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Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist
Private Security Firearms Instructor

License Requirements for Private Security Firearms Instructor
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

1. Applicants must be a citizen of the United States or a legal, permanent resident of the United States
—[MCA 37-60-303]

2. Applicant is required to provide a background investigation that includes a fingerprint check by the
Montana department of justice and the federal bureau of investigation - [MCA 37-60-303]

3. The applicant must be at least 21 years of age — [MCA 37-60-303]

4. Private Security Firearms Instructors shall maintain a minimum of $500,000 occurrence form of
commercial general liability which includes personal injury and errors and omissions coverage —
[ARM 24.182.405]

5. Applicants must successfully complete a firearms instructor training course conducted by a
Department approved organization — [ARM 24.182.520]

6. Detailed outlines of all courses to be instructed — [ARM 24.182.520, ARM 24.182.801]

7. Proof of education and training, which may include — [ARM 24.182.520]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Private Security Firearms Instructor
The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Some documents
may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be
sent to the Department directly from the source.

O Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a
professional license of any type

O If you answered yes to any personal history question on the application, include a detailed

explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal

agencies/programs, or civil/criminal courtproceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final

disposition/judgement documents, etc.).

Applicant Rights and Consent to Fingerprint Notice (Privacy Act Statement).

Montana Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint criminal background

information.

Passport style photo and copy of applicant signature for identification pocket card.

Detailed outlines of all courses to be instructed.

Applicant proof of education and training.
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Application Fee(s) for Private Security Firearms Instructor
The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or
bank account. If you submit a paper application, you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash.

O $ 150 application fee
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You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.qov/POL/ or download a paper application from the
website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of
communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements, please contact
the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at
the top of this checklist.
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