

Montana Board of Alternative Health Care

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0512 Phone: (406) 444-5773

Email: <u>UnitC@mt.gov</u> Website: <u>www.althealth.mt.gov</u>

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Direct-Entry Midwife

License Requirements for Direct-Entry Midwife

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- 1. Must possess a high school diploma or equivalent. (MCA 37-27-201)
- 2. Must be of good moral character and be at least 21 years of age. (MCA 37-27-201 and ARM 24.111.604)
- 3. Shall satisfactorily complete education requirements in pregnancy and natural childbirth approved by the board. (MCA 37-27-201(3) and ARM 24.111.601)
- 4. Shall acquire practical experience required by the board. (MCA 37-27-201(4) and ARM 24.111.604)
- 5. Shall pass the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) examination. (MCA 37-27-203 and ARM 24.111.604)
- 6. Shall file current documentation with the board that the applicant has been certified by the American Heart Association or American Red Cross to perform adult and infant cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (MCA 37-27-201)
- 7. Shall file current documentation with the board that the applicant has been certified by the American Academy of Pediatrics or the American Heart Association to perform neonatal resuscitation. (MCA 37-27-201)

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Direct-Entry Midwife

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

Copy of a high school diploma or equivalent.
Written documentation of good moral character consisting of three letters of reference, at least one of which must be from a licensed direct-entry midwife.
Documentation that the educational and practical experience requirements in 37-27-201(3) and (4)
have been met.
Exam results of passing the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) examination.
Current certification of adult and infant cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
Current certification of neonatal resuscitation.
Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of any type.
If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and
documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court



<u>Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Direct-Entry Midwife – Out-of-State Applicants (ARM 24.111.605)</u>

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

website. Online application is recommended.			
You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the			
	\$200 Original License fee		
	\$300 application fee		
Darik a	iccount. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check of money order. Do not mail cash.		
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or bank account. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash.			
Application Fee(s) for Direct-Entry Midwife			
	procedurings of an initial and great		
	documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).		
	If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and		
	professional license of any type.		
	granted. Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a		
	Copy of the laws and rules from the state of licensure which were in effect at the time the license was		
	Written documentation of good moral character consisting of three letters of reference, at least one of which must be from a licensed direct-entry midwife.		
	completion of a qualifications examination administered by the licensing authority of the state or jurisdiction granting the license.		
	Exam results of passing the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) examination or successful		
	completed education requirements in pregnancy and natural childbirth, approved by the board as per ARM 24.111.601.		
	certificates of completion from other courses of study, indicating the candidate has successfully		
	Verification in the form of certified transcripts sent directly from an institute of higher education, or		
	Copy of current, valid, and unrestricted direct-entry midwife license in another state or jurisdiction in the form of official license verification directly from the state or jurisdiction.		
	Once of a construction of constructed direct and construction in the construction of the construction in the		

communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements, please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.