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Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists 
PO Box 200513 

301 S Park, 4th Floor 
Helena, MT 59620-0513 
Phone: 406-444-5711 

Email: dlibsdhelp@mt.gov  Website: www.cosmetology.mt.gov 
 

Licensing Requirements and Application Checklist for a Salon  
  

License Requirements for a Salon, Shop, and Mobile Salon or Shop  
 
Below are the minimum requirements you must meet in order to be licensed in the state of Montana. 
 

1. Meet the sanitary and operation standards described in ARM Title 24, chapter 121, subchapter 15  
2. Contain a restroom per the requirements in ARM 24.121.1501 and 24.121.1505.  
3. Additional Requirements  

 Fixed location salons or shops must be Located in a structure that meets all applicable local 
and state building codes requirements, 

 If located in a residence must have outside entrances with doors separate from the 
entrances to the residence  

 If electrology is practiced it must have a high frequency generator, galvanic generator, or 
electrolysis machine (dispersive or inactive electrode with connections to the machine, such 
as wet pad, metal rod, or water jar, necessary for electrology treatments); needles as 
defined in ARM 24.121.301; covered containers for all lotions, soaps, and cotton to be used 
on clients; fine-pointed epilation forceps; and draping sheets or towels.  

 Mobile salons or shops must: 
­ meet all applicable local and state laws for mobile businesses, including but not 

limited to operating permits;  
­ provide and maintain a physical address and mailing address for the owner(s) of the 

mobile salon or shop.  
 

Checklist of Required Documents to Submit 
 

The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application.   
 
 Blueprint or detailed floor plan of salon, shop, or mobile shop or salon blueprint or detailed scale 

drawing of the floor plan which includes the locations of the required fixtures, including entrances and 
exits; restrooms, sinks, locations where services are provided. 

 If you answered yes to discipline questions, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and 
documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court 
proceedings such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.). 

 Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which you hold or have ever held a 
professional license of any type. It is up to you to request official verification from those states and 
jurisdictions. Montana accepts whatever official form of verification is offered by other states or 
jurisdictions.  

 If you are requesting a variance under ARM 24.121.405 you must submit the variance application form 
and additional fee of $20. 

 

mailto:dlibsdhelp@mt.gov
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E301
https://rules.mt.gov/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E121%2E405
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Application Fees   
 

The following fees must be submitted with your application.  Online applicants can pay using a credit card or e-
check. If you submit a paper application you must submit a check. Do not mail cash. 
 
 $235 ($85 Application Fee plus $150 Inspection Fee) 

 
You can apply for a license online at https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/. 

Please include a valid e-mail address with your application. E-mail is the department's primary form of 
communication. 

If you have any questions about the application process or the licensing requirements please contact 
the Department of Labor and Industry Professional Licensing Bureau using the contact information at 

the top of this checklist. 

https://ebiz.mt.gov/POL/

