### MONTANA BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS P. O. Box 200513 301 S PARK, 4<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR (Delivery) Helena, Montana 59620-0513 (406) 444-5711 FAX (406) 841-2305 E-MAIL: dlibsdcos@mt.gov WEBSITE: www.cosmetology.mt.gov

ILLEGIBLE AND INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED. Please allow 10 days for processing from the date the Board receives a completed routine application

BARBERS, COSMETOLOGISTS, ELECTROLOGISTS, ESTHETICIANS, MANICURISTS AND INSTRUCTORS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO PRACTICE COSMETOLOGY, ELECTROLOGY, ESTHETICS, MANICURING OR INSTRUCTING IN MONTANA IN ANY MANNER **WITHOUT AN ACTIVE MONTANA LICENSE**. ALL SERVICES MUST BE PERFORMED IN A LICENSED BARBERSHOP OR SALON.

#### FEES \$ 95.00 Instructor Application Fee

\*\*Make check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists\*\*

Instructor applicants applying for a license under 37-31-305(2)(d)(ii), MCA, are required to submit an application and provide an affidavit of three years of experience in a particular area of practice to the board office in order to receive a testing eligibility letter.

Montana-enrolled students or graduates of a Montana-licensed school under this chapter will receive their testing eligibility letter from the school.

Once the applicant has taken and passed the examination the applicant shall notify the board office. The board office will verify the examination scores directly with the vendor.

# <u>Instructor</u>

(1) In addition to a complete application, an applicant for an instructor license shall submit the following documentation:

(a) proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in ARM 24.121.610;

(b) proof of passage of the NIC instructor exam; and

(c) either:

(i) an attestation of having been employed and working for at least 1500 hours, in the particular area of practice that they will teach, during any one-year period prior to applying and a diploma evidencing completion of the 650-hour student teacher-training course required by 37-31-305, MCA; or

(ii) an attestation of having been employed and working for at least 1500 hours per year, in the particular area of practice that they will teach, for any three years prior to applying (a total of at least 4500 hours). An applicant granted a license based on this subsection may not renew the license for any period beyond two years after initial licensure, nor be granted a second license under this subsection, unless the applicant completes the board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology set forth in ARM 24.121.1105.

(1) The **teacher-training course** shall consist of 650 hours and include the following:

- (a) teaching methods 245 hours including:
- (i) task analysis;
- (ii) developing instructional objectives;
- (iii) visual aids and their construction;
- (iv) motivational tools;
- (v) preparation of instructive materials;
- (vi) lesson planning including:
- (A) practical theory classes; and
- (B) practical demonstration classes.
- (vii) fundamentals of speech and public speaking;
- (viii) methods of test construction;
- (ix) methods of evaluation or grading; and
- (x) curriculum planning and development.
- (b) general psychology 75 hours including:

Barbering and Cosmetology REVISED 06 2016 Page 2 of 5

(i) general principles in relation to teaching and counseling;

(ii) conflict resolution;

(iii) student counseling;

(iv) student and teacher relationships; and

(v) public relations.

(c) business methods - 115 hours including:

(i) recruitment;

(ii) job analysis;

(iii) student registration, withdrawal, and hours (tracking, completing, calculating, and verifying);

(iv) ethical employee and employer relationship;

(v) salon/booth rental relationship;

(vi) professional ethics; and

(vii) current state board laws and rules.

(d) advanced theory of cosmetology, esthetics, manicuring, barbering, or electrology, and the chemistry, safety, sanitation, bacteriology, physiology, anatomy, and diseases and disorders that apply to each course - 75 hours; and

(e) 140 hours of instruction shall be at the discretion of the school.

(2) The **board-approved coursework** related to teaching methodology shall consist of 135 hours and include the following:

(a) teaching methods 6 credits or 90 hours:

(i) task analysis;

(ii) developing instructional objectives;

(iii) visual aids and their construction;

(iv) motivational tools;

(v) preparation of instructive materials;

(vi) lesson planning;

(vii) fundamentals of speech and public speaking;

(viii) methods of test construction;

(ix) methods of evaluation or grading; and

(x) curriculum planning and development.

(b) educational psychology three credits or 45 hours;

(c) coursework may be completed through:

(i) classes acceptable to a state's board of regents or equivalent authority and approved through that state's university system;

(ii) self-study to be observed and documented by the administrator of the school employing the instructor; or (iii) class studies pre-approved by the board.

(d) prior to renewal of the instructor license, documentation of completed coursework must be submitted to the board for board approval.

(3) Coursework completed prior to instructor licensure may be used to satisfy the requirements of this subsection.

**37-31-305.** Qualifications of applicants for license to teach. (1) Before a person may teach or instruct in a school of barbering, barbering nonchemical, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or manicuring, the person shall obtain from the department a license to teach.

(2) To be eligible for a license to teach barbering, barbering nonchemical, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or manicuring, a person must:

(a) be a graduate of high school or possess an equivalent of a high school diploma that is recognized by the superintendent of public instruction;

(b) have a license to practice issued by the department in the particular area of practice in which the person plans to teach;

(c) have been actively engaged in that particular area of practice for 12 continuous months before taking the teacher's examination; and

(d) (i) have received a diploma from a licensed school approved by the board, certifying satisfactory completion of 650 hours of student teacher training; or

(ii) have 3 years of experience in that particular area of practice. A person who qualifies for a license under this subsection (2)(d)(ii) has 2 years to complete board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology before a license to teach is renewed.

### MONTANA BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS P. O. Box 200513 301 S PARK, 4<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR (Delivery) Helena, Montana 59620-0513 (406) 444-5711 FAX (406) 841-2309 E-MAIL: dlibsdcos@mt.gov WEBSITE: www.cosmetology.mt.gov

### Application for Instructor All fees are Non-Refundable and are not pro-rated. Please allow 10 days for processing a completed routine application.

	Instructor (\$95.00)								
1.	FULL NAME:Last	First				Middle			
2.	OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN	BY:							
3.	HOME ADDRESS: Street or PO Box #			City and State			Zip		
_		Home	-	Work or Cell			E-mail Address		
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMB				_	GN ID NUMBER:			
6.	DATE OF BIRTH:		N	/IALE	F	FEMALE			
7.	LICENSE NAME:		(State your name as	it shou	uld appe	ear on the license if	granted.)		
8.	GENERAL EDUCATION:								
	Name of High School		City and State		Date of Graduation/Equivalent		Degree	Degree Earned	
							Yes	No	
9.	PROFESSIONAL EDUCAT	ION	:	1		Γ	-1		
Na	me of Cosmetology School/Coll	ege	City and State	te Date Attend				Diploma Received	
							Yes	No	
							Yes	No	
							Yes	No	

10. List all professional licenses you hold or *ever* have held. Verification must be sent directly to Montana from each state/province/territory.

State	License#	Issue Date	Expiration Date	License Method			Requested State Verification	
				Exam	Endorse	Other	Yes	No
				Exam	Endorse	Other	Yes	No
				Exam	Endorse	Other	Yes	No
				Exam	Endorse	Other	Yes	No
<b>k</b>				·				

11.	If a cosmetologist/esthetician is offer received an endorsement from the Bo	Yes	No			
12	Has the microdermabrasion machine approved by the Board?	Yes	No			
13	3. Which written examination did you take for initial licensure?					
	NIC National Examination	State Examination (indicate which state)				
14	Which practical examination did you t					
	NIC National Examination	State Examination (indicate which state)				
15	15. Have you ever had an application for a professional or occupational license refused or Yes denied? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source.					
16	on for licensure prior to the Licensing agency's If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and om the source.	Yes	No			
17.	Yes	No				
18	Yes	No				
19.	19. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered, cancelled, forfeited, failed to renew a professional or occupation license in anticipation of or during an investigation or disciplinary proceedings or action? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source.					
20	Has a complaint ever been made agai licensing agency? If yes, please attac supporting documentation from the se		Yes	No		
21.	employer/employee? If yes, attach a	n filed against you by a client, former client or detailed explanation and documentation from nt(s) and documentation of final disposition.	Yes	No		
<b>22.</b> Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime or do you have a						

22. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime or do you have a	Yes	No			
pending criminal charge? "Convicted" for the purposes of this question includes a	100				
conviction under appeal, guilty plea, no contest plea, and/or forfeiture of bond. "A					
pending criminal charge" for the purposes of this question includes a deferred					
imposition of sentence and/or deferred prosecution. If you answer yes, you must					

submit a detailed explanation of the events AND the charging documents and final judgments or orders of dismissal. You must report but may omit documentation for:

- Misdemeanor traffic violations older than 10 years ago and that resulted in fines of less than \$200; and (2) convictions prior to your 18<sup>th</sup> birthday unless you were tried as an adult.
- 23. Have you ever been diagnosed with chemical dependency or another addiction, Yes No or have you participated in a chemical dependency or other addiction treatment program? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide documentation regarding evaluations, diagnosis, treatment recommendations and monitoring from the source.
- 24. Have you ever been diagnosed with a physical condition or mental health disorder Yes No involving potential health risk to the public? If yes, please pro- vide a detailed explanation.

## AFFIDAVIT

#### Lauthorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record, character, license history and competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and complete to the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive answer to any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical grounds. I have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the profession. I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice.

Legal Signature of Applicant

Date

For information regarding the processing of this application or other licensing concerns, please contact the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists staff at (406) **444-5711** or email us at: dlibsdcos@mt.gov

PLEASE BE SURE TO REVIEW THE MONTANA LAWS AND RULES FOR THE PRACTICE OF COSMETOLOGY AND INSTRUCTORS ON OUR WEBSITE: www.cosmetology.mt.gov