## MONTANA BOARD OF PHARMACY

## APPROVED DRUG LIST FOR EMERGENCY KITS IN INSTITUTIONS

(Approved Board of Pharmacy Meeting April 10, 2010)

The Board of Pharmacy has determined the following drugs may be included in an emergency kit if a facility has a kit; however not all drugs need to be included:

## <u>Drug</u>

Adenosine Albuterol for Inhalation Amiodarone Atropine Sulfate Calcium Chloride Ceftriaxone Injectable Ciprofloxacin (Oral) Dexamethasone Sodium Phosphate **Dextrose Injectable** Diphenhydramine Injectable Dopamine **Epinephrine Injectable** Esmolol Fosphenytoin Furosemide Injectable Glucagon Injectable Haloperidol Injectable Hydrocortisone Sodium Succinate Ketorolac Injectable Lidocaine Magnesium Sulfate Methylprednisolone Injectable Naloxone Nitrogylcerine Sublingual Phenergan Rectal or Injectable Potassium Chloride Prochlorperazine Rectal or Injectable Silver Sulfadiazine (Topical) Sodium Bicarbonate 0.9% Sodium Chloride for Injection or Infusion Sterile Water for Injection

Vasopressin Vitamin K (Oral)

The following are Controlled Substances:

Hydrocodone with Acetaminophen (APAP) (Each facility may select the dosage strength of Hydrocodone with Acetaminophen to use, but only one dosage strength may be kept in the emergency drug kit) Diphenoxylate/Atropine (Oral) Diazepam Injectable Phenobarbital Morphine 10mg/ml (single dose packaging, such as carpuject or tubex)

The Board of Pharmacy expects that availability of these medications is limited to those institutions where appropriate training, education, and monitoring is available.

Legend IV administration devices are also approved.

## ANY ADDITIONAL DRUGS MUST BE APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF PHARMACY PRIOR TO THEIR INCLUSION ON THIS LIST.