

Montana Board of Outfitters

PO Box 200513 301 S Park, 4th Floor Helena, MT 59620-0513 Phone: (406) 444-6880 Email: <u>dlibsdhelp@mt.gov</u> Website: <u>www.outfitter.mt.gov</u>

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist Licensed Outfitter

License Requirements for Licensed Outfitter

Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana.

- An Appicant must be 18 years of age or older, be physically capable and mentally competent to perform the duties of an outfitter, and meet experience, training, and testing requirements as prescribed by board rule – [MCA 37-47-302]
- An applicant must own, hold under written lease, or contract for or represent a business entity who owns, holds under written lease, or contracts for the equipment and facilities that are necessary to provide the services advertised, contracted for, or agreed upon between the outfitter and the outfitter's clients – [MCA 37-47-302]
- A fishing outfitter applicant must have a minimum of three years and 120 days of verified experience as a licensed guide working for a licensed outfitter, guiding clients and using methods for pursuing fish or or equivalent experience in another state guiding clients and using methods for pursuing fish – [MCA 37-47-304, ARM 24.171.502]
- 4. All other applicants must have a minimum of 100 days of verified experience as a licensed guide working for a licensed outfitter or equivalent experience in another state guiding clients in pursuing the types of game and using the methods for which licensure is sought by the applicant [MCA 37-47-304, ARM 24.171.502]
- All applicants must successfully pass the required examinations pertaining to those categories described in – [ARM 24.171.507, ARM 24.171.501]
- 6. Applicant must provide components of the outfitter's operations plan as required by board rule, which may include: an affidavit by the outfitter to the board that the amount and kind of equipment that is owned, leased, or contracted for by the applicant is sufficient and satisfactory for the services advertised or contemplated to be performed by the applicant; and a description of any land, water body, or portion of a water body that will be utilized by the applicant while providing services [MCA 37-47-304, ARM 24.171.520]
- 7. For initial licensure, only basic first aid certification that involves the direct, hands on application of first aid materials and techquies is acceptable [ARM 24.171.412]

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit for Application for Licensed Outfitter

The following documents and additional forms are required <u>in addition</u> to the basic application. Some documents may be submitted directly by the applicant as part of the application. Others, such as transcripts, may need to be sent to the board directly from the source.

- Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of any type
- ☐ If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.).



- □ An operations plan application form, accompanied by a NCHU transfer request form, if applicable.
- □ Proof of basic first aid certification that involves the direct, hands on application of first aid materials and techquies through a provider and course approved by the department.
- □ Proof the applicant is 18 years of age or older.

Application Fee(s) for [License Name]

The following fee(s) must be submitted with your application. Online applicants can pay using a credit card or bank account. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check or money order. Do not mail cash.

□ \$1800.00 application fee

You can apply for a license online at <u>https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/</u> or download a paper application from the website. Online application is recommended.

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of communication.

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at the top of this checklist.