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This is an open book exam. A passing score of 75%b is required for licensure.

DATE

MONTANA CHIROPRACTIC JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

Section 1 contains 20 true/false questions.

Section 2 contains 20 questions each that describe actions that are in violation
of the Montana Code Annotated (Statutes) and Administrative Rules of Montana
(Rules). Any of these violations can lead to SUSPENSION, REVOCATION or other
sanction of the chiropractor’'s license. From the set of answers provided

for each question, mark the answer of the most applicable statute or rule.

By submitting this form, 1 verify that I am the person that has completed this

examination.

Address

City

State

Daytime Phone

Evening Phone

ip Code

Email Address
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SECTION 1 - Each question is worth 2 points

Mark each question True or False

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.
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O e Oracse
O e Oraise

O rue OraLse

An applicant for licensure must submit a completed application. A complete application does
not require exam scores from the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE).

Licensees can sign birth and death certificates.

A temporary permit is granted to all applicants upon application.

Complaints filed against a licensee for violation of a statute or rule must be filed with the
Montana Chiropractic Association.

Licensees must be renewed annually by date of birth.

The Montana Chiropractic Association appoints the members to serve on the Board of
Chiropractors (Board).

The Board requires 15 hours of continuing education annually to qualify for license renewal.

Six continuing education credits can be accumulated and carried over from one renewal year
to the next.

To qualify as an impairment evaluator, the licensed chiropractor must have been in active
practice in Montana for five years.

Applicants for licensure must have graduated from a chiropractic college approved by the Board.

Chiropractors may diagnose, palpate and treat the human body by the application of
manipulative, manual, mechanical, dietetic methods, including chiropractic physiotherapy,
the use of supportive appliances, diagnostic x-ray, minor surgery, and analytical
instruments.

The board will issue a license to a person licensed in another state without requiring
passage of the license examination upon determining the other state's current license
standards are substantially equivalent to or greater than Montana's.

Chiropractic in Montana does not include surgery, the prescription or use of drugs, or needle
acupuncture.

It is unprofessional conduct for a chiropractor to engage in verbal or physical sexual harassment
against anyone in the chiropractic clinic.

A lapsed license that is not renewed within one year of the most recent renewal date
automatically terminates.

A licensee having an impairment evaluator endorsement is required to take six hours of
specialized CE every four years in addition to the CE required for the underlying
chiropractic license.

Having a physical or mental disability that renders the licensee unable to practice chiropractic
with reasonable skill and safety is considered unprofessional conduct and could lead to
license revocation.

A chaperone must be present at all times a patient is examined and treated intra-rectally.

A license must be renewed annually. All applicants for renewal who have not paid the
renewal fee on or before the renewal date shall pay a late fee.

An impairment rating must be based on the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical
Manual of Mental Disorders.
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SECTION 2 - Each question is worth 3 points (please mark only one answer)
Section 2 contains 20 questions each that describe actions that are in violation of
the Montana Code Annotated (Statutes) and Administrative Rules of Montana
(Rules). Any of these violations can lead to SUSPENSION, REVOCATION or other
sanction of the chiropractor's license. From the set of answers provided

for each question, mark the answer of the most applicable statute or rule.

1. A chiropractor recommends 35 treatments for a simple cervical strain/sprain, clearly

more than warranted by the patient's condition.
a. 24.126.2301(1)(f) Ob. 24.126.2301(1)(g)

Oc. 24.126.2301(1)(0) Od. 37-1-317(3)

2. A licensed chiropractor is advertising a permanent cure for any condition.
Oa. 37-1-316(13) Ob. 24.126.2301(1)(9)
Oc. 37-1-316(5) Od. 24.126.2301(1)(0)

3. A licensee performing emergency chiropractic services discovered that a patient exposed

him to an infectious disease.

Oa. 50-16-702 Ob. 50-16-1004
(Oc.  s0-16-525 (Od. 37-12-322

4. A chiropractic doctor refers patients to other health care providers or facilities in exchange for a
referral fee.
Oa. 24.126.2301(1)(a)(ii) Ob. 24.126.2301(1)(c)
Oc. 24.126.2301(1)(e) Od. 24.126.2301(1)(d)

5. When randomly audited for yearly continuing education requirements, a chiropractor submits only

10 hours of CE for that year, believing a licensee could carry over 2 extra hours
from the previous renewal period.

(Oa. 2412651102 Op.  24.126.701(2)
Oc. 24.126.904(1) Od. 24.126.2103(6)
6. A licensed chiropractor enters into a written contract with a patient for 12 adjustments

over the next 12 months, the balance to be paid in full before the first adjustment. The
contract states that if the patient discontinues services with the chiropractor, all funds
are forfeited by the patient.

Oa. 24.126.2301(1)(s) Ob. 24.126.2301(1)(p)
e 24.126.2301(1)(0) Od.  24.126.2301(1)(h)
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NAME DATE
7. A chiropractor holding a temporary permit treats patients without the supervision of
an on-premises licensed chiropractor.
Oa. 24.126.507(1) Ob. 24.126.2301(1)(9)
Oe. 24.126.704(2) Od.  24.126.704(4)
8. A chiropractor has an advertisement that implies that the chiropractor is a
medical doctor.
Oa. 37-1-316(4) Ob. 37-1-316(16)
Oc. 24.126.2301(1)() Od. 37-12-104(1)
9. A chiropractic doctor advertises in the newspaper that the doctor has a certification for a procedure
that is not approved by the Board.
(Oa 371320 Ob.  24.126.2301(1)(a)()
Oe. 24.126.23011)(p) (Od.  24.126.2301(1)(a)(Gii)
10. A licensee performs breast examinations on all new female patients as standard
procedure.
Oa  24.126.2301(1)(b) (Op. 24.126.2301(1)(c)
e 24.126.23011)() (Od. 24.126.2301(1)(0)
11. A license candidate has another person take the jurisprudence exam in the candidate's
place.
(Oa  24.126.504(1) (Op.  24.126.901(5)
Oe. 37-1-3162) (Od. 24.126.2301(1)(m)
12. A licensee, under false pretenses, makes statements against another licensed
chiropractor or health professional.
Oa. 24.126.2301(1)(a)(i) (Ob.  50-16-528(2)
Oe. 24.126.2301(1)(0) (Od.  24.126.2301(1)(d)
13. A chiropractic doctor allows an assistant to treat and bill for chiropractic services under the
licensee's name and license.
Oa  24.126.41101) (Ob.  24.126.2301(1)(u)
Oc. 37-1-316(15) Od. 37-1-316(16)
14. A chiropractor is under the influence of alcohol while adjusting a patient.
Oa. 24.126.2301(1)(n) O b. 37-1-320
(Oe.  37-1-316113) (Od. 37-2-302
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DATE

Dr. John Doe has a new patient that was unhappy with the care received from
another chiropractor in town. Dr. Doe requested records and x-rays from the
colleague who refused to provide copies of the records.

Oa. 24.126.411 Ob. 24.126.511

(e s0-16-541 (Od. 24.126.2301(1)(0)

A chiropractor has a consensual sexual relationship with a patient a month after the chiropractor-
patient relationship was terminated.

Oa. 37-12-103 Ob. 24.126.2304(2)
e, 24.126.2301(1)(0) (Od. 37-1-320

A licensee sees a new patient who was in a car wreck and suffered a minor whiplash
injury to the cervical spine. Knowing that private insurance cases pay well and that he
will be billing the offending driver's insurance, the chiropractor decides to bill the highest
EM code, then bills a 5 region manipulation, EMS, ultrasound, trigger point therapy and
extremities for every visit. The next day, another car wreck case case comes in but
there is no insurance involved. Considering there will be no insurance payments on the
second patient, the chiropractor charges the patient a flat rate of $30 per visit.

Oa. 24.126.2301(1)(b) Ob. 24.126.2103(1)
e, 24.126.2301(1)(n) Od. 24.126.2301(1)()

A licensee smokes marijuana while out with friends one night. Later, the police conduct a traffic
stop, find a small bag of marijuana in his car, and arrest him. The chiropractor is
subsequently convicted of possession of an unlawful substance.

Oa. 37-12-103 Ob. 37-12-101(3)
e 371-316(1) (Od. 37-12-10402)

A chiropractor examines a 19 year old woman with low back pain. Before obtaining lumbar x-rays,
he asks the woman if she might be pregnant. She confirms that she is 3 months pregnant.

The woman's mother comes in for treatment and talks about how she dislikes her daughter's
boyfriend and wouldn't be surprised if her daughter was pregnant. Without thinking, the doctor
tells her that her daughter is pregnant.

Oa. 37-12-104(2) Ob. 50-16-541(1)
Oe. 37-1-316017) (Od.  37-1-316(9)

When applying for a Montana chiropractic license by endorsement an applicant reports no
adverse actions against any previous license. During the application process, another
state's license verification discloses the applicant's license was revoked due to sexual
misconduct.

Oa  3711-3163) Op.  37-12-103
Oc. 37-1-316(15) Od. 37-1-317(b)

END OF EXAMINATION
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