
 

MONTANA BOARD OF BARBERS AND 
COSMETOLOGISTS 
P.O. Box 200513 

301 S PARK, 4TH FLOOR (Delivery) 
Helena, Montana 59620-0513 

(406) 444-5711 
E-MAIL: dlibsdcos@mt.gov  

WEBSITE: https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/barber-and-cosmetologists/  
 

ILLEGIBLE AND INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED. 
Please allow 10 days for processing from the date the Board receives a completed routine application 

 
BARBERS, COSMETOLOGISTS, ELECTROLOGISTS, ESTHETICIANS, MANICURISTS AND INSTRUCTORS ARE 

NOT PERMITTED TO PRACTICE COSMETOLOGY, ELECTROLOGY, ESTHETICS, MANICURING OR INSTRUCTING 
IN MONTANA WITHOUT AN ACTIVE MONTANA LICENSE. 

ALL SERVICES MUST BE PERFORMED IN A LICENSED BARBERSHOP OR SALON. 
FEES 
$ 95.00 Instructor Application Fee 

 
**Make check or money order payable to the Montana Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists** 

 
Instructor applicants applying for a license under 37-31-305(2)(d)(ii), MCA, are required to submit an 
application and provide an affidavit of three years of experience in a particular area of practice to the board 
office in order to receive a testing eligibility letter. Montana-enrolled students or graduates of a Montana-
licensed school under this chapter will receive their testing eligibility letter from the school. Once the applicant 
has taken and passed the examination the applicant shall notify the board office. The board office will verify the 
examination scores directly with the vendor. 

 
Instructor 
(1) In addition to a complete application, an applicant for an instructor license shall submit the following 
documentation:  
(a) proof of high school diploma or its equivalent as provided in ARM 24.121.610;  
(b) proof of passage of the NIC instructor exam; and  
(c) either:  
(i) an attestation of having been employed and working for at least 1500 hours, in the particular area of practice 
that they will teach, during any one-year period prior to applying and a diploma evidencing completion of the 
650-hour student teacher-training course required by 37-31-305, MCA; or  
(ii) an attestation of having been employed and working for at least 1500 hours per year, in the particular area 
of practice that they will teach, for any three years prior to applying (a total of at least 4500 hours). An applicant 
granted a license based on this subsection may not renew the license for any period beyond two years after 
initial licensure, nor be granted a second license under this subsection, unless the applicant completes the board-
approved coursework related to teaching methodology set forth in ARM 24.121.1105. 
 
(1) The teacher-training course shall consist of 650 hours and include the following:  
(a) teaching methods - 245 hours including:  
(i) task analysis;  
(ii) developing instructional objectives;  
(iii) visual aids and their construction;  
(iv) motivational tools;  
(v) preparation of instructive materials;  
(vi) lesson planning including:  
(A) practical theory classes; and  
(B) practical demonstration classes.  
(vii) fundamentals of speech and public speaking;  
(viii) methods of test construction;  
(ix) methods of evaluation or grading; and  
(x) curriculum planning and development.  
(b) general psychology - 75 hours including:  
(i) general principles in relation to teaching and counseling;  
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(ii) conflict resolution;  
(iii) student counseling;  
(iv) student and teacher relationships; and  
(v) public relations.  
(c) business methods - 115 hours including:  
(i) recruitment;  
(ii) job analysis;  
(iii) student registration, withdrawal, and hours (tracking, completing, calculating, and verifying);  
(iv) ethical employee and employer relationship;  
(v) salon/booth rental relationship;  
(vi) professional ethics; and  
(vii) current state board laws and rules.  
(d) advanced theory of cosmetology, esthetics, manicuring, barbering, or electrology, and the chemistry, safety, 
sanitation, bacteriology, physiology, anatomy, and diseases and disorders that apply to each course - 75 hours; 
and  
(e) 140 hours of instruction shall be at the discretion of the school. 
 
(2) The board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology shall consist of 135 hours and include 
the following:  
(a) teaching methods 6 credits or 90 hours:  
(i) task analysis;  
(ii) developing instructional objectives;  
(iii) visual aids and their construction;  
(iv) motivational tools;  
(v) preparation of instructive materials;  
(vi) lesson planning;  
(vii) fundamentals of speech and public speaking;  
(viii) methods of test construction;  
(ix) methods of evaluation or grading; and  
(x) curriculum planning and development.  
(b) educational psychology three credits or 45 hours;  
(c) coursework may be completed through:  
(i) classes acceptable to a state's board of regents or equivalent authority and approved through that state's 
university system;  
(ii) self‐study to be observed and documented by the administrator of the school employing the instructor; or  
(iii) class studies pre‐approved by the board.  
(d) prior to renewal of the instructor license, documentation of completed coursework must be submitted to the 
board for board approval.  
(3) Coursework completed prior to instructor licensure may be used to satisfy the requirements of this   
subsection. 
 37-31-305. Qualifications of applicants for license to teach. (1) Before a person may teach or instruct in a 
school of barbering, barbering nonchemical, cosmetology, electrology, esthetics, or manicuring, the person shall 
obtain from the department a license to teach.  
     (2) To be eligible for a license to teach barbering, barbering nonchemical, cosmetology, electrology, 
esthetics, or manicuring, a person must:  
     (a) be a graduate of high school or possess an equivalent of a high school diploma that is recognized by the 
superintendent of public instruction;  
     (b) have a license to practice issued by the department in the particular area of practice in which the person 
plans to teach;  
     (c) have been actively engaged in that particular area of practice for 12 continuous months before taking the 
teacher's examination; and  
     (d) (i) have received a diploma from a licensed school approved by the board, certifying satisfactory 
completion of 650 hours of student teacher training; or  
     (ii) have 3 years of experience in that particular area of practice. A person who qualifies for a license under 
this subsection (2)(d)(ii) has 2 years to complete board-approved coursework related to teaching methodology 
before a license to teach is renewed. 

 



 

MONTANA BOARD OF BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGISTS 
P. O. Box 200513 

Helena, Montana 59620-0513 
(406) 841-6880 

E-MAIL: dlibsdcos@mt.gov 
WEBSITE: https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/barber-and-cosmetologists/ 

 
 

Application for Instructor  
All fees are Non-Refundable and are not pro-rated. 

Please allow 10 days for processing a completed routine application. 
 
 

Instructor ($95.00) 
 

1. FULL NAME:      
Last First Middle 

 
2. OTHER NAME(S) KNOWN BY:   

 

3. HOME ADDRESS:      
Street or PO Box # City and State Zip 

 

4. TELEPHONE:  

Home Work or Cell E-mail Address 
 

5. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: FOREIGN ID NUMBER:   
 

6. DATE OF BIRTH:  MALE FEMALE 
 

7. LICENSE NAME:   
(State your name as it should appear on the license if granted.) 

 

8. GENERAL EDUCATION: 

Name of High School City and State 
 

Date of 
Graduation/Equivalent 

Degree Earned 

   Yes No 
 

9. PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION: 
 

Name of Cosmetology School/College 
 

City and State 
 

Dates 
Attended 

 
Hours Completed 

 
Diploma Received 

    Yes No 
    Yes No 
    Yes No 
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10. List all professional licenses you hold or ever have held. Verification must be sent directly to 
Montana from each state/province/territory. 

 
State 

 
License# 

 
Issue Date 

 
Expiration Date 

   
License Method 

 
Requested 

State Verification 
              Exam Endorse Other Yes No 
              Exam Endorse Other Yes No 

              Exam Endorse Other Yes No 
                      Exam Endorse Other Yes No 

11. If a cosmetologist/esthetician is offering microdermabrasion, has the licensee Yes No 
received an endorsement from the Board? 

12. Has the microdermabrasion machine that is being used for the services been 
approved by the Board? 

13. Which written examination did you take for initial licensure? 

Yes No 

 

NIC National Examination State Examination (indicate which state) 
 

14. Which practical examination did you take for initial licensure? 

NIC National Examination State Examination (indicate which state) 

15. Have you ever had an application for a professional or occupational license refused or Yes No 
denied? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide supporting 
documentation from the source. 

 
16. Have you ever withdrawn an application for licensure prior to the Licensing agency’s Yes No 

decision regarding your application? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and 
provide supporting documentation from the source. 

 
17. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination required for Yes No 

required for any professional or occupational license? If yes, please attach a 
detailed explanation and provide supporting documentation from the source. 

 
18. Has a licensing agency initiated or completed disciplinary action against any Yes No 

professional or occupational license you have held? If yes, please provide agency 
documents including the complaint, initiating documents, orders, final orders, 
stipulations and consent and/or settlement agreements directly from the source. 

 
19. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered, cancelled, forfeited, failed to renew a Yes No 

professional or occupation license in anticipation of or during an investigation or 
disciplinary proceedings or action? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and 
provide supporting documentation from the source. 

 
20. Has a complaint ever been made against you with a professional or occupational Yes No 

licensing agency? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide 
supporting documentation from the source. 

 
21. Have any civil legal proceedings been filed against you by a client, former client or Yes No 

employer/employee? If yes, attach a detailed explanation and documentation from 
the source including initiating document(s) and documentation of final disposition. 

 
22. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony crime or do you have a Yes No 

pending criminal charge? “Convicted” for the purposes of this question includes a 
conviction under appeal, guilty plea, no contest plea, and/or forfeiture of bond. “A 
pending criminal charge” for the purposes of this question includes a deferred 
imposition of sentence and/or deferred prosecution. If you answer yes, you must 



 

submit a detailed explanation of the events AND the charging documents and final 
judgments or orders of dismissal. You must report but may omit documentation 
for: 
1) Misdemeanor traffic violations older than 10 years ago and that resulted in 

fines of less than $200; and (2) convictions prior to your 18th birthday 
unless you were tried as an adult. 

 
23. Have you ever been diagnosed with chemical dependency or another addiction, Yes No 

or have you participated in a chemical dependency or other addiction treatment 
program? If yes, please attach a detailed explanation and provide documentation 
regarding evaluations, diagnosis, treatment recommendations and monitoring from 
the source. 

 
24. Have you ever been diagnosed with a physical condition or mental health disorder Yes No 

involving potential health risk to the public? If yes, please pro- vide a detailed 
explanation. 

 
AFFIDAVIT 

 

I authorize the release of information concerning my education, training, record, character, license 
history and competence to practice, by anyone who might possess such information, to the Montana 

Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists 
 
I hereby declare under penalty of perjury the information included in my application to be true and complete to 
the best of my knowledge. In signing this application, I am aware that a false statement or evasive answer to 
any question may lead to denial of my application or subsequent revocation of licensure on ethical grounds. I 
have read and will abide by the current licensure statutes and rules of the State of Montana governing the 
profession. I will abide by the current laws and rules that govern my practice. 

 
 
 

Legal Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 
For information regarding the processing of this application or other licensing concerns, 
please contact the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists staff at (406) 841-6880 or 
email us at: dlibsdcos@mt.gov 

 
PLEASE BE SURE TO REVIEW THE MONTANA LAWS AND RULES FOR THE PRACTICE OF COSMETOLOGY, 

INSTRUCTORS ON OUR WEBSITE: https://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/barber-and-cosmetologists/  
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