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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 STATE OF MONTANA 
 
In the matter of the amendment of 
ARM 24.101.402 definitions and 
24.101.403 administrative fees, and 
the repeal of 24.101.401 purpose, 
24.101.407 licensing, and 24.101.414 
renewal notification 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING ON 
PROPOSED AMENDMENT AND 
REPEAL 

TO:  All Concerned Persons 
 
 1.  On September 17, 2015, at 10:00 a.m., a public hearing will be held in the 
Basement Conference Room, 301 South Park Avenue, Basement Floor, Helena, 
Montana, to consider the proposed amendment and repeal of the above-stated 
rules. 
 
 2.  The Department of Labor and Industry (department) will make reasonable 
accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public 
hearing or need an alternative accessible format of this notice.  If you require an 
accommodation, contact the Business Standards Division, Department of Labor and 
Industry, no later than 5:00 p.m., on September 11, 2015, to advise us of the nature 
of the accommodation that you need.  Please contact Darcee Moe, Business 
Standards Division, Department of Labor and Industry, 301 South Park Avenue, 
P.O. Box 200514, Helena, Montana 59620-0514; telephone (406) 841-2327; 
Montana Relay 1 (800) 253-4091; TDD (406) 444-2978; facsimile (406) 841-2313; or 
damoe@mt.gov (department e-mail). 
 
 3.  The rules proposed to be amended provide as follows, stricken matter 
interlined, new matter underlined: 
 
 24.101.402  DEFINITIONS  As used in conjunction with Title 37, MCA, the 
following definitions apply: 
 (1)  "Active status" means the license holder is afforded a license status that 
affords a licensee the rights and privileges to practice under the license while 
complying with the requirements as set by the licensing entity board or program. 
 (2)  "Administrative fees fee" means a fee charged for products or services 
provided by the division established by the department to cover the cost of 
administrative services as provided for in 37-1-134, MCA. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (4)  "Disciplinary action" means the procedure by which unprofessional 
conduct is addressed by the licensing entity board or program pursuant to the 
contested case hearing provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act 
(MAPA). 
 (5) remains the same. 
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 (6)  "Expired license" means a license for which the renewal requirements 
have not been met not renewed within 45 days to two years after the license renewal 
date.  An expired license may be reactivated anytime within these two years. 
 (7)  "Inactive status" means an option provided by some licensing entities in 
which a licensee may retain a license but the licensee does not intend status that 
does not authorize the licensee to practice, nor will the licensee engage in licensed 
activities requiring a license at any time during the duration period of the inactive 
status license.  The licensee may wish to reactivate the inactive status license in the 
future.  An inactive status license must be renewed as prescribed by the licensing 
entity board or program. 
 (8)  "Lapsed license" means a license that has not been renewed by the 
license renewal date.  A lapsed license may be reactivated at anytime within 45 days 
following the license renewal date. 
 (9)  "Late penalty fee" means the fee that is required to be paid by a licensee 
must pay when renewing upon renewal of a license if the licensee failed to renew 
the license by after the renewal date. 
 (a)  The department may assess late penalty fees for each renewal period in 
which a license is not renewed. 
 (b)  Late penalty fees need not be commensurate with costs. 
 (10)  "License history" means the progression of the license record from 
original licensure to the current status of the license provided to any requestor. 
 (11) (10)  "License verification" means the documentation provided to another 
licensing entity that may include information supplied for original licensure or the 
license history information. 
 (12) (11)  "New original license" means a license issued to an individual 
whose previous original license terminated and was not reinstated.  In order to To 
receive a new original license, all current requirements for obtaining an original 
license must be met including, but not limited to, submitting required application 
materials, successfully passing the required examinations as applicable, and paying 
the appropriate fees.  The new original license number will remain the same as the 
original license number. 
 (13) (12)  "Nonroutine application" means an application submitted to the 
division in which the application is defined as nonroutine either by the specific 
licensing entity's rules or by these rules.  In conflicts between the specific licensing 
entity's rules and these rules, the specific licensing entity's rules govern. that staff 
has determined requires board review, because it involves: 
 (a)  A nonroutine application means that the applicant has one or more of the 
following: a pending complaint or pending or final disciplinary action, in any 
jurisdiction, against a current or previously held professional or occupational license 
of any type; 
 (b)  evidence of unprofessional conduct as defined by law or rule; 
 (c)  materials that require evaluation by the professional members of the 
board; 
 (d)  missing documentation due to natural disaster, national emergency, or 
other good cause supported by reliable information; 
 (e)  a matter specifically defined by board or program rule or law as 
nonroutine; or 
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 (f)  an issue staff deems necessary for the board to review. 
 (i)  has pending or completed disciplinary action in this state, or pending or 
completed disciplinary action in another state, territory, or jurisdiction; 
 (ii)  is restricted by the terms and conditions of a final order in a disciplinary 
matter; 
 (iii)  is required to submit materials that require professional evaluation by 
another licensee or licensing entity; 
 (iv)  has loss of documentation due to natural disaster or national emergency; 
or 
 (v)  is foreign-educated, except for those foreign-educated applicants applying 
for licensure from the following: 
 (A)  Board of Medical Examiners; 
 (B)  Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors; or 
 (C)  Board of Realty Regulation.  
 (14) remains the same but is renumbered (13). 
 (15) (14)  "Probationary license" means a license, that due to discipline taken 
against the licensee, signifies the license holder is afforded affords a licensee the 
rights and privileges to practice under the license while complying with the terms and 
conditions of a final order in a disciplinary action as issued by the licensing entity. 
 (16) (15)  "Reactivated license" means a lapsed or expired license that is 
renewed between the renewal date and two years following the renewal date.  In 
order to reactivate a license, by meeting all renewal requirements must be met. 
 (17) (16)  "Reactivation of license" means activating a lapsed or expired 
license. 
 (18) (17)  "Renewal date" means the date by which an existing license must 
be renewed as listed in per ARM 24.101.413.  Renewal information must be 
submitted on or before the renewal date in order for to renew a license to be 
renewed without the assessment of the a late penalty fee. 
 (19) (18)  "Routine application" means an application submitted to the division 
in which the application is defined as routine either by the specific licensing entity's 
rules or by these rules.  In conflicts between the specific licensing entity's rules and 
these rules, the specific licensing entity's rules govern that does not meet the 
definition of nonroutine as determined in the discretion of licensing staff and by 
board rule. 
 (a)  A routine application means that the applicant does not have one or more 
of the following: 
 (i)  pending or completed disciplinary action in this state, or pending or 
completed disciplinary action in another state, territory, or jurisdiction; 
 (ii)  is not restricted by the terms and conditions of a final order in a 
disciplinary matter; 
 (iii)  is not required to submit materials that require professional evaluation by 
another licensee or licensing entity; 
 (iv)  loss of documentation due to natural disaster or national emergency; or 
 (v)  is foreign-educated, except for those foreign-educated applicants applying 
for licensure from the following: 
 (A)  Board of Medical Examiners; 
 (B)  Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors; or 
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 (C)  Board of Realty Regulation. 
 (20)  "Standardized fee" means an administrative fee for a common product 
or service that is charged to division customers. 
 (21) (19)  "Suspended license" means a license, that due to discipline taken 
following a final disciplinary action against the licensee, signifies the license holder is 
that no longer afforded affords a licensee the rights and privileges to practice under 
the license for a period of time specified by the in a final order issued by the 
licensing entity.  This term does not include an administratively suspended license 
per 37-1-321, MCA. 
 (22) (20)  "Terminated license" means a license that has not been renewed or 
reactivated within two years of the renewal deadline date.  A terminated license may 
not be reactivated. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-130, 37-1-131, 37-1-141, 37-1-321, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department determined it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule 
to improve organization, readability, and grammar choices, and to update the rule to 
include relevant definitions that relate to the division's current administrative 
procedures. 
 The department is striking (10) because license history information is included 
in license verifications and to align with the deletion of the license history fee from 
ARM 24.101.403 in this notice. 
 It is reasonably necessary to delete the definition of "standardized fee" at (20) 
as the term is adequately addressed in statute. 
 The department is amending the implementation citations to accurately reflect 
all statutes implemented through the rule. 
 
 24.101.403  FEES  (1)  Standardized Administrative fees, in addition to those 
fees charged by a specific licensing entity board or program, are as follows: 
 (a) through (d) remain the same. 
 (e)  license history 20 
 (e)  reinstate administratively suspended license 120 
 (f)  duplicate wall certificate 20 
 (g) and (h) remain the same, but are renumbered (f) and (g). 
 (i)  the The license verification fee is waived for any licensing entity with board 
or program having a signed reciprocal agreement with another licensing entity and 
the licensing entities have agreed containing a provision that no fees are to be 
charged;. 
 (i) (h)  inactive to active status change fee from inactive to active during the 
licensure period is the difference between the cost of an inactive license and an 
active license renewal fee; 
 (j) (i)  renewal fee for a suspended license suspended through a final 
disciplinary action is 50 percent of the regular renewal fee; and 
 (k) remains the same, but is renumbered (j). 
 (2)  The late penalty fee for each renewal period a license has not been 
renewed shall be is 100 percent of the license renewal fee.  The penalty fee, is in 
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addition to the renewal fee, and must be paid for each renewal period that in which 
the license has was not been renewed.  If the license has not been renewed on or 
before the renewal date set by in ARM 24.101.413, the late penalty fee must be 
paid. 
 (a)  In the event When a renewal fee has been is abated, the late penalty fee 
still applies.  The late penalty fee that must be paid is 100 percent of the renewal fee 
that would have been charged had the renewal fee not been abated. 
 (3) remains the same. 
 (4)  When converting an To convert a license from inactive status license to 
an active status license, the licensee must pay the difference between the inactive 
status fee and the active status fee must be paid for the remainder of the current 
renewal period. 
 (5)  When a military reservist renews a professional or occupational license 
after being discharged from active duty, the renewal fee will be the current renewal 
fee.  No past fees accrued while the reservist was on active duty will be charged 
pursuant Pursuant to 37-1-138, MCA, the department will not assess or charge any 
past fees accrued when the reservist was on active duty. 
 (6) remains the same. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     27-1-717, 37-1-101, 37-1-130, 37-1-134, 37-1-138, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is eliminating the fee for license histories since the 
histories are included in license verifications, already addressed in (1)(g).  The 
department estimates the elimination of this rarely used fee will affect three 
licensees and decrease annual revenue by $60. 
 The department is also eliminating the fee for duplicate wall certificates.  Due 
to a change in department procedure, the department will no longer print either 
original or duplicate wall certificates for licensees.  After suspending the provision of 
certificates to save expenses, the department will begin e-mailing certificates in the 
summer of 2015 for licensees to print their own.  The department estimates the 
elimination of this fee will affect approximately 19 licensees and reduce annual 
revenue by $380. 
 The 2015 Montana Legislature enacted Chapter 80, Laws of 2015 (Senate 
Bill 76), an act authorizing the licensing boards or the department to administratively 
suspend a professional or occupational license in routine matters as an alternative to 
disciplinary proceedings.  The bill was signed by the Governor on February 27, 
2015, and became effective on July 1, 2015.  Therefore, the department determined 
it is reasonably necessary to amend this rule to set the fee necessary to reinstate an 
administratively suspended license, and further implement the legislation.  The 
department estimates this new fee will affect approximately 230 licensees and 
increase annual revenue by $27,600. 
 Further amendments are necessary to improve overall rule organization, 
grammar choice, and readability.  The department determined it is reasonably 
necessary to amend the implementation citations to accurately reflect all statutes 
implemented through the rule. 
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 4.  The rules proposed to be repealed are as follows: 
 
 24.101.401  PURPOSE  found at ARM page 24-7035. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-104, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department determined it is reasonably necessary to repeal this rule 
as it is unnecessary.  The division and licensing boards have interrelated purposes 
that evolve continuously, thus requiring purpose rules to be constantly updated. 
 
 24.101.407  LICENSING  found at ARM page 24-7049. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-130, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is repealing this rule as it unnecessarily repeats 
statutory language and reiterates standardized department processes. 
 
 24.101.414  RENEWAL NOTIFICATION  found at ARM page 24-7069. 
 
 AUTH:  37-1-101, 37-1-141, MCA 
 IMP:     37-1-101, 37-1-130, 37-1-141, MCA 
 
REASON:  The department is repealing this rule as it unnecessarily repeats 
statutory language. 
 
 5.  Concerned persons may present their data, views, or arguments either 
orally or in writing at the hearing.  Written data, views, or arguments may also be 
submitted to the Business Standards Division, Department of Labor and Industry, 
301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200514, Helena, Montana 59620-0514, by 
facsimile to (406) 841-2313, or e-mail to damoe@mt.gov, and must be received no 
later than 5:00 p.m., September 25, 2015. 
 
 6.  An electronic copy of this notice of public hearing is available at 
http://bsd.dli.mt.gov (Business Standard Division's web site).  The department strives 
to make the electronic copy of this notice conform to the official version of the notice, 
as printed in the Montana Administrative Register, but advises all concerned 
persons that in the event of a discrepancy between the official printed text of the 
notice and the electronic version of the notice, only the official printed text will be 
considered.  In addition, although the department strives to keep its web site 
accessible at all times, concerned persons should be aware that the web site may 
be unavailable during some periods, due to system maintenance or technical 
problems, and that technical difficulties in accessing or posting to the e-mail address 
do not excuse late submission of comments. 
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 7.  The department maintains a list of interested persons who wish to receive 
notices of rulemaking actions proposed by the division.  Persons who wish to have 
their name added to the list shall make a written request that includes the name, e-
mail, and mailing address of the person to receive notices and specifies that the 
person wishes to receive notices regarding all division administrative rulemaking 
proceedings or other administrative proceedings.  The request must indicate 
whether e-mail or standard mail is preferred.  Such written request may be sent or 
delivered to the department, 301 South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200514, Helena, 
Montana 59620-0514; faxed to the office at (406) 841-2313; e-mailed to 
damoe@mt.gov; or made by completing a request form at any rules hearing held by 
the agency. 
 
 8.  The bill sponsor contact requirements of 2-4-302, MCA, apply and have 
been fulfilled.  The primary bill sponsor of Senate Bill 76, Senator Gene Vuckovich, 
was contacted on March 13, 2015, by telephone. 
 
 9.  With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has 
determined that the amendment of ARM 24.101.402 and 24.101.403 will not 
significantly and directly impact small businesses. 
 With regard to the requirements of 2-4-111, MCA, the board has determined 
that the repeal of ARM 24.101.401, 24.101.407, and 24.101.414 will not significantly 
and directly impact small businesses. 
 Documentation of the board's above-stated determination(s) is available upon 
request to the Business Standards Division, Department of Labor and Industry, 301 
South Park Avenue, P.O. Box 200514, Helena, Montana 59620-0514, by telephone 
(406) 841-2327; facsimile (406) 841-2313; or e-mail to damoe@mt.gov. 
 
 10.  Darcee Moe, attorney, has been designated to preside over and conduct 
this hearing. 
 
 
/s/ DARCEE L. MOE /s/ PAM BUCY 
Darcee L. Moe Pam Bucy, Commissioner 
Rule Reviewer DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
 
 
 Certified to the Secretary of State August 17, 2015 


