0010.html


37-47-302 Outfitter's qualifications  

37-47-303 Guide's qualifications  

37-47-304 Application  

37-47-305 Outfitter's examination  

37-47-306 Fees  

37-47-307 Investigation of applicant -- issuance or denial of license  

37-47-308 Kinds of licenses  

37-47-310 Transfer or amendment of outfitter's license -- transfer of river-use days to new 
owner of fishing outfitter business  

37-47-311 Limit one license  

37-47-313 Shuttle and rental services -- exemption  

37-47-325 Outfitter's assistants -- exemption from licensing  

37-47-341 Grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of license  

37-47-343 Appeal procedure  

37-47-344 Penalties -- disposition of fines  

37-47-345 Enforcement  

37-47-351 Investigators  

 

 

License Required -- Services Performed -- 
Standards  

37-47-301. License required -- services performed -- standards. (1) A person may not act as 
an outfitter or guide or advertise or otherwise represent to the public that the person is an outfitter or 
guide without first securing a license in accordance with the provisions of this part.  

(2) Whenever an outfitter is engaged by a participant, the outfitter shall keep and submit records 
as required by the board.  

(3) Outfitters, guides, and other employees of an outfitter may not shoot, kill, or take big game 
animals for or in competition with those employing them while acting as outfitters, guides, or 
employees of an outfitter.  
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(4) Outfitters utilizing lands under the control of the United States government shall obtain the 
proper permits required by the government office responsible for the area in which the outfitter intends 
to operate and shall comply with all applicable rules and regulations established for these lands.  

(5) Outfitters may not willfully and substantially misrepresent their facilities, prices, equipment, 
services, or hunting or fishing opportunities.  

(6) Outfitters and their contractors, employees, agents, and representatives shall take every 
reasonable measure to provide the outfitter's advertised services.  

(7) An outfitter may not hire or retain a guide who does not hold a current license as provided 
under this part.  

History: En. Sec. 7, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 20, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 
1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-914; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 545, L. 1981; Sec. 87-4-121, MCA 1985; redes. 37-
47-301 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 565, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 220, L. 1993; 
amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Outfitter's Qualifications  
37-47-302. Outfitter's qualifications. An applicant for an outfitter's license or renewal of a 

license must meet the following qualifications:  

(1) be 18 years of age or older, be physically capable and mentally competent to perform the 
duties of an outfitter, and meet experience, training, and testing requirements as prescribed by board 
rule; and  

(2) own, hold under written lease, or contract for or represent a business entity who owns, holds 
under written lease, or contracts for the equipment and facilities that are necessary to provide the 
services advertised, contracted for, or agreed upon between the outfitter and the outfitter's clients. All 
equipment and facilities are subject to inspection at all reasonable times and places by the board or 
its designated agent.  

History: En. Sec. 8, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 94, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 541, L. 
1975; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-915(3)(a) thru 
(3)(k); amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 239, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 528, L. 
1987; Sec. 87-4-122, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-302 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 
220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 39, Ch. 109, L. 2009; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 179, 
L. 2011; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

 

Guide's Qualifications  
37-47-303. Guide's qualifications. An applicant for a guide's license must:  

(1) be 18 years of age or older and be physically capable and mentally competent to perform the 
duties of a guide;  

(2) be endorsed and recommended by an outfitter with a valid license, unless otherwise qualified 
under guide standards established by the board pursuant to 37-47-201(4); and  

(3) have been issued a valid wildlife conservation license.  
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History: En. Sec. 8, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 94, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 541, L. 
1975; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-915(4), (5); 
amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 545, L. 1981; Sec. 87-4-123, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-303 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, 
L. 1987; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 172, L. 
2005; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Application  
37-47-304. Application. (1) Each applicant for an outfitter's or guide's license shall apply for a 

license on a form furnished by the department.  

(2) The application for an outfitter's license must include:  

(a) the applicant's full name, address, [wildlife] conservation license number, and telephone 
number;  

(b) the applicant's years of experience as an outfitter or guide; and  

(c) components of the outfitter's operations plan as required by board rule, which may include:  

(i) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the amount and kind of equipment that is owned, 
leased, or contracted for by the applicant is sufficient and satisfactory for the services advertised or 
contemplated to be performed by the applicant; and  

(ii) a description of any land, water body, or portion of a water body that will be utilized by the 
applicant while providing services. A description is not required for the use of private lands that allow 
unrestricted public access and are managed under cooperative agreements with adjacent public 
lands.  

(3) An application for an outfitter's license must be in the name of an individual person only. An 
application involving a business entity must be made by one individual person who qualifies under the 
provisions of this part. A license issued pursuant to this part must be in the name of that person. Any 
revocation or suspension of a license is binding upon the individual person and the business entity for 
the use and benefit of which the license was originally issued.  

(4) Application must be made to and filed with the board.  

(5) Only one application for an outfitter's license may be made in any license year. If an 
application is denied, subsequent applications by the same applicant for the license year involved are 
void, except as provided in 37-47-308. (Bracketed language in subsection (2)(a) effective March 1, 
2020--sec. 21, Ch. 221, L. 2019.)  

History: En. Sec. 8, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 94, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 541, L. 
1975; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-915(1), (2), 
(13); amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 528, L. 1987; Sec. 87-4-124, MCA 1985; 
redes. 37-47-304by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 565, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 
220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 196, L. 2003; amd. Sec. 99, Ch. 467, 
L. 2005; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 179, L. 2011; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 341, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 221, L. 
2019; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 236, L. 2019 

Outfitter's Examination  
37-47-305. Outfitter's examination. Each applicant for an outfitter's license, after meeting the 

experience and training specifications and other qualifications set by this chapter or rules adopted 
pursuant to this chapter, is entitled to take and must pass a standard examination administered by the 
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board or its agent. The examination must require general and sufficient knowledge displaying and 
indicating ability to perform the services contemplated with efficiency and with safety to the health and 
welfare of participants. The examination must test the applicant's knowledge of subjects that apply to 
the type of license applied for and may include the following subjects:  

(1) federal and state fish and game laws and regulations;  

(2) federal and state regulations as applicable to outfitting;  

(3) boat safety; and  

(4) water safety.  

History: En. Sec. 8, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 94, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 541, L. 
1975; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-915(3)(l); 
amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 528, L. 1987; Sec. 87-4-125, MCA 1985; redes. 
37-47-305 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 328, L. 
1995; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Fees  
37-47-306. Fees. (1) The board shall establish fees commensurate with costs as provided in 37-

1-134.  

(2) Applications must be accompanied by a license fee as specified by board rule.  

(3) The license fees must be deposited in the state special revenue fund and must be used by 
the board to investigate the applicant, to enforce this part, and for administrative costs, subject to 37-
1-101(6).  

History: Ap. p. Sec. 8, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 94, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 541, 
L. 1975; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 1977; Sec. 26-915, R.C.M. 1947; 
Ap. p. Sec. 10, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 23, Ch. 9, L. 1977; Sec. 26-917, R.C.M. 1947; R.C.M. 
1947, 26-915(8) thru (11), 26-917; amd. Sec. 14, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 192, L. 1983; 
amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 528, L. 1987; Sec. 87-4-127, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-306 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 
1987; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 543, L. 1999; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Investigation Of Applicant -- Issuance Or Denial 
Of License  

37-47-307. Investigation of applicant -- issuance or denial of license. (1) The department 
shall investigate each applicant for an outfitter's or guide's license. The board shall determine the 
applicant's qualifications.  

(2) The board may deny or refuse to issue any new license or to renew any previous license if 
the applicant does not meet the qualifications stated in this chapter or rules adopted pursuant to this 
chapter. In the event that any application for a license is denied or refused, the board shall immediately 
notify the applicant, setting forth in the notice the grounds upon which the denial or refusal is based.  

(3) A licensee in good standing is entitled to a new license for the ensuing license year upon 
complying with the provisions of this chapter or rules adopted pursuant to this chapter and upon 
completing an application for license renewal on a form provided by the board.  

(4) This section may not be interpreted to conflict with 37-1-138.  
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History: En. Sec. 8, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 94, L. 1973; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 541, L. 
1975; amd. Sec. 21, Ch. 9, L. 1977; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 417, L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-915(12); amd. 
Sec. 15, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 239, L. 1983; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 528, L. 1987; Sec. 87-
4-128, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-307 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 220, L. 1993; 
amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 100, Ch. 429, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 46, Ch. 271, L. 2003; 
amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Kinds Of Licenses  
37-47-308. Kinds of licenses. (1) When all the conditions of licensure have been satisfied, the 

board shall issue a license stating the outfitter or guide functions that the applicant is qualified and 
approved to perform.  

(2) The license must be in the form prescribed and is valid for the licensing year in which issued.  

(3) If the application is denied, the board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the 
denial, and if the reasons are corrected, a license must be issued upon reapplication.  

History: En. Sec. 9, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 541, L. 1975; amd. Sec. 22, Ch. 9, L. 
1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-916(1); amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 528, L. 1987; Sec. 87-4-129, MCA 1985; redes. 
37-47-308 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 220, L. 1993 

Transfer Or Amendment Of Outfitter's License -- 
Transfer Of River-Use Days To New Owner Of 
Fishing Outfitter Business  

37-47-310. Transfer or amendment of outfitter's license -- transfer of river-use days to new 
owner of fishing outfitter business. (1) An outfitter's license may not be transferred.  

(2) An individual person may, upon proper showing, have that person's outfitter's license 
amended to indicate that the license is being held for the use and benefit of a named business entity.  

(3) Subject to approval by the board, a person designated by the family of an outfitter who is 
deceased or incapacitated due to physical or mental disease or injury or who is unable to carry out the 
responsibilities of an outfitter due to the outfitter's status as an active member of the military may 
continue to provide outfitting services for the outfitter's unexpired license year, or until the family sells 
the outfitting business, until the designee obtains an outfitter license.  

(4) (a) When a fishing outfitter's business is sold or transferred in its entirety, any river-use days 
that have been allocated to that fishing outfitter through the fishing outfitter's historic use of or activities 
on restricted-use streams are transferable to the new owner of the fishing outfitter's business. Upon 
the sale or transfer of a fishing outfitter's business, the outfitter who sells or transfers the business 
shall notify the new owner that the use of any transferred river-use days is subject to change pursuant 
to rules adopted by the fish and wildlife commission and that a property right does not attach to the 
transferred river-use days.  

(b) Any transferred river-use days on the Smith River are subject to change pursuant to rules 
adopted by the state parks and recreation board pursuant to 23-2-408.  

History: En. Sec. 9, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 541, L. 1975; amd. Sec. 22, Ch. 9, L. 
1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-916(4); amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 528, L. 1987; 
Sec. 87-4-131, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-310 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 220, 
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L. 1993; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 91, L. 2003; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 197, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 100, L. 
2011; amd. Sec. 20, Ch. 235, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Limit One License  
37-47-311. Limit one license. (1) An individual may not hold more than one outfitter's license 

either for the individual's own benefit or for the use and benefit of a business entity. However, the 
name of a business entity may appear on more than one current outfitter's license.  

(2) Subsection (1) does not prevent a licensee from:  

(a) owning or operating more than one business entity under one license; or  

(b) filing more than one operations plan with the board.  

History: En. Sec. 9, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 541, L. 1975; amd. Sec. 22, Ch. 9, L. 
1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-916(5); Sec. 87-4-132, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-311 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 
1987; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 197, L. 2005; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 341, L. 2013 

Shuttle And Rental Services -- Exemption  
37-47-313. Shuttle and rental services -- exemption. (1) Nothing in this chapter prohibits the 

furnishing of shuttle or rental services as long as those services do not include in-field assistance to a 
customer.  

(2) In-field assistance includes but is not limited to:  

(a) setting up a camp;  

(b) field instruction for the activity to be conducted by the customer; or  

(c) other services considered to be services of an outfitter, as defined in 37-47-101.  

History: En. Sec. 2, Ch. 328, L. 1995.  

Outfitter's Assistants -- Exemption From 
Licensing  

37-47-325. Outfitter's assistants -- exemption from licensing. (1) An outfitter may hire or 
retain an outfitter's assistant.  

(2) An outfitter's assistant is not required to obtain a license under this chapter.  

(3) The outfitter's assistant must carry proof of employment as required by the board by rule.  

(4) (a) An outfitter who employs or retains an outfitter's assistant is responsible for ensuring that 
the outfitter's assistant:  

(i) safeguards the public health, safety, and welfare while providing services; and  

(ii) is qualified and competent to perform the tasks of a guide.  

(b) The board shall hold an outfitter who employs or retains an outfitter's assistant responsible 
under the provisions of 37-1-316, 37-47-341, and 37-47-402 for any acts or omissions by the outfitter's 
assistant in the ordinary course and scope of duties assigned by the outfitter.  
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(5) The outfitter's assistant may not be employed or retained by an outfitter for more than 15 days 
in a calendar year unless the outfitter's assistant is actively obtaining a guide's license pursuant to this 
part and the board determines that the license application is routine for purposes of 37-1-101.  

(6) An outfitter may use more than one outfitter's assistant in a calendar year.  

(7) An outfitter's assistant may be employed or retained by an outfitter on more than one occasion 
in a calendar year if:  

(a) the outfitter's assistant is not employed or retained for more than 15 days as an outfitter's 
assistant in that calendar year; or  

(b) the outfitter's assistant is actively obtaining a guide's license and the board determines that 
the license application is routine for purposes of 37-1-101.  

History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 241, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 217, L. 2017 

Grounds For Denial, Suspension, Or Revocation 
Of License  

37-47-341. Grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of license. A license or right to 
apply for and hold a license issued under this part may be denied, suspended, or revoked or other 
disciplinary conditions may be applied upon any of the following grounds:  

(1) having ceased to meet all of the qualifications for holding a license, as required under this 
chapter and rules adopted pursuant to this chapter;  

(2) fraud or deception in procuring a license;  

(3) fraudulent, untruthful, or misleading advertising;  

(4) having pleaded guilty to or been adjudged by a court guilty of a felony, including a case in 
which the sentence is suspended or imposition of the sentence is deferred, unless civil rights have 
been restored pursuant to law;  

(5) one conviction or bond forfeiture for a violation of the fish and game or outfitting laws or 
regulations of any state, the United States, or other jurisdictions;  

(6) a substantial breach of a contract with a participant provided that the breach is established as 
a matter of final judgment in a court of law;  

(7) the willful employment of or contracting with an unlicensed guide by an outfitter;  

(8) negligence or misconduct while acting as an outfitter or guide that causes an accident or injury 
to the person or property of a participant;  

(9) misconduct as defined by board rule; or  

(10) any violation of this chapter or a rule adopted pursuant to this chapter.  

History: En. Sec. 11, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 541, L. 1975; amd. Sec. 8, Ch. 417, 
L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-918; amd. Sec. 18, Ch. 545, L. 1981; Sec. 87-4-141, MCA 1985; redes. 
37-47-341 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 565, L. 1989; amd. Sec. 11, Ch. 220, L. 
1993; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 22, Ch. 502, L. 2007; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 341, L. 
2013.  
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Appeal Procedure  
37-47-343. Appeal procedure. A person who feels aggrieved by a final order of the board 

denying issuance of a license or suspending or revoking a license as an outfitter or guide may petition 
for judicial review as provided in Title 2, chapter 4, part 7.  

History: En. Sec. 13, Ch. 221, L. 1971; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 541, L. 1975; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 417, 
L. 1977; R.C.M. 1947, 26-920; amd. Sec. 20, Ch. 545, L. 1981; amd. Sec. 10, Ch. 528, L. 1987; 
Sec. 87-4-143, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-343 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 12, Ch. 220, 
L. 1993; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Penalties -- Disposition Of Fines  
37-47-344. Penalties -- disposition of fines. (1) A person who violates any provision of this 

chapter or rule adopted under this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor and is punishable, unless 
otherwise specified, by a fine not exceeding $500.  

(2) Fifty percent of all fines paid under this section must be deposited in the general fund of the 
county in which the conviction is obtained, and 50% must be deposited in the state special revenue 
fund for the use of the board in enforcing this chapter. All investigation, preparation, and trial costs 
paid under this section must be deposited in the state special revenue fund for the use of the board in 
enforcing the provisions of this chapter. The board may reimburse other agencies for costs reasonably 
incurred in the enforcement of this chapter.  

History: En. Sec. 8, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 445, 
L. 2007.  

Enforcement  
37-47-345. Enforcement. Investigations and arrests for violations of this chapter or rules 

adopted pursuant to this chapter may be made by any peace officer; warden of the department of fish, 
wildlife, and parks; or federal agency enforcement personnel.  

History: En. Sec. 9, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 14, Ch. 328, L. 1995. 

Investigators  
37-47-351. Investigators. The department may hire investigators to assist the board in 

investigations and inspections authorized by this chapter.  

History: En. Sec. 20, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 13, Ch. 100, L. 2011.  

 

Part 4. Relative Duties of Outfitters, Guides, and 
Participants  

37-47-401 Purpose  
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37-47-402 Duties of outfitters and guides  

37-47-403 Duties of participants  

37-47-404 Responsibility for violations of law  

37-47-405 Duties of outfitter's assistants  

Purpose  
37-47-401. Purpose. It is recognized that some activities conducted by outfitters, guides, and 

outfitter's assistants within the scope of their authorized services are inherently hazardous to 
participants regardless of all feasible safety measures that may be taken. It is the purpose of this part 
to define those areas of responsibility and affirmative acts or omissions for which outfitters, guides, 
and outfitter's assistants are liable for loss, damage, or injury and those risks for which the participant 
expressly assumes or is considered to have voluntarily assumed the risk of loss or damage.  

History: En. Sec. 2, Ch. 170, L. 1981; Sec. 87-4-161, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-401 by Sec. 
11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 15, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 241, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 14, 
Ch. 341, L. 2013.  

Duties Of Outfitters And Guides  
37-47-402. Duties of outfitters and guides. An outfitter or guide offering professional services 

in this state shall:  

(1) act as would a reasonably prudent member of the profession while engaging in providing the 
services authorized to be performed by a licensed member of the profession;  

(2) comply with all standards adopted by board rule.  

History: En. Sec. 3, Ch. 170, L. 1981; Sec. 87-4-162, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-402 by Sec. 
11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 15, Ch. 220, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 
15, Ch. 341, L. 2013. 

Duties Of Participants  
37-47-403. Duties of participants. (1) A participant shall:  

(a) act as would a reasonably prudent person when engaging in the activities offered by a 
licensed outfitter or guide or by an unlicensed outfitter's assistant in this state;  

(b) receive permission from the outfitter or guide prior to embarking on any self-initiated activity 
and inform the outfitter or guide of the participant's plans and intentions upon receiving permission to 
engage in the self-initiated activity.  

(2) A participant may not:  

(a) interfere with the running or operation of an outfitter's, guide's, or outfitter's assistant's 
activities when those activities conform to the standards of care set forth in 37-47-402 or 37-47-405;  

(b) use the outfitter's, guide's, or outfitter's assistant's equipment, facilities, or services unless the 
participant has requested and received permission from the outfitter, guide, or outfitter's assistant;  
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(c) knowingly, purposely, or negligently engage in any type of conduct that contributes to or 
causes injury to the participant or any other person.  

History: En. Sec. 4, Ch. 170, L. 1981; Sec. 87-4-163, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-403 by Sec. 
11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 241, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 16, 
Ch. 341, L. 2013. 

Responsibility For Violations Of Law  
37-47-404. Responsibility for violations of law. (1) A person accompanying a hunting or fishing 

party as an outfitter, guide, or outfitter's assistant is equally responsible with any person or party 
engaging the person as an outfitter for any violation of fish and game laws unless the violation is 
reported to a peace officer by the outfitter, guide, or outfitter's assistant and the outfitter, guide, or 
outfitter's assistant was not an active participant. An outfitter, guide, or outfitter's assistant who willfully 
fails or refuses to report any violation of fish and game laws is liable for the penalties provided in this 
chapter. If a guide or outfitter's assistant violates the laws or applicable regulations relating to fish and 
game, outfitting, or guiding with actual knowledge of an outfitter engaging the guide or outfitter's 
assistant, the outfitter is legally responsible for the violation for all purposes under the laws or 
regulations if the outfitter fails to report the violation to the proper authority.  

(2) An outfitter, guide, or outfitter's assistant shall report any violation or suspected violation of 
fish and game laws that the outfitter, guide, or outfitter's assistant knows has been committed by the 
employees, contractors, agents, representatives, clients, or participants in the outfitting or guiding 
activity. The violation or suspected violation must be reported to a peace officer at the earliest possible 
opportunity.  

(3) A person may not hire or retain an outfitter unless the outfitter is currently licensed in 
accordance with the laws of the state of Montana. A person may not use the services of a guide, and 
a guide may not offer services unless the services are obtained through an endorsing outfitter.  

(4) An outfitter may not place a hired or retained outfitter's assistant in a position of providing 
services to participants until the outfitter has documentation as specified by board rule under 37-47-
201(4)(e).  

History: En. Sec. 71, Ch. 173, L. 1917; re-en. Sec. 3750, R.C.M. 1921; re-en. Sec. 3750, 
R.C.M. 1935; amd. Sec. 6, Ch. 173, L. 1949; amd. Sec. 5, Ch. 184, L. 1951; amd. Sec. 3, Ch. 223, 
L. 1955; amd. Sec. 2, Ch. 541, L. 1975; R.C.M. 1947, 26-906; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 545, L. 1981; Sec. 
87-4-103, MCA 1985; redes. 37-47-404 by Sec. 11, Ch. 528, L. 1987; amd. Sec. 16, Ch. 220, L. 
1993; amd. Sec. 18, Ch. 328, L. 1995; amd. Sec. 40, Ch. 109, L. 2009; amd. Sec. 7, Ch. 241, L. 
2013; amd. Sec. 17, Ch. 341, L. 2013; amd. Sec. 4, Ch. 217, L. 2017. 

Duties Of Outfitter's Assistants  
37-47-405. Duties of outfitter's assistants. An outfitter's assistant shall:  

(1) act as would a reasonably prudent member of the profession while engaging in providing the 
services authorized to be performed while employed or retained by a licensed outfitter; and  

(2) comply with all standards adopted by board rule.  

History: En. Sec. 2, Ch. 241, L. 2013.  
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24.171.101    BOARD ORGANIZATION 

(1) The Board of Outfitters hereby adopts and incorporates the organizational rules of the Department of Labor 
and Industry listed at chapter 1 of this title of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 

(2) It is the policy, intent, and purpose of the Board of Outfitters to provide quality regulatory functions and 
services to the profession it regulates and the public in order to promote, maintain, and preserve an ever-improving 
high degree of competence in the profession, satisfaction in the public, and an everlasting environment in which the 
profession operates. 

History: 2-4-201, MCA; IMP, 2-4-201, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 46, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 
Eff. 7/29/88; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324. 

 
24.171.201    PROCEDURAL RULES 

(1) The Board of Outfitters hereby adopts and incorporates the procedural rules of the Department of Labor and 
Industry as listed in chapter 2 of this title of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 

History: 2-4-201, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 2-4-201, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 46, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 
1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324. 

 
24.171.202    PUBLIC PARTICIPATION RULES 

(1) The Board of Outfitters hereby adopts and incorporates the citizen participation rules of the Department of 
Commerce as listed in chapter 2 of Title 8. 

(2) Dates, times, and places for meetings and other activities of the Board of Outfitters may be obtained by 
contacting the board office. 

(3) Communications to the Board of Outfitters may be made to: Board of Outfitters, Department of Labor and 
Industry, 301 S. Park, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513. 

(4) In addition to any other means provided by law or rule, a person wanting to receive notice of board activities 
of significant interest to that person may contact the board office, in writing, and request that his or her name, 
address, and phone number be placed on the board's "mailing list" and designate those activities of interest. The 
request shall be effective until January 1 of the following year, at which time it may be renewed by written request 
annually. 

History: 2-3-103, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 2-3-103, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 46, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 
1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324. 

 
24.171.401    FEES 

(1) Fees for outfitters, operations plan, guide, or use of outfitter assistants shall be as set forth below. The 
following fees are nonrefundable.  

(a) New outfitter application and license. $1300 
This fee includes the following costs, but does not include fees  
related to operations plan. 
(i) application processing 350 
(ii) examination 150 
(iii) investigation 400 
(iv) license 400 
(b) Application for amendment to outfitter license. 450 
This fee includes the following costs: 
(i) application processing 300 
(ii) examination 150 
(c) Renewal of outfitter license 
(i) outfitter annual license 210 
(ii) outfitter inactive status 100 
(d) New operations plan 
(i) review and processing 125 
(ii) equipment inspection 375 
(e) Fee per outfitter assistant employed or contracted 25 
(f) Renewal guide license 50 
(g) Initial guide application 150 
(h) Fee for transfer of NCHU from each outfitter 
involved in the transfer 50 
(i) Fee for each set of two replacement watercraft  
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identification tags 5 
(j) Additional standardized fees are specified in ARM 24.101.403.  
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-47-201, 37-47-306, MCA; IMP, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-47-304, 37-47-306, 37-

47-307, 37-47-308, 37-47-310, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 2823, Eff. 
10/28/94; AMD, 1995 MAR p. 2388, Eff. 11/10/95; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 909, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1178, 
Eff. 7/8/97; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2560, Eff. 9/25/98; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; AMD, 2001 MAR p. 843, 
Eff. 5/25/01; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 1583, Eff. 
7/1/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 298, Eff. 3/9/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2055, Eff. 9/26/08; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1406, Eff. 
8/14/09; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 2384, Eff. 10/15/10; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, 
Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, 
Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 

 
24.171.402    EFFECT OF FEE FOR EXPANSION OF NET CLIENT HUNTER USE 

This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-316, MCA; NEW, 2003 MAR p. 1193, 

Eff. 6/13/03; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; REP, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.403    NONROUTINE APPLICATIONS 

(1) A nonroutine application means an application submitted to the board in which the applicant has one or more 
of the following:  

(a) past convictions or pending charges of state or federal laws relative to fish, wildlife, or parks, but only if those 
convictions: 

(i) ever resulted in the loss of privileges to hunt or fish; 
(ii) totaled two or more for which the applicant was sentenced no earlier than five years before the board 

received the application; or 
(iii) total more than three regardless of when the applicant was sentenced; 
(b) a total of three or more currently pending charges or past convictions of misdemeanor crimes if the applicant 

was sentenced for the past convictions no earlier than five years before the board received the application; 
(c) a diagnosis or other information indicating physical or mental impairment by mental illness or chronic physical 

illness that may adversely affect the applicant's ability to provide services safely, but only if either the treatment for 
which is ongoing or the symptoms of which currently exist; 

(d) a pending charge of any felony crime or a past conviction of any felony crime for which the applicant was 
either sentenced no earlier than ten years before the date the board received the application or for which the 
sentence has not been fully satisfied and discharged; 

(e) traffic-related convictions if the applicant is deemed a habitual offender on or after the date the board first 
received the application; or 

(f) an outfitter or guide license in this or any other state that was ever suspended, revoked, surrendered, or 
subjected to restrictions or other sanctions of a similar gravity. 

(2) The department may, but is not required to, submit any routine application for board review if the department 
finds inconsistencies, irregularities, or other matters of concern in the application or in the documentation related to 
the application. 

(3) For the purposes of this rule, any reference to "pending charges" shall include, but not be limited to, deferred 
prosecutions that have not been dismissed as of the date that the application is first submitted to the board. 

(4) Applications that are nonroutine for an outfitter license for the same reason that they were nonroutine as a 
guide license are, nonetheless, nonroutine for the outfitter license, which is a privilege to practice at a higher level of 
public trust. 

History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 
1/30/15. 

 
24.171.404    MILITARY TRAINING OR EXPERIENCE 

(1) Pursuant to 37-1-145, MCA, the board shall accept relevant military training, service, or education toward the 
requirements for licensure as an outfitter or guide.  

(2) Relevant military training, service, or education must be completed by an applicant while a member of either: 
(a) United States Armed Forces; 
(b) United States Reserves; 
(c) state national guard; or 
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(d) military reserves. 
(3) An applicant must submit satisfactory evidence of receiving military training, service, or education that is 

equivalent to relevant licensure requirements as an outfitter or guide. Satisfactory evidence includes: 
(a) a copy of the applicant's military discharge document (DD 214 or other discharge documentation); 
(b) a document that clearly shows all relevant training, certification, service, or education the applicant received 

while in the military, including dates of training and completion or graduation; and 
(c) any other documentation as required by the board. 
(4) The board shall consider all documentation received to determine whether an applicant's military training, 

service, or education is equivalent to relevant licensure requirements. 
History: 37-1-145, MCA; IMP, 37-1-145, MCA; NEW, 2014 MAR p. 2653, Eff. 10/24/14. 

 
24.171.405    BOOKING AGENTS AND ADVERTISING 

(1) Any person authorized by the outfitter may schedule trips, provide clients with information regarding refunds 
and services, receive client fees on behalf of the outfitter, secure a guide who is employed by or with whom the 
outfitter has an existing contractual relationship, and take other steps to establish contracts for services, as long as 
these activities are at the direction of the outfitter and as long as the terms and conditions of the contracts are directly 
between the outfitter and the client.  

(2) Outfitters may enter into an arrangement with a person whereby the outfitter's services are advertised by or at 
the direction of that person or whereby clients are referred to the outfitter, but the outfitter is accountable to the board 
for the appearance and propriety of all such advertising and for all interactions between the other person and the 
clients and potential clients. All advertising regarding outfitting services must comply with the rules applicable to 
outfitters. 

(3) Guides advertising to outfitters using media or methods that the general public may also view shall include a 
clear and conspicuous disclaimer that advises the general public that the advertisement is for outfitters only, not the 
general public. 

History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, MCA; NEW, 2015 MAR p. 269, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.407    INSPECTION 

(1) Inspections of outfitter and guide operations may be made by a representative of the board at all reasonable 
times. The purpose of the inspection is to periodically examine the premises, equipment, and/or procedures of a 
licensed individual to determine whether the individual's practice is being conducted in a manner consistent with the 
laws and rules of the board, and the public health, safety and welfare. 

History: 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; TRANS, 
from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.408    OUTFITTER RECORDS 

(1) Outfitters shall maintain current, true, complete, and accurate records, submit the records to the board as 
required by administrative rule, and make the records available at all times at the outfitter's main base camp or 
business office:  

(a) to enforcement or investigative personnel authorized or appointed by the board; 
(b) upon subpoena or order of a court; 
(c) upon written request of the board; or 
(d) upon written request of a state or federal agency for law enforcement purposes. 
(2) Outfitter records shall be maintained on forms prescribed by the department and shall contain information as 

required by the board. The information required, in addition to information for operations plans under ARM 
24.171.520 and employment records relative to outfitter assistants under ARM 24.171.410, shall include: 

(a) the outfitter's name and license number; 
(b) each client's name and/or unique identifier assigned to the client by the Department of Fish, Wildlife and 

Parks; 
(c) dates of service to clients; 
(d) big game animals taken by clients, specifying the species and sex of each big game animal and stating for 

each big game animal whether it was taken on public or private land within the outfitter's operations plan; 
(e) districts hunted and water bodies, including section of a river or stream, fished by clients; 
(f) category of NCHU applicable for each client; and 
(g) the name of the outfitter assistant or the name and license number of the guide who accompanied the client. 
(3) Amendments to records shall be made immediately when errors are discovered. Amendments that only 

supplement records with information that arose after license renewal are always proper. However, cases of  
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amendments to records for any other reason shall be brought to the screening panel for a decision as to whether an 
investigation should follow. 

(4) In general, outfitter records, including, but not limited to the operations plans, shall be maintained as 
confidential information and shall not be released to any person or organization without written permission of the 
outfitter, subpoena or order of a court, or written request of a state or federal agency for law enforcement purposes. A 
specific outfitter's number of NCHU is confidential information, but whether an outfitter has NCHU of a particular 
category is public information. Also, while total acreage of private lands where any outfitter is authorized to operate is 
a matter of public record, where a particular outfitter is authorized to operate is a confidential matter between the 
landowner and the outfitter. The Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or the Private Land/Public Wildlife Council 
may use board data to create a map depicting all private land where any outfitter is authorized to operate. All inquiries 
for outfitter records shall be reviewed and considered in relation to this rule and the competing interests between the 
public's right to know and the rights of privacy involved in the particular records requested.  

  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 

Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1989 MAR p. 1192, Eff. 8/18/89; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2013 MAR p. 
671, Eff. 4/26/13; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 
850, Eff. 6/22/19. 

 
24.171.409    GUIDE TO HUNTER RATIO 

This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-402, MCA; NEW, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 

3/12/10; REP, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13. 

 
24.171.410    OUTFITTER'S ASSISTANTS 

(1) An outfitter may only employ or contract with an outfitter's assistant in an emergency. Emergency, as defined 
in 37-47-101, MCA, includes unforeseen staffing shortages, not caused by the outfitter's action or inaction, for which 
employing or contracting with an outfitter's assistant is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare 
while serving a client.  

(2) Before an outfitter's assistant serves a client, the outfitter shall: 
(a) disclose to each client that the outfitter's assistant is not a licensed guide or outfitter; 
(b) explain the emergency causing the need to employ or contract with the outfitter's assistant; and 
(c) disclose whether the outfitter's assistant has received first aid certification. 
(3) For each outfitter's assistant employed or contracted with by an outfitter, the following documentation 

procedures shall be followed: 
(a) An outfitter shall document the employment or retention of each outfitter's assistant. The outfitter's assistant 

shall keep a copy of the employment documentation at all times during the service period. Within 15 days of the first 
date the outfitter's assistant serves a client, the outfitter shall submit to the department a copy of the employment 
documentation and fee required in ARM 24.171.401. The employment documentation shall include: 

(i) the name, license number, address, phone number, and, if available, e-mail address of the outfitter; 
(ii) the signature of the outfitter; 
(iii) the name, date of birth, address, telephone number, and, if available, e-mail address of the outfitter's 

assistant; and 
(iv) the beginning and ending dates of the service period. 
(b) Within 15 days of the first date the outfitter's assistant serves any client, the outfitter shall submit the following 

information to the department: 
(i) an explanation of the emergency causing the need to employ or contract with the outfitter's assistant; 
(ii) an explanation for why the outfitter's assistant could not obtain a guide license before serving a client; 
(iii) a statement indicating whether the outfitter's assistant has applied for a guide license; 
(iv) confirmation that the outfitter properly disclosed to the client information required by this rule; and 
(v) an affidavit by the outfitter that the outfitter has complied with all laws and rules relating to outfitter's 

assistants. 
(c) Outfitters shall maintain a copy of this documentation and make the records available at all times in 

accordance with ARM 24.171.408 following the provision of services by the outfitter's assistant. 
(4) Unless otherwise authorized under ARM 24.171.405, regarding booking agents and advertising, an outfitter's 

assistant may not: 
(a) make agreements with participants concerning monetary consideration of services provided; or 
(b) advertise outfitting services. 
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(5) Except where an outfitter's assistant's conduct is further limited by statute or rule, the standards of conduct 

set forth in ARM 24.171.2301 applicable to guides shall also be observed by the outfitter's assistant. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-325, 37-47-404, 

37-47-405, MCA; NEW, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2018 MAR p. 1731, Eff. 8/25/18. 

 
24.171.412    SAFETY AND FIRST AID PROVISIONS 

(1) Outfitters and guides are required to hold a current basic first aid card at all times actively licensed.  
(2) Basic first aid certification must be obtained through a provider and course approved by the department 

based upon the following minimum criteria: 
(a) The provider must require written and practical tests and participants are to receive completion certificates. 
(b) The provider program must include, at a minimum, universal precautions for self-protection and training 

specific to the following types of injuries:  
(i) shock;  
(ii) bleeding;  
(iii) poisoning; 
(iv) burns; 
(v) temperature extremes;  
(vi) musculoskeletal injuries; 
(vii) bites and stings; and 
(viii) medical emergencies. 
(c) Instruction in the principles and first aid intervention of injuries must refer to body extremities. 
(3) For purposes of initial licensure, only basic first aid certification that involves the direct, hands-on application 

of first aid materials and techniques is acceptable. An applicant for an outfitter license who was previously licensed as 
a guide must hold current certification from a hands-on first aid course. 

(4) A list of approved providers and courses shall be maintained on the board web site. 
(5) An applicant may also meet basic first aid certification if the applicant provides proof of a certification, license, 

or other credential that is equivalent to or greater than basic first aid certification, approved on a case-by-case basis 
by the department. The board may also maintain on its web site a list of certifications, licenses, and other credentials 
that will be routinely accepted as equivalent to or greater than basic first aid. 

(6) Whenever guests are present, each watercraft; vessel; vehicle; primary, secondary, and temporary base of 
operations must possess a serviceable basic first aid kit. 

(7) Each watercraft or vessel shall contain a serviceable U.S. Coast Guard approved personal floatation device 
for each person onboard. Children under 12 are required to wear a personal floatation device. Watercraft 16 feet and 
longer are required to be equipped with a throwable Type IV floatation device. 

(8) All watercraft or vessels are required to carry onboard a supplementary means of power, such as an extra 
motor or extra oar that will adequately motivate the craft. 

  
History: 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 1992 MAR p. 439, Eff. 3/13/92; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 

668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 809, Eff. 4/23/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 
2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17; AMD, 2019 MAR 
p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 

 
24.171.413    WATERCRAFT IDENTIFICATION 

(1) A person holding a valid outfitter or guide license who utilizes any type of watercraft while providing services 
shall prove evidence of licensure by displaying, at all times services are being provided, board-issued watercraft 
identification tags.  

(2) The tags shall display the outfitter or guide license number for identification purposes.  
(3) An unlicensed outfitter assistant shall display board-issued watercraft identification tags on each watercraft to 

be occupied by the outfitter assistant. 
(4) One tag shall be affixed to each side of the watercraft at the bow, oarlock, or stern of the watercraft and be of 

a size approved by the board so that they may be easily seen from another watercraft or from shore. 
(5) Each tag shall be affixed to the watercraft or on a removable plaque or in such a way that if the craft is sold or 

is not being used by the licensee while the licensee is providing services, the tag may be removed or concealed to 
prevent misidentification of the occupant(s) as licensees. 
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(6) Licensees may be provided with one set of two watercraft identification tags at the time of application for 

licensure or renewal, at no charge, upon request. A fee will be assessed for any replacement in accordance with 
ARM 24.171.401. 

  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-134, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, 37-47-303, 37-47-325, 

37-47-405, MCA; NEW, 1998 MAR p. 740, Eff. 3/27/98; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, 
Eff. 10/14/17. 

 
24.171.501    APPLICATION FOR OUTFITTER LICENSE 

(1) An application for an outfitter license shall be on forms prescribed by the department and shall be 
accompanied by the required fee.  

(2) A complete application, which is required prior to being allowed to take the examination, shall consist of two 
parts: 

(a) the department's license application form, including all supporting documentation as required by that form; 
and 

(b) an operations plan application form, accompanied by a NCHU transfer request form, if applicable. 
(3) The license issued shall designate, and thereby authorize the outfitter to conduct those functions of an 

outfitter that the applicant has qualified for. Functions of an outfitter to be indicated on the license application and 
license issued, if qualified for, shall be one or more of the following: 

(a) hunting services (big game); 
(b) hunting services (upland game birds, waterfowl, and non-big game); 
(c) fishing services; and 
(d) if applicable to the services provided in (1)(a) through (c), and qualified for, one or more of the following: 
(i) saddle or pack animal; or 
(ii) boat or other floating craft, or motorized watercraft. 
(4) An outfitter license shall be issued to an applicant who has demonstrated to the board that he or she has: 
(a) met the qualifications to provide those services of an outfitter indicated on the license application; 
(b) filed an outfitter license application with the board office; 
(c) filed an operations plan that has been approved by the board; 
(d) successfully passed the required examinations pertaining to those categories described in ARM 24.171.507; 

and 
(e) received an approved equipment inspection. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, 37-47-305, 37-47-307, 

37-47-308, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.502    OUTFITTER QUALIFICATIONS 

(1) An applicant for an outfitter license shall have the qualifications to provide all services and use all equipment 
necessary to provide the functions of an outfitter that the license will authorize the applicant to provide. In addition, 
the applicant shall have:  

(a) for a fishing outfitter applicant: 
(i) a minimum of three years and 120 days of verified experience as a licensed guide working for a licensed 

outfitter in this state, guiding clients and using methods for pursuing fish, reduced by no more than 50 experience 
days for any waiver or combination of waivers; or 

(ii) a minimum of three years and 120 days of verified experience as a licensed outfitter, a licensed guide, or 
equivalent experience in another state guiding clients and using methods for pursuing fish reduced by no more than 
50 experience days for any waiver or combination of waivers. All experience in this subsection is subject to board 
approval; or 

(b) for all other applicants: 
(i) 100 days of verified experience as a licensed guide working for a licensed outfitter in this state, guiding clients 

in pursuing the types of game and using methods for which licensure is sought by the applicant; or 
(ii) 100 days of verified experience as a licensed outfitter, a licensed guide, or equivalent experience in another 

state guiding clients in pursuing the types of game and using the methods for which licensure is sought by the 
applicant. All experience in this subsection is subject to board approval. 

(2) For purposes of this rule, verified experience includes: 
(a) an affidavit by the outfitter attesting to the guiding experience claimed by the applicant and subject to 

confirmation by the outfitter client logs; 
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(b) client logs submitted by the applicant, signed by the sponsoring outfitter for whom services were provided;  
(c) outfitter log book entries; or 
(d) sources of information with board acceptable guarantees of reliability which may include, but are not limited 

to, federal land agency records, client affidavits or letters. 
(3) Three days of experience may be waived by the board for every day of training completed by the applicant at 

an outfitter or guide school approved by the board provided that the training was in the category of licensure being 
sought (e.g., hunting or fishing). The maximum number of days of experience that may be waived is 30. All 
experience waivers shall be contingent upon the applicant completing the board's one-day education program at the 
time specified by the board. 

(4) The board may waive up to 50 days of experience for an applicant purchasing an existing outfitter operation 
provided that: 

(a) the applicant receives preapproval from the board for a training and instruction plan documenting how and in 
what capacity the applicant will work with the licensed outfitter from whom the business is obtained; 

(b) the applicant has entered into a sales agreement with the selling outfitter for the purchase of the operation 
and the sales agreement provides supervision of the applicant by the selling outfitter during the 12-month period 
following board approval of the application; 

(c) the selling outfitter has a current, approved operations plan on file with the board; 
(d) the applicant files an operations plan that is approved by the board; and 
(e) the applicant has completed the board's one-day education program. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-302, 37-47-304, 37-47-307, 37-47-308, 

MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1991 MAR p. 999, Eff. 6/28/91; AMD, 1992 MAR p. 2376, Eff. 
10/30/92; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & 
AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1406, Eff. 8/14/09; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; 
AMD, 2015 MAR p. 1756, Eff. 10/16/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 
10/14/17. 

 
24.171.503    OUTFITTER APPLICATION 

This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 

Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2560, Eff. 9/25/98; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; REP, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.504    SUCCESSORSHIP 

(1) A successorship is the permission granted to a person to renew the license of a deceased or incapacitated 
outfitter for a limited period of time for the purposes of operating or selling the business. Only a successor may renew 
the license of an outfitter who has deceased.  

(2) A successor acceptable to the board must be designated by the family of a deceased outfitter within six 
months of the date that the outfitter becomes deceased. If a successor for a deceased outfitter is not designated 
within those six months, then no successor will be approved. 

(3) The family of an outfitter designates a proposed successor by submitting an application completed by the 
proposed successor on a form provided by the department; a sworn statement by the proposed successor explaining 
how the proposed successor has been involved with the outfitting industry, in general, and how the successor has 
been involved with the outfitting business for which the successorship is sought, in particular; and a sworn statement 
by someone on behalf of the family of the deceased or incapacitated outfitter, affirming the person's authority and 
how the authority was obtained to designate a successor on behalf of the family, and that the person so acting is at 
least 18 years of age. A successorship application must specify whether the successor will operate the business or 
will only seek to sell it. 

(4) When a successorship is approved for the purpose of selling the business, the outfitter license is placed on 
inactive status and may be renewed only on inactive status and only until the successorship terminates or until the 
business sells, whichever occurs earlier. No clients may be contracted with or served under authority of an inactive 
license. All requests for successorship for the sole purpose of selling the business shall be routinely approved by staff 
upon the board's receipt of all the required information. 

(5) An application for the purpose of operating the business shall require the same information that is required of 
an outfitter applicant. The decision of whether to approve a successorship for the purpose of operating the business 
shall be processed by the department unless the application is nonroutine under ARM 24.171.403, in which case the 
matter will be brought to the board. 
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(6) Prior to approval, a successor must meet all qualifications for licensure aside from the experience and testing 

requirements. Approval may be granted upon the condition that documentation of licensure requirements will be 
received by the board no later than a specified date. If the documentation of licensure requirements is not received in 
a timely manner, board staff shall immediately place the license on inactive status and all outfitting under that license 
shall immediately cease until the board is able to reconsider the approval. 

(7) A successor stands in the shoes of the outfitter for purposes of the board's power to administer and enforce 
the statutes and rules applicable to outfitters. Notwithstanding any agreement to the contrary, a successor and the 
original licensee, or the estate if the original licensee is deceased, are jointly and severally liable and responsible for 
all conduct affecting the outfitter license occurring during that successor's service as the successor. The successor 
may operate the license subject to the authority of the board to the same extent as if the successor were the outfitter. 
An action addressing unprofessional conduct may be taken against an outfitter license regardless of the status of the 
successorship, and regardless of whether the conduct was that of the deceased or incapacitated outfitter or of one or 
more successors. Each living outfitter and successor who is alleged to be responsible for misconduct may be made a 
party to the action. 

(8) A successor shall report to the board each year at the next regularly scheduled meeting following the renewal 
period. To report, the successor shall either personally appear for the meeting or shall submit a written report to the 
board no less than 15 days before the meeting. The report shall inform the board of the progress made toward 
licensure of an outfitter for the business, or of the progress made toward sale of the business. 

(9) If the board wishes to revoke a successorship for unprofessional conduct or for failing to appear or report, the 
public health, safety, or welfare is more likely to imperatively require emergency action because a successor is 
presumed to be less qualified than an outfitter and to be less invested in the protection of the public. If a 
successorship is revoked, then the outfitter license status becomes the status applicable to it as if the original 
licensee had deceased or become incapacitated on the date of the revocation. A successor shall not perform any 
outfitter functions if the successorship or the license is suspended or revoked. 

(10) A successorship terminates the earlier of the date that is five years from the date that the successorship was 
approved under this rule, or the date that the successorship is revoked or voluntarily surrendered, or the date that the 
successor becomes a licensed outfitter. 

(11) While operating the business as a successor, the successor may accumulate verified experience days in the 
same manner that a guide accumulates experience days to satisfy the requirements of ARM 24.171.502. In the 
discretion of the board, and in addition to all other waivers that a successor may qualify for, a successor may request 
a waiver of up to 50 days of experience for each license function (hunting and fishing) by sufficiently documenting the 
successor's past experience and involvement with the particular outfitting business that occurred prior to the date the 
successorship was approved. 

  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-310, MCA; NEW, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11; 

AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17. 

 
24.171.505    FISHING OUTFITTER OPERATIONS PLAN 

(1) A fishing outfitter may include in a proposed or an existing operations plan, a general reference to "all surface 
waters governed by the Montana Stream Access Law, 23-2-302, MCA, and accessible by public access points not 
requiring a permit restricting commercial use issued by a state or federal agency(ies)." Alternatively, the outfitter may 
include in a proposed or existing operations plan specific surface waters governed by the Montana Stream Access 
Law and accessible by public access points not requiring a permit issued by a state or federal agency, by including 
detailed descriptions of those specific waters as provided in 37-47-304(2)(c)(ii), MCA.  

(2) Surface waters accessible only by private land or access points requiring a permit issued by a state or federal 
agency(ies) may only be included in a fishing outfitter's proposed or existing operations plan by describing the waters 
in detail as provided in 37-47-304(2)(c)(ii), MCA. Description and submission of private land access permission and 
permit(s) issued by the appropriate state or federal agency(ies) shall be governed by ARM 24.171.520. 

  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 2009 MAR p. 1406, 

Eff. 8/14/09; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17. 

 
24.171.507    OUTFITTER EXAMINATION 

(1) Applicants for the outfitter examination shall submit a completed license application accompanied by the 
required fee. 

(2) The following list is not intended to be exhaustive in detail. A wide range of issues and subtopics exist within 
each broad topic. The examination categories include: 

(a) general knowledge of outfitting and guiding; 
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(b) hunting; 
(c) fishing; and 
(d) packing. 
(3) All applicants must obtain a passing score of 75 percent or more on each examination category taken. 
(4) An applicant who fails the written examination may, within 15 days of notification of failure, review his or her 

examination at the board office. During this review, the applicant may review only questions answered incorrectly. 
Correct answers to those questions will be furnished to the applicant. No representative of the board shall discuss the 
substance of the examination with the applicant. The applicant will not be allowed to record any information from 
examination during the review. 

(5) Before taking the outfitter examination, an applicant must submit a complete application, as defined in ARM 
24.171.501. An applicant may not repeat any failed portion of the outfitter examination sooner than 30 days from the 
date of failing. 

  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-305, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; 

AMD, 1991 MAR p. 999, Eff. 6/28/91; AMD, 1993 MAR p. 343, Eff. 3/12/93; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; 
TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 
MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16. 

 
24.171.508    INCOMPLETE OUTFITTER AND GUIDE LICENSE APPLICATIONS 

(1) Applications received by the board will be reviewed for completeness. If an application is not complete when 
first received by the board, the applicant will be mailed a letter stating that the application is incomplete. The board 
may indicate which documents or information is missing in this letter. However, the applicant remains responsible for 
ensuring all required information and documents are timely submitted. If the application is not completed within one 
year from the date the incomplete application first arrived, the application expires, and the applicant shall be required 
to submit a new application and fees before being considered for licensure. 

History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 
4/26/13. 

 
24.171.509    INSURANCE FOR OUTFITTERS 

(1) An outfitter, other than an outfitter licensed on inactive status, shall have liability insurance, as a named 
insured, in effect at all times during the license year, and shall submit proof of such insurance with an application for 
renewal. Liability insurance must cover bodily injury to clients at all times services are being provided, including while 
the outfitter or employed or retained guides are transporting clients. Minimum amounts of liability insurance shall 
meet or exceed minimum requirements of state or federal regulator agencies for outfitters operating on state or 
federal lands, but in no case may minimum amounts be less than $10,000 for property damage, $100,000 for 
personal injury to one person and a total of $300,000 for personal injury to more than one person.  

  
History: 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; 

TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 

 
24.171.512    INACTIVE LICENSE 

(1) An outfitter may submit a written request to have the outfitter's license placed on inactive status at the time of 
renewal. Such request must be submitted with a completed application for renewal and all required renewal fees.  

(2) Outfitters whose licenses are inactive more than three years and who choose to become active must take the 
parts of the outfitter test related to outfitter laws and rules and fish and game laws and rules. An inactive outfitter who 
wishes to reactivate his or her license must update their operation plan. 

(3) Outfitters on inactive status may not book or serve clients, and are subject to all requirements applicable to 
outfitters licensed on active status, other than those relating to insurance and current basic first aid card. 

History: 37-1-319, MCA; IMP, 37-1-319, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1178, 
Eff. 7/8/97; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 
298, Eff. 3/9/07; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11. 

 
24.171.513    OUTFITTER ACTING AS GUIDE 

(1) A licensee holding a current and valid outfitter's license may act as a guide without a guide's license if such 
licensee: 

(a) possesses the qualifications of a guide under these rules; 
(b) works for only one outfitter at any given time; 

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0020/chapter_0040/parts_index.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24.171.501
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0310/0370-0010-0010-0310.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0050/0370-0470-0030-0050.html
http://www.mtrules.org/Gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E171%2E508
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0310/0370-0010-0010-0310.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0310/0370-0010-0010-0310.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0040/0370-0470-0030-0040.html
http://www.mtrules.org/Gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E171%2E509
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0010/0370-0470-0030-0010.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0040/0370-0470-0030-0040.html
http://www.mtrules.org/Gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E171%2E512
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0190/0370-0010-0030-0190.html
http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0190/0370-0010-0030-0190.html
http://www.mtrules.org/Gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E171%2E513


The Montana Secretary of State’s Administrative Rules Services publishes the administrative rules promulgated by state agencies. 
Administrative rules are developed under a process outlined in the Montana Administrative Procedure Act. That process requires 
state agencies to provide notice to the public when they wish to adopt, amend or repeal administrative rules. The notices are 
compiled in the Montana Administrative Register (MAR). Once adopted, administrative rules are published in the Administrative 
Rules of Montana (ARM) and have the force of law. The following ARM related to the Montana Board of Outfitters is directly from 
The Montana Secretary of State’s Administrative Rules Services publication as of November 1, 2019.   

 
 
(c) acts as a guide only within the services and area of operation of this particular outfitter; and 
(d) is reported as a guide in the client logs of the outfitter whose clients are being served. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, 37-47-303, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, 

Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06. 

 
24.171.520    OPERATIONS PLANS AND AMENDMENTS 

(1) An operations plan is prepared by the outfitter and submitted to the board and consists of the following:  
(a) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the amount and kind of equipment that is owned, leased, or 

contracted for by the applicant is sufficient and satisfactory for the services advertised or contemplated to be 
performed by the applicant; 

(b) for fishing outfitters, a summarization of the boundaries of the outfitter's operation, provided in the following 
terms, except as otherwise provided in ARM 24.171.505: 

(i) the name of each water body, including the section of each river or stream, that may be utilized by the 
applicant while providing services;  

(ii) a description of private land, by name of ranch and county where located, over which access is allowed; and 
(iii) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the outfitter is in possession of any public land permits or licenses 

properly executed for federal or state public property where the outfitter is authorized to operate; 
(c) for hunting outfitters a summarization of the locations and boundaries of the outfitter's operation, which is 

where the outfitter is authorized to operate, provided in the following terms: 
(i) the name of each public land agency; 
(ii) all information necessary to fulfill statutory requirements for reporting of private land acreage; 
(iii) total acreage on a per-owner basis of the private land where the outfitter is authorized to operate for any 

duration of time and for any species of game; and 
(iv) the legal description of the private acreage where the outfitter is authorized to operate, either by geo-code 

number assigned by the Montana Department of Revenue, or by aliquot parts. If less than the entire section or parcel 
is reported, then the boundary shall be described down to the quarter-quarter section or the government lot number; 

(d) the number of NCHU per category; and 
(e) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the outfitter possesses public land permits or licenses properly 

executed for federal or state public property where the outfitter is authorized to operate. 
(2) An outfitter may amend the operations plan on record by adding or subtracting any additional or replacement 

information and submitting the updated plan to the board, except that when adding a service identified in (5), the 
outfitter must apply for an amendment to the outfitter's operations plan by stating in writing the proposed changes and 
submitting it to the board, along with the fee required in ARM 24.171.401. 

(3) As part of renewal, each outfitter shall attest that all lands information required as part of the outfitter's 
operations plan on file with the board is current and accurate. 

(4) Whenever the outfitter gains permission to use additional private or public property, the outfitter shall update 
the operations plan the earlier of: 

(a) the end of the license year during which the outfitter first became authorized to use it, and 
(b) before actually using it. 
(5) All amendments will be considered by the board using the same criteria as new applicants, including being 

required to take those parts of the outfitter examination that apply to the proposed amendment, if an outfitter is 
applying to add the following to the operations plan: 

(a) hunting; 
(b) fishing; 
(c) watercraft used for fishing or hunting; 
(d) upland game bird; 
(e) waterfowl; or 
(f) saddle or pack animal use. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 

Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, 
Eff. 10/14/17. 

 
24.171.601    GUIDE QUALIFICATIONS 

(1) An applicant for a guide license shall have:  
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(a) not less than one season of experience of hunting or fishing for the type of game for which the applicant will 

guide or have worked for the outfitter that signs the license for a period of at least six weeks and in the area to be 
guided in, or have successfully completed a school licensed by a state, approved by the board, and that trains 
persons to be a guide or professional guide; 

(b) knowledge of hunting and fishing techniques to provide the particular services contracted to the client by the 
endorsing outfitter; and 

(c) knowledge of equipment, terrain and hazards to competently provide a safe experience for those persons he 
or she guides. 

(2) An outfitter whose license is currently suspended or revoked is not qualified for a guide license. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-303, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 1988 

MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2560, Eff. 9/25/98; TRANS, 
from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.602    GUIDE LICENSE 

(1) An applicant may apply for a guide license on forms provided by the department, and accompanied by the 
required fee. The application must include a signature of the endorsing outfitter confirming that, to the knowledge of 
the outfitter, the guide meets all the qualifications of a guide.  

(2) An applicant must submit proof of current basic hands-on first aid certification with the application. 
(3) Each outfitter who uses the services of the guide during the license year shall sign and date the guide's 

license before allowing the guide to accompany a client. 
(4) An applicant for a guide license who delivers a completed application and application fee to the board office 

will receive the license at that time. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-303, 37-47-307, 37-47-308, 

MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 3/12/10; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 
10/14/11; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 

 
24.171.604    EMERGENCY GUIDE LICENSE 

This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-303, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 2006 

MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2055, Eff. 9/26/08; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 3/12/10; REP, 2010 
MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10. 

 
24.171.605    PROVISIONAL GUIDE LICENSE 

This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-303, 37-

47-307, MCA; NEW, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10; REP, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13. 

 
24.171.701    NCHU CATEGORIES, TRANSFERS, AND RECORDS 

(1) NCHU categories are as follows: 
(a) Category 2, consisting of all clients served in the pursuit of upland game birds and big game under 

combination licenses or in the pursuit of big game; and 
(b) Category 3, consisting of all clients served in the pursuit of upland game birds, water fowl, and turkeys. 
(2) In cases where a federal agency limits an outfitter's use of federal lands by some means other than NCHU, 

an outfitter is not required to have NCHU to perform services on those lands. 
(3) NCHU owned by a licensee is part of the operations plan and may be transferred only with notice to the 

board. Transfers between or among licensees are routinely processed by the department unless the department has 
received a complaint against the licensee who is the transferor in a NCHU transfer request. If the transferor is a 
respondent to a complaint, the request will not be processed until after the case is resolved. In addition, a license that 
has expired may not be part of a NCHU transfer, and any NCHU that is recorded as part of the operations plan of a 
license that terminates or is revoked ceases to exist upon termination or revocation. 

(4) Each outfitter entering into a transfer of NCHU with one or more other outfitters must do so by completing a 
transfer request form prescribed by the department. Prior to being processed by the department, a NCHU transfer 
request is not complete or valid for any purpose and may be cancelled by any licensee that is a party to it. 

(5) The records of the board comprise the official records of NCHU and each purported transfer of NCHU is 
invalid and void that is not reflected in the board's records. 
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(6) NCHU allocated to a deceased outfitter may be transferred only by a successor if an approved successorship 

has not terminated under ARM 24.171.504. NCHU will expire and shall not be revived if it is not transferred the earlier 
of the date that the license terminates from nonrenewal, or the date that a successorship terminates, or, if no 
successor has been designated, the date that is one year following the death of the outfitter unless an extension is 
approved by the board based upon good cause appearing in a written request received by the board within one year. 
In cases where the outfitter dies and no successor is designated, someone authorized by the estate or the family of 
the outfitter must submit a NCHU transfer request form to the board within one year following the death of the 
outfitter. Authorization by the estate is shown by a certified copy of letters of appointment as a personal 
representative or by any other procedure allowed under Title 72, MCA, for the transfer of intangible personal property. 

History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-316, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 145, Eff. 
3/15/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2267, Eff. 8/28/98; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 1193, 
Eff. 6/13/03; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2013 
MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 

 
24.171.702    TRANSFER OF RIVER-USE DAYS 

This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-310, MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; 

AMD, 2007 MAR p. 298, Eff. 3/9/07; REP, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16. 

 
24.171.2101    RENEWALS 

(1) The provisions of ARM 24.101.408 and 24.101.414 apply.  
(2) License renewal applications for outfitters shall be made on forms provided by the department and shall be 

accompanied by: 
(a) the required renewal fee; 
(b) a copy of the licensee's valid and current first aid certification; 
(c) a copy of the licensee's current insurance certificate with the licensee as the named insured; 
(d) complete client report logs; and 
(e) an attestation that all lands information required as part of the outfitter's operations plan on file with the board 

is current and accurate as required by ARM 24.171.520. 
(3) An outfitter or guide must submit a completed renewal application with the required fee on or before the date 

set by ARM 24.101.413 of each license year. 
(4) Outfitters who provide services during the late hunt seasons may submit amended client logs reflecting 

services from December 1st through December 31st separately as long as they are received by the board no later 
than January 31st of the following year. 

(5) License renewal applications for guides shall be made on forms provided by the department and shall be 
accompanied by:  

(a) the required renewal fee; and 
(b) a copy of the licensee's valid and current first aid certification. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-104, 37-1-141, 37-47-201, 37-47-302, 37-47-304, 37-47-306, 

37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1992 MAR p. 2376, Eff. 10/30/92; AMD, 1996 MAR 
p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 809, Eff. 4/23/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 1583, Eff. 7/1/06; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 
2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR 
p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17. 

 
24.171.2104    ACTIVE DUTY STATUS FOR LICENSEES IN THE MILITARY 

(1) The board recognizes that the nation relies on members of the National Guard and the reserve branches of 
the armed forces for the nation's security, and that the members of the National Guard and reserve forces are subject 
to call to active duty on short notice. In consideration of that service to the nation, the board finds that it is appropriate 
to defer the licensing renewal obligations of such individuals called to active duty status, provided that the individual is 
not required by the armed forces to maintain current professional or occupational licensing as a condition of serving 
in the armed forces. 

(2) An activated reservist, as defined in 37-1-138 , MCA, upon submission of appropriate evidence, is entitled to 
the following privileges: 

(a) The activated reservist is not required to timely pay a renewal fee for license renewal that comes due while 
the person is in active duty status. The renewal fee is payable within six months following the activated reservist's  
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discharge from active duty status. Unless otherwise relieved from the renewal application requirements, the activated 
reservist must timely apply for license renewal. 

(b) If the activated reservist provides proof to the board of the reservist's active duty status before the reservist's 
license expires, the reservist is relieved from having to timely submit a renewal application and any related 
documents or information during the period while the reservist is on active duty status. The reservist has six months 
following discharge from active duty status to submit to the board such renewal applications and any related 
documents or information that came due during the period of the reservist's active duty status. 

(3) In order to gain the benefits of this rule, the activated reservist must provide the board with proof of active 
duty status, including the date upon which the reservist was called to active duty status. The board may require the 
activated reservist to periodically provide information to the board regarding the reservist's active duty status or the 
date of the reservist's discharge from active duty status. 

(4) A license that has not lapsed continues in the same status as existed the day before the reservist was called 
to active duty status, and remains in that status until the reservist renews the license or six months have elapsed from 
the reservist's discharge from active duty status, whichever comes first. 

History: 37-1-131, 37-1-138, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-138, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06. 

 
24.171.2301    UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT AND MISCONDUCT 

(1) A violation of (1) or (3) by an outfitter, or (2) or (3) by a guide or outfitter's assistant is misconduct, specified 
as a basis for disciplinary action under 37-47-341, MCA. Such violation is also determined by the board to be 
unprofessional conduct, as provided in 37-1-319, MCA, specified as a ground for disciplinary action under 37-1-312, 
MCA. A violation of this rule may result in any sanction provided by 37-1-312 or 37-47-341, MCA. Unprofessional 
conduct by an outfitter's assistant is grounds for disciplinary action against the outfitter who employed or contracted 
with the outfitter's assistant. An outfitter shall:  

(a) not violate any law, rule, or policy of the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks concerning the certification of 
nonresidents for procuring hunting licenses; 

(b) not conduct any services or allow services to be conducted by a supervised guide or outfitter's assistant on 
private or public land, except legal transportation across such lands, without first having obtained written permission 
from the landowner or written authorization from the agency administering public land, unless the landowner or 
agency does not require such permission; 

(c) not provide services or allow services to be conducted by a supervised guide or outfitter's assistant to clients 
outside the boundaries of the outfitter's approved operations plan; 

(d) not endorse a guide license until the outfitter has made reasonable inquiry and determined that the guide is 
qualified for licensure; 

(e) not interfere, by solicitation or otherwise, with a contract between another outfitter and client, including 
certifications for game license or permits, when it is known or reasonably should be known that a contract to provide 
services exists between that other outfitter and a client; 

(f) furnish each client with a current and complete rate schedule, which shall include all charges, a deposit policy, 
and deposit refund policy, all in writing, for services offered; 

(g) specify in writing, when offering services to a nonresident hunting client, the refund policy for failure by the 
prospective client to draw a license required to participate in the service offered; 

(h) not change the rates and/or policies from those published without the written consent of the client after the 
outfitter receives and accepts the deposit from the client; 

(i) set all contract terms and conditions with clients; 
(j) personally collect, or designate an agent to collect, all fees from clients. The outfitter is solely responsible for 

complying with the outfitter's deposit and deposit refund policy; 
(k) maintain current, true, complete, and accurate records; 
(l) make all client records available at the outfitter's main base camp or business office in accordance with ARM 

24.171.408; 
(m) obtain and maintain a reasonable degree of supervision over each guide and outfitter's assistant to ensure 

that the services offered are being provided in accordance with the laws and rules, with particular regard to those 
laws and rules pertaining to the health, safety, and welfare of the participants, the public, and landowners; 

(n) not employ or retain a guide without first confirming that the guide has current basic first aid certification; 
(o) not exceed the licensee's NCHU; 
(p) not use a guide prior to ensuring that the guide license is fully signed and dated; 
(q) not use a guide with an inactive license;  
(r) comply with all laws and rules relating to outfitter's assistants; and 
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(s) when advertising services, clearly designate the outfitter's registered business name or personal name and 

the outfitter's license number. 
(2) Guides shall: 
(a) not advertise services to the general public, but may advertise their services directly to outfitters; 
(b) only make agreements with clients concerning monetary consideration or services offered, or collect fees 

from clients, with the express consent of the supervising outfitter, and only as expressly provided in ARM 24.171.405; 
(c) not provide services to clients who have not been specifically referred to the guide from the endorsing 

outfitter; and 
(d) not act as a guide under a guide license, unless and until the guide and the outfitter have first signed and 

dated the guide license. 
(3) All licensees shall: 
(a) provide services with respect for the rights of others, private and public property, and provide for the health, 

safety, and well-being of their clients, employees, and the general public; 
(b) provide services on public land in a manner such that they do not interfere with the general public access to 

public land or waterways or access to wildlife on public land; 
(c) provide their services in such a manner as not to be detrimental to the wildlife or the environment where they 

operate; 
(d) report to the board office, at their earliest opportunity, any violation of fish and game laws or outfitter, guide, 

and outfitter's assistant laws of which they have knowledge; 
(e) not use alcohol to the extent that the use impairs the user physically or mentally, while engaged by a client; 
(f) not charge any fee for certifying or aiding or assisting any nonresident in procuring or attempting to procure a 

hunting license; 
(g) not harass, assault, or abuse clients, employees, outfitters, guides, or outfitter's assistants, or members of the 

general public, verbally or otherwise; 
(h) not abuse livestock; 
(i) produce their current license or employment documentation required by ARM 24.171.410 at the request of law 

enforcement or a representative of the board; 
(j) carry the licensee's current license at all times when providing services; 
(k) not have hunting or fishing privileges suspended, revoked, placed on probation, or voluntarily surrendered in 

the state of Montana or any other jurisdiction; 
(l) not act beyond the scope of activities for which the individual is licensed; 
(m) not offer for use by an unlicensed individual any watercraft identification identifying another licensee as the 

occupant of the watercraft; 
(n) not intentionally misrepresent board laws or rules; 
(o) not fail to respond to board inquiries and requests; 
(p) not remit a "nonsufficient fund check" or a check on a closed account for board fees or fines; and 
(q) comply with the statutes and rules applicable to licensees of the board. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-312, 37-1-316, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, 37-47-325, 37-

47-341, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 809, Eff. 4/23/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, 
Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 347, Eff. 
3/9/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2055, Eff. 9/26/08; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 3/12/10; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 
8/27/10; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2018 MAR p. 1731, 
Eff. 8/25/18. 

 
24.171.2305    WEB SITE POSTING OF LICENSE DISCIPLINE 

(1) For purposes of ARM 24.101.404, each first-time violation of the following acts constitutes a failure to file or 
complete in a timely manner a minor administrative requirement that is in rule or law:  

(a) lack of first aid card if no client is served during the lapse; 
(b) an outfitter's failure to ensure that a guide has a first aid card if no client is served during the lapse; 
(c) failure to display required information on a water vessel; 
(d) incomplete or faulty log book entries; 
(e) failure to maintain insurance if no client is served during the lapse; 
(f) use of a nonsufficient funds check; 
(g) failure to carry current guide or outfitter license while providing services; 
(h) failure to carry a current fishing license; and 
(i) failure to have a current conservation license. 
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(2) No conduct is a failure to file or complete in a timely manner a minor administrative requirement that is in rule 

or law if the board determines that the conduct constitutes fraud, dishonesty, or a careless or intentional disregard for 
the rules, statutes, or standards applicable to the licensee. 

(3) If an applicant is denied a license only because of an incomplete application or because the applicant lacks 
the required days of verified experience, a first aid card, an ALS number, the proper amount of fees, or other similar 
item or requirement, then the denial is based solely on the applicant's failure to meet minimum licensure 
qualifications, and not based on competence to practice issues. 

(4) No license denial is based solely on the applicant's failure to meet minimum licensure qualifications, and not 
based on competence to practice issues if the board determines the application involves the applicant's fraud, 
dishonesty, or a careless or intentional disregard for the rules, statutes, or standards applicable to the applicant. 

History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-1-311, MCA; NEW, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11. 
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24.171.101    BOARD ORGANIZATION 


(1) The Board of Outfitters hereby adopts and incorporates the organizational rules of the Department of Labor 
and Industry listed at chapter 1 of this title of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 


(2) It is the policy, intent, and purpose of the Board of Outfitters to provide quality regulatory functions and 
services to the profession it regulates and the public in order to promote, maintain, and preserve an ever-improving 
high degree of competence in the profession, satisfaction in the public, and an everlasting environment in which the 
profession operates. 


History: 2-4-201, MCA; IMP, 2-4-201, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 46, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 
Eff. 7/29/88; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324. 


 
24.171.201    PROCEDURAL RULES 


(1) The Board of Outfitters hereby adopts and incorporates the procedural rules of the Department of Labor and 
Industry as listed in chapter 2 of this title of the Administrative Rules of Montana. 


History: 2-4-201, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 2-4-201, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 46, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 
1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324. 


 
24.171.202    PUBLIC PARTICIPATION RULES 


(1) The Board of Outfitters hereby adopts and incorporates the citizen participation rules of the Department of 
Commerce as listed in chapter 2 of Title 8. 


(2) Dates, times, and places for meetings and other activities of the Board of Outfitters may be obtained by 
contacting the board office. 


(3) Communications to the Board of Outfitters may be made to: Board of Outfitters, Department of Labor and 
Industry, 301 S. Park, P.O. Box 200513, Helena, Montana 59620-0513. 


(4) In addition to any other means provided by law or rule, a person wanting to receive notice of board activities 
of significant interest to that person may contact the board office, in writing, and request that his or her name, 
address, and phone number be placed on the board's "mailing list" and designate those activities of interest. The 
request shall be effective until January 1 of the following year, at which time it may be renewed by written request 
annually. 


History: 2-3-103, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 2-3-103, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 46, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 
1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324. 


 
24.171.401    FEES 


(1) Fees for outfitters, operations plan, guide, or use of outfitter assistants shall be as set forth below. The 
following fees are nonrefundable.  


(a) New outfitter application and license. $1300 
This fee includes the following costs, but does not include fees  
related to operations plan. 
(i) application processing 350 
(ii) examination 150 
(iii) investigation 400 
(iv) license 400 
(b) Application for amendment to outfitter license. 450 
This fee includes the following costs: 
(i) application processing 300 
(ii) examination 150 
(c) Renewal of outfitter license 
(i) outfitter annual license 210 
(ii) outfitter inactive status 100 
(d) New operations plan 
(i) review and processing 125 
(ii) equipment inspection 375 
(e) Fee per outfitter assistant employed or contracted 25 
(f) Renewal guide license 50 
(g) Initial guide application 150 
(h) Fee for transfer of NCHU from each outfitter 
involved in the transfer 50 
(i) Fee for each set of two replacement watercraft  
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identification tags 5 
(j) Additional standardized fees are specified in ARM 24.101.403.  
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-1-134, 37-47-201, 37-47-306, MCA; IMP, 37-1-134, 37-1-141, 37-47-304, 37-47-306, 37-


47-307, 37-47-308, 37-47-310, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1994 MAR p. 2823, Eff. 
10/28/94; AMD, 1995 MAR p. 2388, Eff. 11/10/95; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 909, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1178, 
Eff. 7/8/97; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2560, Eff. 9/25/98; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; AMD, 2001 MAR p. 843, 
Eff. 5/25/01; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 1583, Eff. 
7/1/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 298, Eff. 3/9/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2055, Eff. 9/26/08; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1406, Eff. 
8/14/09; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 2384, Eff. 10/15/10; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, 
Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, 
Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 


 
24.171.402    EFFECT OF FEE FOR EXPANSION OF NET CLIENT HUNTER USE 


This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-316, MCA; NEW, 2003 MAR p. 1193, 


Eff. 6/13/03; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; REP, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.403    NONROUTINE APPLICATIONS 


(1) A nonroutine application means an application submitted to the board in which the applicant has one or more 
of the following:  


(a) past convictions or pending charges of state or federal laws relative to fish, wildlife, or parks, but only if those 
convictions: 


(i) ever resulted in the loss of privileges to hunt or fish; 
(ii) totaled two or more for which the applicant was sentenced no earlier than five years before the board 


received the application; or 
(iii) total more than three regardless of when the applicant was sentenced; 
(b) a total of three or more currently pending charges or past convictions of misdemeanor crimes if the applicant 


was sentenced for the past convictions no earlier than five years before the board received the application; 
(c) a diagnosis or other information indicating physical or mental impairment by mental illness or chronic physical 


illness that may adversely affect the applicant's ability to provide services safely, but only if either the treatment for 
which is ongoing or the symptoms of which currently exist; 


(d) a pending charge of any felony crime or a past conviction of any felony crime for which the applicant was 
either sentenced no earlier than ten years before the date the board received the application or for which the 
sentence has not been fully satisfied and discharged; 


(e) traffic-related convictions if the applicant is deemed a habitual offender on or after the date the board first 
received the application; or 


(f) an outfitter or guide license in this or any other state that was ever suspended, revoked, surrendered, or 
subjected to restrictions or other sanctions of a similar gravity. 


(2) The department may, but is not required to, submit any routine application for board review if the department 
finds inconsistencies, irregularities, or other matters of concern in the application or in the documentation related to 
the application. 


(3) For the purposes of this rule, any reference to "pending charges" shall include, but not be limited to, deferred 
prosecutions that have not been dismissed as of the date that the application is first submitted to the board. 


(4) Applications that are nonroutine for an outfitter license for the same reason that they were nonroutine as a 
guide license are, nonetheless, nonroutine for the outfitter license, which is a privilege to practice at a higher level of 
public trust. 


History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-101, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 
1/30/15. 


 
24.171.404    MILITARY TRAINING OR EXPERIENCE 


(1) Pursuant to 37-1-145, MCA, the board shall accept relevant military training, service, or education toward the 
requirements for licensure as an outfitter or guide.  


(2) Relevant military training, service, or education must be completed by an applicant while a member of either: 
(a) United States Armed Forces; 
(b) United States Reserves; 
(c) state national guard; or 
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(d) military reserves. 
(3) An applicant must submit satisfactory evidence of receiving military training, service, or education that is 


equivalent to relevant licensure requirements as an outfitter or guide. Satisfactory evidence includes: 
(a) a copy of the applicant's military discharge document (DD 214 or other discharge documentation); 
(b) a document that clearly shows all relevant training, certification, service, or education the applicant received 


while in the military, including dates of training and completion or graduation; and 
(c) any other documentation as required by the board. 
(4) The board shall consider all documentation received to determine whether an applicant's military training, 


service, or education is equivalent to relevant licensure requirements. 
History: 37-1-145, MCA; IMP, 37-1-145, MCA; NEW, 2014 MAR p. 2653, Eff. 10/24/14. 


 
24.171.405    BOOKING AGENTS AND ADVERTISING 


(1) Any person authorized by the outfitter may schedule trips, provide clients with information regarding refunds 
and services, receive client fees on behalf of the outfitter, secure a guide who is employed by or with whom the 
outfitter has an existing contractual relationship, and take other steps to establish contracts for services, as long as 
these activities are at the direction of the outfitter and as long as the terms and conditions of the contracts are directly 
between the outfitter and the client.  


(2) Outfitters may enter into an arrangement with a person whereby the outfitter's services are advertised by or at 
the direction of that person or whereby clients are referred to the outfitter, but the outfitter is accountable to the board 
for the appearance and propriety of all such advertising and for all interactions between the other person and the 
clients and potential clients. All advertising regarding outfitting services must comply with the rules applicable to 
outfitters. 


(3) Guides advertising to outfitters using media or methods that the general public may also view shall include a 
clear and conspicuous disclaimer that advises the general public that the advertisement is for outfitters only, not the 
general public. 


History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, MCA; NEW, 2015 MAR p. 269, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.407    INSPECTION 


(1) Inspections of outfitter and guide operations may be made by a representative of the board at all reasonable 
times. The purpose of the inspection is to periodically examine the premises, equipment, and/or procedures of a 
licensed individual to determine whether the individual's practice is being conducted in a manner consistent with the 
laws and rules of the board, and the public health, safety and welfare. 


History: 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; TRANS, 
from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.408    OUTFITTER RECORDS 


(1) Outfitters shall maintain current, true, complete, and accurate records, submit the records to the board as 
required by administrative rule, and make the records available at all times at the outfitter's main base camp or 
business office:  


(a) to enforcement or investigative personnel authorized or appointed by the board; 
(b) upon subpoena or order of a court; 
(c) upon written request of the board; or 
(d) upon written request of a state or federal agency for law enforcement purposes. 
(2) Outfitter records shall be maintained on forms prescribed by the department and shall contain information as 


required by the board. The information required, in addition to information for operations plans under ARM 
24.171.520 and employment records relative to outfitter assistants under ARM 24.171.410, shall include: 


(a) the outfitter's name and license number; 
(b) each client's name and/or unique identifier assigned to the client by the Department of Fish, Wildlife and 


Parks; 
(c) dates of service to clients; 
(d) big game animals taken by clients, specifying the species and sex of each big game animal and stating for 


each big game animal whether it was taken on public or private land within the outfitter's operations plan; 
(e) districts hunted and water bodies, including section of a river or stream, fished by clients; 
(f) category of NCHU applicable for each client; and 
(g) the name of the outfitter assistant or the name and license number of the guide who accompanied the client. 
(3) Amendments to records shall be made immediately when errors are discovered. Amendments that only 


supplement records with information that arose after license renewal are always proper. However, cases of  
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amendments to records for any other reason shall be brought to the screening panel for a decision as to whether an 
investigation should follow. 


(4) In general, outfitter records, including, but not limited to the operations plans, shall be maintained as 
confidential information and shall not be released to any person or organization without written permission of the 
outfitter, subpoena or order of a court, or written request of a state or federal agency for law enforcement purposes. A 
specific outfitter's number of NCHU is confidential information, but whether an outfitter has NCHU of a particular 
category is public information. Also, while total acreage of private lands where any outfitter is authorized to operate is 
a matter of public record, where a particular outfitter is authorized to operate is a confidential matter between the 
landowner and the outfitter. The Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks or the Private Land/Public Wildlife Council 
may use board data to create a map depicting all private land where any outfitter is authorized to operate. All inquiries 
for outfitter records shall be reviewed and considered in relation to this rule and the competing interests between the 
public's right to know and the rights of privacy involved in the particular records requested.  


  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 


Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1989 MAR p. 1192, Eff. 8/18/89; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2013 MAR p. 
671, Eff. 4/26/13; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 
850, Eff. 6/22/19. 


 
24.171.409    GUIDE TO HUNTER RATIO 


This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-402, MCA; NEW, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 


3/12/10; REP, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13. 


 
24.171.410    OUTFITTER'S ASSISTANTS 


(1) An outfitter may only employ or contract with an outfitter's assistant in an emergency. Emergency, as defined 
in 37-47-101, MCA, includes unforeseen staffing shortages, not caused by the outfitter's action or inaction, for which 
employing or contracting with an outfitter's assistant is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare 
while serving a client.  


(2) Before an outfitter's assistant serves a client, the outfitter shall: 
(a) disclose to each client that the outfitter's assistant is not a licensed guide or outfitter; 
(b) explain the emergency causing the need to employ or contract with the outfitter's assistant; and 
(c) disclose whether the outfitter's assistant has received first aid certification. 
(3) For each outfitter's assistant employed or contracted with by an outfitter, the following documentation 


procedures shall be followed: 
(a) An outfitter shall document the employment or retention of each outfitter's assistant. The outfitter's assistant 


shall keep a copy of the employment documentation at all times during the service period. Within 15 days of the first 
date the outfitter's assistant serves a client, the outfitter shall submit to the department a copy of the employment 
documentation and fee required in ARM 24.171.401. The employment documentation shall include: 


(i) the name, license number, address, phone number, and, if available, e-mail address of the outfitter; 
(ii) the signature of the outfitter; 
(iii) the name, date of birth, address, telephone number, and, if available, e-mail address of the outfitter's 


assistant; and 
(iv) the beginning and ending dates of the service period. 
(b) Within 15 days of the first date the outfitter's assistant serves any client, the outfitter shall submit the following 


information to the department: 
(i) an explanation of the emergency causing the need to employ or contract with the outfitter's assistant; 
(ii) an explanation for why the outfitter's assistant could not obtain a guide license before serving a client; 
(iii) a statement indicating whether the outfitter's assistant has applied for a guide license; 
(iv) confirmation that the outfitter properly disclosed to the client information required by this rule; and 
(v) an affidavit by the outfitter that the outfitter has complied with all laws and rules relating to outfitter's 


assistants. 
(c) Outfitters shall maintain a copy of this documentation and make the records available at all times in 


accordance with ARM 24.171.408 following the provision of services by the outfitter's assistant. 
(4) Unless otherwise authorized under ARM 24.171.405, regarding booking agents and advertising, an outfitter's 


assistant may not: 
(a) make agreements with participants concerning monetary consideration of services provided; or 
(b) advertise outfitting services. 
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(5) Except where an outfitter's assistant's conduct is further limited by statute or rule, the standards of conduct 


set forth in ARM 24.171.2301 applicable to guides shall also be observed by the outfitter's assistant. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-325, 37-47-404, 


37-47-405, MCA; NEW, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2018 MAR p. 1731, Eff. 8/25/18. 


 
24.171.412    SAFETY AND FIRST AID PROVISIONS 


(1) Outfitters and guides are required to hold a current basic first aid card at all times actively licensed.  
(2) Basic first aid certification must be obtained through a provider and course approved by the department 


based upon the following minimum criteria: 
(a) The provider must require written and practical tests and participants are to receive completion certificates. 
(b) The provider program must include, at a minimum, universal precautions for self-protection and training 


specific to the following types of injuries:  
(i) shock;  
(ii) bleeding;  
(iii) poisoning; 
(iv) burns; 
(v) temperature extremes;  
(vi) musculoskeletal injuries; 
(vii) bites and stings; and 
(viii) medical emergencies. 
(c) Instruction in the principles and first aid intervention of injuries must refer to body extremities. 
(3) For purposes of initial licensure, only basic first aid certification that involves the direct, hands-on application 


of first aid materials and techniques is acceptable. An applicant for an outfitter license who was previously licensed as 
a guide must hold current certification from a hands-on first aid course. 


(4) A list of approved providers and courses shall be maintained on the board web site. 
(5) An applicant may also meet basic first aid certification if the applicant provides proof of a certification, license, 


or other credential that is equivalent to or greater than basic first aid certification, approved on a case-by-case basis 
by the department. The board may also maintain on its web site a list of certifications, licenses, and other credentials 
that will be routinely accepted as equivalent to or greater than basic first aid. 


(6) Whenever guests are present, each watercraft; vessel; vehicle; primary, secondary, and temporary base of 
operations must possess a serviceable basic first aid kit. 


(7) Each watercraft or vessel shall contain a serviceable U.S. Coast Guard approved personal floatation device 
for each person onboard. Children under 12 are required to wear a personal floatation device. Watercraft 16 feet and 
longer are required to be equipped with a throwable Type IV floatation device. 


(8) All watercraft or vessels are required to carry onboard a supplementary means of power, such as an extra 
motor or extra oar that will adequately motivate the craft. 


  
History: 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, MCA; NEW, 1992 MAR p. 439, Eff. 3/13/92; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 


668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 809, Eff. 4/23/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 
2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17; AMD, 2019 MAR 
p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 


 
24.171.413    WATERCRAFT IDENTIFICATION 


(1) A person holding a valid outfitter or guide license who utilizes any type of watercraft while providing services 
shall prove evidence of licensure by displaying, at all times services are being provided, board-issued watercraft 
identification tags.  


(2) The tags shall display the outfitter or guide license number for identification purposes.  
(3) An unlicensed outfitter assistant shall display board-issued watercraft identification tags on each watercraft to 


be occupied by the outfitter assistant. 
(4) One tag shall be affixed to each side of the watercraft at the bow, oarlock, or stern of the watercraft and be of 


a size approved by the board so that they may be easily seen from another watercraft or from shore. 
(5) Each tag shall be affixed to the watercraft or on a removable plaque or in such a way that if the craft is sold or 


is not being used by the licensee while the licensee is providing services, the tag may be removed or concealed to 
prevent misidentification of the occupant(s) as licensees. 
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(6) Licensees may be provided with one set of two watercraft identification tags at the time of application for 


licensure or renewal, at no charge, upon request. A fee will be assessed for any replacement in accordance with 
ARM 24.171.401. 


  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-134, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, 37-47-303, 37-47-325, 


37-47-405, MCA; NEW, 1998 MAR p. 740, Eff. 3/27/98; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, 
Eff. 10/14/17. 


 
24.171.501    APPLICATION FOR OUTFITTER LICENSE 


(1) An application for an outfitter license shall be on forms prescribed by the department and shall be 
accompanied by the required fee.  


(2) A complete application, which is required prior to being allowed to take the examination, shall consist of two 
parts: 


(a) the department's license application form, including all supporting documentation as required by that form; 
and 


(b) an operations plan application form, accompanied by a NCHU transfer request form, if applicable. 
(3) The license issued shall designate, and thereby authorize the outfitter to conduct those functions of an 


outfitter that the applicant has qualified for. Functions of an outfitter to be indicated on the license application and 
license issued, if qualified for, shall be one or more of the following: 


(a) hunting services (big game); 
(b) hunting services (upland game birds, waterfowl, and non-big game); 
(c) fishing services; and 
(d) if applicable to the services provided in (1)(a) through (c), and qualified for, one or more of the following: 
(i) saddle or pack animal; or 
(ii) boat or other floating craft, or motorized watercraft. 
(4) An outfitter license shall be issued to an applicant who has demonstrated to the board that he or she has: 
(a) met the qualifications to provide those services of an outfitter indicated on the license application; 
(b) filed an outfitter license application with the board office; 
(c) filed an operations plan that has been approved by the board; 
(d) successfully passed the required examinations pertaining to those categories described in ARM 24.171.507; 


and 
(e) received an approved equipment inspection. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, 37-47-305, 37-47-307, 


37-47-308, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.502    OUTFITTER QUALIFICATIONS 


(1) An applicant for an outfitter license shall have the qualifications to provide all services and use all equipment 
necessary to provide the functions of an outfitter that the license will authorize the applicant to provide. In addition, 
the applicant shall have:  


(a) for a fishing outfitter applicant: 
(i) a minimum of three years and 120 days of verified experience as a licensed guide working for a licensed 


outfitter in this state, guiding clients and using methods for pursuing fish, reduced by no more than 50 experience 
days for any waiver or combination of waivers; or 


(ii) a minimum of three years and 120 days of verified experience as a licensed outfitter, a licensed guide, or 
equivalent experience in another state guiding clients and using methods for pursuing fish reduced by no more than 
50 experience days for any waiver or combination of waivers. All experience in this subsection is subject to board 
approval; or 


(b) for all other applicants: 
(i) 100 days of verified experience as a licensed guide working for a licensed outfitter in this state, guiding clients 


in pursuing the types of game and using methods for which licensure is sought by the applicant; or 
(ii) 100 days of verified experience as a licensed outfitter, a licensed guide, or equivalent experience in another 


state guiding clients in pursuing the types of game and using the methods for which licensure is sought by the 
applicant. All experience in this subsection is subject to board approval. 


(2) For purposes of this rule, verified experience includes: 
(a) an affidavit by the outfitter attesting to the guiding experience claimed by the applicant and subject to 


confirmation by the outfitter client logs; 
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(b) client logs submitted by the applicant, signed by the sponsoring outfitter for whom services were provided;  
(c) outfitter log book entries; or 
(d) sources of information with board acceptable guarantees of reliability which may include, but are not limited 


to, federal land agency records, client affidavits or letters. 
(3) Three days of experience may be waived by the board for every day of training completed by the applicant at 


an outfitter or guide school approved by the board provided that the training was in the category of licensure being 
sought (e.g., hunting or fishing). The maximum number of days of experience that may be waived is 30. All 
experience waivers shall be contingent upon the applicant completing the board's one-day education program at the 
time specified by the board. 


(4) The board may waive up to 50 days of experience for an applicant purchasing an existing outfitter operation 
provided that: 


(a) the applicant receives preapproval from the board for a training and instruction plan documenting how and in 
what capacity the applicant will work with the licensed outfitter from whom the business is obtained; 


(b) the applicant has entered into a sales agreement with the selling outfitter for the purchase of the operation 
and the sales agreement provides supervision of the applicant by the selling outfitter during the 12-month period 
following board approval of the application; 


(c) the selling outfitter has a current, approved operations plan on file with the board; 
(d) the applicant files an operations plan that is approved by the board; and 
(e) the applicant has completed the board's one-day education program. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-302, 37-47-304, 37-47-307, 37-47-308, 


MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1991 MAR p. 999, Eff. 6/28/91; AMD, 1992 MAR p. 2376, Eff. 
10/30/92; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & 
AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2009 MAR p. 1406, Eff. 8/14/09; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; 
AMD, 2015 MAR p. 1756, Eff. 10/16/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 
10/14/17. 


 
24.171.503    OUTFITTER APPLICATION 


This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 


Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2560, Eff. 9/25/98; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; REP, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.504    SUCCESSORSHIP 


(1) A successorship is the permission granted to a person to renew the license of a deceased or incapacitated 
outfitter for a limited period of time for the purposes of operating or selling the business. Only a successor may renew 
the license of an outfitter who has deceased.  


(2) A successor acceptable to the board must be designated by the family of a deceased outfitter within six 
months of the date that the outfitter becomes deceased. If a successor for a deceased outfitter is not designated 
within those six months, then no successor will be approved. 


(3) The family of an outfitter designates a proposed successor by submitting an application completed by the 
proposed successor on a form provided by the department; a sworn statement by the proposed successor explaining 
how the proposed successor has been involved with the outfitting industry, in general, and how the successor has 
been involved with the outfitting business for which the successorship is sought, in particular; and a sworn statement 
by someone on behalf of the family of the deceased or incapacitated outfitter, affirming the person's authority and 
how the authority was obtained to designate a successor on behalf of the family, and that the person so acting is at 
least 18 years of age. A successorship application must specify whether the successor will operate the business or 
will only seek to sell it. 


(4) When a successorship is approved for the purpose of selling the business, the outfitter license is placed on 
inactive status and may be renewed only on inactive status and only until the successorship terminates or until the 
business sells, whichever occurs earlier. No clients may be contracted with or served under authority of an inactive 
license. All requests for successorship for the sole purpose of selling the business shall be routinely approved by staff 
upon the board's receipt of all the required information. 


(5) An application for the purpose of operating the business shall require the same information that is required of 
an outfitter applicant. The decision of whether to approve a successorship for the purpose of operating the business 
shall be processed by the department unless the application is nonroutine under ARM 24.171.403, in which case the 
matter will be brought to the board. 


 



http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0020/chapter_0040/parts_index.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0310/0370-0010-0010-0310.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0310/0370-0010-0010-0310.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0020/0370-0470-0030-0020.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0040/0370-0470-0030-0040.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0070/0370-0470-0030-0070.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0080/0370-0470-0030-0080.html

http://www.mtrules.org/Gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E171%2E503

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0010/part_0010/section_0310/0370-0010-0010-0310.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0020/section_0010/0370-0470-0020-0010.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0040/0370-0470-0030-0040.html

http://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0470/part_0030/section_0070/0370-0470-0030-0070.html

http://www.mtrules.org/Gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E171%2E504

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24.171.403





The Montana Secretary of State’s Administrative Rules Services publishes the administrative rules promulgated by state agencies. 
Administrative rules are developed under a process outlined in the Montana Administrative Procedure Act. That process requires 
state agencies to provide notice to the public when they wish to adopt, amend or repeal administrative rules. The notices are 
compiled in the Montana Administrative Register (MAR). Once adopted, administrative rules are published in the Administrative 
Rules of Montana (ARM) and have the force of law. The following ARM related to the Montana Board of Outfitters is directly from 
The Montana Secretary of State’s Administrative Rules Services publication as of November 1, 2019.   


 
 
(6) Prior to approval, a successor must meet all qualifications for licensure aside from the experience and testing 


requirements. Approval may be granted upon the condition that documentation of licensure requirements will be 
received by the board no later than a specified date. If the documentation of licensure requirements is not received in 
a timely manner, board staff shall immediately place the license on inactive status and all outfitting under that license 
shall immediately cease until the board is able to reconsider the approval. 


(7) A successor stands in the shoes of the outfitter for purposes of the board's power to administer and enforce 
the statutes and rules applicable to outfitters. Notwithstanding any agreement to the contrary, a successor and the 
original licensee, or the estate if the original licensee is deceased, are jointly and severally liable and responsible for 
all conduct affecting the outfitter license occurring during that successor's service as the successor. The successor 
may operate the license subject to the authority of the board to the same extent as if the successor were the outfitter. 
An action addressing unprofessional conduct may be taken against an outfitter license regardless of the status of the 
successorship, and regardless of whether the conduct was that of the deceased or incapacitated outfitter or of one or 
more successors. Each living outfitter and successor who is alleged to be responsible for misconduct may be made a 
party to the action. 


(8) A successor shall report to the board each year at the next regularly scheduled meeting following the renewal 
period. To report, the successor shall either personally appear for the meeting or shall submit a written report to the 
board no less than 15 days before the meeting. The report shall inform the board of the progress made toward 
licensure of an outfitter for the business, or of the progress made toward sale of the business. 


(9) If the board wishes to revoke a successorship for unprofessional conduct or for failing to appear or report, the 
public health, safety, or welfare is more likely to imperatively require emergency action because a successor is 
presumed to be less qualified than an outfitter and to be less invested in the protection of the public. If a 
successorship is revoked, then the outfitter license status becomes the status applicable to it as if the original 
licensee had deceased or become incapacitated on the date of the revocation. A successor shall not perform any 
outfitter functions if the successorship or the license is suspended or revoked. 


(10) A successorship terminates the earlier of the date that is five years from the date that the successorship was 
approved under this rule, or the date that the successorship is revoked or voluntarily surrendered, or the date that the 
successor becomes a licensed outfitter. 


(11) While operating the business as a successor, the successor may accumulate verified experience days in the 
same manner that a guide accumulates experience days to satisfy the requirements of ARM 24.171.502. In the 
discretion of the board, and in addition to all other waivers that a successor may qualify for, a successor may request 
a waiver of up to 50 days of experience for each license function (hunting and fishing) by sufficiently documenting the 
successor's past experience and involvement with the particular outfitting business that occurred prior to the date the 
successorship was approved. 


  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-310, MCA; NEW, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11; 


AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17. 


 
24.171.505    FISHING OUTFITTER OPERATIONS PLAN 


(1) A fishing outfitter may include in a proposed or an existing operations plan, a general reference to "all surface 
waters governed by the Montana Stream Access Law, 23-2-302, MCA, and accessible by public access points not 
requiring a permit restricting commercial use issued by a state or federal agency(ies)." Alternatively, the outfitter may 
include in a proposed or existing operations plan specific surface waters governed by the Montana Stream Access 
Law and accessible by public access points not requiring a permit issued by a state or federal agency, by including 
detailed descriptions of those specific waters as provided in 37-47-304(2)(c)(ii), MCA.  


(2) Surface waters accessible only by private land or access points requiring a permit issued by a state or federal 
agency(ies) may only be included in a fishing outfitter's proposed or existing operations plan by describing the waters 
in detail as provided in 37-47-304(2)(c)(ii), MCA. Description and submission of private land access permission and 
permit(s) issued by the appropriate state or federal agency(ies) shall be governed by ARM 24.171.520. 


  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 2009 MAR p. 1406, 


Eff. 8/14/09; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17. 


 
24.171.507    OUTFITTER EXAMINATION 


(1) Applicants for the outfitter examination shall submit a completed license application accompanied by the 
required fee. 


(2) The following list is not intended to be exhaustive in detail. A wide range of issues and subtopics exist within 
each broad topic. The examination categories include: 


(a) general knowledge of outfitting and guiding; 
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(b) hunting; 
(c) fishing; and 
(d) packing. 
(3) All applicants must obtain a passing score of 75 percent or more on each examination category taken. 
(4) An applicant who fails the written examination may, within 15 days of notification of failure, review his or her 


examination at the board office. During this review, the applicant may review only questions answered incorrectly. 
Correct answers to those questions will be furnished to the applicant. No representative of the board shall discuss the 
substance of the examination with the applicant. The applicant will not be allowed to record any information from 
examination during the review. 


(5) Before taking the outfitter examination, an applicant must submit a complete application, as defined in ARM 
24.171.501. An applicant may not repeat any failed portion of the outfitter examination sooner than 30 days from the 
date of failing. 


  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-305, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; 


AMD, 1991 MAR p. 999, Eff. 6/28/91; AMD, 1993 MAR p. 343, Eff. 3/12/93; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; 
TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 
MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16. 


 
24.171.508    INCOMPLETE OUTFITTER AND GUIDE LICENSE APPLICATIONS 


(1) Applications received by the board will be reviewed for completeness. If an application is not complete when 
first received by the board, the applicant will be mailed a letter stating that the application is incomplete. The board 
may indicate which documents or information is missing in this letter. However, the applicant remains responsible for 
ensuring all required information and documents are timely submitted. If the application is not completed within one 
year from the date the incomplete application first arrived, the application expires, and the applicant shall be required 
to submit a new application and fees before being considered for licensure. 


History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 
4/26/13. 


 
24.171.509    INSURANCE FOR OUTFITTERS 


(1) An outfitter, other than an outfitter licensed on inactive status, shall have liability insurance, as a named 
insured, in effect at all times during the license year, and shall submit proof of such insurance with an application for 
renewal. Liability insurance must cover bodily injury to clients at all times services are being provided, including while 
the outfitter or employed or retained guides are transporting clients. Minimum amounts of liability insurance shall 
meet or exceed minimum requirements of state or federal regulator agencies for outfitters operating on state or 
federal lands, but in no case may minimum amounts be less than $10,000 for property damage, $100,000 for 
personal injury to one person and a total of $300,000 for personal injury to more than one person.  


  
History: 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; 


TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 


 
24.171.512    INACTIVE LICENSE 


(1) An outfitter may submit a written request to have the outfitter's license placed on inactive status at the time of 
renewal. Such request must be submitted with a completed application for renewal and all required renewal fees.  


(2) Outfitters whose licenses are inactive more than three years and who choose to become active must take the 
parts of the outfitter test related to outfitter laws and rules and fish and game laws and rules. An inactive outfitter who 
wishes to reactivate his or her license must update their operation plan. 


(3) Outfitters on inactive status may not book or serve clients, and are subject to all requirements applicable to 
outfitters licensed on active status, other than those relating to insurance and current basic first aid card. 


History: 37-1-319, MCA; IMP, 37-1-319, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 1178, 
Eff. 7/8/97; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 
298, Eff. 3/9/07; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11. 


 
24.171.513    OUTFITTER ACTING AS GUIDE 


(1) A licensee holding a current and valid outfitter's license may act as a guide without a guide's license if such 
licensee: 


(a) possesses the qualifications of a guide under these rules; 
(b) works for only one outfitter at any given time; 
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(c) acts as a guide only within the services and area of operation of this particular outfitter; and 
(d) is reported as a guide in the client logs of the outfitter whose clients are being served. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-301, 37-47-302, 37-47-303, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, 


Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06. 


 
24.171.520    OPERATIONS PLANS AND AMENDMENTS 


(1) An operations plan is prepared by the outfitter and submitted to the board and consists of the following:  
(a) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the amount and kind of equipment that is owned, leased, or 


contracted for by the applicant is sufficient and satisfactory for the services advertised or contemplated to be 
performed by the applicant; 


(b) for fishing outfitters, a summarization of the boundaries of the outfitter's operation, provided in the following 
terms, except as otherwise provided in ARM 24.171.505: 


(i) the name of each water body, including the section of each river or stream, that may be utilized by the 
applicant while providing services;  


(ii) a description of private land, by name of ranch and county where located, over which access is allowed; and 
(iii) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the outfitter is in possession of any public land permits or licenses 


properly executed for federal or state public property where the outfitter is authorized to operate; 
(c) for hunting outfitters a summarization of the locations and boundaries of the outfitter's operation, which is 


where the outfitter is authorized to operate, provided in the following terms: 
(i) the name of each public land agency; 
(ii) all information necessary to fulfill statutory requirements for reporting of private land acreage; 
(iii) total acreage on a per-owner basis of the private land where the outfitter is authorized to operate for any 


duration of time and for any species of game; and 
(iv) the legal description of the private acreage where the outfitter is authorized to operate, either by geo-code 


number assigned by the Montana Department of Revenue, or by aliquot parts. If less than the entire section or parcel 
is reported, then the boundary shall be described down to the quarter-quarter section or the government lot number; 


(d) the number of NCHU per category; and 
(e) an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the outfitter possesses public land permits or licenses properly 


executed for federal or state public property where the outfitter is authorized to operate. 
(2) An outfitter may amend the operations plan on record by adding or subtracting any additional or replacement 


information and submitting the updated plan to the board, except that when adding a service identified in (5), the 
outfitter must apply for an amendment to the outfitter's operations plan by stating in writing the proposed changes and 
submitting it to the board, along with the fee required in ARM 24.171.401. 


(3) As part of renewal, each outfitter shall attest that all lands information required as part of the outfitter's 
operations plan on file with the board is current and accurate. 


(4) Whenever the outfitter gains permission to use additional private or public property, the outfitter shall update 
the operations plan the earlier of: 


(a) the end of the license year during which the outfitter first became authorized to use it, and 
(b) before actually using it. 
(5) All amendments will be considered by the board using the same criteria as new applicants, including being 


required to take those parts of the outfitter examination that apply to the proposed amendment, if an outfitter is 
applying to add the following to the operations plan: 


(a) hunting; 
(b) fishing; 
(c) watercraft used for fishing or hunting; 
(d) upland game bird; 
(e) waterfowl; or 
(f) saddle or pack animal use. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-304, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, 


Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR p. 1900, 
Eff. 10/14/17. 


 
24.171.601    GUIDE QUALIFICATIONS 


(1) An applicant for a guide license shall have:  
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(a) not less than one season of experience of hunting or fishing for the type of game for which the applicant will 


guide or have worked for the outfitter that signs the license for a period of at least six weeks and in the area to be 
guided in, or have successfully completed a school licensed by a state, approved by the board, and that trains 
persons to be a guide or professional guide; 


(b) knowledge of hunting and fishing techniques to provide the particular services contracted to the client by the 
endorsing outfitter; and 


(c) knowledge of equipment, terrain and hazards to competently provide a safe experience for those persons he 
or she guides. 


(2) An outfitter whose license is currently suspended or revoked is not qualified for a guide license. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-303, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 1988 


MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2560, Eff. 9/25/98; TRANS, 
from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.602    GUIDE LICENSE 


(1) An applicant may apply for a guide license on forms provided by the department, and accompanied by the 
required fee. The application must include a signature of the endorsing outfitter confirming that, to the knowledge of 
the outfitter, the guide meets all the qualifications of a guide.  


(2) An applicant must submit proof of current basic hands-on first aid certification with the application. 
(3) Each outfitter who uses the services of the guide during the license year shall sign and date the guide's 


license before allowing the guide to accompany a client. 
(4) An applicant for a guide license who delivers a completed application and application fee to the board office 


will receive the license at that time. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-101, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-303, 37-47-307, 37-47-308, 


MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 3/12/10; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 
10/14/11; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2019 MAR p. 850, Eff. 6/22/19. 


 
24.171.604    EMERGENCY GUIDE LICENSE 


This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-303, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 2006 


MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2055, Eff. 9/26/08; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 3/12/10; REP, 2010 
MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10. 


 
24.171.605    PROVISIONAL GUIDE LICENSE 


This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, 37-47-301, 37-47-303, 37-


47-307, MCA; NEW, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 8/27/10; REP, 2013 MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13. 


 
24.171.701    NCHU CATEGORIES, TRANSFERS, AND RECORDS 


(1) NCHU categories are as follows: 
(a) Category 2, consisting of all clients served in the pursuit of upland game birds and big game under 


combination licenses or in the pursuit of big game; and 
(b) Category 3, consisting of all clients served in the pursuit of upland game birds, water fowl, and turkeys. 
(2) In cases where a federal agency limits an outfitter's use of federal lands by some means other than NCHU, 


an outfitter is not required to have NCHU to perform services on those lands. 
(3) NCHU owned by a licensee is part of the operations plan and may be transferred only with notice to the 


board. Transfers between or among licensees are routinely processed by the department unless the department has 
received a complaint against the licensee who is the transferor in a NCHU transfer request. If the transferor is a 
respondent to a complaint, the request will not be processed until after the case is resolved. In addition, a license that 
has expired may not be part of a NCHU transfer, and any NCHU that is recorded as part of the operations plan of a 
license that terminates or is revoked ceases to exist upon termination or revocation. 


(4) Each outfitter entering into a transfer of NCHU with one or more other outfitters must do so by completing a 
transfer request form prescribed by the department. Prior to being processed by the department, a NCHU transfer 
request is not complete or valid for any purpose and may be cancelled by any licensee that is a party to it. 


(5) The records of the board comprise the official records of NCHU and each purported transfer of NCHU is 
invalid and void that is not reflected in the board's records. 
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(6) NCHU allocated to a deceased outfitter may be transferred only by a successor if an approved successorship 


has not terminated under ARM 24.171.504. NCHU will expire and shall not be revived if it is not transferred the earlier 
of the date that the license terminates from nonrenewal, or the date that a successorship terminates, or, if no 
successor has been designated, the date that is one year following the death of the outfitter unless an extension is 
approved by the board based upon good cause appearing in a written request received by the board within one year. 
In cases where the outfitter dies and no successor is designated, someone authorized by the estate or the family of 
the outfitter must submit a NCHU transfer request form to the board within one year following the death of the 
outfitter. Authorization by the estate is shown by a certified copy of letters of appointment as a personal 
representative or by any other procedure allowed under Title 72, MCA, for the transfer of intangible personal property. 


History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-47-201, 37-47-316, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 145, Eff. 
3/15/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2267, Eff. 8/28/98; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 1193, 
Eff. 6/13/03; TRANS, from Commerce, 2006 MAR p. 324; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2013 
MAR p. 671, Eff. 4/26/13; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15. 


 
24.171.702    TRANSFER OF RIVER-USE DAYS 


This rule has been repealed. 
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-47-201, 37-47-310, MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; 


AMD, 2007 MAR p. 298, Eff. 3/9/07; REP, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16. 


 
24.171.2101    RENEWALS 


(1) The provisions of ARM 24.101.408 and 24.101.414 apply.  
(2) License renewal applications for outfitters shall be made on forms provided by the department and shall be 


accompanied by: 
(a) the required renewal fee; 
(b) a copy of the licensee's valid and current first aid certification; 
(c) a copy of the licensee's current insurance certificate with the licensee as the named insured; 
(d) complete client report logs; and 
(e) an attestation that all lands information required as part of the outfitter's operations plan on file with the board 


is current and accurate as required by ARM 24.171.520. 
(3) An outfitter or guide must submit a completed renewal application with the required fee on or before the date 


set by ARM 24.101.413 of each license year. 
(4) Outfitters who provide services during the late hunt seasons may submit amended client logs reflecting 


services from December 1st through December 31st separately as long as they are received by the board no later 
than January 31st of the following year. 


(5) License renewal applications for guides shall be made on forms provided by the department and shall be 
accompanied by:  


(a) the required renewal fee; and 
(b) a copy of the licensee's valid and current first aid certification. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-104, 37-1-141, 37-47-201, 37-47-302, 37-47-304, 37-47-306, 


37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 1988 MAR p. 1666, Eff. 7/29/88; AMD, 1992 MAR p. 2376, Eff. 10/30/92; AMD, 1996 MAR 
p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 809, Eff. 4/23/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from 
Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 1583, Eff. 7/1/06; AMD, 2011 MAR p. 
2149, Eff. 10/14/11; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2017 MAR 
p. 1900, Eff. 10/14/17. 


 
24.171.2104    ACTIVE DUTY STATUS FOR LICENSEES IN THE MILITARY 


(1) The board recognizes that the nation relies on members of the National Guard and the reserve branches of 
the armed forces for the nation's security, and that the members of the National Guard and reserve forces are subject 
to call to active duty on short notice. In consideration of that service to the nation, the board finds that it is appropriate 
to defer the licensing renewal obligations of such individuals called to active duty status, provided that the individual is 
not required by the armed forces to maintain current professional or occupational licensing as a condition of serving 
in the armed forces. 


(2) An activated reservist, as defined in 37-1-138 , MCA, upon submission of appropriate evidence, is entitled to 
the following privileges: 


(a) The activated reservist is not required to timely pay a renewal fee for license renewal that comes due while 
the person is in active duty status. The renewal fee is payable within six months following the activated reservist's  
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discharge from active duty status. Unless otherwise relieved from the renewal application requirements, the activated 
reservist must timely apply for license renewal. 


(b) If the activated reservist provides proof to the board of the reservist's active duty status before the reservist's 
license expires, the reservist is relieved from having to timely submit a renewal application and any related 
documents or information during the period while the reservist is on active duty status. The reservist has six months 
following discharge from active duty status to submit to the board such renewal applications and any related 
documents or information that came due during the period of the reservist's active duty status. 


(3) In order to gain the benefits of this rule, the activated reservist must provide the board with proof of active 
duty status, including the date upon which the reservist was called to active duty status. The board may require the 
activated reservist to periodically provide information to the board regarding the reservist's active duty status or the 
date of the reservist's discharge from active duty status. 


(4) A license that has not lapsed continues in the same status as existed the day before the reservist was called 
to active duty status, and remains in that status until the reservist renews the license or six months have elapsed from 
the reservist's discharge from active duty status, whichever comes first. 


History: 37-1-131, 37-1-138, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-138, 37-47-307, MCA; NEW, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 
2/10/06. 


 
24.171.2301    UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT AND MISCONDUCT 


(1) A violation of (1) or (3) by an outfitter, or (2) or (3) by a guide or outfitter's assistant is misconduct, specified 
as a basis for disciplinary action under 37-47-341, MCA. Such violation is also determined by the board to be 
unprofessional conduct, as provided in 37-1-319, MCA, specified as a ground for disciplinary action under 37-1-312, 
MCA. A violation of this rule may result in any sanction provided by 37-1-312 or 37-47-341, MCA. Unprofessional 
conduct by an outfitter's assistant is grounds for disciplinary action against the outfitter who employed or contracted 
with the outfitter's assistant. An outfitter shall:  


(a) not violate any law, rule, or policy of the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks concerning the certification of 
nonresidents for procuring hunting licenses; 


(b) not conduct any services or allow services to be conducted by a supervised guide or outfitter's assistant on 
private or public land, except legal transportation across such lands, without first having obtained written permission 
from the landowner or written authorization from the agency administering public land, unless the landowner or 
agency does not require such permission; 


(c) not provide services or allow services to be conducted by a supervised guide or outfitter's assistant to clients 
outside the boundaries of the outfitter's approved operations plan; 


(d) not endorse a guide license until the outfitter has made reasonable inquiry and determined that the guide is 
qualified for licensure; 


(e) not interfere, by solicitation or otherwise, with a contract between another outfitter and client, including 
certifications for game license or permits, when it is known or reasonably should be known that a contract to provide 
services exists between that other outfitter and a client; 


(f) furnish each client with a current and complete rate schedule, which shall include all charges, a deposit policy, 
and deposit refund policy, all in writing, for services offered; 


(g) specify in writing, when offering services to a nonresident hunting client, the refund policy for failure by the 
prospective client to draw a license required to participate in the service offered; 


(h) not change the rates and/or policies from those published without the written consent of the client after the 
outfitter receives and accepts the deposit from the client; 


(i) set all contract terms and conditions with clients; 
(j) personally collect, or designate an agent to collect, all fees from clients. The outfitter is solely responsible for 


complying with the outfitter's deposit and deposit refund policy; 
(k) maintain current, true, complete, and accurate records; 
(l) make all client records available at the outfitter's main base camp or business office in accordance with ARM 


24.171.408; 
(m) obtain and maintain a reasonable degree of supervision over each guide and outfitter's assistant to ensure 


that the services offered are being provided in accordance with the laws and rules, with particular regard to those 
laws and rules pertaining to the health, safety, and welfare of the participants, the public, and landowners; 


(n) not employ or retain a guide without first confirming that the guide has current basic first aid certification; 
(o) not exceed the licensee's NCHU; 
(p) not use a guide prior to ensuring that the guide license is fully signed and dated; 
(q) not use a guide with an inactive license;  
(r) comply with all laws and rules relating to outfitter's assistants; and 
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(s) when advertising services, clearly designate the outfitter's registered business name or personal name and 


the outfitter's license number. 
(2) Guides shall: 
(a) not advertise services to the general public, but may advertise their services directly to outfitters; 
(b) only make agreements with clients concerning monetary consideration or services offered, or collect fees 


from clients, with the express consent of the supervising outfitter, and only as expressly provided in ARM 24.171.405; 
(c) not provide services to clients who have not been specifically referred to the guide from the endorsing 


outfitter; and 
(d) not act as a guide under a guide license, unless and until the guide and the outfitter have first signed and 


dated the guide license. 
(3) All licensees shall: 
(a) provide services with respect for the rights of others, private and public property, and provide for the health, 


safety, and well-being of their clients, employees, and the general public; 
(b) provide services on public land in a manner such that they do not interfere with the general public access to 


public land or waterways or access to wildlife on public land; 
(c) provide their services in such a manner as not to be detrimental to the wildlife or the environment where they 


operate; 
(d) report to the board office, at their earliest opportunity, any violation of fish and game laws or outfitter, guide, 


and outfitter's assistant laws of which they have knowledge; 
(e) not use alcohol to the extent that the use impairs the user physically or mentally, while engaged by a client; 
(f) not charge any fee for certifying or aiding or assisting any nonresident in procuring or attempting to procure a 


hunting license; 
(g) not harass, assault, or abuse clients, employees, outfitters, guides, or outfitter's assistants, or members of the 


general public, verbally or otherwise; 
(h) not abuse livestock; 
(i) produce their current license or employment documentation required by ARM 24.171.410 at the request of law 


enforcement or a representative of the board; 
(j) carry the licensee's current license at all times when providing services; 
(k) not have hunting or fishing privileges suspended, revoked, placed on probation, or voluntarily surrendered in 


the state of Montana or any other jurisdiction; 
(l) not act beyond the scope of activities for which the individual is licensed; 
(m) not offer for use by an unlicensed individual any watercraft identification identifying another licensee as the 


occupant of the watercraft; 
(n) not intentionally misrepresent board laws or rules; 
(o) not fail to respond to board inquiries and requests; 
(p) not remit a "nonsufficient fund check" or a check on a closed account for board fees or fines; and 
(q) comply with the statutes and rules applicable to licensees of the board. 
  
History: 37-1-131, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-312, 37-1-316, 37-1-319, 37-47-201, 37-47-325, 37-


47-341, MCA; NEW, 1996 MAR p. 668, Eff. 3/8/96; AMD, 1999 MAR p. 809, Eff. 4/23/99; AMD, 2000 MAR p. 730, 
Eff. 3/17/00; TRANS, from Commerce, & AMD, 2006 MAR p. 324, Eff. 2/10/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 347, Eff. 
3/9/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2055, Eff. 9/26/08; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 651, Eff. 3/12/10; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 1889, Eff. 
8/27/10; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 58, Eff. 1/30/15; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/29/16; AMD, 2018 MAR p. 1731, 
Eff. 8/25/18. 


 
24.171.2305    WEB SITE POSTING OF LICENSE DISCIPLINE 


(1) For purposes of ARM 24.101.404, each first-time violation of the following acts constitutes a failure to file or 
complete in a timely manner a minor administrative requirement that is in rule or law:  


(a) lack of first aid card if no client is served during the lapse; 
(b) an outfitter's failure to ensure that a guide has a first aid card if no client is served during the lapse; 
(c) failure to display required information on a water vessel; 
(d) incomplete or faulty log book entries; 
(e) failure to maintain insurance if no client is served during the lapse; 
(f) use of a nonsufficient funds check; 
(g) failure to carry current guide or outfitter license while providing services; 
(h) failure to carry a current fishing license; and 
(i) failure to have a current conservation license. 
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(2) No conduct is a failure to file or complete in a timely manner a minor administrative requirement that is in rule 


or law if the board determines that the conduct constitutes fraud, dishonesty, or a careless or intentional disregard for 
the rules, statutes, or standards applicable to the licensee. 


(3) If an applicant is denied a license only because of an incomplete application or because the applicant lacks 
the required days of verified experience, a first aid card, an ALS number, the proper amount of fees, or other similar 
item or requirement, then the denial is based solely on the applicant's failure to meet minimum licensure 
qualifications, and not based on competence to practice issues. 


(4) No license denial is based solely on the applicant's failure to meet minimum licensure qualifications, and not 
based on competence to practice issues if the board determines the application involves the applicant's fraud, 
dishonesty, or a careless or intentional disregard for the rules, statutes, or standards applicable to the applicant. 


History: 37-1-131, 37-47-201, MCA; IMP, 37-1-131, 37-1-311, MCA; NEW, 2011 MAR p. 2149, Eff. 10/14/11. 
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