

Montana Board of Funeral Service

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: 406-444-5711

Email: <u>UnitB@mt.gov</u> Website: <u>www.funeral.mt.gov</u>

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Mortician

(currently licensed out-of-state)

<u>License Requirements for Mortician (currently licensed out-of-state)</u>

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Be at least 18 years of age [MCA 37-19-302(1)]
- 2. Hold a current, active license in good standing in another state or jurisdiction to practice under Montana's scope which is the equivalent of a combined funeral director and embalmer license. That state or jurisdiction must have licensing requirements which are substantially equivalent to Montana [ARM 24.147.501(2)(a)]
- 3. You must meet the requirement described in either Option 1 or Option 2.
 - Option 1 have been actively engaged in the practice of mortuary science for 5 of the last 7 years [ARM 24.147.501(2)(c)]
 - Option 2 Pass the National Board Examination administered by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards within 5 years of the date of application for this license -[MCA 37-19-302(2) and (3), ARM 24.147.501(2)(c)]
- 4. Pass the open-book state jurisprudence examination which is included with the application. A passing score is 75% or greater [MCA 37-19-302(2) and (3), ARM 24.147.507(4)(b), 24.147.509(1)(a)]

<u>Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Mortician (currently licensed out-of-state)</u>

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which you hold or have ever held a professional license of any type. It is up to you to request official verification from those states and jurisdictions. Montana accepts whatever official form of verification is offered by other states or jurisdictions.
The web address and direct link to the most current licensing regulations for the state or jurisdiction in which you are currently licensed. Staff will use the link to access the most current licensing laws to determine whether that state or jurisdiction has licensing standards which are substantially equivalent to Montana standards.
Completed, open-book <u>state jurisprudence exam</u> which will be graded by department staff. If you do not pass you will be contacted by department staff so you can retake the exam. There is a \$100 fee for each retake.
Results from the National Board Examination <u>if</u> you have not been actively in practice for 5 of the last 7 years. Results must sent directly to the department from the International Conference of Funeral Examining Boards.



☐ If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).

Application Fee(s) for Mortician (currently licensed out-of-state)

The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or a bank account. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash.

☐ \$544 application fee

You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.