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Montana Private Security Program 
PO Box 200513 

301 S Park, 4th Floor 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: (406) 444-6880 

Email: DLIBSDHELP@MT.GOV Website: PRIVATESECURITY.MT.GOV 

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist 
Private Investigator 

License Requirements for Private Investigator 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana. 

1. Applicants must be a citizen of the United States or a legal, permanent resident of the United States 
–[MCA 37-60-303]

2. Applicant is required to provide a background investigation that includes a fingerprint check by the 
Montana department of justice and the federal bureau of investigation - [MCA 37-60-303]

3. The applicant must be at least 21 years of age – [MCA 37-60-303]
4. Private Investigators shall maintain a minimum of $500,000 occurrence form of commercial general 

liability which includes personal injury and errors and omissions coverage – [ARM 24.182.405]
5. Each private investigator applicant shall submit evidence that the applicant passed a written 

examination as set forth in – [ARM 24.182.505, ARM 24.182.512] The examination is based on Title 
37, Chapters 1 and 60, MCA and ARM 24, Chapter 182. For out-of-state applicants, it is your 
responsibility to find a facility to proctor the exam and notify the Department of the location in writing.

6. An applicant for private investigator must list the names and telephone numbers of three references 
not related to the applicant by blood or marriage – [ARM 24.182.512]

7. Applicants for licensure as private investigators must demonstrate three years of full-time experience 
(5,400 cumulative hours) or a combination of education and experience. – [ARM 24.182.512]

8. Applicants who will wear, carry, or possess a firearm in performance of the applicant's duties must 
successfully complete a firearms training program taught by a Department-Private Security Firearms 
Instructor
- [MCA 37-60-303, ARM 24.182.520]

9. Private investigators with a firearms endorsement must carry firearms liability coverage –
[ARM 24.182.405]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Private Investigator 
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some 
documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, 
may need to be sent to the Department directly from the source. 

 Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a
professional license of any type

 If you answered yes to any personal history question on the application, include a detailed
explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal
agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final
disposition/judgement documents, etc.).

 Applicant Rights and Consent to Fingerprint Notice (Privacy Act Statement).
 Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint criminal background

information.
 Passport style photo and copy of applicant signature for identification pocket card.
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You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/ or download a paper application from the 
website. Online application is recommended. 

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of 
communication. 

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements, please contact 
the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at 

the top of this checklist. 

 Applicant proof of education, training and experience.
 Applicant proof of required insurance
 Proof of successful completion of a firearms training program taught by a Department-Private 

Security Firearms Instructor for applicants who will wear, carry, or possess a firearm in 
performance of the applicant's duties.

Application Fee(s) for Private Investigator 
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or 
bank account. If you submit a paper application, you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash. 

 $ 250 application fee
 $20 Examination fee
 $ 50-Armed Endorsement fee (optional)
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