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Montana Private Security Program
PO Box 200513 

301 S Park, 4th Floor 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: (406) 444-6880 

Email: DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV Website: PRIVATESECURITY.MT.GOV 

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist 
Registered Process Server 

License Requirements for Registered Process Server 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana. 

1. 18 years of age or older - [37-60-303 MCA]
2. Is a citizen of the United States or a legal, permanent resident of the United States - [37-60-303 MCA]
3. Is a resident of the State of Montana for at least 1 year immediately preceding making application -

[25-1102(3) MCA, ARM 24.182.516(2)]
4. Is of good moral character - [37-60-303 MCA]
5. Has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony and not convicted of any crime involving 

moral turpitude or illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon, for which a full pardon or similar 
relief has not been granted; [25-1-1102(2) MCA, 37-60-303 MCA]

6. Has not been judicially declared incompetent by reason of any mental disease or disorder or if so 
declared, has been fully restored - [37-60-303 MCA]

7. Is not suffering from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence - [37-60-303 
MCA]

8. Has passed Department-approved background check through Federal Bureau of Investigation and 
the Montana Department of Justice [37-60-303(6) MCA, ARM 24.182.501]

9. Has passed the Department-approved examination based on the process server handbook 
[37-60-303(4) MCA, ARM 24.182.505, ARM 24.182.516]

10. Shall maintain a surety bond in the amount of $10,000 for an individual or $100,000 for a firm. A 
levying officer may not levy on a judgment that exceeds the value of the bond. [25-1-1111 MCA, ARM 
24.182.405]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Registered Process Server 
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some 
documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, 
may need to be sent to the Department directly from the source. 

 Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a
professional license of any type

 Passport style photo and copy of applicant signature for identification pocket card.
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You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the 
website. Online application is recommended. 

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of 
communication. 

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact 
the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at 

the top of this checklist. 

 Current Certificate of surety bond with the Montana Private Security Program listed as the certificate 
holder in the amount of $10,000 for an individual or $100,000 for a firm.

 Applicant Rights and Consent to Fingerprint Notice (Privacy Act Form).
 Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint criminal 

background information.
 If you answered yes to any personal history question on the application, include a detailed 

explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal
agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final 
disposition/judgement documents, etc.).

 Proof applicant has passed the Department-approved examination based on the process server 
handbook.

Application Fee(s) for Registered Process Server 
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or 
e-check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash.

 $100 application fee
 $25 examination fee

https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/
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