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Montana Private Security Program
PO Box 200513 

301 S Park, 4th Floor 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: (406) 444-6880 

Email: DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV     Website: PRIVATESECURITY.MT.GOV

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist 
Private Investigator Trainee 

License Requirements for Private Investigator Trainee 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana. 

1. Applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a legal, permanent resident of the United States –
[MCA 37-60-303]

2. Applicant is required to provide a background investigation that includes a fingerprint check by the
Montana department of justice and the federal bureau of investigation - [37-60-303 MCA,
ARM 24.182.501]

3. The applicant must be at least 18 years of age – [ARM 24.182.511]
4. Proof of employment, education, and training must be submitted with the application –

[ARM 24.182.501, ARM 24.182.511, ARM 24.182.804]
5. Application must be accompanied with a statement from a licensed private investigator that the licensee

will employ and provide direct supervision of the trainee, as defined in - [ARM 24.182.301,
ARM 24.182.501, ARM 24.182.511]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Private Investigator Trainee 
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some 
documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, 
may need to be sent to the Department directly from the source.  

 Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a
professional license of any type

 If you answered yes to any personal history question on the application, include a detailed explanation
on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or
civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement
documents, etc.).

 Applicant Rights and Consent to Fingerprint Notice (Privacy Act Statement)
 Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint criminal background

information.
 Passport style photo and copy of applicant signature for identification pocket card.
 Statement from a licensed private investigator attesting they will employ and provide direct supervision

of the trainee
Application Fee(s) for Private Investigator Trainee 
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application.  Online applicants can pay using a credit card or 
bank account. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash. 

 $ 150 application fee

http://www.privatesecurity.mt.gov/
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0370/chapter_0600/part_0030/section_0030/0370-0600-0030-0030.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E501
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E511
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E301
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E501
mailto:dlibsdhelp@mt.gov
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E501
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E511
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E804
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E182%2E511
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You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the 
website. Online application is recommended. 

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of 
communication. 

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact 
the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at 

the top of this checklist. 

https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/



