

## Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: 406-444-5711

Email: <u>unitb@mt.gov</u> Website: <u>www.cosmetology.mt.gov</u>

# Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist for Instructor

### License Requirements for an Instructor by Exam/Experience

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Must be a high school graduate or equivalent <u>37-31-305</u>, MCA <u>24.121.607</u> <u>APPLICATION FOR</u> <u>INSTRUCTOR LICENSE</u> <u>24.121.610</u> <u>GRANTING EXCEPTION TO HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR</u> <u>EQUIVALENCY</u>
- 2. Have a current license to practice in the area of practice the person plans to teach and actively engaged in that practice for at least 12 continuous months <u>37-31-305</u>, MCA
- 3. Applicants are required to take the national written and national practical portions of the NIC exam: <u>37-31-305</u>, MCA <u>24.121.607</u> APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR LICENSE
- 4. An attestation of having been employed and working for at least 1500 hours, in the particular area of practice that they will teach, during any one-year period prior to applying and a diploma evidencing completion of the 650-hour student teacher-training course required by <u>37-31-305</u>, MCA <u>24.121.607</u> <u>APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR LICENSE</u> or

An attestation of having been employed and working for at least 1500 hours per year, in the particular area of practice that they will teach, for any three years prior to applying (a total of at least 4500 hours). An applicant granted a license based on this subsection may not renew the license for any period beyond two years after initial licensure, nor be granted a second license under this subsection, unless the applicant completes the board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology set forth in 24.121.1105 TEACHER-TRAINING CURRICULUM AND TEACHING METHODOLOGY COURSEWORK 24.121.607 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR LICENSE

### Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for an Instructor by Exam/Experience

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

- □ proof of high school diploma or its equivalent
- □ proof of passage of the NIC instructor exam
- □ Completed attestation form of having been practicing for 12 continuous months of at least 1500 hours, in the area of practice that they will teach, during any one-year period prior to applying, prior to taking the board approved examination

or



- □ Completed attestation form applicant has been actively engaged in practice for 12 continuous months prior to taking the board approved examination of no less than 1500 hours and has practiced a minimum of 1500 hours per year for a minimum of three years prior to applying for an instructor license
- □ If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).

#### Application Fee(s) for an Instructor by Exam/Experience

The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or e-check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash.

- □ \$95 Active application fee
- □ \$85 Inactive application fee

You can apply for a license online at <u>https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/</u> or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.